Postby Rush » October 10th, 2008, 12:38 am
ok, i highly doubt it that uwi police would stand idly by seeing ur car gettign stolen and do nothing
maybe they lapse, ill give u that, the sleeping thing i have seen as well...and i have reported it
really sorry to hear about your car, but as in all car parks, there is a sign that says Uwi is not responsible for loss of property/damage to ppl etc
so they cant really be held responsible for it.
and lots of the uwi police, esp the ole skinny man pios was talkign abt are kants,
but to be honest they do get provocated from students alot, who just playing music loud, or quarelling abt where they park and how they shud not get clamp blah blah blah
obviously they will develop that attitude over time
the clamping thing...hoss....follow the rules, read the signs and park in the designated areas and u wont get clamped. its that simple
uwi is an institution and they have their rules abt parkign....respect it
i do think more shud be done abt the breaking in/stealing of cars,
and although i have seen an improvemnt( security does actually be in the car parks walkign ard/looking out for something or the other) obviously more shoudl be done if the problem persists.
I dont park in heartease...too many ppl i know get their car broken into, or get jammed in ther park, or get their car scratch up from sum1 trying to park/leave.
as equppied2rip was saying...NO i do not belive they allow ppl to get raped in classrooms or allow ppl to steal laptops
thats ridiculous
SOME students does look for their trouble, they try to sneak into an empty classroom, for a little make out, with sum strange person but the guy wants more and forces himslef,obviously its nor right...
but if they HIDE from campus police to do these and otehr things,
tehy cant expect them to turn up the very second or minute after things start going bad for a rescue.
uwi is gettign more and more cramped each year
but the institution is for learning. once as the classes dont get overfull you cant blame them
i dont think it is at all necessary for uwi to provide any more parking, just becua teh student populace is increasing.
it doesnt happen anywhere else...
u go to the bank and the car park is full u park outside,
u go into town and cant find a park where u going u park 'far away'
if students/staff need to drive to school, then a) they should reach at a time to get a decnt park b) if they dont get a park, in the campus, then park somewhere outside of campus...if you think its not safe to park there....then dont drive!
realise that whenever u park ur car u risk sumthing happening to it
it may not be ur fault, but as the owner of sumthing u shud think abt what preventative measures u can take to avoid a bad situation.
if u coming from town lets say, and reach campus at midday
and cant find a park in what u consider a 'safe' car park...then go find sumwhere else to park! whether it be outside or not, but dont just park any and every where without looking and assessing the situation, and then blame others. Its your car...its your responsibility
Campus police does have their fair share of rubbish that does go on,
but i saw this thread and thought i shud try to open up sum minds to what the other side of the story cud be...
my $0.02