Greendot Digital TV & Internet Service Thread

Evoloution

Greendot Digital TV & Internet Service Thread

Postby Evoloution » June 16th, 2009, 12:37 pm

Want to find out how the service and quality is as compared to Flow and DirectTV.

`psycho

Postby `psycho » June 16th, 2009, 12:43 pm

is green dot is all i have to say (which is nah good)

have scene it only about 30 channels i think, small antenna needs to be mounted to receive the signal, picture is clear, local channels suffer from saturation.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » June 16th, 2009, 12:47 pm

DirectTV is good.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 16th, 2009, 1:04 pm

People still use GreenDot?

:S

Most likely it'll be of the same quality as their internet connection....sheit.

soundboy101

greendot digital tv

Postby soundboy101 » August 2nd, 2009, 1:36 am

Can anyone who is using this service say how is the service, picture quality etc. i mean 115.00 for 40 channels, this cant be that bad

Postby De Dragon » August 2nd, 2009, 6:16 am

Sheriff wrote:DirectTV is good.

Good at what exactly?

Rx

Postby Rx » August 3rd, 2009, 10:08 am

Cyah get a signal by me :evil:

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » August 3rd, 2009, 12:36 pm

what rx said... and that goes for internet too

neckto

Postby neckto » August 3rd, 2009, 3:02 pm

my padna have it
it works good, clear picture no distrotion, sticking or choppiness

cons
he have the "premium" package and the channel line up is shitty, it like flow/direct tv basic package - no movie channel to talk about i think 2 tnt and encore no max channels however there are plenty sports channels

todd61

Re: greendot digital tv

Postby todd61 » August 3rd, 2009, 5:11 pm

soundboy101 wrote: i mean 115.00 for 40 channels, this cant be that bad

But about $1500 for setup itself.Used to use their sh*tty net which cost about $3000 for the setup.

soundboy101

green dot tv

Postby soundboy101 » August 3rd, 2009, 9:51 pm

actualy the total package is 115 monthly and 575 one time installation, so u paying 690. the package is 40 channels

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 3rd, 2009, 10:56 pm

From another website:

Digital TV Channel Listing
40 Channels

Local Variety Kids
ACTS ABC Cartoon Network
CNC3 CBS Discovery Kids
CNMG Comedy Central Disney
Gayelle CW11
Islamic Network FOX
Synergy NBC
TBN USA
TV6 Zee TV
WIN TV Tru TV
Tempo
IBN

Movies Educational Other
Encore Animal Planet CNN
Lifetime Movies Discovery ESPN
Lifetime Network National Geographic ESPN 2
TNT Fox Soccer Channel
Universal Discover Travel and Living
Zee Movies MSNBC
Space FOOD

Not much worthwhile channels, also will they have to obtain "special rights" for the sports channels like Flow

wing

Postby wing » August 4th, 2009, 12:25 am

Apparently they have clear picture and good channels for a fraction of the price.

xconvic

Postby xconvic » August 16th, 2009, 11:39 am

Have the service for a while now.
Good stuff is that Picture quality is not bad for digital quality,much better than Flow in my comparison,in fact its superb in comparison to Flow. There is an onscreen epg guide so no need to have a tv guide but there isn't program listing for all channels though.When it comes to sound quality that's ok as well.

Bad stuff is that sometimes the time sync on the epg guide goes wack so it doesn't give you correct program listings all the time.Also don't know where they get their feed for some channels such as Disney and fox sports,but sometimes the channels show an error sign saying its trying to acquire a satellite signal. Channels like Discovery channel and national geographic are the Latin American counterparts to the main ones,so there is spanish commercials,but as I recall Flow also ran the latin american counterparts until a few years ago so hopefully greendot will follow suite.
Their channel lineup isn't extensive but its great for low income consumers and with time hope they add some more channels to their lineup :roll:

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 24th, 2009, 10:17 pm

Check out http://www.tv.tt, they just added Showtime and Starz

MYVEC

Postby MYVEC » August 30th, 2009, 5:58 pm

I got mine installed Monday - i must say they really impressed me this time re service, quality and the price - i paid the $690 for a year's worth of service - ah bess price!

re the channels, i think it's a very competitive line up that FLOW or Direc TV definitely cannot compete with - i also here they might add some more channels.

