91%
Disagree
9%

Total votes: 46

NorStar2K

Metal Detectors in High Schools

Postby NorStar2K » November 23rd, 2009, 9:46 pm

School - student stabbings are on the increase. Two so far in less than two weeks.

Too many weapons including firearms find there way into today's schools.

Just as is done in US High Schools in Hot Spots, Metal Detectors are standard as a control and a deterrent student related assault and other crimes.

Discuss!

sliperywhenwet

Postby sliperywhenwet » November 23rd, 2009, 9:54 pm

Hoss i went to San Juan Secondary Comprehensive aka BOOK . Metal detectors , rub down take yuh shoes off before yuh go in the gate the full works if they see ah compass or a divider in yuh bag they taking it at the gate right . Hoss i see man get run down with Hatchet , Cutlass , Metal Baseball Bat , See man fighting with pen stuck in thier head ............ u name it i saw it an i left secondary school 7 years now !!! This is nothing new . I say take away the damn Movado and Kartel that corrupting the youths bout this Gaza and Gully crap an lets see if it has an impact on them !

Postby Damien » November 23rd, 2009, 10:01 pm

yes 100%

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » November 23rd, 2009, 10:02 pm

i now was thinking why they dont have that in d mall entrances and the cards u get when u enter 2 park up they dont have that either

Postby Hook » November 23rd, 2009, 10:12 pm

I'm with Richie on this one yo....at any point in a heated argument, anything can be used as a deadly weapon, and they can't be confiscating every pen, pencil and ruler in sight

I admit, back in the days was turf wars same way, but it never got to murder. it's the gang culture mindset and the quickness to which violence is reached that we need to deal with and I think that in schools and in society in general, the violent music is at the core of it...start from the radio stations

we need to try to isolate students from it as much as possible and encourage them to do other activities to build discipline and take their minds off that gang nonsense

U ever wonder why u don't see QRC and Convent or CIC students in that mess?

Vinesh

Postby Vinesh » November 23rd, 2009, 10:38 pm

Hook, it startin to happen with QRC and CIC

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » November 23rd, 2009, 10:59 pm

when i was away, up till 1999 they had metal detectors....they should ah have that here long time, country prolly would ah be different

aR&D

Postby aR&D » November 24th, 2009, 1:31 am

time to bring the parents back into the class rooms

Postby Hook » November 24th, 2009, 2:04 am

pioneer wrote:Good thing these things not needed in Prestige Schools.

You remember what school YOU went to, right?

Sky wrote:
azoturbo wrote:
Edge wrote:Hillview pwns all :|
nah i went brown and remember when we cut them che che bois tail and burn all they shirts in a pile who remember that???

I don't remember that incident, but I remember one when some hillview fellas rough up an eldo man. He had 2 bros goin eldo too and he went back and tell them. Well thing spread and de whola ah eldo went down in hillview tail. Had guards runnin. The hillview men start to get licks and run up in the back of the school. Who defend hillview on the frontline? The handful of girls in upper six. Hillview full ah chi chi!!

LOL tha lix was epic

De main perps involved in that incident lock up deyself in de 6th form block and call mammy and daddy to pick dem up there

I was jus outside chillin by Kumar watchin men geh bottle tuh head...de eldo men knew who was involved the previous day and them was they target...dey didn't bother anyone else.

Especially when i see de piece of steel one of them had in he bag...home was de better place to be :shock:

ah jes sayin'

Postby buzz » November 24th, 2009, 6:48 am

Hook wrote:I'm with Richie on this one yo....at any point in a heated argument, anything can be used as a deadly weapon, and they can't be confiscating every pen, pencil and ruler in sight

I admit, back in the days was turf wars same way, but it never got to murder. it's the gang culture mindset and the quickness to which violence is reached that we need to deal with and I think that in schools and in society in general, the violent music is at the core of it...start from the radio stations

we need to try to isolate students from it as much as possible and encourage them to do other activities to build discipline and take their minds off that gang nonsense

U ever wonder why u don't see QRC and Convent or CIC students in that mess?

correck

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 24th, 2009, 10:32 am

YES -----Student have no respect for authority these days...

switchblademaster

Postby switchblademaster » November 24th, 2009, 10:34 am

d problem is there are no consequences for being caught . The person just get suspended.
Home for 7 days with time on dey hands.....exactly what they want

Enforcing discipline is the problem..........especially with delinquent parents!!!!
Parents real delinquent........expect the educatuion system to take care of their children

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 24th, 2009, 10:47 am

The root cause of the problem is social decay. There is NO appropriate disciplinary structure in schools, and students have basically free rein. This attitude is taken from schools to the workplace.
We need solutions to instill discipline in schools and they need to be reminded that with actions come consequences.

