Clash of the Titans anyone?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 11th, 2010, 6:30 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR Wrote

Its a remake and a very well known story, so obviously it's predictable. Most good vs evil, mythology stories are predictable.

While i tend to partially agree with you, thats the point of the matter. Its not ought to be predictable. Did you see the part where Medusa's head was cut off ? - How he looked in the shield for the reflection ? - This was in the old version as well.
too long? I guess you never watched the sci-fi epic classic DUNE or even the extended versions of Lord of the Rings

Off course i saw the movies you mentioned and enjoyed every moment of it. The scenery, the epic moments, the mood created by the director, the music which blends with the story-line is absolutely brilliant.

ok and yes the graphics didnt look shitty in the preview

Im not clear what youre saying here - seems like youre ageeing that the graphics are not up to par...but your language is a bit clouded.

Graphical failures - the huge scorpians, the flying horses, the sea creature, the Gods in the sky....shall i go on and on ?

Over all i give the movie a 2 out of 5 ranking. Did some searches and the critics have almost the same sentiments: http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/clash_o ... =creamcrop

So there, you can take my reviews on the future ! :D

Postby r3iXmann » April 11th, 2010, 6:43 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR Wrote

Its a remake and a very well known story, so obviously it's predictable. Most good vs evil, mythology stories are predictable.

While i tend to partially agree with you, thats the point of the matter. Its not ought to be predictable. Did you see the part where Medusa's head was cut off ? - How he looked in the shield for the reflection ? - This was in the old version as well.

Errm..it's an epic story..the details won't change if they remade it a million times :roll:

That's like expecting to watch a movie about the events of WW2 and expecting the allies to NOT win :?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 11th, 2010, 6:46 pm

this was a steaming pile of sheit. saw it yesterday. watched the original today and it's MUCH better

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 11th, 2010, 6:46 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
V2NR 3.0 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR Wrote

Errm..it's an epic story..the details won't change if they remade it a million times :roll:

That's like expecting to watch a movie about the events of WW2 and expecting the allies to NOT win :?

well actually the original story of perseus doesn't have any giant scorpions nor the cracken, these were all invented by Ray Harryhausen in 1981. Although i did enjoy the movie, they could have been a bit more original, why copy the copier.

shady23

Postby shady23 » April 11th, 2010, 6:59 pm

Nah it wasn't all that. Just get the feeling they tried to cram everything into just under 2 hours.

The special effects were good yeah. The acting of that Perseus dude, can't remember his name, well, it just sucks.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 11th, 2010, 7:17 pm

^ so the graphics were good then!

I think the "looking at Medusa's reflection in the shield" was part of the original story.

Oh and I didn't see the movie yet.
it seems most of the bad reviews are about the poor script.

shady23

Postby shady23 » April 11th, 2010, 8:53 pm

^^ Yeah that's it exactly. The script wasn't all that. It felt like they were trying to rush through the movie after the first half hour where they were explaining Perseus' role :|

The graphics weren't spectacular but it didn't make you stop and think to yourself, "wait na, that looking odd," either.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 11th, 2010, 9:00 pm

Can anyone say if its offered in 3D @ CC8?

Postby foss » April 11th, 2010, 9:01 pm

idlemind wrote:Can anyone say if its offered in 3D @ CC8?

supposed to be

Postby wagonrunner » April 11th, 2010, 9:07 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think the "looking at Medusa's reflection in the shield" was part of the original story.

yes it is.
even copied in the teenage remake (percy jackson & the lightening thief)

CocaineMachine

Postby CocaineMachine » April 11th, 2010, 9:40 pm

aye d original was cool, but allyuh know d fella that played Perseus in d original did the voice of Perseus in God Of War II. i still have 2 c the new movie though

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » April 11th, 2010, 9:50 pm

saw it on thursday in CC8, sadly it wasn't in 3D... :(

Postby crazybalhead » April 12th, 2010, 9:47 am

It was OK'ish.

Postby SR » April 12th, 2010, 9:50 am

agreed just another movie nothing special or fantastic about it

drop ho

Postby drop ho » April 12th, 2010, 9:54 am

Agreed ok'ish

Postby Hook » April 12th, 2010, 9:56 am

Didn't he have a helmet of invisibility for when he had to go talk to the three witches? It's how he used it to steal the eye from them, not so?

