The guitar string (thread)

Postby Sky » January 20th, 2010, 10:45 pm

josh.dookie, Ever played a genuine PRS? IF you think the SE sweet. Fadda lawd.
Shyam from live n loud have a blue flame maple. Can't remember the model.
Strats have a signature tone that no other guitar ever could copy. No matter how they tried.
Shyam plug that into a Marshall and start to shred without a wah pedal. The guitar actually pull it off jed. It get the tone. That ended an argument between him and I that the strat sound can only be made with Fenders.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 20th, 2010, 11:31 pm

Yup my buddy from BRC has a PRS. Every day for the 5 months it took to make and ship he would be updated.
It's truly an amazing instrument.. I jsut picket up a used(badly) Strat, squier 2series.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » January 21st, 2010, 12:26 am

Sky wrote:BUMP!!!

buzz, check ultimate guitar. Their lessons so well from nub to pro.

Anyone knows anyone locally with a black Kramer Imperial? I know there's at least one. I imported it.

Quad rails iymc. 4 single coil sized humbuckers paired off. Yep, EIGHT COILS!!! When I tune to C and ring out a chord All the jumbies would run outta Jumbo Gym. Anyways, it was big as fcuk and I couldn't sit and play it. I tried my best because it sounded so sweet and menacing, but eventually gave up and Gave Shane (AudioCon) to sell it for me. Anyone knows the lucky soul that bought this?

wdf...it sweet :shock:

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 21st, 2010, 9:13 am

Yo sky man, wat u mean genuine? Mine is no a fake lol, is jus a lower grade, and yeah i played sham's PRS as well, Jason Bishop also has one like Shams, man those are sweet, and yeah I've seen a man play a palmer and made it sound like a Strat on a good Marshall Amp.

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 21st, 2010, 9:18 am

BTW jed, live n loud real stickin, they hace my amp since b4 christmas jed.. Never knew a short in a n amp wud take so long to "fix"..

Postby buzz » January 21st, 2010, 1:00 pm

Mudboy wrote:

Anyone knows anyone locally with a black Kramer Imperial? I know there's at least one. I imported it.

Quad rails iymc. 4 single coil sized humbuckers paired off. Yep, EIGHT COILS!!! When I tune to C and ring out a chord All the jumbies would run outta Jumbo Gym. Anyways, it was big as fcuk and I couldn't sit and play it. I tried my best because it sounded so sweet and menacing, but eventually gave up and Gave Shane (AudioCon) to sell it for me. Anyone knows the lucky soul that bought this?

wdf...it sweet :shock:

i piped a kramer about 5 yrs ago :?

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » January 21st, 2010, 1:18 pm

Or n I also own a Abilene guitar, never really heard of that b4, twas my first guitar, as well as an Ibanez Dreadnought Acoustic, very sweet guitar, a lil rough on the fingers, but she produce a really sweet sound! Saw the Kramer brand around.. Not really a fan of it!

Postby Sky » January 21st, 2010, 3:20 pm

josh.dookie wrote:Yo sky man, wat u mean genuine? Mine is no a fake lol, is jus a lower grade, and yeah i played sham's PRS as well, Jason Bishop also has one like Shams, man those are sweet, and yeah I've seen a man play a palmer and made it sound like a Strat on a good Marshall Amp.

I mean SE is to PRS like Squire is to Fender and Epiphone is to Gibson.

Postby Cjruckus » January 22nd, 2010, 12:57 am

evokiller wrote:yeh i spoke to J already about repairs but then he said just get tube so i studying 2 buy a vox valvetronix 50W 1X12....i real doh no how 2 bring that down tho cuz i sure shipping and customs going be more killer for thta....FAIL..

You feel shipping on a 1x12 is bad?
I had to send down a 4x12 cabinet and Mesa Boogie Head. The shipping was killer but there was no duty on it.