Postby wagonrunner » November 24th, 2009, 11:24 am

Hook wrote:U ever wonder why u don't see QRC and Convent or CIC students in that mess?

they and the other schools with a "better" gameplan, settle their sheit in house, and don't advertise it.

Postby buzz » November 24th, 2009, 1:06 pm

it starts from home...

look @ tunapuna sec for example

not far from eldo BUT they have better pass statistics than QRC and CIC

Postby wagonrunner » November 24th, 2009, 1:53 pm

pioneer wrote:and prolly there's a different caliber of students going those schools

elaborate.
some from the same neighbourhoods, primary schools, even classes.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 24th, 2009, 2:37 pm

d kinda times we living in i say YES ! - go right ahead & install it .... :|

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 24th, 2009, 3:34 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:The root cause of the problem is social decay. There is NO appropriate disciplinary structure in schools, and students have basically free rein. This attitude is taken from schools to the workplace.
We need solutions to instill discipline in schools and they need to be reminded that with actions come consequences.

NOPE

Discipline begins at HOME, parents are supposed to teach their children how to behave and instill good manners in them. I should have recorded an incident that took place next door to me yesterday, today the children in the yard repeating every cuss word

minipresident

Postby minipresident » November 24th, 2009, 5:21 pm

aR&D wrote:time to bring the parents back into the class rooms

not bring back parents,...

bring back corporal punishment!!! licks in deh shockin cnut!!!

metal detector and rub down eh goin an help nuttin.

i ah man pass thru the baddest ah bad,....South East Port of Spain Secondary and i tell you; fellas gettin stab with broken off chair leg and licks with broken desks.

licks in deh shockin cnut!!!

back in d day miss 'pipe' herself remove corpral punishment...

now

Pipe dem need!!!

d spike

Postby d spike » November 24th, 2009, 5:41 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:The root cause of the problem is social decay. There is NO appropriate disciplinary structure in schools, and students have basically free rein. This attitude is taken from schools to the workplace.

NOPE

Discipline begins at HOME, parents are supposed to teach their children how to behave and instill good manners in them. I should have recorded an incident that took place next door to me yesterday, today the children in the yard repeating every cuss word

Both of you are quite right. Discipline is a value taught at home. The reason why "There is NO appropriate disciplinary structure in schools" is that schools never needed to create any... Schools had 'back-up' from the home - teachers just reinforced the values taught in the home. It isn't the job of the school to teach the concept of discipline.

Hence the reason why police have to be called in when crap happens in schools. Suspension only worked when to be suspended was shameful (acquiring an education was honourable, even a status symbol then).

Postby Hook » November 24th, 2009, 7:30 pm

I remember up to maybe a few weeks ago, before all this happened, seeing two students from one of the schools in question walking and teasing each other in the road, an done of them, clearly not wanting to participate, threatened the other guy with "ah go kill yuh modda cont"...and I wondered "how did it jump from shoving to killing?". Clearly some steps were skipped. In my day, after considerable "talks" come a lil push and then shoving and then fisticuffs...a lil cuff and kick, we roll in the dirt a little, buss up a shirt maybe, but it never got to death threats, far less murder!

In the extreme culture and society that we live in where people are encouraged to push the envelope and push limits, it's no wonder children jump to these extremes.
But how do we get that back?

Postby buzz » November 24th, 2009, 7:35 pm

ban movado and kartel from our airways and kil the responsible parents/ students

clean slate :|

[/non literal statement]

d spike

Postby d spike » November 24th, 2009, 7:38 pm

Delete and start again, says I.
Eradicate dem dam' young un's (and all de older buggers who sing/chant/rap/sell dat nonsense they listen to), yeah, wipe out entire generation as ah waste... and start again.

Postby Hook » November 24th, 2009, 7:41 pm

But we had guns in Hillview too! You know that.

The difference was, back then fellas brought it to school to show they had it. It was a pips..."my daddy have a gun"...nowadays kids bring guns to school to settle scores.

