WTK : Is Mileage Important when buying a car?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 24th, 2009, 2:38 pm

Hey all,

I was wondering if mileage is important when purchasing a car..

I mean the less mileage the better condition the car is expected to be in,
but then again I saw a guy advertising that he can roll back the digital mileage on cars therefore..........is the mileage on the speedometer really important?

praise

Postby praise » November 24th, 2009, 2:54 pm

That's a bit tricky. The most important thing is really how well the vehicle was maintained, and the present condition of engine and transmission,body,upholstery and suspension . Mileage is important in terms of what may be needed to be done and how much life may be left before majors repairs might be needed. Of course the icing on the cake is a well maintained vehicle, with low mileage.
But do not be fooled with extra low mileage, especially with those roll on roll off cars which mileage has been tampered with.

slow323

roro

Postby slow323 » November 24th, 2009, 3:11 pm

X2 roro = tampered mileage

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 24th, 2009, 3:12 pm

X3!

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » November 24th, 2009, 5:24 pm

Which dealers do it? :?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 24th, 2009, 8:26 pm

The guy advertised that it would cost $800 to roll back the mileage....I was shocked since he was advertising his service proudly and openly!!!

So fellas - those RORO cars doing 21000 Kilometers - Could this still be the actual mileage? or is it definitely tampered.....

Mind you I saw a 2004 Lancer Model with 7000 Kilos and a Toyota Corolla with 1135 Kilos......

praise

Postby praise » November 24th, 2009, 8:50 pm

Maybe one in a hundred, but I have seen so many cars with mileage under 30,000 km, and judging from the condition and the problems that people get, that's simple cannot be correct. Imagine, those countries a so much larger than us, doing only 21,000 in four years. Do they take us for fools. There are tools that make turning back digital odometer very simple, just like a diagnostic scan. The digimaster is just one example and there are many others.
Grovemaster, all them dealers know that we fall for low mileage car, so they tell their suppliers what to do even before it reaches Trinidad. And even the suppliers get smart, they do it without even being told.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 24th, 2009, 8:54 pm

Some, if not all of those RORO looks NEW and in great condition so it is not hard to believe that the mileage is low....

When they clean up those cars and wash down the engine it looks great!!!

But I agree ---suppliers would fix their cars before they send them here.....

slow323

Postby slow323 » November 25th, 2009, 12:13 pm

how can a whole car lot or car shipment all have the same amount of kms by this i mean the kms are always within a same amount obviously it has been tampered with

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 25th, 2009, 2:15 pm

or maybe those japanese ppl just use the car up to 21000 kilos and then get rid of it :lol: :lol:

neckto

Postby neckto » November 25th, 2009, 3:33 pm

i wonder who down here you can go by to get your own vehicle mileage lessened ?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » November 25th, 2009, 3:48 pm

Nigson wrote:or maybe those japanese ppl just use the car up to 21000 kilos and then get rid of it :lol: :lol:

Well when you consider that owning and using a car in Japan is not all that straight forward it's not surprising that most cars are sold with roughly the same amount of mileage. Remember in certain parts of Japan, especially in urban areas, you need to first own a parking space before you can purchase a vehicle....you cannot drive your vehicle everyday of the week and by the third year due to the strict emissions laws it is more cost effective to buy a new car than get it to pass emissions tests....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 25th, 2009, 4:36 pm

neckto wrote:lol

There is a guy doing it for $800

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 25th, 2009, 4:37 pm

ek4ever wrote:
Nigson wrote:or maybe those japanese ppl just use the car up to 21000 kilos and then get rid of it :lol: :lol:

Well when you consider that owning and using a car in Japan is not all that straight forward it's not surprising that most cars are sold with roughly the same amount of mileage. Remember in certain parts of Japan, especially in urban areas, you need to first own a parking space before you can purchase a vehicle....you cannot drive your vehicle everyday of the week and by the third year due to the strict emissions laws it is more cost effective to buy a new car than get it to pass emissions tests....

very good point.....so the mileage on some of those cars probably is the real thing

Postby De Dragon » November 25th, 2009, 5:15 pm

Yes, mileage is simply an indicator of what type of maintenance needs to be done on a car. For example if its doing 105K then you can ask whether the 100k service was done. If its doing 95K then you know you're going to have to do it. It means less where FU is concerned

Chemical

Postby Chemical » November 26th, 2009, 6:37 am

I agree also with the low mileage out of japan....The t'portation system is great accross there, the price of gas is extremely high & emission controls testing is not too expensive. To boost the economy of Japan in the manufacturing sector which accounts for approx 85% of GDP the taxes on cars over 3 yrs old is almost the cost of a new car therefore they get rid of them. Also if the car has low mileage they fetch a higher price from used car exporters.

