WHATS THE BEST SYNTHETIC OIL ON THE MARKET?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 26th, 2008, 11:24 pm

i used both royal purple and mobil one, the mobil 1 runs the car much quieter however that could just be due to the fact that i used a heavier body on the mobil1, . Somebody said above that many of the synthetic oils are similar and from what i've read thats true, however royal purple is not like the others, its quite different , the ppl at amsoil said so, , i've never tried amzoil so i cant judge it, but i plan to do an engine flush and try it, or i might give in and go back to Royal purple and use a heavier body,

V2NR 3.0

Synthetic Oil

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 27th, 2008, 8:48 am

Im gonna resort to Mobil, just a personal bias really

NY4PD

Price of oil

Postby NY4PD » September 12th, 2008, 8:40 am

W2J wrote:I have amsoil around $70 a qt I think :lol: I was doing a check the other day and I think we had it cheaper than Castrol Full Syntec which should not be so :lol:

What is the price of Mobil-1 Syntec oil in Trinidad?????
I mean for 1-quart and 1-Gallon????

Thanks....

jigga

Postby jigga » September 24th, 2008, 9:42 am

1.amsoil

2.quakerstate/royal purple

3.mobil

castrol sucks

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » September 25th, 2008, 3:54 am

amsoil is garbage.

Motul is best.

NY4PD

oil

Postby NY4PD » September 25th, 2008, 7:16 am

nismown3d wrote:amsoil is garbage.

Motul is best.

What is Motul.???????

Postby bluesteel29 » September 25th, 2008, 3:52 pm

^^x2

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 25th, 2008, 9:12 pm

Royal purple...

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » September 25th, 2008, 11:38 pm

Yip, Royal Purple. See sig :D

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » September 26th, 2008, 1:14 am

you're joking

you don't have Motul in trinidad?

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » September 26th, 2008, 1:14 am

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » September 26th, 2008, 1:15 am

try this site, the american site takes too long to load

www.motul-canada.com/

Postby gt4tified » September 26th, 2008, 1:26 am

NP ultra....if it could work on ah T&T rally car, it good to go for me! :twisted:

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » September 26th, 2008, 5:23 am

lawd fadda!!!! this argument again Ok ah go say it slow.............
m o b i l 1

dmitc

Postby dmitc » September 26th, 2008, 9:23 am

civic SIR wrote:lawd fadda!!!! this argument again Ok ah go say it slow.............
m o b i l 1

probably in yuh sunny that is work great but i'm not prepared to pay close to $300 for an oil change to have to top up every few thousand km in my 20v.
and i have a friend who up until last year had a B16A civic and he claimed that the mobil1 was burning up in his engine as well.

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » September 26th, 2008, 11:25 am

^^ 20 valve

Royal Purple

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 26th, 2008, 2:24 pm

well if you burn royal purple you actually come out good since the solid residue in in is great as a lubricant in even as engine deposit on your cylinder walls its good as a lubricant, no other synthetic oil can give you that

Chipz

Postby Chipz » September 26th, 2008, 9:03 pm

Royal Purple....................No Complaints At All

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » September 28th, 2008, 8:28 pm

dmitc wrote:
civic SIR wrote:lawd fadda!!!! this argument again Ok ah go say it slow.............
m o b i l 1

probably in yuh sunny that is work great but i'm not prepared to pay close to $300 for an oil change to have to top up every few thousand km in my 20v.
and i have a friend who up until last year had a B16A civic and he claimed that the mobil1 was burning up in his engine as well.

top up??? hoss check ya 20v :lol:

burning up??? in my b16a mobil 1 was the only oil i used and never had any problems, tell ya padner to check he b16a too :lol:

Vinesh

Postby Vinesh » September 28th, 2008, 9:49 pm

Royal Purple

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 8th, 2010, 2:04 pm

anyone using np and had any probs?

slow323

Postby slow323 » April 8th, 2010, 9:36 pm

nope the ultra tec is actually good

still i find their mineral oil is a bit on the thicker side

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 8th, 2010, 11:04 pm

I personally been loving the Total Quartz 9000 5w-40 .. Was getting galons for about $205 or so...

Was actually getting 5 qt bottles for that price but then they realise and downgrade me to the 4qt bottle

dmitc

Postby dmitc » April 9th, 2010, 8:10 am

civic SIR wrote:
dmitc wrote:
m o b i l 1

top up??? hoss check ya 20v :lol:

burning up??? in my b16a mobil 1 was the only oil i used and never had any problems, tell ya padner to check he b16a too :lol:
my 20v in good working condition, been using royal purple in that and the wife NZE for over a year now and i'm never going back
@ a 10000km oil change i will recover 80%-90% of the volume of the oil as compaired to about 55%-65% with Mobil1.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » April 10th, 2010, 5:28 pm

I like amsoil, i've never had any problems with it nor have i ever heard people say anthing bad about them. I've also heard tho that this new oil from japan eneos is pretty good. I think i might give it a try on my next oil change.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 10th, 2010, 9:01 pm

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 9&start=60 :

Hook wrote:Most 2nrs simply want an oil that has all the marketing hype that a good oil should have at a good price. I say "most" because I've seen posts from some that use super expensive race grade oil in their foreign used grocery-getters and swear they're better than the turbo charged weekend warrior that running GTX). It boils down to hype and brand loyalty here basically, and since there are oil comparison charts littered all over the interwebz, it's fairly easy to make an educated decision on which brand and weight you use, but in the end it's all taken on faith, since you'll never actually know what it's doing in your engine.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 11th, 2010, 3:16 am

I'll stick with Mobil 1...the SuperSyn additive in Mobil 1 is produced by Exxon-Mobil....it is also sold to other oil manufacturers under different trade names...I suspect Exxon-Mobil will use the best SuperSyn additive package than what they sell to their competitors

"Mobil Chemical is the World's only Manufacturer of very low and very high viscosity PAOs and they sell them to a wide range of Blenders (Oil Companies) for use as base fluids in engine and other lubricants

Spectra Syn, Spectra Syn Plus and Spectra Syn Ultra are but three product definitions along with PureSyn and SuperSyn and others. Esterex (esters) and Synesstic (ANs) are other Mobil components used in lubricants. They come in a wide range of VIs and viscosities

Tri-Synthetic branding is still used on some M1 packaging in Europe

SuperSyn is used by some Blenders (Oil Companies) in their own product descriptions

It is no doubt a Commercial reality that EM wil retain the best products for their own (and possibly exclusive) use

These chemical base fluids no doubt add much to their range of Mobil lubricants from Group 3 and beyond - and not only those sold as Mobil or Delvac products either"

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 16th, 2010, 12:52 am

Yourl know anywhere selling Pennzoil Platinum in Trinidad? If so how much?
Excellent oil and I been using it on the Volvo in the US....

Spectre
Location: Constanly using the savannah as my personal raceteack

Postby Spectre » April 19th, 2010, 1:22 am

Who say Eneos?! :twisted: :twisted:

Alpha_2nr

Re: oil

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 19th, 2010, 9:13 am

^^Which grade....price etc?