? About re-marrying

Halfbreed07

? About re-marrying

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 15th, 2010, 8:46 pm

ever noticed how divored folks are seldom interested in re-marrying again?

Is that fair to the other person esp. if they have never been married before.

I am starting to think marriage is over rated; what you guys think?

Postby Damien » February 15th, 2010, 8:47 pm

overrated :|

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 15th, 2010, 8:54 pm

Can't wait for it. Don't be offended but do you coem from a stable family structure and your parents had an awesome marriage?

AbstractPoetic

Re: ? About re-marrying

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 15th, 2010, 8:58 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:ever noticed how divored folks are seldom interested in re-marrying again?

Is that fair to the other person esp. if they have never been married before.

I am starting to think marriage is over rated; what you guys think?

Marriage is not overrated. People often do not know what they are getting into and fail to realize that marriage is a business requiring not only commitment but hard work.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 15th, 2010, 8:58 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Can't wait for it. Don't be offended but do you coem from a stable family structure and your parents had an awesome marriage?

All the best to you and yours. :)

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 15th, 2010, 9:01 pm

lol as a matter of fact i do; ppl going strong for 35 plus years.
But i kno wey u coming from, and i have my personal experiences that have made me lose faith in the whole marriage thing. I say common law it for as long as it is possible den wen you all comfortable prob. 4, 5 yrs do the wedding. Dats just me though.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 15th, 2010, 9:02 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:lol as a matter of fact i do; ppl going strong for 35 plus years.
But i kno wey u coming from, and i have my personal experiences that have made me lose faith in the whole marriage thing. I say common law it for as long as it is possible den wen you all comfortable prob. 4, 5 yrs do the wedding. Dats just me though.

And if children were to come out of that 4-5 year "on the fence" status, what then?

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 15th, 2010, 9:06 pm

As have i man from people right in my extended family, cousins etc. But I will take a page from the older folks and learn from their lessons and submit to their advice.

Boy I eh go lie , when you're young and have some money to your name it's scary now seeing how spouses just run off. My view on marriage though has to also do with what I'm convicted and believe in- it's sacred and well living common law is contradicting to that.

A friend that sees things jsut as you do told me this after a failed marriage an now has a gf for the last 15 yrs.. "Everyone should get married once"

Z

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 15th, 2010, 9:17 pm

going back to the original point i think its unfair to the other person; but i also feel that marriage is only special the first time, after that it feels like a formality

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 15th, 2010, 9:25 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Halfbreed07 wrote:lol as a matter of fact i do; ppl going strong for 35 plus years.

And if children were to come out of that 4-5 year "on the fence" status, what then?

Call the pundit or pastor and set a date

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » February 15th, 2010, 9:34 pm

:| marriage is overated imho

the only reason my parents got married is coz they fought over the fact tht my mom won't put my eldest sis surname as my dad .. :| so they got married so tht we'd have my dad's name :lol:

thepunisherer

Postby thepunisherer » February 15th, 2010, 9:37 pm

Marriage only makes sense if you have a noonny, to the rest of us with two heads we offer the question, "Why?"
Last edited by thepunisherer on February 15th, 2010, 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 15th, 2010, 9:39 pm

eurogirl wrote::| marriage is overated imho

the only reason my parents got married is coz they fought over the fact tht my mom won't put my eldest sis surname as my dad .. :| so they got married so tht we'd have my dad's name :lol:

So what about you, eurogirl? Can you see yourself married?

urabus

Postby urabus » February 15th, 2010, 9:44 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Can't wait for it.

i use to feel excited about it, but not any more!
as i see it, marriages dont last without commitment, you have to pick someone and be committed to him/her only.

Don't be offended but do you coem from a stable family structure and your parents had an awesome marriage?

and what happens when your parent's marriage turn into a disaster one day? dont try to fashion how your parents lived!

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 15th, 2010, 9:53 pm

urabus,
so true most old ppl stay married just for so, even though any semblance of romance/joy has long sizzled out. most have just twist their faces and say i staying with he for meh chirren, then when they grow up and moved out, its too late for the either parent to start a new life.

on another point, it scares me how some people can get married without living together before, let alone not having sex before marriage

Postby skylinechild » February 15th, 2010, 9:54 pm

eurogirl wrote::| marriage is overated imho

eurogirl you alive....so long no see you...or hear from you.....

Postby cinco » February 15th, 2010, 9:56 pm

marriage is an institution
u know what else is an institution
ST ANNS!!!

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 15th, 2010, 9:59 pm

skylinechild,
if yuh spamming at least let me hear your views on the topic nah...
Last edited by Halfbreed07 on February 15th, 2010, 10:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » February 15th, 2010, 10:00 pm

:| honestly no and i'm ok with tht .. I guess I need to convince my mother's side of the family

On my dad's side
I grew up around women who chose career's over not to get married etc , its a family thing its not a big deal actually I realise i've been making the same choices . They have bf's, men in there life whose been with them forever I consider them uncles and they too don't feel the restriction of society tht they have to get married even tho they grew up with the naysayer's telling them they need husbands .. . I guess I grew up in a modern family and I didn't know it .

