Hook wrote:Razkal wrote:Hook wrote:Razkal wrote:Hook, yuh have real belly to still be posting in this thread yes
whatcha mean yo?
the lack of understanding/appreciation in the thread and the stereotyping is pretty annoying
*bleh* I've learned to filter it out
Ping and dem playing in Shakers 2nite...some "Big Tuttuts Koomari Orchestra"...methinx Seven Year Itch too, if I'm not mistaken...u passin' een or wha?
bootmee wrote:sexy_ke70_chick get yuh dutty stinkin a$$ to ZEN or something similar. There you can hear your dutty ass Jamaican music. Stay away from ROCK vibes WE DONT WANT YOU THERE.
Cjruckus wrote:bootmee wrote:sexy_ke70_chick get yuh dutty stinkin a$$ to ZEN or something similar. There you can hear your dutty ass Jamaican music. Stay away from ROCK vibes WE DONT WANT YOU THERE.
I dont think Rock Vibes should be existent in trinidad at all. Seeing that what ever vibes these bands put out are insults to the genre.
Logic42 wrote:Cjruckus wrote:bootmee wrote:sexy_ke70_chick get yuh dutty stinkin a$$ to ZEN or something similar. There you can hear your dutty ass Jamaican music. Stay away from ROCK vibes WE DONT WANT YOU THERE.
I dont think Rock Vibes should be existent in trinidad at all. Seeing that what ever vibes these bands put out are insults to the genre.
so what do you have to say about all the jump and wave soca and the wannabe dancehall stars?
*cues music*
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/rbB1j2ih3M4&hl=en&fs=1&color1=0x006699&color2=0x54abd6" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed>
Cjruckus wrote:Orange Sky has been in the same spot they were 15 years ago. Nowhere. At least Machel Montano could sell out Madison Square Garden. When Orange sky can do that, ill say they Reach. Until then, they arent any better than Brown Fox.
Logic42 wrote:Cjruckus wrote:Orange Sky has been in the same spot they were 15 years ago. Nowhere. At least Machel Montano could sell out Madison Square Garden. When Orange sky can do that, ill say they Reach. Until then, they arent any better than Brown Fox.
so you base your likes in music on how popular the band is?
u must really like those Jonas Brothers eh?
Dragist wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ yo...was good hanging with you last night......band was tight!!! what the name again??!?!?
hilarious!!!!
Big Tuttuts was good as usual after I put my Camera stuff in the car I limed outside a bit then left , I will pelt up some pics later .
Cjruckus wrote:Logic42 wrote:Cjruckus wrote:bootmee wrote:sexy_ke70_chick get yuh dutty stinkin a$$ to ZEN or something similar. There you can hear your dutty ass Jamaican music. Stay away from ROCK vibes WE DONT WANT YOU THERE.
so what do you have to say about all the jump and wave soca and the wannabe dancehall stars?
*cues music*
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/rbB1j2ih3M4&hl=en&fs=1&color1=0x006699&color2=0x54abd6" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed>
Orange Sky has been in the same spot they were 15 years ago. Nowhere. At least Machel Montano could sell out Madison Square Garden. When Orange sky can do that, ill say they Reach. Until then, they arent any better than Brown Fox.
Razkal wrote:owning a couple guitars does not make you a musician, clearly.
Dragist wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ yo...was good hanging with you last night......band was tight!!! what the name again??!?!?
hilarious!!!!
Big Tuttuts was good as usual after I put my Camera stuff in the car I limed outside a bit then left , I will pelt up some pics later .
st7 wrote:TAF saw the days (or nights) of the big stage while they were in England though. too bad not down here. i went to the scorpions concert... daz de biggest "stage" i ever went to in my life lol...
too bad i never been to one away
Cjruckus wrote:Im sorry but going to trinidad rock shows is like watching the tryouts for American Idol. In the end of the day, its a copy of the real thing.
Id be willing to bet that most of you Trinidad Local Rock scene defenders have yet to see a Real band on a large stage to experience the awesomeness that makes a good show. These gigs that the local bands do are no bigger than the open mic nights my band did when I was in college.
Cjruckus wrote:And this is the mentality with all Rock lovers in this country.
If your music is played on a radio station not endorsed by that insignificunt Mike Ross, then you are considered a Sell Out.
Man this whole cool to be Underground thing died with Kurt Cobain. in this day in age, and with the invention of the internets, no band can strive for being "underground" its no longer the cool thing to do. Sorry.
buzz wrote:Cjruckus wrote:And this is the mentality with all Rock lovers in this country.
If your music is played on a radio station not endorsed by that insignificunt Mike Ross, then you are considered a Sell Out.
Man this whole cool to be Underground thing died with Kurt Cobain. in this day in age, and with the invention of the internets, no band can strive for being "underground" its no longer the cool thing to do. Sorry.
and who said anything about being "underground"IMO "staying underground" is an excuse because your music can't land a contract
but as stated earlier being (should i rephrase) popular doesn't mean your music is great
for eg look how "popular" black rose is (sorry was) locally and well they made money off of playing other ppl's music
horridly i might add
black rose = fail
popular why? cuz the those a$$holes R**Y et al made alot of money by hyping up cnuts to come see trinidad's number one cover band
look @ pop rockit was ALL a ploy to make money. bands had to "conform" to certain "rules" ? wtf that was no concert it was a bloddy competition how sad is that? now i never said they claimed for it to be a concert but they did try oh so hard to make it seem so... it was the biggest local "rock" show, so ancorage saw ppl as far pt fortin to toco to witness this fcukery...
sadly enough many naive bands conformed to "competing" as they thought it was a way to making it somewhere... i remember all to clearly the BS they gave the MC's to say at every ancorage finals, always something to the effect "that there are many producers in the crowd here tonight"![]()
oh yes i remember it too well... jerseys and spikes for sale money money money
but i still give it to the few bands who used the big turn out for exposure and fcuked away with this conformist "every band must play a soca song sheit" twas a opportune moment to get some fans but sadly most of em couldn't deliver
Cjruckus wrote:I hate on rain on the orange sky parade, but their sound is generic. It always has been, and always will be, which is why they could never catch a break. They may be talented in your eyes, but throw them in a mix and they will get lost in the white noise.
Cjruckus wrote:st7 wrote:TAF saw the days (or nights) of the big stage while they were in England though. too bad not down here. i went to the scorpions concert... daz de biggest "stage" i ever went to in my life lol...
too bad i never been to one away
I rest my case.
There's more to it than a recorded album to make it big. Orange sky just doesn't have all of the elements.
Cjruckus wrote:Razkal wrote:owning a couple guitars does not make you a musician, clearly.
If you played guitar and used my gear you'd cream in your pants. I guess thats the drummer in me, if its not over the top or really expensive, im not going to use it.
Cjruckus wrote:buzz wrote:still waiting for trinituner's greatest guitarist/musician to put his guitar pick where his mouth is
I don't jam with people who use Imitation ESPs/Fenders/Gibsons. So until you get a Real ESP (not LTD) then you can be in my league, until then... Rock So.