Postby Greypatch » January 25th, 2010, 1:30 pm

xefloor i look forward to any new factual information

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2010, 1:36 pm

pioneer wrote:Who cares, all this long talk...the subaricer was clearly doin some numbers...who cares how much solodex they drive in or whatever...they paid the ultimate price.

simple. your responsibility.

the eye-witnesses coming out.
http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010 ... ment-32507
but lewwe stick to phantom car theories.
Last edited by wagonrunner on January 25th, 2010, 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » January 25th, 2010, 1:37 pm

how did the roof of the car collapse like that?
that is ridiculous.

it's like that car landed upside down from about a 20ft drop!

Postby MG Man » January 25th, 2010, 1:41 pm

Speed
plain and simple
I doh care how much bad drive u get....speed, failure to read the road conditions.....
back to you, Team Loco

Postby SR » January 25th, 2010, 1:43 pm

looks like it hit the van upside down

keep in mind 2 opposing forces will create more damage than one force hitting a standstill object

Mini

Postby Mini » January 25th, 2010, 1:49 pm

x2floor wrote:85% of all these fatalities all have a common denominator. It is speed.

Postby wagon r » January 25th, 2010, 1:49 pm

^ like i said earlier.....and is only momentum will turn you over....

...is the poor child i studyin.....not to say is 1 gone but to lose both.... :(

Postby Damien » January 25th, 2010, 1:50 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
Damien wrote:I coming down south this morning,driving bout 90km/hr on the right lane right under the gasparillo flyover and ah man like he sleep away and come on my lane. I slam meh brakes so hard so i wouldnt hit him and he justdrive off and eh even watch meh fuss he know wha sheit he do, Only when i reach in work i realize i did hit him :| :| :|

rip

i ran off the road into the ditch before gasparillo turn off....guy pulled infront of me on the left lane....slammed brakes and ran off the road on the left........

looking back at the situation....even if she was traveling at 80km even 100km, if someone cut her off and she slammed brakes and pull the steering to lets say the right, as soon as the come off the brakes, vehicle would travel in that direction to the right, off the road..........

there are so many variables to be played out in this situation......

and apparently he was taking his children to school, some people does take this driving thing for granted yes,all it takes is one mistake and its all over even if your the bestest driver

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » January 25th, 2010, 1:57 pm

SR wrote:looks like it hit the van upside down

keep in mind 2 opposing forces will create more damage than one force hitting a standstill object

That's what I was thinking...flipping could not crush a car like that..
unless it was an almera :?

urabus

Postby urabus » January 25th, 2010, 1:58 pm

at this point, after reading the guardian...i have a slight change of feelings towards the couple, however its still very disturbing..i myself wanted to believe it cud have been due to mechanical failure

dont worry about that baby, im sure he/she will be a great hands, just look at the old lady crying in that pic of the guardian...gosh it made my stomach go empty.

when would people learn, life is so precious and thou we preach time and time again to take your time on the road, many choose to ignore this simple rule.

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » January 25th, 2010, 1:58 pm

I haven't seen any pics but my wife was passing that area just after the accident happened. What I know from her is that the car was on its hood and fire officers had to cut open the doors to get the casualties out.

I suspect that the vehicle was then turned back onto its wheels because of the crushed hood so that they could cut it off in search of the baby. Very likely they saw the baby's car seat inside and didn't know that the baby wasn't in the car.

The damage anyone is seeing has to take into consideration the damage caused by the 'jaws of life'.

I wasn't able to comment since I started this thread but it is unfortunate how quickly the other driver was blamed for crossing the median. The truth is that this was an accident and speed was a factor, from both vehicles. If the car was going slower it may not have crossed the median, and if the pickup was going slower it may have avoided the car after it crossed the median. Problem is, we can't drive in so much fear that we slow to a standstill.

True driving skill is not so much about how good you can control your car when it is working well and going where you want but about how well you can control it when things go wrong and the road ahead suddenly becomes a fast changing hazard.

Going slower will always give you more options and time.

R.I.P

Postby A172 » January 25th, 2010, 2:02 pm

FriendlyFire wrote:I haven't seen any pics but my wife was passing that area just after the accident happened. What I know from her is that the car was on its hood and fire officers had to cut open the doors to get the casualties out.

I suspect that the vehicle was then turned back onto its wheels because of the crushed hood so that they could cut it off in search of the baby. Very likely they saw the baby's car seat inside and didn't know that the baby wasn't in the car.

The damage anyone is seeing has to take into consideration the damage caused by the 'jaws of life'.

I wasn't able to comment since I started this thread but it is unfortunate how quickly the other driver was blamed for crossing the median. The truth is that this was an accident and speed was a factor, from both vehicles. If the car was going slower it may not have crossed the median, and if the pickup was going slower it may have avoided the car after it crossed the median. Problem is, we can't drive in so much fear that we slow to a standstill.

True driving skill is not so much about how good you can control your car when it is working well and going where you want but about how well you can control it when things go wrong and the road ahead suddenly becomes a fast changing hazard.

Going slower will always give you more options and time.