RX - they tv is not the same setup as internet because my aunt lives just past Cedros and she getting the service. i think their coverage footprint is literally 90% of trinidad right now.

Lastly, Showtime and Starz especially, FLOW took this away from me so they could F*** themselves.

i also hear FLOW sellin their company they can't compete with Green Dot.

this service is a must!!!

Postby hydroep » August 30th, 2009, 6:19 pm

Ah boi! Competition is great!

However I see on their FAQ page that after the promotion has expired, the price "will be no more than $ 200.00 per month +VAT."...:?

Right now though it seems quite reasonable.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 30th, 2009, 6:25 pm

Hey MYVEC -- I find this cable is real sheit -----I paying $210 every month and I never watch anything cause they have nothing to watch....My kid just looks at those kids channels and thats it so I thinking to save some money and go with greendot.....Upon your recommendation I am going to call them Tuesday
morning first thing..

How long does it take from signing up to installation? Also u saying $690 a year? You sure bout that ? Is it 690 for the first month and then 115 every month thereafter.?

Also how many televisons can you hook up within the household?

This advice would be useful....

Thanks bro..

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » August 30th, 2009, 6:59 pm

Nigson wrote:Hey MYVEC -- I find this cable is real sheit -----I paying $210 every month and I never watch anything cause they have nothing to watch....My kid just looks at those kids channels and thats it so I thinking to save some money and go with greendot.....Upon your recommendation I am going to call them Tuesday
morning first thing..

How long does it take from signing up to installation? Also u saying $690 a year? You sure bout that ? Is it 690 for the first month and then 115 every month thereafter.?

Thanks bro..

From their website, you have to pay $600 + VAT ($690) for the first six months and get the other six months free. There's also an installation fee of $500.00 , which happens within 15 days of payment.

The deal is great, just the installation coast is little high.

xtech

Postby xtech » August 30th, 2009, 7:56 pm

this is digital tv people............our local station currently broadcast using analog
:roll: :roll:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Analog_television

if u crack their broadcast code if there is one just buy a digital tv convertor box hook up yuh antenna and watch tv free like in the states

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_television
http://www.dtv.gov/

someone here is capitalizing on our technological backwardness we might catch up in about 10 years

Analog Television Shutdown

Further information: Digital television transition
As of late 2007, 7 countries had completed the process of turning off analog terrestrial broadcasting. Many other countries had plans to do so or were in the process of a staged conversion. The first country to make a wholesale switch to digital over-the-air (terrestrial) broadcasting was Luxembourg, in 2006, followed by the Netherlands later in 2006, Finland, Andorra, Sweden, Norway and Switzerland in 2007, Belgium (Flanders) and Germany in 2008, and the United States in 2009.
In the United States, high-power over-the-air broadcasts are solely in the ATSC digital format since June 12, 2009, the date that the FCC set for the end of all high-power analog TV transmissions. As a result, almost two million households could no longer watch TV because they were not prepared for the transition. The switchover was originally scheduled for February 17, 2009 until the US Congress passed the DTV Delay Act.[2] By special dispensation, some analog TV signals ceased on the original date.[3]
In Japan, the switch to digital is scheduled to happen July 24, 2011. In Canada, it is scheduled to happen August 31, 2011. China is scheduled to switch in 2015. In the United Kingdom, the digital switchover has different times for each part of the country; however, the whole of the UK will be digital by 2012. Brazil switched to digital on December 2, 2007 in major cities and it is estimated it will take seven years for complete signal expansion over all of the Brazilian territory.
In Malaysia, the Malaysian Communications & Multimedia Commission (MCMC) will call for tender bids in the third quarter of 2009 for the UHF 470–742 megahertz spectrum which will pave the way for the country to move into the digital television era. The awarding of the spectrum will see the winner having to build a single digital terrestrial transmission/TV broadcast (DTTB) infrastructure for all broadcasters to ride on to transmit their TV programs. The winner will be announced at the end of 2009 or early 2010 and has to commence digital roll-out soon after the award where the analog switch-off is planned for 2015.
While the majority of the viewers of over-the-air broadcasting in the USA watch full-power stations (which number about 1800), there are three other categories of TV stations in the USA: low-power stations, Class A stations, and TV translator stations. There is presently no deadline for these stations, about 7100 in number, to convert to digital broadcasting.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 30th, 2009, 8:16 pm

