W.T.K what is antilagg ?

Postby Damien » December 12th, 2008, 11:20 pm

Anyone could explain this to me and how to install thanks ?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 13th, 2008, 11:45 am

Check the link below.

Anti-lag System

I don't know of any production based cars that run it though.

someone904

Postby someone904 » December 13th, 2008, 12:51 pm

i just looked at that page.......anyone runnin a d-valve? :twisted: :twisted:

Postby Maserati » December 13th, 2008, 8:23 pm

don't think you would want to run this on a road car

sounds like this
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/eFVSsuonOtY&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » December 13th, 2008, 10:22 pm

But does anyone use it in Trinidad? I think a lot of people confuse anti-lag with just plain ole, running rich? (in terms of fuel) I remember a time i searched it on youtube and the guy showed a normal evolution 7 just revving hard and he said that was antilag :|

Also what causes the fire pitches out of the exhaust in a car without anti-lag? miss-times? running rich and the vapours re-ignite at the end?

thanks.. sorry for going off topic

Postby Maserati » December 13th, 2008, 11:01 pm

^rally cars use it

and I think, Tam uses it in his R34 skyline in drags

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 14th, 2008, 3:07 pm

tam uses it...

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 14th, 2008, 3:44 pm

the white and black Subaru in the features section has it as well.....

i find that wiki article makes it a bit confusing :|

Postby Damien » December 14th, 2008, 4:26 pm

^For sure but does anyone install this locally? heard and evo with it recently and it sounded real nice ,also could it be installed with a automatic vehicle ? thanks!

turbohead

Postby turbohead » December 14th, 2008, 6:02 pm

i guessin the evo in question is a silver one? it is a feature with an aftermarket engine management. it is to help you launch of the line in boost so that you wont have to build boost an therefore get a better et.

Postby Damien » December 14th, 2008, 6:32 pm

turbohead wrote:i guessin the evo in question is a silver one? it is a feature with an aftermarket engine management. it is to help you launch of the line in boost so that you wont have to build boost an therefore get a better et.
cant remeber the colour but i think it was a evo 2 or 3 but still does anyone install this locally? heard and evo with it recently and it sounded real nice ,also could it be installed with a automatic vehicle ? thanks!

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 14th, 2008, 8:57 pm

turbohead wrote:i guessin the evo in question is a silver one? it is a feature with an aftermarket engine management. it is to help you launch of the line in boost so that you wont have to build boost an therefore get a better et.

eh?
it is used to keep boost up between shifts or at partial throttle to reduce lag......hence the name anti-lag.......it is not used too much in drag cars, but it can be.
used mostly on rally, circuit, time attack and drift cars......

Damien.....if u want to used this cuz of how it sounds forget it......it eats the turbine of the turbo due to the high exhaust temperatures.....some setups allow it to be adjusted in stages, from mild to full......there should never be need for this on the street........

whats your intentions for it?

Postby Maserati » December 14th, 2008, 9:51 pm

u thinking of launch control
http://farnorthracing.com/autocross_secrets8.html

and come to think of it I think this is what Tam would use in drags

as cacasplat said anti-lag does take a toll on the various components involved and I seriously wouldn't recommend it for road use

A quick rise of the turbocharger's temperature (which jumps from ~800°C to the 1100°C+ region) whenever the system is activated

A huge stress on the exhaust manifold and pipes (mounted on a street car a bang-bang system would destroy the exhaust system within 50-100 km)

The turbo produces significant boost even at engine idle speeds

The explosions which occur in the exhaust tubes generate important flames which can, sometimes, be seen at the end of the exhaust tube

Reduced engine brake

Idle_Torque

Postby Idle_Torque » December 14th, 2008, 10:47 pm

i dont c how running rich could cause fire to spit out, my ride not near running rich an spitting fire, i dont even know wat causes it, clean out entinre head an block an still spitting.... an is ah GA14 dat spitting...

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » December 15th, 2008, 4:05 pm

Maserati... thanks man! i was now gonna say that same thing. I did some reading and thats really why they dont use it for everyday... you gonna be buying turbines like its christmas every month.. or even week :|

original.badman, ohh thats what ppl tell me :oops: sorry. So is it just re-ignition of unburnt gases...?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 15th, 2008, 10:00 pm

launch control is a feature on the evo 9 i think....not 100% sure

pm one of the rally boys....they should be able to help :wink:

fire from the exhaust could only be un-burnt fuel igniting.......or yuh exhaust valves completely gone through :lol:

Postby Damien » December 16th, 2008, 11:07 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:

eh?
it is used to keep boost up between shifts or at partial throttle to reduce lag......hence the name anti-lag.......it is not used too much in drag cars, but it can be.
used mostly on rally, circuit, time attack and drift cars......

Damien.....if u want to used this cuz of how it sounds forget it......it eats the turbine of the turbo due to the high exhaust temperatures.....some setups allow it to be adjusted in stages, from mild to full......there should never be need for this on the street........

whats your intentions for it?
Thanks for the info guys i ask the evo owner how the antilagg system was installed and he said that is one straight pipe from the exhaust end of the turbo straight out that does burnout the remaining fuel when changing gears or reving hard is that true ?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 17th, 2008, 5:39 pm

i doh understand that......this is how i understand it.....

on partial throttle the system puts extra fuel into one cylinder every few revs....then in the exhaust stroke when the exhaust valve is open, the spark plug sparks again, this time igniting the unburt fuel that was excess in the previous power stroke......as the fuel burns and expands rapidly going out into the exhaust header and into the turbo. it keeps the turbo spinning fast enough to produce boost.......excess air is supplied to the manifold.....

Postby Damien » December 17th, 2008, 7:31 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:i doh understand that......this is how i understand it.....

on partial throttle the system puts extra fuel into one cylinder every few revs....then in the exhaust stroke when the exhaust valve is open, the spark plug sparks again, this time igniting the unburt fuel that was excess in the previous power stroke......as the fuel burns and expands rapidly going out into the exhaust header and into the turbo. it keeps the turbo spinning fast enough to produce boost.......excess air is supplied to the manifold.....
now i understand how it is done thanks for the info

Postby Damien » December 17th, 2008, 7:38 pm

was thinking bout it just for the sound but it looks like this wouuldnt be for a everyday car :(

Postby eliteauto » December 18th, 2008, 4:16 am

anti-lag for rice purposes?

Postby honda hoe » December 18th, 2008, 3:11 pm

:? :?

isn't dat launch control u talkin bout?

Postby Maserati » December 18th, 2008, 3:13 pm

corollalover101 wrote:anti-lag for rice purposes?

god forbid

honda hoe wrote:

:? :?

isn't dat launch control u talkin bout?

ent he a mechanic? :lol:

Postby Damien » December 18th, 2008, 10:33 pm

turbo rice :lol: