If there was a PROPER and SAFE public system would u?

evo-STI-k

If there was a PROPER and SAFE public system would u?

Postby evo-STI-k » September 10th, 2009, 12:32 pm

If trinidad Was to Realistically have a SAFE, CLEAN and Punctual Public transportation system Would each of YOU tuners utilitize it and leave your cars home?

if there were SAFE car parks for every area where it ran, would you consider it???

or do trinidadians love their cars too much?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 10th, 2009, 12:36 pm

dont you ALL THINK THAT constructing part of the Queens park Savannah into a BUS transit station With lots of parking would be a good idea??

rather than having to go into the heart of POS everyday with very limited parking?

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » September 10th, 2009, 12:36 pm

You should make this a poll. I think most Trinidadians would use their car .

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » September 10th, 2009, 12:37 pm

If in a million years this goverment could actually acheive that, then yes, I would use it. Reality says otherwise though..

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » September 10th, 2009, 12:39 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:dont you ALL THINK THAT constructing part of the Queens park Savannah into a BUS transit station With lots of parking would be a good idea??

rather than having to go into the heart of POS everyday with very limited parking?

Not a good location, we already started building crap on it. Next thing they say "well we already have the bus terminus there and the parking lot, why not offices" and it will turn into another piece of the concrete jungle.

Postby RBphoto » September 10th, 2009, 12:40 pm

The ferry works well though. No complaints.

GeneralHonda

Re: If there was a PROPER and SAFE public system would u?

Postby GeneralHonda » September 10th, 2009, 12:43 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:If trinidad Was to Realistically have a SAFE, CLEAN and Punctual Public transportation system Would each of YOU tuners utilitize it and leave your cars home?

if there were SAFE car parks for every area where it ran, would you consider it???

Yes to use of public transport if it were so.
Last edited by GeneralHonda on September 10th, 2009, 12:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pete » September 10th, 2009, 12:44 pm

I would use public transport if it were more reliable.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » September 10th, 2009, 12:48 pm

the QPS?.. HELL NO!... there is a major reason that developin the savanah will be soo counterproductive its not funny

other wise yes i would.. its not that safe or clean elsewhere in the world but we use it... so why not..

Postby crazybalhead » September 10th, 2009, 12:55 pm

While I love my car, I would definitely utilise a public transport system if it were reliable and punctual. To go to work, to lime. I think it would open up a whole new world of possibilities for people man.

aR&D

Postby aR&D » September 10th, 2009, 1:04 pm

I would use. While i am not a big fan of the New York State, i just like the GO-trains and its network that spiders to almost anywhere in NY. I used it get to classes, to go the Flushing Meadows Tennis area, Yankee stadium in the Bronx, to go lime, shop, dinner ... the GO-trains there are way cool ...... kinda nasty and smelly like NY in general though

Postby buzz » September 10th, 2009, 1:13 pm

fcuk no

sweaty mampies

radio on power 102 full blast or playing movado

bottom in yuh face bizniz

plus i cud light up a cig in my car

wait maxis included?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » September 10th, 2009, 1:16 pm

i dont like poeple, so no, i will not.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 10th, 2009, 1:17 pm

I travel all over. My major complaint is really the availability of transport during peak hours like when people going to work and children going to school. Same in the evening in a certain time period when work finishes and school lets out. Does have to walk home sometimes :(

Postby SUPAstarr » September 10th, 2009, 1:20 pm

on days im not on the road, i wud love a reliable transport system

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 10th, 2009, 1:23 pm

I use it in other countries, I will use it here

Postby honda hoe » September 10th, 2009, 1:30 pm

crazybalhead wrote:While I love my car, I would definitely utilise a public transport system if it were reliable and punctual. To go to work, to lime. I think it would open up a whole new world of possibilities for people man.

its way cheaper to travel dan puttin in gas for the same trip

Postby hydroep » September 10th, 2009, 1:32 pm

Yes. But, in addition to being clean, safe and punctual the network must be more intricate and have reasonable prices.

And do things to encourage the people to use it, beyond slave driver tactics like raising the price of vehicles and fuel.

