without readin tru the other posts, here are my personal experiences:

sharp 46" Aquos LCD tv on directv = sheit
panasonic 50" viera on same directv = fabulous

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 23rd, 2008, 9:08 pm

pioneer wrote:1080p v 720p...the diff shows up in larger screens...like 30"+

Sharp Aquos real bess...i have a 32"

Pricesmart have some real decent prices on them...check em out.

NOOOO! I was there today and the prices are almost TWICE the amount than if you have to buy it online + pay VAT and duty + that huge shipping cost.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 23rd, 2008, 9:14 pm

^for real,only when they next to each other,then you really see the picture quality difference,then again,you can play up with each individual settings to make em look difference,i recently purchased one of those "not so famous" brands from pricemart ,does a pretty decent job,will upgrade it next year though,here's Casino Royale Blu Ray direct Stream Via PC:

[IMG::]http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/dsci0009fk3.jpg/1/w2560.png[/img]

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 8th, 2008, 10:34 pm

so i was in pricesmart chaguanas 2nite looking at d tvs & out of all brands they have like sharp \ sansui \ viore \ samsung etc i find this 1 IMO showing d clearest

http://www.sonystyle.com/webapp/wcs/sto ... 1665381955

u have to put a number 10 in front that price ^^^ to get d TT$ price they had it for ....anybody have any opinions on this model (kinda looking for a 40-42" LCD) so what u all think ........ :? :? :?

Postby brams112 » December 8th, 2008, 11:03 pm

sharp aquos,lcd hd digital makes watching a normal tv a joke talk done.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 8th, 2008, 11:08 pm

but i find d sony bravia showing even clearer \ more natural looking than d sharp aquos ....

Postby cinco » December 9th, 2008, 1:25 am

i like the black hues on the aquos more than the sony
the sony is a bit warmer though

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 9th, 2008, 11:31 am

well i stand up dey about ah 15-20mins watching all d demos of various scenes & d sony is it 4 me ....

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » December 11th, 2008, 6:01 am

^^ For real... that was my choice.

Postby 16 cycles » December 11th, 2008, 7:15 am

xbr :!:

sony televisions have always replicated natural colours and ambience better than competitors.

but damn.....the older trinitron wega tube sets are heavy no ar$e

waiting till feb as flatline suggested concerning prices of teles forecasted to drop

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » December 11th, 2008, 7:29 am

wizz just got a 46' lg for 10,000

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » December 13th, 2008, 4:49 pm

So Pricesmart currently has a Sharp Aquos 37" LCD I've been checking out.

They giving 1 month manufacturers warranty and 1 year store warranty.

Heard about some other places with slightly better prices but only 3 months warranty.

With a purchase this big I kinda skeptical about the short warranty from the other stores.

Thinking bout purchasing but anybody could vouch for their warranty service?

Model I'm looking at is the Sharp LC37D44U for $7600

Would have liked to have the Samsung LN37A450/550 but not seeing it locally within my budget.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 13th, 2008, 7:49 pm

yep i too was looking at other stores with slightly better prices as like u said only 3mths warranty :roll: & they want u to buy a ups or no warranty - cant believe u buying ah $9000+ tv & only 3 effing mths warranty ....ALSO dont get catch with slightly lower price because some sets in fact is a lower resolution model , they want to stick somebody who eh know with 720 instead of 1080

i was in courts recently comparing d sony to d LG to d samsung since all 3 were 37" lined up in a row & by far again d sony showed d best ...btw courts prices is close to pricesmart just about ah 500 more & they also said 1yr warranty

that 40" sony i mentioned above is only US$925 while its friggin tt$11,000 - makes me feel to wait til janauary & bring it down myself .... :wink:

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » December 13th, 2008, 8:20 pm

Considered bringing it down myself, but I really not feeling to go through the customs hassle.

Plus I wanna make sure I have a local warranty in case anything should go wrong.

Will check courts as well on Monday. Hopefully their prices not too ridiculous.

Any other places that offering at least a year warranty?

The Sony sweet too bad but I don't wanna spend that much on a TV.

TK!

Postby TK! » December 14th, 2008, 10:21 am

heads up guys...

pioneer has the best screens... for now.
panasonic is also very close in quality. some are even better than pios.

since LCD won the battle.. plasmas (the better tech) is going out soon.
also, piooner is giving NEC to build their screens soon.