R.I.P

you issa kinda ass? :?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 25th, 2010, 2:06 pm

pioneer wrote:Who cares, all this long talk...the subaricer was clearly doin some numbers...who cares how much solodex they drive in or whatever...they paid the ultimate price.

other question that has to be raised, is how legit these accounts are?? and why they didnt come forward at the crime scene but mere waiting for an internet article....

Postby SR » January 25th, 2010, 2:08 pm

the pickup driver is not to blame

based on the reports posted and pics

the papers once again reporting wrong information

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2010, 2:12 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:

other question that has to be raised, is how legit these accounts are?? and why they didnt come forward at the crime scene but mere waiting for an internet article....

It must always have someone else to shoulder the blame.

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » January 25th, 2010, 2:14 pm

I think you missed my point.

What I am saying is that if the pickup was going dead slow they may have been able to simply turned away from the car. This wasn't meant as a realistic option hence the comment that "we can't drive in so much fear that we slow to a stand still".

Regardless of the individual speed of the vehicles in an accident the damage is caused by the effect of their combined speed.

Jeez. Sorry about my failure to make my reference a bit more sarcastic.

Postby A172 » January 25th, 2010, 2:15 pm

lola.308 wrote:ammm the dude in the pick up was going his merry way. i could imagine the conversation in the pick up, two old men going on about birds or corn (or whatever old men talk about) then all a sudden...BANG...."i think there's a subaru on top on us!!!"

d man had nothing to do with it :roll:

i don't think anyone can be prepared for another car flying towards u from the opposite direction...where yuh supposed to go? I'm glad he didn't swerve into another car and invovle someone else....leave d man alone....

nah according to FriendlyFire's logic, motorists should always keep one eye on the next side of the highway to give yuh leeway to slow down just in case a vehicle decides to fly across

and if yuh cyah avoid it in time, then yuh was 'speeding' :|

STEUPS :roll:

Postby MG Man » January 25th, 2010, 2:20 pm

I always try to keep a glance in the opposite carriageway, but as Lola said, what the heck u supposed to do when u see a car careening towards you? :shock:

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » January 25th, 2010, 2:21 pm

:D :D :D

From your comment to lola.308 I could tell you miss mih point.

I think ah go just hush.

Postby A172 » January 25th, 2010, 2:24 pm

your 'point' is rubbish

saying that the van driver could have lessened the outcome had he done something different is pure nonsense

kthxbai.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 25th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:

so Karl since u were already a victim and survivor of a car crossing the highway and colliding with you, what's your advise to people in this situation?

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2010, 2:32 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:so Karl since u were already a victim and survivor of a car crossing the highway and colliding with you, what's your advise to people in this situation?

MG Man wrote:sorry for the dude in the pickup :|

yeah boy.
that is a hard, screwed up reality.

u know exactly what I talkin about....happily going on your merry way when WHAM!
some tard flies in your path and wrecks your car.........

which is exactly why i said what i said.
There's not even any need for regret, because it's not your fault, and you do what you can to survive, hopefully with the vehicle intact.
I simply came out a lot better than he did.

guess you missed that Aaron.

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » January 25th, 2010, 2:40 pm

Lord put ah hand!!

A172.

If what I say sound like that? :lol: :lol: :lol: Then I agree with you.

But let me not get distracted by your interpretation of my comment and focus on the responses to Aaron's question instead.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » January 25th, 2010, 2:44 pm

So do date the driver of the Murdering AUDI Q7 ever got charged?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 25th, 2010, 2:51 pm

Well that's the problem right there.....Subaru have no hope racing a Skyline

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 25th, 2010, 3:26 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:So do date the driver of the Murdering AUDI Q7 ever got charged?

don't go there, trust me

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 25th, 2010, 3:28 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:

like i said, how legit are these claims?? occupants of wrx has nutting to gain or loss, they are already dead....

why didnt these said individuals come forward to the authorities and give their accounts? they would be saving the driver of the pick-up, who could be faced with a manslaughter charge if the police go with the theory that he was the one who crossed the median....

Postby Rooki3 » January 25th, 2010, 3:30 pm

Wow, now seeing this, i remembered when this car was in studdy's lot in tobago & i wanted to buy it, those days paper was real hard, by the time i came around with the downpayment they sent the car back to trini cuz someone had bought it, i drove it once, it was very responsive in auto mode & even better with the sport tiptronic, it was a genuine WRX

But reading some comments from the FS post, apparently the car used to be on the cross :? , what does that say of the driver? or co- driver? :idea:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 25th, 2010, 3:32 pm

^^I'm glad u said it......I thought that observation was reserved.

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2010, 3:35 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:

like i said, how legit are these claims?? occupants of wrx has nutting to gain or loss, they are already dead....

why didnt these said individuals come forward to the authorities and give their accounts? they would be saving the driver of the pick-up, who could be faced with a manslaughter charge if the police go with the theory that he was the one who crossed the median....

If you re-read the thread, you might realize who is saying what, and exactly what they are saying.
That person also stopped at the scene. I'm not worried about the police statement they made.
you may also come to the conclusion, that the newspaper report in the guardian, is not the report given to the police.