I'm not sure if this is still in operation, but in the U.K. they had something called the Oyster card, where you could put money on it and allow you to use various modes of transportation. You could also buy passes for varying periods which would allow you to travel in different zones. It worked out cheaper for the traveling public to do it this way.

There are so many examples of this thing working well in the world eh...steups...:|

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » September 10th, 2009, 1:37 pm

hydroep wrote:I'm not sure if this is still in operation, but in the U.K. they had something called the Oyster card, where you could put money on it and allow you to use various modes of transportation. You could also buy passes for varying periods which would allow you to travel in different zones. It worked out cheaper for the traveling public to do it this way.

Yup, still have it! Very convenient!

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » September 10th, 2009, 1:38 pm

Oyster card FTW. Still have one! swipe and walk eeen

redras

Postby redras » September 10th, 2009, 1:39 pm

hydroep wrote:Yes. But, in addition to being clean, safe and punctual the network must be more intricate and have reasonable prices.

And do things to encourage the people to use it, beyond slave driver tactics like raising the price of vehicles and fuel.

I'm not sure if this is still in operation, but in the U.K. they had something called the Oyster card, where you could put money on it and allow you to use various modes of transportation. You could also buy passes for varying periods which would allow you to travel in different zones. It worked out cheaper for the traveling public to do it this way.

There are so many examples of this thing working well in the world eh...steups...:|

The Oyster card is still in use, would be a good system if implemented and managed properly in Trinidad.

Postby hydroep » September 10th, 2009, 1:41 pm

There you go and people happy with it.

Always wanted to know why the call it the 'Oyster' card though...:lol:

Postby r3iXmann » September 10th, 2009, 1:48 pm

honda hoe wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:While I love my car, I would definitely utilise a public transport system if it were reliable and punctual. To go to work, to lime. I think it would open up a whole new world of possibilities for people man.

its way cheaper to travel dan puttin in gas for the same trip

wha u go say about me? :|

i might start back driving to work yes..mainstream traffic is getting a bit ridiculous

Re: If there was a PROPER and SAFE public system would u?

Postby Monk BANzai » September 10th, 2009, 1:51 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:If trinidad Was to Realistically have a SAFE, CLEAN and Punctual Public transportation system Would each of YOU tuners utilitize it and leave your cars home?

we do it everyday man...jsut that we leave our cars at home..

you really need to get out more.

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 10th, 2009, 2:30 pm

i would.....

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 10th, 2009, 2:46 pm

if there was a reliable public transport system like the one in canada, i'd use it everyday....weigh the cost of traveling per day vs running your vehicle....

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 10th, 2009, 2:57 pm

a simple metro system similar to Caracas could go very far in the development and life in Trinidad and leave the roads for in the most part for the trucks and other vehicles that are commercially dependent on transport .

i use it in other countries and will use it here

Postby Country_Bookie » September 10th, 2009, 4:26 pm

I leave my car at home and travel on the PBR. Have done so for most of the last 5 yrs. The pros outweigh the cons for me. Of course I’m fortunate in that most times it’s fairly easy to get a taxi from my home to the PBR, and from downtown to my workplace. I can see how this would be a problem for most ppl tho.

The traveling was kinda bad around election time when the gov’t decided to charter the PTSC buses and a number of maxis to transport their supporters to whatever political meeting was taking place. Problem was these buses & maxis would normally have been transporting passengers at peak time and their absence led to larger than normal crowds, waiting time etc.

And of course whenever there’s floods city gate tends to be a mess. Lots more people and a lot less maxis/buses. But if u were driving you’d still be in traffic for hours on those days.

Apart from that I can’t really complain. Every time I start back driving to work for a few days and have to suffer through the traffic, not being able to find a park when u reach to work etc. , I say screw this, from now on I traveling every day.

xtech

Postby xtech » September 10th, 2009, 5:55 pm

when i was living in NY i never missed my car which was 2,000 miles back home in Trinidad. Only problem is during peak hours when the busses and trains get really ram packed. And the subway doors wont close so the conducter have to shout at you to get on or off gawd damit

I got everywhere on time come hot sun, rain, frozen rain, snow or fog.

I would use it here if they were to get as punctual but then I love my car to much.

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 10th, 2009, 6:25 pm

Hell yes I'd use it.

A lot of drunken nights I've wished to have a realiable transport home.