hilux 3L turbo install. project COMPLETED!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 18th, 2008, 6:53 pm

GRATZ!!!!!

It's more like an SR 4 1/2 :P

Intercooled?

Postby Team Loco » January 18th, 2008, 8:03 pm

Nah, not yet

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 18th, 2008, 9:08 pm

Nice .... trust Sean to do the almost impossible.

Sean... please make sure you're cooling system up to par... what coolant are you using?

Postby Team Loco » January 18th, 2008, 10:28 pm

Ironically its running cooler. Must be a greater effieciency in the fuel burn. Sweeks, I use only original toyota long life coolant.

venum

Postby venum » January 18th, 2008, 10:53 pm

3L to 3LL

3LLocolized

well done

directed a guy from the L200 Owners forum to this link

he considering it on a 2.8L Mitsu engine

pioneering the efforts there Loco, congrats

Postby Team Loco » January 19th, 2008, 12:47 am

Thanks man! Just made two runs up and down the highway, top end speed remain the same but getting to it was fun.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 19th, 2008, 9:01 am

LOL.. but that is without the aneriod... Yo

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » January 19th, 2008, 4:29 pm

Good job with the turbo installation TL. We'll have to inspect that installation on the next run :twisted:

Glad to hear it working good with no problems.

Postby Team Loco » January 20th, 2008, 8:56 pm

so far, burning about 20% more diesel. also burnt some oil....

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » January 20th, 2008, 9:42 pm

Congrats ..well done..
test and tune time . that should be fun.

what about turbo lag? and ill effects in comparison to before?

Postby Team Loco » January 20th, 2008, 10:10 pm

just ran down the rivulet, the acceleration is like WAW! engine is comfortable, silent, just hearing the sweet sound of the spooling turbo. others who have done this install run 11psi, i'm just running for now 6.5, and yet the performance is great. just some rattling from the gearbox, but i've always had that, now the boosted engine seems to have gotten it louder

Postby wagon r » January 21st, 2008, 7:32 am

well i could tell all....i was the first to see it and like a proud papa.....loco took all of 1 sec to jump out the van and pop the bonnet.....

....it looks factory to the untrained eye....very neat and i'm mighty impressed. didn't get to go for a pull but in due time....

,..congrats again Loco....job well done.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 21st, 2008, 9:10 am

Team Loco wrote:so far, burning about 20% more diesel. also burnt some oil....

The increased diesel consumption is understandable but were you burning oil before?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 21st, 2008, 2:19 pm

How much oil we talkin about?

But to burn a noticeable amount of oil in what... a week? Hmmm!

Postby Greypatch » January 21st, 2008, 2:40 pm

nice...

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » January 21st, 2008, 7:32 pm

HEy Loco , are you sure the oil is being burnt, and the oil drop isnt as a result of the oil in the extra lines and the turbo? or maybe a leak?

Freak , you volunteering the 'Reds' for a lil frankensteining? :twisted: :twisted:

Postby Team Loco » December 6th, 2008, 10:43 pm

so i just thought i'd give an update on my re-installation. i sm running 7 lbs boost. suffering from some serious turbo lag, but i aint complaining. she took a while to settle down but now she's running nice. the engine is now 50% quieter, there's the noticeable turbo spooling sound thats oh so sweet. i havent blown any seals. the oil leak i had after the install was due to an improrperly installed gasket. that has since been rectified. initial pull off power and top end remains the same, of course. however, she's now an actual thrill to run on the highway, since i comfortably accelerate in 5th gear. i have absolutely no reason to downshift besides the obvious. got some smoke on pull off- expected since i dont have an anneroid installed. i am burning some oil since the bamboo sought turbo unit is leaking a few drops into the intake. i am not worried since i will be investing in a brand new CT20 unit soon. in the mean time i'm using a slightly thicker body oil. she is simply a lovely van to drive now. safety wise i must say i have no reason to hesitate if i decide to overtake a vehicle.

i have also intalled an auber digital pyrometer in order to monitor exhaust temp. so far the max i've reached is 800 degrees at 125kms/hr. my speedo calibration is off though since at 125kms i'm passing some vigos. believe me, they dont react well to a 2.8 hilux passing them.

anyways, yet to do:

install turbo timer
tweek fuel/air ratio
install intercooler (which will be a beyotch)
replace CT20 unit with new fro toyota CT20 unit
heat wrap exhaust since heat is affecting brake fluid.

more later.......
oh and dont try this at home, leave it to a professional! hehe

after all, i learnt the hard way!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 7th, 2008, 5:20 am

nice to hear you sort out your biz finally with the Lux.....yuh feel yuh ready tuh run de Nav? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 7th, 2008, 6:07 am

Here we go again *sigh*

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 7th, 2008, 7:32 am

what? :lilangel:

Postby Team Loco » December 7th, 2008, 9:38 am

Nah biggy, take win lol.

Postby Greypatch » December 7th, 2008, 8:03 pm

biggy82 wrote:nice to hear you sort out your biz finally with the Lux.....yuh feel yuh ready tuh run de Nav? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

calm yuh self the man seh he top end eh change

ah guh give u ah run when ah get the new ride

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 8th, 2008, 1:18 am

^^^***waits patiently***

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 17th, 2008, 1:01 pm

Hey TL, can you put up some pics of the kleenoil system?

Thanks

Postby Team Loco » December 17th, 2008, 1:14 pm

actually i removed it. got it in a box. system works quite well but i needed the oil supply line to go to the turbo. so it was either or.

Postby Team Loco » February 26th, 2009, 11:07 pm

update. its been 30,000kms ago that the turbo was re-installed after the engine was redone. took a while for the "breakin process" but the results are well worth it. the biggest improvement has been economy:

pre turbo install- 410kms to a tank of diesel
post turbo install- 525kms to a tank of diesel

the performance on the highway is just lovely. van moves practically on its own without much over-revving. anyone who drives a 4x4 3L pwered hilux will tell you their lux over revs at high speed.

still to do- intercool

venum

Postby venum » February 27th, 2009, 9:34 am

Team Loco wrote:still to do- intercool

we discussd already - passage of pipes

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » February 27th, 2009, 11:08 am

nice..
prado intercooler and pipes.. :)

Postby Team Loco » February 27th, 2009, 4:07 pm

too costly to get it to the front. i've decided to go top mount. i will install a powerful fan to assist.

venum

Postby venum » February 27th, 2009, 5:10 pm

Team Loco wrote:too costly to get it to the front. i've decided to go top mount. i will install a powerful fan to assist.

Pajero then :?:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”