navara going through las cuevas trail

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 25th, 2009, 4:30 pm

venum wrote:
biggy82 wrote:who installed the diff locker? i was thinking of buying one, but didnt knw who in Trini could install it.

can i meet this guy and see his setup Wesley?

why :?:

the beast won't be doing serious stuff anyway to warrant that :o

I don't see why not, I've stuck a nav in 4wd going up terra city in the wet, so I can't fault him. No use having all the Navara's engine output and not be able to put it to good use.

If I had purchased a NAva, I would have:

1. installed alge x or whatnot to preserve the fuel system
2. installed skidplates and the requisite body armour
3. installed rear locking diff, preferably a dual purpose lsd / air locking diff if i could find one

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 25th, 2009, 4:53 pm

bleedingfreak wrote:Talked to a N&M salesman this week - he say the 4 x 4 Nav coming with LSD... SO me aint know... But then again, he didnt sound too knowledgeable bout the van anyways ;-)

no LSD on the local models

4x2 and 4x4

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » August 25th, 2009, 6:49 pm

the 2010 navara as far as i saw on nissans website coming with lsd but the older models dont have it...the new ones coming with rear disc brakes too..

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 26th, 2009, 4:38 am

venum wrote:
biggy82 wrote:who installed the diff locker? i was thinking of buying one, but didnt knw who in Trini could install it.

stop minding my bizness nah....you ent have a corner to go skid on? :twisted:

Mr. Go Slow wrote:I don't see why not, I've stuck a nav in 4wd going up terra city in the wet, so I can't fault him. No use having all the Navara's engine output and not be able to put it to good use.

3. installed rear locking diff, preferably a dual purpose lsd / air locking diff if i could find one

did #1 already, looking to do #3. wont be doing serious off-roading to warrant doing #2

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 26th, 2009, 5:27 am

wats the cost for the locking diff??

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 26th, 2009, 10:25 am

biggy82 wrote:
venum wrote:

stop minding my bizness nah....you ent have a corner to go skid on? :twisted:

Mr. Go Slow wrote:I don't see why not, I've stuck a nav in 4wd going up terra city in the wet, so I can't fault him. No use having all the Navara's engine output and not be able to put it to good use.

did #1 already, looking to do #3. wont be doing serious off-roading to warrant doing #2

Hmmnn, I dunno, I think decent skid plates and under body armor is a very cheap investment vs the risk ... Shouldn't be more than a couple grand TT I think.

trini44

Postby trini44 » September 22nd, 2009, 2:04 am

Great advise Venum...offroad in numbers much safer that way if you get stuck, I know of a guy who recently had to leave his BT50 in Paria when a sudden shower made his trip back out impossible with his road tyres. As the TTORC guys would tell you..plan for sudden chage in weather and do not forget bush could also have bandits...remember 2 years ago the offroad guys got rob in Las Cuevas trail..was frontpage news

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » September 22nd, 2009, 3:03 am

so a friend went to las cuevas with a crew with two pickups namely a navara and a ranger, which on their way out got stuck in mud on the trail after about 3.5 hours of trying they had to be rescued by two hilux pickups. That was just an fyi, not everywere your pickup can go on street tyres. So if the hilux owners on this forum thanks for getting them out

ryanm

Postby ryanm » September 23rd, 2009, 11:45 pm

really interested in the diff locks. i have a l200 k34
thanks.

always go in groups. I learn't this lesson the hard way. :( sometimes the group cant even help when it's a heavy 4x4 like the l200 and frontier etc.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 24th, 2009, 8:53 am

ray786 wrote:looks good!! now let a vigo or a ranger 'attempt' dat nah.... it may now end as good as this... :mrgreen:

Me me me

Evolutionized

Postby Evolutionized » September 24th, 2009, 9:21 am

you need to hit that las cuevas trail in the prime rainy season...then the fun starts...

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 25th, 2009, 2:59 pm

The Mazda BT50 has LSD in the back

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 25th, 2009, 3:00 pm

Evolutionized wrote:you need to hit that las cuevas trail in the prime rainy season...then the fun starts...

Trust me - that aint ready for that trail in Rainy season....

riot

Postby riot » September 28th, 2009, 9:00 pm

exactly where in las cuevas this trail is??????

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » September 29th, 2009, 12:38 am

it was rainy season btw..rain fell plenty that weekend...trust me every where was mud!!!

RS2RS2

Postby RS2RS2 » September 30th, 2009, 12:15 pm

Navara going thru there like nothing!! even in rainy season..Power and traction!

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » October 8th, 2009, 7:09 pm

mr slow u trying 2 piss off ah navara man ah wa typical ranger owner get yuh facts straight den tawk beside uh ranger cant come round ah navara wit torque an power

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » October 13th, 2009, 5:52 pm

OH AN for easter i did go through dere wit ah 4x2 frontier an didnt stick also
but my uncle made ah business (he was camping dere na) an every vehicle stick $250 to pull it out wit he PATROL L200 , HILUX PRADO all dat did stick an more an he made some money :twisted: :evil:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”