One can just tell the difference between a RORO & a local used.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » November 26th, 2009, 7:23 am

but some other signs of high mileage .. even if the odometer reading low

Driver seat condition ( firm or soft )

Steering wheel , shift knob and pedal conditions

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » November 29th, 2009, 9:20 pm

^^x2 look for the signature signs....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 30th, 2009, 11:55 am

good info guys ..

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 1st, 2009, 4:32 pm

Nigson wrote:
neckto wrote:lol

There is a guy doing it for $800

i believe this is illegal and u should report him to the police
that amounts to fraud

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 1st, 2009, 5:43 pm

Yeah well I do not know the person...It was advertised BOLDLY in the Trinidad express.....

vans

Postby vans » December 1st, 2009, 11:20 pm

i saw this guy selling a pcn b15 with 177,650 kilos on the odo he said it came down like that. most of these car dealers tamper with it to trick buyers

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 2nd, 2009, 1:34 pm

vans wrote:i saw this guy selling a pcn b15 with 177,650 kilos on the odo he said it came down like that. most of these car dealers tamper with it to trick buyers

wow now that needs to be reset :D

lenzomaru

Re: WTK : Is Mileage Important when buying a car?

Postby lenzomaru » July 20th, 2012, 10:48 pm

If u want proof that most if not all dealers are rolling back mileage go to the websites of the companies they import from (here's two http://www.sayuri.co.jpa or http://www.kobemotor.com) see the average mileage of the cars that are 5-6 years old and see that all are very close to 100xxx if not crossing it. If you contrast the prices listed and what they charge here u will see that dealers here are making 20k avg on 1 vehicle doh matter the year or make.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » August 6th, 2012, 10:56 pm

years ago the same thing happened to me , bought a roro car advertised at 43000 kms, when I received the car it was doing 126000 kms. Back then when roro came on stream , you had to make a down payment and wait six or more weeks for the car to reach trinidad , now its easy the cars are there to view upfront and personal.

Apparently the dealer in japan forgot to roll back the mileage, but i heard that a lot of vehicles come in with real high mileages because the local dealer will pay less duty cause they value it less .... go figure.

Postby BrotherHood » August 8th, 2012, 12:02 am

That's why I don't trust buying a RORO, especially after i'm paying all that money for the vehicle.

I buy local used. Yes, there are the few local used that have been rolled back and posted for sale but it's much less than more.

Postby Dave » August 8th, 2012, 10:10 am

but local used can also get mileage rolled back
you can buy a "new" used panel for cheaper than the 800 and show less miles
a chassis with 20,000km would show much less wear than one with 200,000km on it

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 8th, 2012, 10:26 am

lenzomaru wrote:If u want proof that most if not all dealers are rolling back mileage go to the websites of the companies they import from (here's two http://www.sayuri.co.jpa or http://www.kobemotor.com) see the average mileage of the cars that are 5-6 years old and see that all are very close to 100xxx if not crossing it. If you contrast the prices listed and what they charge here u will see that dealers here are making 20k avg on 1 vehicle doh matter the year or make.

Came to say this. I have a newsletter from Sayuri and I REGULARLY see cefiros, corollas, legacy with mileages 90000 km and UP. It's why Cefiro's are so cheap now for example despite the engine tax on 2.0.

Guy at crism also told me that many dealers alter the mileages on cars before they are brought in.

Trainee at work who is into cars also says he has personally seen mileages being rolled back at another dealer.

Way too many stories from different sources to be coincidence. It's part of the reason I went with a new car.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 8th, 2012, 11:38 am

have a relative with a pbs local car doing 50 000 km....he bought it the other day.....

thing is with this car the bloody thing does cant even start on mornings...when it does u have to let it idle for 10 minutes before moving off.....

Is this an engine that now reached 50000km?....I think not.....

Postby BrotherHood » August 8th, 2012, 8:58 pm

^^ That mileage on that series of car could have told him that it was a 6 for a 9. Majority of the times that is the case.