W.T.K noob question on cleaning air flow sensor

THE SYNDICATE

W.T.K noob question on cleaning air flow sensor

Postby THE SYNDICATE » September 18th, 2009, 11:22 am

searching and not finding anything :(

how and what do u use to clean ur air flow sensor? (sr20de highport)

i know u clean it when it's cold,but how do u go about doing this?

can throttle body cleaner b used to clean the air flow sensor? cause i'm not getting air flow sensor cleaner anywhere to buy! :(

thanks....

Postby cinco » September 18th, 2009, 1:56 pm

never use throttle body cleaner that leaves a residue
use MAF cleaner or QD Electric cleaner

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 18th, 2009, 4:41 pm

its labelled QD Contact Cleaner but yeah that if not MAF cleaner...use a very light spray onto the element/resistor.

Postby janfar » September 18th, 2009, 4:55 pm

Yup, CRC contact cleaner of quickkleen works well. Try it. Also, when u finish use the contact cleaner use one of those keyboard canned air business. That should sort you out good.

Postby bushwakka » September 21st, 2009, 7:10 pm

methylated spirits cya wok?

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » September 21st, 2009, 7:54 pm

^^^^ It's better to use a pressurized spray like electrical contact cleaner. Also, be sure to remove the seal (o-ring) before spraying as it will be destroyed if you leave it. The resistor is quite delicate so spray with caution.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » September 21st, 2009, 8:00 pm

Use some BOP Cleaner, lol , nah Contact Cleaner worx

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » September 21st, 2009, 9:49 pm

other note .. try and use a dry filter to save your MAF

K&N etc with the oil can kill your MAF

Postby 3stagevtec » September 22nd, 2009, 3:05 am

red_dragon wrote:other note .. try and use a dry filter to save your MAF

K&N etc with the oil can kill your MAF

that's only if you add too much oil, from what i heard..

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » September 23rd, 2009, 7:37 am

CRC contact cleaner of quickkleen works well

the only thing i'm getting to buy is crc and nothing else :(

i don't think it's that what u speak off!

will post a pic of the can!

*all the places i check don't have the others.can someone tell me where sells these products.*

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 30th, 2010, 7:37 pm

can this be used ? *yea i know the post old,but i still haven't cleaned it yet :oops: *

slow323

Postby slow323 » April 30th, 2010, 7:46 pm

yea thas the thing self , just use short bursts of sprays and you should be fine

Postby Hook » April 30th, 2010, 7:47 pm

SINCE SEPTEMBER LAST YEAR??!?!?!?

*ahem* anyways...yeah that's the stuff (although my can says "Electronic Contact Cleaner"...dunno if there's a difference...yuh have a spare? lol)

OH! Bear in mind that the contact cleaner makes the surface/casing cold, so to prevent the sensor from "sweating" on the inside, clean it first thing in the morning when it's already cold from sitting overnight.

Short burst of sprays a decent distance from the heater element and u shouldn't damage anything.

And don't forget to reset the ECU when you're finished so it'll pick up nice new readings from a clean sensor. :idea:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 30th, 2010, 8:39 pm

Hook wrote:SINCE SEPTEMBER LAST YEAR??!?!?!?

*ahem* anyways...yeah that's the stuff (although my can says "Electronic Contact Cleaner"...dunno if there's a difference...yuh have a spare? lol)

OH! Bear in mind that the contact cleaner makes the surface/casing cold, so to prevent the sensor from "sweating" on the inside, clean it first thing in the morning when it's already cold from sitting overnight.

Short burst of sprays a decent distance from the heater element and u shouldn't damage anything.

And don't forget to reset the ECU when you're finished so it'll pick up nice new readings from a clean sensor. :idea:

yea boi since september :oops: my car does hardly drive,so i guess that's y!

should do this in the morning. i don't have a spare though! :x :oops:

Postby 3stagevtec » April 30th, 2010, 10:04 pm

Hook wrote:And don't forget to reset the ECU when you're finished so it'll pick up nice new readings from a clean sensor. :idea:

I forgot to do this and my van ran horribly after I cleaner the sensor..

