4g63 vs sr20?????????

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 7th, 2009, 3:26 pm

btw, whats ur budget?

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » July 7th, 2009, 7:34 pm

janfar wrote:Seriously now. How would that work. Im guessing the engine will have to be mounted rearward as opposed to transversely.

How much you gonna pay for a RX gb.

the 4g63
BOLTS UP DIRECTLY ON THE SIRUS 2000 GEAR BOX
or and thats the evo 4g63 eh
the ones that come 4 wheel drive( when the engine is cross wayz)

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 7th, 2009, 8:38 pm

janfar wrote:Was their a rearward mounted version of the 4G63T...

Yup, the SOHC 2 litre from the Lancer Turbo...
and as sidewayz said... from Gen 1 4G63 (Evo 1-3 or US DSM Eclipse) also usable.
Death-Row wrote:...heard people used the rx7 2nd gen box...

janfar wrote:How would that work. Im guessing the engine will have to be mounted rearward as opposed to transversely...

Yup. Link--> Project Zero G.

My $0.02¢

QG

Postby QG » July 7th, 2009, 8:54 pm

Ent them syrus does come twin cam and single cam?

Single cam will get PWNED by the SR, you will a better chance with the twin cams...but parts are costly than the SR.

Plus the SR is a full square engine whcih is best for bolt on mods.

So it's all up to you dude!

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 7th, 2009, 10:34 pm

Sanctifier,but how much power would that sirus box really take?

xtech

Postby xtech » July 7th, 2009, 10:44 pm

would that RX7 box with a modified adaptor plate work on a 6A13 ?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 8th, 2009, 7:12 am

Death-Row wrote:Sanctifier,but how much power would that sirus box really take?

I got this info from MLR's Alan Zini about his Lancer Turbo upgrades...
Alan Zini wrote:...Up to 250 bhp the stock (EX/Starion) clutch is fine. Not sure on the flywheel issue...

Alan

AFAIK his EX Lancer Turbo put out more than that... using a stock 5-speed gearbox.
I'd want to treat the EX 5-speed box gently at that power level though.
What actually breaks parts is low-rpm torque not peak horse power.
So IMHO hard "launching" and careless gearchanges & clutch engagement are a "no no."

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on July 8th, 2009, 7:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Sinister_Audio » July 8th, 2009, 7:19 am

ShIvAm wrote:in a box lancer :mrgreen: i kinda wanted to keep it in the mitsu family but i ha sum padnas wit sr20 in dem lancer an i kinda having second toughts after goin for a spin. but i never see a lancer runnin a 63 :|

are u an ass?

the box lancer that takes part in rally...
built and tuned by central speed...
has a 4g63 that they made rwd...

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » July 8th, 2009, 9:34 am

hummm a budget i dunno nah boi, i tinkin no more than 10, 12 or sum roun der for everything????? but as i said i not realy focusing on the engin rite now (research). Yea i kno it ha lancers runnin 63s but i never actually see 1 in person :|

Postby janfar » July 8th, 2009, 9:40 am

10-12 will get u an engine and gb maybe, nothing more. Front cuts from evo 1-3 sells for about 15k.

U still have to get suspension, diff, a whole bunch a fab work, not to mention an install and electrical.

Better yuh go SR for realz.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » July 8th, 2009, 11:09 am

sooo u tink 10, 12 go get me a SR installed an runnin in my car? (da $ not including brakes an suspension jus engin, box an diff)

Postby janfar » July 8th, 2009, 12:08 pm

It will be very tight, and yuh will be lucky to get someone to do a cheap install, which is never good considering you are going to put it in a car that was never designed for that kind of torque in the first place. Your budget should be minimum 18k, for a safe build.

If you just want speed and willing to compromise safety then you on your own.

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » July 8th, 2009, 1:07 pm

i guess around 18k it is then, i never realy sit and calculate neting realy. but if i doing sumting i wanna do it gud an done.

QG

Postby QG » July 8th, 2009, 2:23 pm

ShIvAm wrote:i guess around 18k it is then, i never realy sit and calculate neting realy. but if i doing sumting i wanna do it gud an done.

Yeah, it will cost you some money.

I sure you will not want to launch your car and your diff spin out on you :lol: .

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 8th, 2009, 3:15 pm

never budget exact when it comes to this kinda stuff, if you think it costs 10K, then save at least 15K.

basically, as everyone said, if you want cheaper speed, go with the SR.