So go buy a pioneer while stocks last!

AESL sells them. me aint know their number tho.

TK!

Postby TK! » December 14th, 2008, 10:27 am

16 cycles wrote:xbr :!:

sony televisions have always replicated natural colours and ambience better than competitors.

but damn.....the older trinitron wega tube sets are heavy no ar$e

waiting till feb as flatline suggested concerning prices of teles forecasted to drop

tube and flat screen is two different ting eh. the good tube manufacturers have nothing to do with plasmas.

and yuh right with one ting... tubes can be better than lcds or plasmas.

but no.. doh wait til feb. buy on dec 26 abroad. or jan 2

Postby 16 cycles » December 14th, 2008, 10:46 am

tube and flat screen is two different ting eh. the good tube manufacturers have nothing to do with plasmas.

and yuh right with one ting... tubes can be better than lcds or plasmas.

but no.. doh wait til feb. buy on dec 26 abroad. or jan 2

yeah, but soon that argument will seem like records vs cd though i agree that a good tube is still better than lcd/plasma

thanks for the advice on timing

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » December 14th, 2008, 12:43 pm

Anyone know if CTC will warranty a Sharp Television purchased abroad?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 14th, 2008, 12:46 pm

TK! wrote:heads up guys...

pioneer has the best screens... for now.

yep,those kuro's are the best right now. :!:

Postby SR » December 14th, 2008, 12:51 pm

DF1_2nR wrote:Anyone know if CTC will warranty a Sharp Television purchased abroad?

nope

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » December 14th, 2008, 3:17 pm

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp ... 6424111093

Samsung - 52" 1080p 120Hz Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Model: LN52A850

5yrs warranty i got with this TV

with in home repairs

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » December 14th, 2008, 9:36 pm

So I'm going hunting around tomorrow.

Any recommendations for stores I can check.

Courts and Circuit Zone already on the list.

TK!

Postby TK! » December 14th, 2008, 11:25 pm

SR wrote:
DF1_2nR wrote:Anyone know if CTC will warranty a Sharp Television purchased abroad?

nope

plus most lcds and plasmas, once they're bad... throw away. apart from the circuit boards, if the screen goes. dustbin.

i successfully replaced a board in a panasonic b4 and know of someone who repaired a crack in a sharp circuit board. so all isn't lost but access to the service manuals can be a biatch.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 17th, 2008, 11:43 pm

DF1_2nR wrote:So I'm going hunting around tomorrow.

Any recommendations for stores I can check.

Courts and Circuit Zone already on the list.

so what did u find out man ?

well yesterday i checked THE WIZZ , prices only $100 lower than pricesmart & d same 1yr warranty

today i checked Standards in gran bazaar - well they r d most expensive i have seen so far since d same 40" sony is $1000 more than pricesmart .... :shock: .... :roll:

honestly i kinda turned off by d prices all over since they about d same & i feeling to tell my bro in d usa to go to d store either on d 26th or 31stdec or 1st jan & ship down 1 for me ... must save at least ah $2000 after expenses....

Postby noshownogo » December 18th, 2008, 8:03 am

Raptor that is a very nice tele, a bit pricey but based on the performance, you get what you pay for...

120Hz and 4ms response is fantastic for HD gaming :!:

RapToR

Postby RapToR » December 18th, 2008, 10:32 am

noshownogo wrote:Raptor that is a very nice tele, a bit pricey but based on the performance, you get what you pay for...

120Hz and 4ms response is fantastic for HD gaming :!:

i added a bose v30 to go with it

http://www.bose.com/controller?url=/sho ... /index.jsp

Postby noshownogo » December 18th, 2008, 11:19 am

The V30 not THX or DTS-HD audio certified is it? Very nice non the less, you have great taste my friend...

RapToR

Postby RapToR » December 18th, 2008, 12:07 pm

noshownogo wrote:The V30 not THX or DTS-HD audio certified is it? Very nice non the less, you have great taste my friend...

along with 4 of these

Monster HDMI 1000HD Ultra-High Speed HDMI Cable (6 meters)

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000UF ... 270&sr=8-1

and 2 of these

Monster Cable PowerCenter HTS 2000 MKII

http://www.amazon.com/Monster-PowerCent ... 350&sr=1-8