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 3rd, 2010, 8:51 pm

finally did it on saturday morning.when i took it out the thing nasty as hell.my camera giving trouble so i couldn't take a pic. :(

gave it a few short bursts as mentioned above,leave it for a while and popped it back in.

took the battery pole off for about 30 mins. then back on.

stuttering gone now,the car idles better,i actually feeling a difference. i only getting a stutter around 6 - 7000 rpm when climbing, before i use to get it around 3000.i guess that is due to some other factor.

if i knew it was so easy to clean i would have done it sooner. :oops:

thanks again for the replies it was highly appreciated! :)

*air flow sensor cleaning done here. $40 per sensor and some beers :lol: :oops: *

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 3rd, 2010, 8:54 pm

phreakazoid wrote:^^^^ It's better to use a pressurized spray like electrical contact cleaner. Also, be sure to remove the seal (o-ring) before spraying as it will be destroyed if you leave it. The resistor is quite delicate so spray with caution.

a little to late for that :oops:

only saw the ring after i sprayed it.but it's good,don't think i damaged it though! :oops:

missy77

Postby missy77 » May 3rd, 2010, 9:28 pm

nice avatar :)

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 3rd, 2010, 9:46 pm

missy77 wrote:nice avatar :)

:wink:

V2NR 3.0

Re: W.T.K noob question on cleaning air flow sensor

Postby V2NR 3.0 » May 4th, 2010, 7:50 am

THE SYNDICATE wrote:searching and not finding anything :( how and what do u use to clean ur air flow sensor? (sr20de highport) i know u clean it when it's cold,but how do u go about doing this? can throttle body cleaner b used to clean the air flow sensor? cause i'm not getting air flow sensor cleaner anywhere to buy! :(
thanks....

Syndicate - is you asking this man ??? -

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 4th, 2010, 8:05 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:
THE SYNDICATE wrote:searching and not finding anything :( how and what do u use to clean ur air flow sensor? (sr20de highport) i know u clean it when it's cold,but how do u go about doing this? can throttle body cleaner b used to clean the air flow sensor? cause i'm not getting air flow sensor cleaner anywhere to buy! :(
thanks....

Syndicate - is you asking this man ??? -

yea bro :( :oops:

*just that i was hearing all kinda different things from different people and didn't know what to use and what to do.let's just say some people just want to see u go down rather than up.what i used and how i did it was nothing close to what was mentioned above.what i was advised by 'friends' would have completely destroyed the sensor!*

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » May 4th, 2010, 8:25 am

Nah man - ive cleaned mine all the time. However the car/sensor must be cold....If there is any temperature it would damage the sensor. Some quick dry contact cleaner with no residue can be used....spray out good and proper and you should be fine...

Couldnt get any simpler than that.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 4th, 2010, 9:12 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Nah man - ive cleaned mine all the time. However the car/sensor must be cold....If there is any temperature it would damage the sensor. Some quick dry contact cleaner with no residue can be used....spray out good and proper and you should be fine...

Couldnt get any simpler than that.

I know bro,but imagine 'friends' telling me i can use throttle body cleaner and even carburetor spay and it will get clean,when 'strangers' tell me to don't use that, and use what i used recently!

if i listened to my 'friends' i would have been looking for an air flow sensor all now!

see what i getting at bro! that's y i asked! :)

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » May 4th, 2010, 9:16 am

well then your "friends" are not reallt friends

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » May 4th, 2010, 8:43 pm

^^^got that right bro! trust, me i learnt the hard way!

venum

Postby venum » February 10th, 2011, 7:49 pm

good info

this applies to diesel engines with MAF as well right :?:

what is this o-ring taht u speak of - more details plz:?:

wanna clean mine

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » February 10th, 2011, 8:00 pm

what about the ga15 where the maf is in the throttle body ?

oxidation

Postby oxidation » February 10th, 2011, 9:05 pm

^^ i believe its on the throttle body

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » February 10th, 2011, 9:25 pm

^^^^^ something like that

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » February 13th, 2011, 6:58 am

venum wrote:good info

this applies to diesel engines with MAF as well right :?:

what is this o-ring taht u speak of - more details plz:?:

wanna clean mine

the 'o' ring is what seals the sensor onto the housing...(better choice of words can be used :oops: )

small rubber ring....u can get them to buy at most parts place as well! don't be troubled,blast away man! :P :drinking: :D