The guitar string (thread)

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 4th, 2008, 2:44 pm

Sky wrote:
God Bless the Black Top* wrote:
Sky wrote:God Bless the Black Top*, if you go back, take a pic please!!!!!

daz yours ent? when yuh picking it up? have to go back there to sort my buzz and i just get the ting tuesday self...sit down with it wednesday, ready fuh it and den 'buurghhzzztttt', F@cking 7th fret...

fyah for floating trems yes... if you see a problematic white strat where yuh CIJ supposed to be... HARD LUCK! :lol:

It's not mine actually. It's a friend's. His name's Cyanide :| Huge fellow.
He killed our bassist for playing the wrong note. RIP Dave :(
So I wouldn't take that axe if I were you >_>

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... %26ps%3D42

mmmmmm check that. I feel I have another hobby/vice yes. What cc could reg with paypal?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Fender-Eric-Johnson ... dZViewItem
^^^ Slap that on it...whogaadd!!

i have a paypal account with a foreign debit card, but i know VISA/RBTT works.

the neck work done on that black strat is real bess - InDeForest did a great job. that neck is probably the best fit my hands have had in yearssss

that trem system fail though, throw dat away

Postby Sky » December 4th, 2008, 3:18 pm

Yea Fender dropped the ball at trying Floyd. I wanted to keep the guitar as original as possible though. Earlier in this ched I said the fretboard was ebony. We all thought it was ebony. Was just some jackhole lather it down with petroleum jelly and it got super dark and grain went missing. I think next year I'll really organise and build my own partsocaster. 3T sunburst body with a maple fret neck. Maybe a virtual solo in the bridge, because Joe put one in his strat and that guitar's nothing less than epic. Not that the solo's responsible, but it holds it's own..

Snags

Postby Snags » December 4th, 2008, 3:21 pm

^Visa/FCB works with paypal too.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 4th, 2008, 7:28 pm

no fretbuzz on my end.....lol.....hmmm.....maybe its because my action is too high. Nah!

Postby Cjruckus » December 4th, 2008, 9:39 pm

Sky wrote:Yea Fender dropped the ball at trying Floyd. I wanted to keep the guitar as original as possible though. Earlier in this ched I said the fretboard was ebony. We all thought it was ebony. Was just some jackhole lather it down with petroleum jelly and it got super dark and grain went missing. I think next year I'll really organise and build my own partsocaster. 3T sunburst body with a maple fret neck. Maybe a virtual solo in the bridge, because Joe put one in his strat and that guitar's nothing less than epic. Not that the solo's responsible, but it holds it's own..

you should put 3 Dimarzio Super distortions or EMG 81s in the floyd strat. That would be EPIC

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 4th, 2008, 10:50 pm

just sorted the intonation on the partscaster... ting singing

when yuh see the fretboard on yuh strat you wil shi* bricks... it looks fresh

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 5th, 2008, 8:24 am

my partscaster list:

*wilkinson/gotoh alnico V pickups, hand wound (5.8 - 6k)
*middle pickup reverse wound
*hand made maple on maple neck (bought on denmark st., london)
*replacement bridge with think steel block
*planet waves strap buttons (rice)
*mint green pickguard w/ aged pickup covers, knobs and switch cover

last thing i want to do is change the tuners to vintage klusons, i'm not sure what tuners i have on now? they came with the neck - and the guy who sold it to me isn't sure what he put on, as the neck was assembled sometime in the early eighties...

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » December 5th, 2008, 10:50 am

Actually what you have shares the same mechanism as the vintage kluson style, the difference is the ones you have use a normal modern style string post instead of the split post on the old klusons. REAL vintage klusons work amazingly well, but modern replacements never seem as good. Audiocon carries a set of the 50's-60's strat style kluson copies, feel nice and tight, I think theyre Gotoh.

My partscaster is
early 90s Peavey Predator body/neck, identical strat body dimensions
Grover tuners
bone nut (had and removed locking nut)
maple/maple neck, medium frets
Dimarzio X2N neck, Gibson 500T bridge, stock middle
custom vol/tone + coilsplit wiring

Postby Cjruckus » December 6th, 2008, 1:02 am

Vintage styled tuners are so dated. :D :D :D

Postby Sky » December 6th, 2008, 1:50 am

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 6th, 2008, 12:58 pm

Cjruckus wrote:
Sky wrote:you should put 3 Dimarzio Super distortions or EMG 81s in the floyd strat. That would be EPIC

Egads...... Three Superdistortions!! Sound like an Ace Frehley Gibson setup. Lol!

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 6th, 2008, 12:59 pm

InDeForest wrote:Actually what you have shares the same mechanism as the vintage kluson style, the difference is the ones you have use a normal modern style string post instead of the split post on the old klusons. REAL vintage klusons work amazingly well, but modern replacements never seem as good. Audiocon carries a set of the 50's-60's strat style kluson copies, feel nice and tight, I think theyre Gotoh.

My partscaster is
early 90s Peavey Predator body/neck, identical strat body dimensions
Grover tuners
bone nut (had and removed locking nut)
maple/maple neck, medium frets
Dimarzio X2N neck, Gibson 500T bridge, stock middle
custom vol/tone + coilsplit wiring

Sounded superb....until i saw the X2N. Sorry.....just can't stand active pickups.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » December 6th, 2008, 1:26 pm

Nah the X2N is passive, and yes its a monster high output bridge pickup, I put it in the neck for kicks, and surprise, it does well, fun huge neck tones.
If i were assembling one now, my list would be, a Duncan Distortion bridge, and the closest copies I could find for 65 year strat middle and neck.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 6th, 2008, 1:51 pm

OH yes.....im mixing it up with the Activator. My Bad. At 510....really high output though. Lol.......eq not to scooped for a ceramic pickup though. I guess i prefer the characteristics of those alnico Vs. Never seen anyone put it in the neck tho :shock:

Duncan distortion has a nice tone. 1965 yes......pre CBS strat production!!