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » July 8th, 2009, 9:53 pm

ShIvAm wrote:hummm a budget i dunno nah boi, i tinkin no more than 10, 12 or sum roun der for everything????? but as i said i not realy focusing on the engin rite now (research). Yea i kno it ha lancers runnin 63s but i never actually see 1 in person :|

There is a 4G63T dohc convert RWD in my car, see tuner ride .box lancer gsr turbo came with 4G62 sohc--1.8T not 2.0. in fact all gsr's except for lancer evo & lancer ex2000 has 1.8turbo or 1.8 NA. IT may be costly BUT if yuh check up the cost to install ah sr20 then mods to reach the horse power of a stock 4g63t it dont make sence... it would be wise to research '89-'92 4g63t

Postby Sinister_Audio » July 8th, 2009, 10:14 pm

ShIvAm wrote:sooo u tink 10, 12 go get me a SR installed an runnin in my car? (da $ not including brakes an suspension jus engin, box an diff)

and its bluetooth wiring harness used right?

Garrett

Postby Garrett » July 8th, 2009, 10:17 pm

gallantpan wrote:There is a 4G63T dohc convert RWD in my car

we have to talk pallo. u might have some ideas for me(if i get the car)

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » July 8th, 2009, 10:42 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
janfar wrote:Was their a rearward mounted version of the 4G63T...

Yup, the SOHC 2 litre from the Lancer Turbo...
and as sidewayz said... from Gen 1 4G63 (Evo 1-3 or US DSM Eclipse) also usable.
Death-Row wrote:...heard people used the rx7 2nd gen box...

janfar wrote:How would that work. Im guessing the engine will have to be mounted rearward as opposed to transversely...

Yup. Link--> Project Zero G.

yeah...........................

another sr .................
might as well put in ah cortina 2000 engine!
or ah cosworth 2000 :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » July 8th, 2009, 10:45 pm

Death-Row wrote:janfar,heard people used the rx7 2nd gen box on them. i remember seeing a 63 in a box lancer with mods last year. :shock: torque like WOW

torque like wow!!!!
ent!!!!
how d rwd work?
nice eh
ent!! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

1 way 2 go .............................

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » July 8th, 2009, 10:47 pm

Garrett wrote:

not he alone eh
lol :D :D

Garrett

Postby Garrett » July 8th, 2009, 10:54 pm

sidewayz69 wrote:
Garrett wrote:

not he alone eh
lol :D :D

LMFAO. my uncle have a 1976 galant and well it jus came back from the grave, stock sirrus, and the car may be handed down to me most likely so i need advice but not now

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » July 8th, 2009, 11:44 pm

gallantpan, dawg da gallant sweet i go like to see it run sum time :D i love to see a old car fix up jed like da, dem evos an subies doh realy catch me, is stuff like this :twisted:

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » July 8th, 2009, 11:47 pm

soo hear dis.... y i cyah run a sr first an then slap een the 63 wen i ha d paper :?: :|

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 8th, 2009, 11:53 pm

ShIvAm,all dat stress boy? why not just save a lil bit longer to get some more cash and go 63T one time? if you put a sr in the lancer, u wont really be much different from 95% of the other box lancers out there that does run.

Postby janfar » July 9th, 2009, 4:59 am

ShIvAm wrote:soo hear dis.... y i cyah run a sr first an then slap een the 63 wen i ha d paper :?: :|

If you wanna go through all that headache you may as well buy one of the evo1-3 for sale on the forums.

To each his own i guess, but as Deathrow rightfully said, save yuh money and get the 4g... or even better, save the money and buy a evo3.

Mine was for sale, but after seeing the potential after installing an ACT extreme i changed my mind.

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » July 9th, 2009, 8:35 pm

ShIvAm wrote:soo hear dis.... y i cyah run a sr first an then slap een the 63 wen i ha d paper :?: :|

:wtf: the easyest way from point A to point B iz a straight line, ent...then wah the hell you want tuh waste precious $$ on that idea. I will help u but you need to show me u thinkin tooo dawg

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » July 9th, 2009, 10:27 pm

lol i was jus throwing the idea out there... i guess i shudda thow it in the bin :| It jus looking like the 4g63 go be real real wuk an i dunno wen i go cum up wit the $$ to pull off sum like da.... frm wa allyuh say i lookin at sum upwards a 20k for the complete 4g63 rwd conversion installed :?:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 9th, 2009, 10:44 pm

L 200 gbox can work on the 63 also

QG

Postby QG » July 9th, 2009, 11:05 pm

ShIvAm wrote:lol i was jus throwing the idea out there... i guess i shudda thow it in the bin :| It jus looking like the 4g63 go be real real wuk an i dunno wen i go cum up wit the $$ to pull off sum like da.... frm wa allyuh say i lookin at sum upwards a 20k for the complete 4g63 rwd conversion installed :?:

Get the DOHC version Please, IF NOT use another 2.0 DOHC RWD engine.

Going SOHC makes no sense unless you going to turbo...but a turbo SR will eat ya if you plan on turboing the SOHC still.

You have better chance with DOHC 4G63 IF THEY CAME RWD.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mitsubishi_Sirius_engine

Return to “MITSUBISHI”