No nickelodeon, no HGTV, G4 so in short they SUCK. And after September 14th according to their site price will be $200 plus vat, this sounding like another con and I waiting to see how much people will be cancelling their service when hidden fees and poor service kicks in

xtech

Postby xtech » August 30th, 2009, 8:26 pm

i dont see how digital tv service can be poor, unless you living in a dense jungle......if anolog service worked for decades why would digital signal be any worse off. It should be better.
But yes this service would heavly depend on the quality of greendots source and the strength of their transmitters

i think the fees going up because they will be increasing the number of cable channels for broadcast. They have to pay fees to license the service for every channel they buy.

Basically greendot lauching this service because they know trinidad not going digital any time soon.

You dont have to worry about rain falling on your dish.....or a car crashing into a pole and knocking out your cable signal.

Great idea and once he did everything legally cable and direct-tv customers will move over. And those companies cant say quack about it

But as soon as the government ready for those channels they might have to give them up. Might be around 2020 like japan and most other countries.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » August 31st, 2009, 12:23 am

my green dot internet works great i dont know why allyuh complaining,
and greendot beast out every1 with their customer service, flow can't compete, blink's is non existent.

aR&D

Postby aR&D » August 31st, 2009, 10:57 am

neckto wrote:my padna have it
it works good, clear picture no distrotion, sticking or choppiness

cons
he have the "premium" package and the channel line up is shitty, it like flow/direct tv basic package - no movie channel to talk about i think 2 tnt and encore no max channels however there are plenty sports channels

ask yuh padna if they blocking english premier league football

wing

Postby wing » August 31st, 2009, 12:15 pm

All the local channels , Cartoon network , Nat Geo , DISC , DISNEY , ZEE CINEMA , SHOWTIME AND STARZ (USA FEED...NO LATIN AMERICA CRAP) for $1000 per year basic package . Cant lose with that . Also for all those Flow fans out there , the service cant get any worse than Flow . Competition at its best .

MYVEC

Postby MYVEC » August 31st, 2009, 1:42 pm

For the number of people i know so far who have the service, they have no problems to the extent they say it even better than quality and customer service than FLOW.

i have a 42" Plasma and dey sheit showing bess.

Now fellow tuners, we need to analyse their service objectively - i.e. FLOW and Direct TV have screwed us for years and they are fully aware they can give better prices than they presently do.

for $115/mth including starz and showtime - can't go wrong with that because i sure FLOW and them cannot compete with that as their network infrastructure is out of this world more costly than green dot - advantages of being wireless.

from my research i found out they have been testing with 1000 persons on the network since March this year and have worked out all the bugs in the system.

now this isn't like internet where sometimes you get your bandwidth and other times you don't. Digital TV means you either up or down - meaning part of the country cannot go down - the country is either up or down unlike FLOW.

i say try them out because what you see is what you get - Telecom Authority will not allow them to place things on their website to mislead customers - trust me i know this for a fact.

PS. for the FLOW broadband customers, i heard from a reliable source they selling the company - this speaks for itself. it's also the reason why people are getting 10Mbs since they have unused bandwidth to give away.

MYVEC

Postby MYVEC » August 31st, 2009, 1:45 pm

Also tuners, we all cannot get all the channels we want -same as with FLOW.

it's about simply determining if you are getting the best buy for your buck!

what do you guys think?

MYVEC

Postby MYVEC » August 31st, 2009, 1:48 pm

Nigson wrote:Hey MYVEC -- I find this cable is real sheit -----I paying $210 every month and I never watch anything cause they have nothing to watch....My kid just looks at those kids channels and thats it so I thinking to save some money and go with greendot.....Upon your recommendation I am going to call them Tuesday
morning first thing..

Thanks bro..

i didn't even go through the phone call ting - i signed up online at www.tv.tt - all your questions should be answered there

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 31st, 2009, 2:04 pm

people preaching 115/mth, what happens after the promo period? I'm not going to sign up for a product which will soon essentially become the same price as FLOW and Directv after according to their website september 14th

wing

Postby wing » August 31st, 2009, 3:21 pm

At one time wasnt cable $165 per month with any number of set top boxes , HBO/SHOWTIME/CINEMAX/STARZ , and same poor service , Hustla. What happen now.