Postby Cjruckus » December 7th, 2008, 11:21 am

You dont need high output pickups to make a Strat sound huge. Tune it down a half step and run a boost pedal in your signal and you have a stratty tone heaven.

The last high output pickup i used in a Strat was a DiMarzio Fast track 2. It was pretty responsive for a mini-humbucker. Had pretty good attack.

InDeForest check out the Dimarzio Area 58/61/67 Pickups. I rant and rave about these pickups because they are that damn good. Getting a pair for my Stratty this month to go alongside with a AirClassic or Dimarzio PAF bridge pickup.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » December 7th, 2008, 4:11 pm

My stress with choosing these old style strat pickups is simply the amount of variation available, from different manufacturers, and then.. what is your point of reference for choosing one and interpreting the marketing info? I actually have a 66 strat, and it is magic, it has these grey bobbin pickups with '65 marked on them, and this is the first year of full machine wound pickups, as opposed to hand/scatterwinding done up to 64. So I have a point of reference to say I want THAT pickup again, in other guitars. I wouldnt put it in the bridge because its too thin there and im partial to nasty humbuckers in strat bridge position in guitars i actually use. The area 67 might be the closest to what i want but I am always looking out for a 65 spec, a few small manufacturers do them, lindy fralin etc

Postby Cjruckus » December 7th, 2008, 4:21 pm

Well throw in a set of life less EMGs and cross your fingers

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 8th, 2008, 7:45 am

lindy fralin are fookin' amazing, i got to play a demo strat with those pickups, they sounded soo damn smooth. i'd like to get an SSL-1 SeyDun or some vintage fender reissues to throw into pop's guitar.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 8th, 2008, 10:38 am

finished intonating the new bridge, should have taken a before an after of the steel blocks... take a look at my saddles... forking 11's!?

have a truss rod rattle on the open E chord... been researching, and i just decided to live with it.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » December 8th, 2008, 2:25 pm

Double check those three low strings, it sounding off from here

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 8th, 2008, 2:58 pm

InDeForest wrote:Double check those three low strings, it sounding off from here

jed it in tune... perfect on the tuner. remember i told you it was sounding sharp up the fretboard? i assuming is the way the new neck sits compared to the original, or the saddle? maybe it's a few mm shy of where it used to be???

Postby Sky » December 9th, 2008, 10:39 pm

What you guys think of this?

Maple top, mahogany back, stop tail bridge, soapbar pickups.
Saw one in that store and it's gorgeous. Sounds like it looks too. Also light due to the semi hollow body and the neck's comfortable to play.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 10th, 2008, 7:32 am

i doh like dem PRS and dem jed. i not saying is a bad guitar, and P90s are the shizniz...just something about the guitar nah? it kinda like a bess ting with bobo feet... :shock:

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » December 10th, 2008, 7:47 pm

My first Acoustic.

Postby Sky » December 10th, 2008, 8:30 pm

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:i doh like dem PRS and dem jed. i not saying is a bad guitar, and P90s are the shizniz...just something about the guitar nah? it kinda like a bess ting with bobo feet... :shock:

Then what's the bobo feet in the PRS lineup? :lol:
I know what you mean tho. I don't fancy them much because they give the industry standard vibe. Like they're built for a working musician and not an artist. They're built like tanks, they don't go out of tune, they fall and don't break....who want's a guitar like that? And that wasn't sarcasm. They lack character, despite all the flame tops they don.
But this one has a bit. I like it :) you look through the sound hole and you're reminded it's still made out of wood. The P90's, well nuff said. It sounds like an electric but it's very light for the tone it gives. It feels like a solid, well made acoustic, but still mortal because it's semi hollow. Only problem is that the SE series DON'T come with locking tuners and they always go out of tune. But that's ok. another thing is the intonation. That bridge can't intonate well. You can only move the entire bridge, but not for individual strings. And they're designed for 9's and a stretch with 10's. So if you want 11's you're kinda out of luck for a proper set up.

Sheriff!
Location: Some Where Out There Shouting "All'uh Buy Zorce From Meh Na"

Postby Sheriff! » December 10th, 2008, 8:52 pm

nice!

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 11th, 2008, 7:54 am

Sky wrote:
God Bless the Black Top* wrote: So if you want 11's you're kinda out of luck for a proper set up.

well that hits the nail on the head. i cyah feel nutting from .011's down... i also doh like the styling of the PRS, it's a bit too modern? i kinda like the vintage look and feel of strats and SGs/LPs

btw that martin must be worth $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 11th, 2008, 10:14 am

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:
Sky wrote:
God Bless the Black Top* wrote: So if you want 11's you're kinda out of luck for a proper set up.

well that hits the nail on the head. i cyah feel nutting from .011's down... i also doh like the styling of the PRS, it's a bit too modern? i kinda like the vintage look and feel of strats and SGs/LPs

I personally don't find the style too modern. I like the vintage look too, PRS just have their own thing going. They not outlandish at the same time either, that's what I like.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 11th, 2008, 10:17 am

^^ to each their own, just my personal preference

Snags

Postby Snags » December 11th, 2008, 10:46 am

Worth money you say, Nick?I see, hey Zack, wanna trade your guitar for a dell?Customized by me, like srsly. Lets get this ball rollin 8)