Whilst on my mom's side , if u're 18 u're married simple
I've escaped as well as my siblings for the mere fact tht I was an outcast because of the fact tht I choose to get an education and my grandmother's open hatred towards me ... so my mother's family don't like me ... . actually its more like scant regard and underlying insults everytime i'm around them ... ..

So yea ..one side does tell me i could be anything I want to be and support my life decisions

and the other side tell's me i'll be nothing and a nobody coz I didn't marry a shiek lisas truck driver lol

who needs a man if u're fighting a battle zone like tht ?!

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » February 15th, 2010, 10:01 pm

heyy skyline ... boy I living but barely :| :lol: :lol:

Banzai1

Postby Banzai1 » February 15th, 2010, 10:05 pm

Marriage is the first step towards a divorce.......... :roll:

Postby Damien » February 15th, 2010, 10:06 pm

Banzai1, i go tell you wife :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby skylinechild » February 15th, 2010, 10:25 pm

eurogirl wrote:heyy skyline ... boy I living but barely :| :lol: :lol:

:lol: :lol: :lol: same here..working like a dog....but why u living barely.....you forget about the secret magical liquid that makes all your troubles dissappear....try some....(ALCOHOL)

halfbreed07

my opinion doesnt matter cause i drown my sorrows....

marriage has it's good and bads but i think you already knew that.....

i think your question is " is marriage worth it " and i honestly cant tell you.....i'm not married and again i drown my sorrows......

halfbreed07 wrote: on another point, it scares me how some people can get married without living together before, let alone not having sex before marriage

i lost here .....what you trying to say.???....ppl should live together and have sex before getting married..all in the sake to get to know one another...is that what youre trying to say.?

halfbreed07 wrote:
skylinechild,
hunny if yuh spamming at least let me hear your views on the topic nah...

dont call me hunny...please....that's just weird....i dont know if youre a guy or chick....that's why it's weird...

Postby Maserati » February 15th, 2010, 10:26 pm

Banzai1 wrote:Marriage is the first step towards a divorce.......... :roll:

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » February 15th, 2010, 10:28 pm

skylinechild wrote:
eurogirl wrote:heyy skyline ... boy I living but barely :| :lol: :lol:

:lol: :lol: :lol: same here..working like a dog....but why u living barely.....you forget about the secret magical liquid that makes all your troubles dissappear....try some....(ALCOHOL)

halfbreed07

my opinion doesnt matter cause i drown my sorrows....

marriage has it's good and bads but i think you already knew that.....

i think your question is " is marriage worth it " and i honestly cant tell you.....i'm not married and again i drown my sorrows......

halfbreed07 wrote: on another point, it scares me how some people can get married without living together before, let alone not having sex before marriage

i lost here .....what you trying to say.???....ppl should live together and have sex before getting married..all in the sake to get to know one another...is that what youre trying to say.?

halfbreed07 wrote:
skylinechild,
hunny if yuh spamming at least let me hear your views on the topic nah...

dont call me hunny...please....that's just weird....i dont know if youre a guy or chick....that's why it's weird...

I stopped drinking the day I realised I can drink 3/4 bottle of gin and it does ntohing for me ..

yea boy ! we go bounce nah i need sum sleep !!

Postby De Dragon » February 15th, 2010, 10:28 pm

marrying was the first piece ah fackery, far less for remarrying :|

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 15th, 2010, 10:28 pm

skyline
ok, to each his own
yes, no better way to get to kno each other
hard luck for some reason i though you were a chick, again my apologies...
Last edited by Halfbreed07 on February 15th, 2010, 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » February 15th, 2010, 10:28 pm

I want to comment eh guys and gal but words fail me...

Let me try still....

Too many people get married for selfish reasons, far often painting a perfect picture for the other party involved. Time reveals all truths eventually though. Hence the high divorce rate.

So i'm 30, Divorced Twice - Thinking about if Marriage make sense when we have so much dishonest and pretensive people out there.

I still believe in the strength of the human spirit so i won't say NO but you gotta come good. Real good.
Last edited by *Phoenix* on February 15th, 2010, 10:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » February 15th, 2010, 10:32 pm

dude

b4 30 and divorced twice

somehow how u need to check on u .. :| no offence eh ..

usually ppl stay married the 2nd time around unless u're devrat and like to fcuk everything tht wears a 2 piece :|

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 15th, 2010, 10:35 pm

Fire_Fighter786 wrote:So i'm 30, Divorced Twice - Thinking about if Marriage make sense when we have so much dishonest and pretensive people out there.

Are you indirectly placing blame on the other parties? Have you held accountability for your own actions in both divorces?

Fire_Fighter786 wrote:I still believe in the strength of the human spirit so i won't say NO but you gotta come good. Real good.

I'm happy to here you still have faith in the human spirit.