B16A/B18 LOW BOOST or B18C-R or FRANK?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Postby honda hoe » February 25th, 2009, 9:52 am

men have real paper to spend in here boy :|

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » February 25th, 2009, 9:58 am

honda hoe wrote:men have real paper to spend in here boy :|

funny Brent :roll:

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 25th, 2009, 10:10 am

wen u don't:
1. crash/write off an Ek4
2. crash a teggy(basically mash up d gearbox 2)
3. mash up a K20A

U MIGHT HAVE SOME MONEY 2 SPEND ON AN ENGINE BUILD :fist:

JUST SAYIN :mrgreen:

Postby honda hoe » February 25th, 2009, 10:13 am

u tink i CAN'T afford an engine build?

i'm not like 99% of allyuh fellas who always bumpin dey mout bout projects dey wanna build an car dey wanna buy an when time to open wallet is all kinda back peddle stories

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » February 25th, 2009, 10:16 am

FORZA_PRETTYBOY wrote:wen u don't:
1. crash/write off an Ek4
2. crash a teggy(basically mash up d gearbox 2)
3. mash up a K20A

U MIGHT HAVE SOME MONEY 2 SPEND ON AN ENGINE BUILD :fist:

JUST SAYIN :mrgreen:

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 25th, 2009, 10:24 am

i never suggested u don't have money hoe,u didn't read/understand my message :?:

wat i said was,witout havin done d stuff i higlighted(sheit U DID),I might have some money 2 do wat i want to

DIS TOPIC IS NOT ABOUT U & BELIEVE ME I HAVE D PAPER,JUST I HAVE 2 TINK BOUT MORE SERIOUS TINGS(LIKE HOUSE & LAND) IF I DIDN'T I WOULD HAVE BOUGHT AN ITR LONG TIME 2 PUT U IN URE PLACE :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby honda hoe » February 25th, 2009, 10:30 am

u didn't read/understand my message

maybe what u meant to say is not what u actually said?

anyways its no scene

whatever u decide jus do it properly

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 25th, 2009, 10:38 am

honda hoe wrote:
u didn't read/understand my message

maybe what u meant to say is not what u actually said?

anyways its no scene

whatever u decide jus do it properly
THANKS FOR UNDERSTANDIN MY MESSAGE HOE :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

SO GUYS WAT'S D EXPECTED POWER OUTPUT(WHP/TQ) FROM A JAP BEATEN B18C-R WIT JUST 100K SERVICE :?: :?: (ASSUMIN D ENGINE HAS NO COMP,HEATIN ISSUES etc) :?: :?: HOW CLOSE CAN U EXPECT 2 STOCK NUMBERS(TAKIN INTO CONSIDERATION ENGINE AGE etc.)
Last edited by FORZA_PRETTYBOY on February 25th, 2009, 10:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby honda hoe » February 25th, 2009, 10:39 am

SO GUYS WAT'S D EXPECTED POWER OUTPUT(WHP/TQ) FROM A JAP BEATEN B18C-R WIT JUST 100K SERVICE (ASSUMIN D ENGINE HAS NO COMP,HEATIN ISSUES etc)

i tink somewhere around 160whp give or take

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 25th, 2009, 10:43 am

ok so at 30k

i not really a turbo guy...
5000K in rods and pistons i will up for cr in 11.5
ems 3600 to 7000
any turbokit with a gt28rs hold boost at 12psi
and u will love it

or

no turbo kit and skunk2 cams pro2 *(and all supporting parts) cr 12, good intake manifold and headers with 2 1/4 or 2 and 2 1/2 lighthen flywheel high compression valves and have the do a 100k rebuild. if you can, send the crank to be knifed. that will put in the 200hp ballpark and some good low end power for ur daily drive

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 25th, 2009, 10:47 am

any1 else? on d expected whp of a B18C-R just 100k serviced?, & wat's the best recorded q.mile times locally for a B18C-R hatch or teggy?(wit only i/h/e & management) :?: :?: :mrgreen:
Last edited by FORZA_PRETTYBOY on February 25th, 2009, 11:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 25th, 2009, 10:59 am

kes-i know ure not a turbo guy!

so wat's an expected power output from option 1 & will it hold out?
so option 2 would cost 30k even witout an engine?

so let's say-i want 2 b able 2 rev 2 9000 wit a B16A would my initial goals be attainable??(ONCE AGAIN STARTIN OFF WITOUT AN ENGINE) :mrgreen:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 25th, 2009, 12:08 pm

then no crank work... :)

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 25th, 2009, 3:05 pm

cool,tanks kes!,i guess i'll b lookin 4 a B18C-R conversion(this should give me all my criteria ie 14.7q.m etc. right?),or B16A 2 build

i was under d impression dat more honda men were runnin low boost sucessfully & i would have got more incouragement 2 go dat way(i'm a N/A guy also) :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » February 25th, 2009, 3:23 pm

i tell you one thing don't buy a motor that you will not be useing....

"what the hell you mean"

if a b18c is costing you 18k and a b16a will cost you 9, buy the b16a and as most parts in the b18 you will not be using,
note that you will not be using the rods, pistons valvetrain from your new found motor...
all those part will be at the wayside, so you may have "wasted" 10000, in what was a b18c, when you new b16a may be faster that it as you now have 10,000 more to play with...

just something to think about

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 25th, 2009, 4:50 pm

kes- i get ure logic,but there's no way i'm gettin a B16A full conversion for 9k(cheapest i heard was 15k),as compared 2 a full B18c-gsr for 18k,

wat about a stock B16A wit a B18 block(plus management,or wil i have 2 add more parts?)?,wil dat give me say,a 14.8 q.m time & let's say 160-5whp consistantly for under 30k?

IF I CAN GET A HIGH 14s STREET CAR FOR UNDER 30k I'LL B A HAPPY GUY 4 A WHILE(LEAVIN OUT D CAR & SUSPENSION,WIL LOOK AT DAT SEPARATELY) :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » February 25th, 2009, 4:57 pm

horse
14seconds is slow
wtf?
nissan men must be real laughing
kay kay 30g's to run 14

LOL

Postby SR » February 25th, 2009, 6:00 pm

whats your best time on the track again b20vtek???

for sale
1 b16a engine and y21 gearbox with retuned ecu complete with axels etc
out of the black hatch i just sold

engine/car can be test driven to show performance etc of engine and box

$16K

good deal for forza should spend less than 4 k to install and leave with 10k for some parts to add on after you get acustom to driveng the car

should give you high 14's with maybe a little weight reduction fom the ek hatch

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 25th, 2009, 6:04 pm

B20VTEK wrote:horse
14seconds is slow
wtf?
nissan men must be real laughing
kay kay 30g's to run 14

LOL

I DON'T REALLY CARE WHO LAUGHIN,HIGH 14s IS WAT I WANT 4 NOW :twisted: :evil:AND YEAH WAT'S URE BEST TIME??

jc

Postby jc » February 25th, 2009, 6:06 pm

real good info here guys 8-)

if i decide to stroke a b16 or build a an engine with a b18c block/b16a head, who would you guys recommend for the build :?:

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 25th, 2009, 6:10 pm

for sale
1 b16a engine and y21 gearbox with retuned ecu complete with axels etc
out of the black hatch i just sold

engine/car can be test driven to show performance etc of engine and box

$16K

good deal for forza should spend less than 4 k to install and leave with 10k for some parts to add on after you get acustom to driveng the car

should give you high 14's with maybe a little weight reduction fom the ek hatch[/quote]
SOUNDS GOOD WIL B CHECKIN U AS SOON AS D EK4 IS SOLD :lol: :lol:
BY D WAY IS DIS A B16A4 OR OLDER??

Postby SR » February 25th, 2009, 6:16 pm

car is available for viewing in the garage

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » February 25th, 2009, 6:17 pm

dude its your money
spend it how you want

talk to your engine builder or mechanic

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 25th, 2009, 6:23 pm

dude its your money
spend it how you want

GOOD DAT U CAME 2 DAT UNDERSTANDIN,IF I WAS LOOKIN FOR CHEAPER POWER I WOULDN'T STIL B A HONDA MAN :lol:

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 25th, 2009, 6:24 pm

SR-wil check u :twisted: :twisted:

FORZA_PRETTYBOY

Postby FORZA_PRETTYBOY » February 25th, 2009, 7:55 pm

GUYS-SO HOW MUCH DOES A BOOSTED B16A COST?
LET'S SAY:
12psi,pistons,rods,management etc(roughly) & wat could b ure expected power range? :lol: :shock:

Wizard

Postby Wizard » February 25th, 2009, 11:01 pm

sell the car
add the 30k to that and put a downpayment on a dc5r

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » February 25th, 2009, 11:17 pm

gt30 b16a 10 psi stock internals could put u at 300hp

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » February 25th, 2009, 11:20 pm

i dont mean to be a jackass but why dont you spend a lil time researching

join honda-tech.com and enjoy.
most of the questions you asked, and proberly will ask have been covered.
you will thank me later.

give a man a fish, he feed for a day
teach him to fish, u feed him for life.
stephan

Kinday

Postby Kinday » February 26th, 2009, 12:12 am

What B20VTEK said exactly...you asking too much questions. Guys here went through the same situation, the serious ones at least, and much of their knowledge came from research as well as trial and error. Don't expect results on a plate if that's what you're seeking...thats the magazine type mentality, you read it and if it works for them it'll work for me right...WRONG.

A lot of guys gave good advice to guide your focus...yet, we are 6 pages in and you're still not sure which direction you truly want to go. Start seriously researching your options across the net, in books, talking to open minded mechanics and tuners, et al. I am certain that you have a vision of your project in your mind. Why not share the key points of that vision and let the gurus help you from there. I do give you credit for knowing how fast you want to go and how much you're willing to spend....many guys can't do that. You're going to get your goals though, they are very much within reach.

This is one of the reasons why we need a Honda modification guide at the top of this forum :?

Return to “HONDA”