is only nexen tyres trinidad have oh what? thanks guys.

Postby MG Man » July 2nd, 2009, 9:25 pm

Greypatch wrote:i used nexxen b4 wthout any problems....

how is a tyre brand considered rice ?

Nexens are marketed as performance tyres........but they are crap...........pretense of performance = rice

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » July 2nd, 2009, 11:37 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:M. Ramrattan in Marabella (Bridgestone sign)
aka Moti

Dunlop DZ101 - best tyre for the money

Michelin and Pirelli also

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » July 3rd, 2009, 12:30 am

Dunlop Direzzas are tires for dry conditions... it gets a bit twitchy in the wet :?

Postby Team Loco » July 3rd, 2009, 8:09 am

[quote="crazybalhead"]Direzzas OK when new. Then tend to get slippery and noisy when they wear a bit. Better than nexens though.

Which hill loco??? By Lothians? Or by Dole Chadee house?[/quote

Railway road, by the regional corporation.

Postby Greypatch » July 3rd, 2009, 9:17 am

men running off the road @ 40 and blaming the tyres..

Used nexxen on a N16 for 18 months no problems

Postby pete » July 3rd, 2009, 9:24 am

I find the Sumitomo HTR Z-IIs hold MUCH better in the wet or dry than the direzzas.

Good thing it didn't rain at Solodex yes.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 3rd, 2009, 9:31 am

pete wrote:I find the Sumitomo HTR Z-IIs hold MUCH better in the wet or dry than the direzzas.

Good thing it didn't rain at Solodex yes.

x2.
the HTRzII's better than the direzzas in my book.
i also agree with the general consesus that the direzzas are great when new, but suck after 3-5 months.
but i wanna try something else next rounds.

Postby cinco » July 3rd, 2009, 1:19 pm

the dunlop sp sports are awesome in the rain and dry great all around tyres i tested it by doin 60 in 3 inch puddles and no steering pull at all. and in the dry you can pull enough g's to make you uncomfortable

edit the sport maxx i am speaking about

Postby MG Man » July 4th, 2009, 7:53 am

I have 215-50-13 Dunlop SP Sports on the HSR and they scary in the wet....the slightest hint of power and the tyres spin and the car goes nowhere.....same with any sort of throttle mid-corner.........back end tries to run away........I have to be VERY careful in the wet on those things

Postby tr1ad » July 6th, 2009, 12:50 pm

i rather the michelin

Terran

Postby Terran » July 7th, 2009, 5:38 am

I ran Nexen's at one time. Definitely the worst I have ever used. The rubber seems to be generally hard, so it makes slipping much easier, especially when wet.

Postby MG Man » July 7th, 2009, 7:15 am

I surprised nobody he jump up and bawl Triangle tyres is bess :?

angel_player

Postby angel_player » July 7th, 2009, 12:04 pm

well I ridin on some new Nexens and nothin out of the ordinary yet. Braking and control good like normal

Postby honda hoe » July 7th, 2009, 12:17 pm

MG Man wrote:I have 215-50-13 Dunlop SP Sports on the HSR and they scary in the wet....the slightest hint of power and the tyres spin and the car goes nowhere.....same with any sort of throttle mid-corner.........back end tries to run away........I have to be VERY careful in the wet on those things

what power? :?

ur car "going nowhere" had nothing to do wit nexens

Last edited by honda hoe on July 7th, 2009, 12:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Maserati » July 7th, 2009, 12:18 pm

honda hoe wrote:
MG Man wrote:I have 215-50-13 Dunlop SP Sports on the HSR and they scary in the wet....the slightest hint of power and the tyres spin and the car goes nowhere.....same with any sort of throttle mid-corner.........back end tries to run away........I have to be VERY careful in the wet on those things

why u so eh :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » July 8th, 2009, 8:31 am

honda hoe wrote:

where u see nexens?
since the last time u pass me on the road the car so flickin traumatized it hidin under de bed wit earplugs on :?

Postby tr1ad » July 8th, 2009, 9:13 am

honda hoe wrote:

where u see nexens?
since the last time u pass me on the road the car so flickin traumatized it hidin under de bed wit earplugs on :?

hottgyul or skyline babe was with him

4 Eyes

Postby 4 Eyes » July 8th, 2009, 9:35 am

I have Dunlop SP Sports 9000 and they work real good in wet or dry conditions...

waxy_rider

Postby waxy_rider » July 8th, 2009, 1:08 pm

4 Eyes wrote:I have Dunlop SP Sports 9000 and they work real good in wet or dry conditions...

these are really good. nice grip in the dry and wet too.

i have been using Maxxis Victra MA-Z1 for a while now and the performance is on par with the dunlop.
paid $500.00 for a 205/45ZR16 with 280 treadwear , AA traction and A temp. this was by Singh's in Penal on the hill just before the 'Y' road to go San Francique in case anyone interested.

slow323

Postby slow323 » July 8th, 2009, 1:21 pm

check quick service for Michelin, deans wheels for bridgestone and aranguze alignment center for tires

Postby MG Man » July 8th, 2009, 9:52 pm

tr1ad wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

where u see nexens?

hottgyul or skyline babe was with him

keep this thread gutter-free please

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 8th, 2009, 10:02 pm

nexens have high treadwear... so it bad in wet or in extreme driving conditions...

