pioneer wrote:and it have people ratin up foreign used tires cuz dey too cheap to buy new ones
park up yuh car and take maxi yes
MG Man wrote:ppl look at me like I mad when I change my tyres every 2 years
so how am I going to know the date of manufacture? cause I actually going to buy tyres on Sat.
biggy82 wrote:good reading here:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/ ... ?techid=11
and here:
http://www.mylittleportal.com/tire-manu ... date-aging
MG Man wrote:four Nexens taken off someone's Fielder wagon after 2 years
ahfella wrote:pioneer wrote:and it have people ratin up foreign used tires cuz dey too cheap to buy new ones
park up yuh car and take maxi yes
Saw this once in a friend's rim and tyre shop....Man gone an paid more than 12 grand for 20 inch rims then decided to buy used tyres![]()
tr1ad wrote:alas i fall prey to the used tyres as i cannot afford tyres costin me 3200 a set
MG Man wrote:tr1ad wrote:alas i fall prey to the used tyres as i cannot afford tyres costin me 3200 a set
new toyos for the corolla cost me about 425 a pop
Toyo Vimode for the HSR cost 400 a pop
Havent priced 16s for the mini yet but I reckon about 2500
thing is, say 4k for a set, over 24 months means if you put aside 200 a month, u can easily afford 4 good tyres every 2 years............
MG Man wrote:four Nexens taken off someone's Fielder wagon after 2 years........
MG Man wrote:Noticed the same thing with Nexens on a car parked in Subway Glencoe yesterday.........thing is, once a tyre is mounted on a rim, cracks in the sidewall are very hard to see...especially in the case of that car, where the crack was in the cusp of the rim guard
Damien I have 3 year old toyos on my car with nothing remotely resembling that kind of failure....and for me that's pushing it, cuz I dont keep a tyre on my car more than 2 years regardless of tred depth.....the mini was parked for a year so it got away from me, but still.............the HSR was parked on Goodyears for 5 years (those tyres were 3 years old when the car was laid up so that's 8 years total) and still, some dry rot but NOTHING like that............
eekipoo wrote:MG Man wrote:tr1ad wrote:alas i fall prey to the used tyres as i cannot afford tyres costin me 3200 a set
new toyos for the corolla cost me about 425 a pop
Toyo Vimode for the HSR cost 400 a pop
Havent priced 16s for the mini yet but I reckon about 2500
thing is, say 4k for a set, over 24 months means if you put aside 200 a month, u can easily afford 4 good tyres every 2 years............
Two years you saying!!!! You dont drive much dont you? What's your average distance of travel per day? I bought my car last feburary and i already changed my two front tyres twice already.
ingalook wrote:MG Man wrote:Noticed the same thing with Nexens on a car parked in Subway Glencoe yesterday.........thing is, once a tyre is mounted on a rim, cracks in the sidewall are very hard to see...especially in the case of that car, where the crack was in the cusp of the rim guard
Damien I have 3 year old toyos on my car with nothing remotely resembling that kind of failure....and for me that's pushing it, cuz I dont keep a tyre on my car more than 2 years regardless of tred depth.....the mini was parked for a year so it got away from me, but still.............the HSR was parked on Goodyears for 5 years (those tyres were 3 years old when the car was laid up so that's 8 years total) and still, some dry rot but NOTHING like that............
Where yuh get toyo to buy?