If you need tubes by them yourself from http://thetubestore.com/

Or you could just go Mesa/Boogie... self biasing FTW. The investment pays back for itself.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » January 22nd, 2010, 12:59 am

nah i dont work just school so killer for me is nething past 1000 lol haha how much the shipping of that cab cost u Cjruckus, ?

self biasing? explain plz

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » January 22nd, 2010, 8:56 am

Shyam has a PRS Swamp ash special, which is specifically built to get into strat tones, ash body, all maple neck etc. It could have been that one, but for sure the average mahogany neck and body PRS's wont get there.

evokilla I could still link you with a brand new piece of crap vox valvetronix I know selling, with those modelling features, just dont mention it to me too much when it stops working after 8 months

BTW yall I have some stuff hitting Simons over the next few weeks, starting yesterday.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » January 22nd, 2010, 9:02 am

well johnny pm me the price of it nah haha

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » January 24th, 2010, 6:30 pm

^^Nice work! :shock:

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » January 24th, 2010, 6:33 pm

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/MqwbcJMUr7Q&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/MqwbcJMUr7Q&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Postby Sky » January 24th, 2010, 7:00 pm

InDeForest wrote:Shyam has a PRS Swamp ash special, which is specifically built to get into strat tones, ash body, all maple neck etc. It could have been that one, but for sure the average mahogany neck and body PRS's wont get there.

evokilla I could still link you with a brand new piece of crap vox valvetronix I know selling, with those modelling features, just dont mention it to me too much when it stops working after 8 months

BTW yall I have some stuff hitting Simons over the next few weeks, starting yesterday.

The blue one right? Yup that's the bugger.
What's the price on the Krough Hollow?

Postby Cjruckus » January 24th, 2010, 10:27 pm

evokiller wrote:nah i dont work just school so killer for me is nething past 1000 lol haha how much the shipping of that cab cost u Cjruckus, ?

self biasing? explain plz

It cost me about 200 usd to package both the head and the cab in separate boxes and ship to a fright forwarder in california from colorado.
I needed to get a custom box built for the cabinet with padding and stuff.

Self biasing makes changing tubes easy. Once you buy tubes from the company that makes the amp, you change them like light bulbs. You can change out the tubes from EL34 to 6L6 by the flip of a switch. But all of that is pretty pointless if you dont plan to use it. I may have switched out my tubes once or twice for the different tone.

evokiller

Postby evokiller » January 24th, 2010, 10:31 pm

hmmm sighsss i need a job jed...still amp less and allowance real not working for the saving factor...

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » February 8th, 2010, 10:15 am

aye, Live n Loud move, guess the lime moving too, lol.

i really need to get back to practicing. The guitar gathering dust :(

Postby buzz » March 9th, 2010, 4:18 pm

what y'all recommend in teh acoustic department ?

leaning on yamaha atm :|

Postby buzz » March 10th, 2010, 11:15 am

anyone? :|

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » March 11th, 2010, 2:10 pm

Hohner is a good acoustic.

Postby buzz » March 11th, 2010, 2:34 pm

thank you sir

Swifted

Postby Swifted » March 11th, 2010, 5:22 pm

you can get great Ovations online for $300~400USD. Locally? I haven't a clue - I never bought local.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » March 11th, 2010, 8:51 pm

Audiocon just got a full line of yamaha acoustics, steel and nylon. Simons has some fantastic ones from Simon&Patrick, godin, and a few yamaha and others as well.

johnnie717

Re: The guitar string (thread)

Postby johnnie717 » September 11th, 2010, 2:14 pm

Hey anybody ever check out the Egnater tweaker head. It is a full tube head.....3 12AX7 and 2 6V6.

I have a prs se custom an a boss me 70 ..... nw i need a good tube amp for a decent price....i like this tweaker. Anybody hav any ideas on it....I hear Egnater suppose to be a real high end class of guitar amps.

I wudda like to buy the Vox ac 15....but nobody down here hav it and that go be too much wen it come down here.

The egnater runnin for about $5000.

Re:

Postby buzz » September 11th, 2010, 3:39 pm

InDeForest wrote:Audiocon just got a full line of yamaha acoustics, steel and nylon. Simons has some fantastic ones from Simon&Patrick, godin, and a few yamaha and others as well.

missed this post completely

thx

hope they still have :|

Postby UML » September 11th, 2010, 9:11 pm

:mrgreen:

Re:

Postby shogun » September 11th, 2010, 9:46 pm

Fcuking sweet!

Postby shogun » September 11th, 2010, 11:17 pm

Me want!

aidan

Postby aidan » September 12th, 2010, 2:38 pm

Aye, anybody know where I can find some E. ball super slinkys?