Benefit is tyre life is a little better...

Got them on the Lancer and evo and honestly it's fine for driving around town, but doesn't like to be pushed to limits...

(crowd goes in silence... mumbling why i do such a stupid thing)

Well... be honest Bago dex was 1 day away and daz the time i realise a couple of the goodyears I got with the evo were almost to canvas.... and only ONE shop sells 235-45-17 and only in... NEXEN.

Maybe when i get some money I'll organize some better rubber.
Last edited by MISHI on July 9th, 2009, 9:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » July 8th, 2009, 10:07 pm

MISHI wrote:nexens have high threadwear... so it bad in wet or in extreme driving conditions...

Benefit is tyre life is a little better...

Got them on the Lancer and evo and honestly it's fine for driving around town, but doesn't like to be pushed to limits...

Well... be honest Bago dex was 1 day away and daz the time i realise a couple of the goodyears I got with the evo were almost to canvas.... and only ONE shop sells 235-45-17 and only in... NEXEN.

Maybe when i get some money I'll organize some better rubber.

I know the feeling when u NEED tyres and all the shop has is crap
I have 4 nexens on my pickup cuz when I bought it, I decided to go to the corner tyreshop and inspect the tyres....one tyre had SIX patches, some overlapping!!!!!!!!!!! another had 4 patches
I decided to replace them immediately....all the dude had were Nexens..........and yes they crappy, especially in the wet :? Keeping in mind this is a TAZ B1600, and I drive it very slowly.........

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 8th, 2009, 10:20 pm

had a b1600 and bad tyres they can get tail happy in wet... I could relate

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 9th, 2009, 6:00 am

nexens have high threadwear

WTF is THREADWEAR.

Yuh mean TREADwear (ppl when they "trying" to sound proper again).

As I posted in another thread, had the unfortunate luck to have to run these twice........first on my "first" car (if you can call it that....N2000), and then on an Almera, N3000.

The 2000's wore unevenly, and one showed signs of wall warping...and could never balance properly half way into the tread life.

The 3000's.....well lets just say those were noisy and leave it at that.

So, in short, I'd rather run FU used tyres....or at least DZ101's, than run Nexens on ANY car....EVER again.

And those who "use" nexens and claim that they're good for daily driving either (not directed at MISHI only):

1) Like to buy good cars and then skimp on mods and parts / bawl price high afterwards (Nexen users tend to be avid proponents of brands like Ractive and Arospeed for example).
OR

2) Just don't know better (and haven't read this or other threads about them).

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 9th, 2009, 7:49 am

Saw a Benz recently on Foose rims (first time i saw those down here...sue me) with Triangle tires...had the same thoughts as above ^^

Sometimes people dont know anything bout cars and trust that a "reputable" tyre shop will install the good stuff OR they get a good soundin price on a rims and tyres combo and jump at the chance.

I know of several tyre shops in Central that install Nexen and Triangle by default. They carry the good stuff but automatically assume a central coooolie like mihself cant afford it. :?

Postby MG Man » July 9th, 2009, 8:00 am

you would be surprised how many ppl can afford / buy the best car and then screw up their faces at the prices for good tyres :?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 9th, 2009, 9:01 am

Knight1 wrote:
nexens have high threadwear

WTF is THREADWEAR.

Yuh mean TREADwear (ppl when they "trying" to sound proper again).

Forgive me.. been a long day at the hospital and stuff.. gong and re-edit that. :lol:

And those who "use" nexens and claim that they're good for daily driving either (not directed at MISHI only):

But I'll tell you what... when you have no choice in the matter and you really need to get tyres, you do what you must. Personally I'm no money factory and I can't afford to just buy an extra set of tyres on a whim. So these will have to do for a bit at least until better can be done...

And as for the FU issue, I don't have much faith in using them at all... especially on an AWD where you may not get the same tyre for all 4 corners and the tReadwear :lol: is different... not to mention there's no surity as to the durability of the sidewall or even the rubber itself...

Problem with many is that new tyres give them the excuse to drive in a spirited fashion cause they believe they'll hold... and we all know what happens...

tyres don't make you a safer driver... YOU make you a safer driver.
Last edited by MISHI on July 9th, 2009, 9:11 am, edited 2 times in total.