I'm still convinced that it's the violent culture glamorized in the music and on television, teamed up with an inefficient Police service that is clearly unequipped and incapable of handling the situation (cuz cigarettes and tint are far more dangerous) and an Education Minister that doesn't know her ass from her elbow (I just heard her say "incidences" at a press conference...which is not unlike "breakfasses" lady and "paradiggum" guy), our young people don't stand a chance.

Postby buzz » November 24th, 2009, 7:45 pm

ent :lol:

buh seriously

its a matter also of condoned norms

when i went to school, when the odd child came around with the "gunta" attitude he was frowned upon.. yes by other students if fact he may have even been "disciplined" when he was disrespectful to to children in higher forms (and yes when i went to school, lower forms respected higher forms... respect earned not no taxing/ fighting/ bullying bull shite)

however sport and art (positive sh1t) were held in high regard in school... hell I was a scout and gained even more discipline from it :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » November 24th, 2009, 7:49 pm

buzz wrote:ent :lol:

buh seriously

its a matter also of condoned norms

when i went to school, when the odd child came around with the "gunta" attitude he was frowned upon.. yes by other students if fact he may have even been "disciplined" when he was disrespectful to to children in higher forms (and yes when i went to school, lower forms respected higher forms... respect earned not no taxing/ fighting/ bullying bull shite)

however sport and art (positive sh1t) were held in high regard in school... hell I was a scout and gained even more discipline from it :lol:

Agreed.

Postby buzz » November 24th, 2009, 7:59 pm

pioneer wrote:I also think the primary school level is being overlooked, discipline starts from there...our education system just in a serious mess

onward with kartel and mavado :|

X100000

when i attended mucurapo boys i learned to cuss, get in a shitload of fights and a whole lot of sh1t a child that age shouldn't know

when i attended dinsley trincity it was a whole different ball game

and once again as i said earlier the accepted norms were different

the attitudes, morals etc rubbed off on me... that coupled with the teachings from home became part of me and i'm thankful to this day

face it, while you were trained @ home, you don't wanna be a sissy in school, so if being a "bad boy" gets you into the cool crowd so be it :arrow:

Postby wagonrunner » November 24th, 2009, 8:02 pm

Hook wrote:I remember up to maybe a few weeks ago, before all this happened, seeing two students from one of the schools in question walking and teasing each other in the road, an done of them, clearly not wanting to participate, threatened the other guy with "ah go kill yuh modda cont"...and I wondered "how did it jump from shoving to killing?". Clearly some steps were skipped. In my day, after considerable "talks" come a lil push and then shoving and then fisticuffs...a lil cuff and kick, we roll in the dirt a little, buss up a shirt maybe, but it never got to death threats, far less murder!

In the extreme culture and society that we live in where people are encouraged to push the envelope and push limits, it's no wonder children jump to these extremes.

boy the sad part of it, is that quick to death threat sheit, reaches even into the workplace.
along the way they seem to have never learnt, the man who will do it, never advertises.

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » November 24th, 2009, 8:07 pm

the school have nothing to do with wherther or not there is gang-mentality, because anyway u take it, something start in school, they wait till school dun to finish it, for e.g i was in the mall and i see a group of fellas say "ey daz d fella from form 4, i doh like he head attal, he make me get suspended jed" d nex fella say "lewwie move fuh him na" and dey gon e and beat up d fella, these fellas goin "Trinity College East", i KNOw fellas who goin "QRC and CIC" who smoke and behave stupid on a daily basis. with the comment "it stems from the music" I TOTALLY AGREE.

Postby buzz » November 24th, 2009, 8:30 pm

Hook wrote:I remember up to maybe a few weeks ago, before all this happened, seeing two students from one of the schools in question walking and teasing each other in the road, an done of them, clearly not wanting to participate, threatened the other guy with "ah go kill yuh modda cont"...and I wondered "how did it jump from shoving to killing?". Clearly some steps were skipped. In my day, after considerable "talks" come a lil push and then shoving and then fisticuffs...a lil cuff and kick, we roll in the dirt a little, buss up a shirt maybe, but it never got to death threats, far less murder!

boy the sad part of it, is that quick to death threat sheit, reaches even into the workplace.
along the way they seem to have never learnt, the man who will do it, never advertises.

true

i remember when ah trini long time say he go kill yuh :lol:

"well kill meh nah?" grand charge FTL :lol: