question about Noah's ark.............

Wizard

Postby Wizard » November 14th, 2009, 5:03 pm

so instead they should sit on their arses and believe in nothing

religion inspires people to be better but it also brings out the worst in some

what you want to add razkal instead of expressing your shock then narrate some of your knowledge what life changing advice did d spike lay on us dey

d spike

Postby d spike » November 14th, 2009, 5:14 pm

Wizard wrote:so the devil could have a friend and walk down a road

but a man cant find truth and proclaim it

righteous

Please read it again, this time bearing in mind what history shows us what happens when imperfect men take charge of speading a perfect message.

"so the devil could have a friend and walk down a road" - If you focus on the bug on the windscreen, you won't see the road. Stories are told to teach ideas - otherwise they would be documentaries... If you take all stories literally, then you fall into the same category of narrow-minded people (and I hope you don't) who due to this, end up in the quandary of being forced to believe God is a thief ("I will come like a thief in the night...") and snakes had legs before Eve's debacle... and Noah was able to cram a pair of every animal and bird aboard the Ark... and father the human race.

P.S. Proclaim the truth by how you live - that speaks louder and more clearly than what you say.

Cheers :D

d spike

Postby d spike » November 14th, 2009, 5:33 pm

N3M3SIS wrote:Thread fail.

If arguing with religious people was logical, there'd be no religion in the first place.

They use the platform of "faith" and in that way, your arguments are completely futile.

Spend some time with Jews - they argue incessantly about many aspects of their beliefs, honing and deepening their personal faith.

This thread has raised different definitions of faith - for me to say my definition is right while theirs are wrong, is to use the same illogical reasoning as they. So instead I will ask you to perform a simple logical action, using common sense - answer this question:
If there happened to be a perfect supreme being who created us and all out of Love, would He then want us to believe in His existence, no questions asked? Or do you think He would prefer that we choose to reaffirm our belief by asking if He is real - and finding the right response?

The only way to know if you love your wife is to ask yourself every day if you do... never doing this is to like a life of drudgery, shackled to another person for the sake of convenience...

'They use the platform of "faith" ' - that isn't faith then, just a plaster or salve (created out of the lack of humility) for ignorance.
Last edited by d spike on November 14th, 2009, 8:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

d spike

Postby d spike » November 14th, 2009, 5:49 pm

Wizard wrote:so instead they should sit on their arses and believe in nothing

religion inspires people to be better but it also brings out the worst in some

what you want to add razkal instead of expressing your shock then narrate some of your knowledge what life changing advice did d spike lay on us dey

One such example is the inability to realise that people can have quite different concepts for the same thing. This inability leads to narrow-mindedness, and a refusal to believe that both parties acknowledge 5 as a number when one group says '3+2', and the other says, 'half of ten'.

"what life changing advice did d spike lay on us" - I had no intention of changing your life, just hoping to adjust the way you view things (clean yuh glasses nah :lol: )

Tell mih someting nah. If you saw dis reall pretty bess ting, an' yuh fall in love, wouldn't you do everything within your power to try to find out everything you could about her? Find a theologian who follows your faith/religion and study his work...

Wizard

Postby Wizard » November 14th, 2009, 7:09 pm

d spike you talking about not paying attention to the bug on the windscreen and you missed the whole point of what i said

my post above was not speaking to you but to razkal yet you continued to preach to me after writing another story as with the original threads topic you are trying to get a point across with a story when you could just say what you mean

sort of sounds like you erected a signpost yourself but then you saw someone make a comment then come back to give them directions

quite funny when you think about it

Postby Chimera » November 14th, 2009, 7:47 pm

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » November 14th, 2009, 8:03 pm

d spike wrote:
civic SIR wrote:
MG Man wrote:no 'be;liever' eh answer meh noah's ark logistics question yet?
*steups*

with man it is impossible but with God all things are possible........

What is it? 200whp?

An' if it is MG's "noah's ark logistics question" yuh referring to, he eh arks yuh if it possible... he arks how was it done. Seriously, this standard response iggerant christians (as compared to Christians who understand their beliefs and can explain/defend such in a logical manner - old fogeys called this "apologetics") love to deliver in a "backhand-style" as an answer to perfectly acceptable/reasonable questions is border-line rudeness! This is neither an answer, nor is it helpful in any way to someone seeking answers. ("Mammy, whey I come from?"... "Look, chile... dat eh fuh you to know...")

Come on man... 2000 years of studying this stuff, and THAT'S the best you can come up with???? :lol:

And I feel sorry for you that you missed the whole point, is the question of logistics really necessary but the fact that 2 types of EVERY animal were stored?
the God who made two of every type of animals find their way to the ark from all corners of the world could certainly have made them fit.

Its also quite impressive to know that only one man an his family was saved and a whole world lost because they did not believe that water could fall from the sky....... quite similar to your logistics question- (how could they fit?)

Whilst they were thinking SCIENTIFICALLY and ridiculing because it just was not possible or practicable for rain to fall from the sky because WITH MAN IT IS IMPOSSIBLE, the dumb animals certainly knew because they found their way to the ark, whilst the intelligent scientists were still battling the logistics and probability of water from the sky.

I know for certain that none of these so called scientists were saved or were every able to explain how did the sky open up and the first rain took place but they felt the very real drops of the impossible rain on their faces and then tasted it as they were drowned by their own unexplainable, illogical and unscientific 'magic rain.'

Two things exist today, pieces of Noah's ark and rain both divinely given by GOD. So again I say 'with man it is impossible but with God all things are possible"

d spike

Postby d spike » November 14th, 2009, 9:35 pm

Wizard wrote:d spike you talking about not paying attention to the bug on the windscreen and you missed the whole point of what i said
Not so. How can someone believe in nothing? Thinking this is a common mistake. Once a person has a set of values, then they do believe in something. Not everyone shares the same concept of God - and labelling someone (or yourself) as a believer in nothing is plain silly. I have been explaining this in a few posts now, and don't see any reason why I should re-type what one can more easily re-read.

my post above was not speaking to you but to razkal
My bad. I thought this was an open forum.

yet you continued to preach to me...
My bad again. As I said, the concept stated is a common mistake, and so, I used that response to address it, under the mistaken impression this was an open forum. So sorry.

...after writing another story as with the original threads topic you are trying to get a point across with a story when you could just say what you mean
And take all the fun out of it? Whatever for? Besides, as the master responded when his followers requested that he explain his parables, "Why should I masticate the fruit before I give it to you?"

sort of sounds like you erected a signpost yourself but then you saw someone make a comment then come back to give them directions
You got it. If you would read my posts without blinkers on, you would get even more... I have spent too much of my life trying to explain to people that which is there in front them, all around them, but they can't see it (or they refuse to) and so I have wearied of this. It's like sitting on the river's bank, selling people river water. Repeating myself to folks who aren't really listening gets tedious quickly. I only broached this subject because afriend of mine with a good sense of humour started this thread.

quite funny when you think about it
Actually, it's all rather sad and depressing, hence my tendency to use stories that bring up a chuckle or two...

Seriously, take my advice about the theologian

Postby MG Man » November 14th, 2009, 9:45 pm

civic SIR wrote:
Its also quite impressive to know that only one man an his family was saved and a whole world lost because they did not believe that water could fall from the sky.......

you find that impressive?
I find that disturbing
mass genocide from the all caring, all loving deity :?
is like you get a dog, feed it etc, one day it bite you cuz u tried to pet it while it was eating, so you killed it..........but u kept a puppy so it's all goooooooooooood :? :? :? :? :?

d spike

Postby d spike » November 14th, 2009, 10:17 pm

civic SIR wrote:
d spike wrote:
civic SIR wrote:
MG Man wrote:no 'be;liever' eh answer meh noah's ark logistics question yet?
*steups*

with man it is impossible but with God all things are possible........

"What is it? 200whp?

An' if it is MG's "noah's ark logistics question" yuh referring to, he eh arks yuh if it possible... he arks how was it done. Seriously, this standard response iggerant christians (as compared to Christians who understand their beliefs and can explain/defend such in a logical manner - old fogeys called this "apologetics") love to deliver in a "backhand-style" as an answer to perfectly acceptable/reasonable questions is border-line rudeness! This is neither an answer, nor is it helpful in any way to someone seeking answers. ("Mammy, whey I come from?"... "Look, chile... dat eh fuh you to know...")

Come on man... 2000 years of studying this stuff, and THAT'S the best you can come up with???? :lol:

And I feel sorry for you that you missed the whole point, is the question of logistics really necessary but the fact that 2 types of EVERY animal were stored?
the God who made two of every type of animals find their way to the ark from all corners of the world could certainly have made them fit.

Its also quite impressive to know that only one man an his family was saved and a whole world lost because they did not believe that water could fall from the sky....... quite similar to your logistics question- (how could they fit?)

Whilst they were thinking SCIENTIFICALLY and ridiculing because it just was not possible or practicable for rain to fall from the sky because WITH MAN IT IS IMPOSSIBLE, the dumb animals certainly knew because they found their way to the ark, whilst the intelligent scientists were still battling the logistics and probability of water from the sky.

I know for certain that none of these so called scientists were saved or were every able to explain how did the sky open up and the first rain took place but they felt the very real drops of the impossible rain on their faces and then tasted it as they were drowned by their own unexplainable, illogical and unscientific 'magic rain.'

Two things exist today, pieces of Noah's ark and rain both divinely given by GOD. So again I say 'with man it is impossible but with God all things are possible"

"And I feel sorry for you that you missed the whole point" - How nice. How sorry do you think I feel, when by reading your response I realise you have either missed the point of my posts - or refused to read them?

What is the point of trying to take part in a discussion with people who aren't interested in what you have to say? The same things keep being said over and over... nothing new is brought forwards.

Now, if the remnants of wooden planks in the mountains and rainfall (a natural weather 'phenomenon') are proof that the Great Flood took place... good heavens, do you read what you write?

"the question of logistics really necessary but the fact that 2 types of EVERY animal were stored" - you need to make up your mind: are you accepting the account as written in Genesis as factual or mythic? If it is factual, then MG's query is relevant. If it is mythic, then it is a story, a fable.

To conclude: shared respect is mandatory for ideas and opinions to be shared. It would be too easy - but out of place - to point out the posts that are puerile and based on lack of thought or basic intelligence. Please show respect for posters by reading what posted already. If you don't understand what was posted, there is nothing wrong with stating this, as the author would probably be willing to further explain his or her position - and will help that person fine-tune their argument/viewpoint for better clarification.

Wizard

Postby Wizard » November 14th, 2009, 10:22 pm

wow

tough crowd

you guys really take yourselves seriously

Postby MG Man » November 14th, 2009, 10:24 pm

no, we just speak with intellinegts :mrgreen:

d spike

Postby d spike » November 14th, 2009, 10:32 pm

Wizard wrote:wow

tough crowd

you guys really take yourselves seriously

Wait, you were "shooting bull"?

Explains a lot (:lol: Now that's funny :lol: I keed, I keed)

Postby Razkal » November 14th, 2009, 11:21 pm

MG Man wrote:no, we just speak with intellinegts :mrgreen:

you tell dem rasta 8-)

guidance!

Postby MG Man » November 14th, 2009, 11:23 pm

respek yo
I no metrofarai either
bigup pon ye holy Mandarin Tree of Lifes

Wizard

Postby Wizard » November 14th, 2009, 11:28 pm

thats the worst jamaican accent i have ever read

Postby MG Man » November 14th, 2009, 11:53 pm

um..........that be Swahili son

d spike

Postby d spike » November 15th, 2009, 12:05 am

A brief explanation for those who might be tempted to innocently rehash the whole “We can’t explain it – God did itâ€

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 15th, 2009, 12:44 am

^ ditto!

slick

Postby slick » November 15th, 2009, 12:53 am

Noah?
Who's that? :|

Postby Razkal » November 15th, 2009, 1:58 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/CFdmG-TRxzE&hl=en_US&fs=1&rel=0&border=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="445" height="364"></embed>

too hilarious :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 15th, 2009, 1:03 pm

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 15th, 2009, 7:30 pm

MG Man wrote:nah, they died out before Noah's time or summ so according to the creationists

But don't creationists (or at least, those who take religious texts literally) contend that wasn't the world created in 7 days or something so......and all the dinosaur fossils are part of a greater conspiracy?

(I trust that more level headed folk would see the allusion to "7 days" as a metaphor, rather than a "fact").

Wizard

Postby Wizard » November 15th, 2009, 7:35 pm

people also lived hundreds of years back then could be lost in translation

Postby MG Man » November 15th, 2009, 8:05 pm

I din know d spike did stand up :lol:

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » November 15th, 2009, 8:43 pm

civic SIR wrote:
Its also quite impressive to know that only one man an his family was saved and a whole world lost because they did not believe that water could fall from the sky.......

you find that impressive?
I find that disturbing
mass genocide from the all caring, all loving deity :?
is like you get a dog, feed it etc, one day it bite you cuz u tried to pet it while it was eating, so you killed it..........but u kept a puppy so it's all goooooooooooood :? :? :? :? :?

and so what about if the dog did not only bite you, its killed your son, dig up the neighbours lawn, made a mess all over the place not once but continously for hundreds of years eventually even you would have said enough is enough and take corrective action.

Noah preached the repentance message for hundreds of years to these rebellious people (dogs as you say ) with no sucess. God demonstrated true love by bearing so long when he could of as you said killed it immediately. Again, Every single one of us would not have put up so long as God did.

What I now find impressive is the fact that still some people will still argue in defiance the isuues that are not relative such as the scientists of Noah's day.

Postby MG Man » November 15th, 2009, 8:46 pm

so u saying EVERYONE else in noah's time was defiant???
there were NO OTHER good peeps?
surely you jest

d spike

Postby d spike » November 15th, 2009, 8:59 pm

Knight1 wrote:
But don't creationists (or at least, those who take religious texts literally) contend that wasn't the world created in 7 days or something so......and all the dinosaur fossils are part of a greater conspiracy?

(I trust that more level headed folk would see the allusion to "7 days" as a metaphor, rather than a "fact").

Interesting point - but not as a metaphor within an otherwise credible account. As I said, the compilers of Genesis copied wholesale the myths around them, not doing any editing for reasons best known to themselves. (Maybe they just wanted to have argument material for wet nights in the synagogue...)
There are many points of contention within the first eleven chapters of Genesis, and theologians have banged their heads for decades - in some cases, centuries - on some of them. Literalists (who you would expect after seeing conflicting info in the text, to go out back and shoot themselves) actually brush it to one side, proclaiming, "I see notting" or "With God, all things are possible". The meaning of the previous translation, the inflection, the difference in concepts due to time and lingo are all known. Because THEY don't know, they claim such info is lost and the meaning was twisted due to translation.
That's like the idiot who claimed that "Saline" Bay was so named because the water was salty, unaware that the original owner of the estate including the bay was a gentleman named "Fronton de Saline".

So, rather than being a metaphor, it's just a story.

d spike

Postby d spike » November 15th, 2009, 9:05 pm

civic SIR wrote:
What I now find impressive is the fact that still some people will still argue in defiance the isuues that are not relative such as the scientists of Noah's day.

I agree with you there. That queer argument concerning scientists disbelieving in rain was way too ridiculous.

I feel some relief that it seems I wasn't the only one to think so.

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » November 15th, 2009, 9:10 pm

MG Man wrote:so u saying EVERYONE else in noah's time was defiant???
there were NO OTHER good peeps?
surely you jest

if they were so good why did they not get on the ark and save at least themselves????

God's invitation is not forceful but graceful, everyone as was in noah's time and even now will have a choice to make........
choose life or death, but i bid you choose life