And what happened to the winged sandals?

Postby AllTrac » April 12th, 2010, 10:00 am

was ok

Postby bluesteel29 » April 12th, 2010, 10:11 am

movie was good...

wah Perseus eventually did with the owl???????

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » April 12th, 2010, 10:12 am

Was ok wasn't as shiddy as some ppl making it out to be....these kind of movies should be longer IMO...Lord Of the Rings FTW :wink:

Postby Hook » April 12th, 2010, 10:14 am

bluesteel29 wrote:movie was good...

wah Perseus eventually did with the owl???????

old d00d told him to put it back...so he did

Postby crazybalhead » April 12th, 2010, 10:16 am

BTW folks, at the end of the movie, it says the movie was based on the old movie, and not the actual mythology.

I still think the old one is a classic, and this one kinda forgetable.

Postby bluesteel29 » April 12th, 2010, 10:28 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think the "looking at Medusa's reflection in the shield" was part of the original story.

yes it is.
even copied in the teenage remake (percy jackson & the lightening thief)

that was sum serious bootleg shid

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 12th, 2010, 12:15 pm

Soundwave wrote:waiting for the indian version, Clash of the Chaitans...

yes Lord of the Roti - The Two Tawas was good :D

Postby wagon r » April 12th, 2010, 12:30 pm

^ you need to get out of the house more....gggeeezzzzz.....

Postby tr1ad » April 12th, 2010, 12:35 pm

i tort was god of war 3

ztune

Postby ztune » April 12th, 2010, 3:18 pm

good movie. medusa had a better neck go down in the movie "lightening thief" though

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » April 12th, 2010, 8:58 pm

so i jus saw it @ MovieTowne

i give the movie a 2.5 out of 5 for the following reasons:

1. The story was very much changed, from both the original movie and the mythology. As such, lovers of either will find it somewhat disappointing.

2. The special effects were lacking in the"special" department, either by choice (like the animatronic boatman) or cost (looks like they saved mostly for the scorpions and the Kraken).

3. The casting was a bit off (i mean, come on! an Indian dude in the Olympian plethora of gods?!), with the acting being rather bland and uninspired (except for Zeus' exclamations of "You're a son of Zeus!"); wasn't helped by the lackluster script.

4. The director's inspiration was all too obvious due to his wholesale copying from other praiseworthy sources (the God of War series, Avatar, etc).

if you're viewing it as a first-timer, without the classic 1981 version affixed firmly in your fondest memories, you just might enjoy it as another action blockbuster.

but if you're looking for an update of the timeless classic you loved as a child, you may be somewhat disappointed...

that's why it's called a Classic

Postby r3iXmann » April 12th, 2010, 11:04 pm

pioneer wrote:ok anyone found medusa real sexy?....i was kinda turned on :|

ent! guts for that normal normal :|

EVA Unit-01 wrote:so i jus saw it @ MovieTowne

i give the movie a 2.5 out of 5 for the following reasons:

1. The story was very much changed, from both the original movie and the mythology. As such, lovers of either will find it somewhat disappointing.

2. The special effects were lacking in the"special" department, either by choice (like the animatronic boatman) or cost (looks like they saved mostly for the scorpions and the Kraken).

3. The casting was a bit off (i mean, come on! an Indian dude in the Olympian plethora of gods?!), with the acting being rather bland and uninspired (except for Zeus' exclamations of "You're a son of Zeus!"); wasn't helped by the lackluster script.

4. The director's inspiration was all too obvious due to his wholesale copying from other praiseworthy sources (the God of War series, Avatar, etc).

if you're viewing it as a first-timer, without the classic 1981 version affixed firmly in your fondest memories, you just might enjoy it as another action blockbuster.

but if you're looking for an update of the timeless classic you loved as a child, you may be somewhat disappointed...

that's why it's called a Classic

overanalysis ftl :?

just saw it..it was great (and yes i've seen and enjoyed the 1981 version many times)

film was great..quite action packed..some of perseus' lines felt very motivating

zeus didn't have to use up all d ppl armor all though :|

200sx

Postby 200sx » April 12th, 2010, 11:15 pm

jus saw it also as said story line changed, didn't like that very much plus the Kraken died to soon........................

3 outta 5

liked the GRINCH look alike [Indian Greek] :lol: