why is the avg RORO sedan now over 100K TTD

Postby Greypatch » August 14th, 2008, 1:05 pm

this was 50-60K 4 years ago

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 14th, 2008, 1:08 pm

Because that is what the consumer is willing to pay. The RORO dealers continually raise their prices and the consumer continues to buy the cars. So why should the RORO dealers stop?

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 14th, 2008, 1:12 pm

in 2002-2003 i bought my ck2 , full power, fog lights etc with 33000 km for $46000

Nick29

Postby Nick29 » August 14th, 2008, 1:13 pm

We raise the prices because the government continue to raise taxes.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » August 14th, 2008, 4:01 pm

the roro almera is close to 100k? doh understand why they doh buy brand new and done

Postby MG Man » August 14th, 2008, 4:43 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Because that is what the consumer is willing to pay. The RORO dealers continually raise their prices and the consumer continues to buy the cars. So why should the RORO dealers stop?

jus like KFC

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 14th, 2008, 4:59 pm

gfbl wrote:the roro almera is close to 100k? doh understand why they doh buy brand new and done

That's just like one of my workers who just bought a 2004 Lancer for $92, when Diamond Motors selling 2006 ex stock for $111.

The choice should have been obvious.

RORO is slowly being pushed out.

Postby Gem_in_i » August 14th, 2008, 5:00 pm

Thts why its better to go new now. Spend the extra $20K or wht ever and get a new vehicle.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » August 14th, 2008, 7:15 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Thts why its better to go new now. Spend the extra $20K or wht ever and get a new vehicle.

Exactly, firstly you get a proper warranty. Secondly, the bad thing with RORO is parts. None of the new car dealerships willing to sell parts to RORO owners... when they do its on the DL between you and the counter staff... and they definitely not servicing RORO cars at all.

And despite what ppl say, it's actually very difficult to get parts in d Bamboo (or anywhere else for that matter other than d new dealers once again) for any car that's a 2000/2001 model or newer (I know from agonizing 1st hand experience :x )

SO really what's the point of RORO anymore? I think greed is killing it off! And RORO dealers doing a piss-poor job of after sales support. When I ready to change my car, I go save a few months salary extra and go new.

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » August 14th, 2008, 8:34 pm

norstar2k wrote:
gfbl wrote:the roro almera is close to 100k? doh understand why they doh buy brand new and done

That's just like one of my workers who just bought a 2004 Lancer for $92, when Diamond Motors selling 2006 ex stock for $111.

The choice should have been obvious.

RORO is slowly being pushed out.

this is a strong point
govt sky rocket taxes > roro gets to close to new brand > roro dead

so what will be the story on food like a bg of flour was 130 now is 300

Postby SR » August 14th, 2008, 8:57 pm

say thanks to the new car companies for this as they continue to want to dominate the monoply on pricing of new cars

if they would have cut their profits a bit then the new car pricing would have been more reachable to the average consumer and thus in the long run acheive more sales and same profits and they would not have created the need for the roro dealer in the first place

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » August 14th, 2008, 9:17 pm

SR wrote:if they would have cut their profits a bit then the new car pricing would have been more reachable to the average consumer and thus in the long run acheive more sales and same profits and they would not have created the need for the roro dealer in the first place

Totally agree with u, but its more than just profit margin eh... when you think about our tax laws, they are asinine!!

I mean they charge VAT after adding the duties on to the net amount comprising the item cost, shipping charges and freight insurance. Why d arse are we paying a tax (VAT) on another tax (duty)????? :shock: :shock:

To make matters worse, we then pay VAT again when buying the car (or another other imported item) from the dealer... so that's duty, VAT on duty, then VAT on duty and VAT on duty.... confused yet?? :? :? :x

Doh even get me started on motor vehicle tax!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

plex

Postby plex » August 15th, 2008, 8:02 am

Gem_in_i wrote:Thts why its better to go new now. Spend the extra $20K or wht ever and get a new vehicle.

True, but i notice from before some of the RORO cars have more features than the locally sold here..

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » August 15th, 2008, 9:24 am

^^bcuz i think dealers here only sell the base models

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 15th, 2008, 11:08 am

Some people willing to pay through the nose for a car these days and on top of that intrest rates are high. Cars selling like doubles now....PCK done out already!

Postby Gem_in_i » August 15th, 2008, 5:27 pm

Yea PCK out I saw 899 this morning.

For those taking a loan I think the installment might not be a huge difference if you borrow the few extra $$$ to buy the new vehicle instead of RORO. But am not sure so someone could correct me.

larry_ois3

Postby larry_ois3 » August 15th, 2008, 6:07 pm

Thats exactly what the government wants...
Brand new or local used

Postby gt4tified » August 15th, 2008, 10:42 pm

plex wrote:

True, but i notice from before some of the RORO cars have more features than the locally sold here..

Yeah? And then when one ah dem "new features" decide to fail or go bad, what you gonna do then? Bring in an entire half-cut to get yuh part? Case in point: cable-less throttle on the f.u. CEDIA lancers. When de throttle sensor goes bad, and I a heard of this doing so on more than one occasion, ppl had to pay thru they teeth to get a used sensor from Jpn.
Last edited by gt4tified on August 20th, 2008, 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » August 16th, 2008, 4:03 am

throttle-less cable

:? :? U loss me there :lol: :lol:

^^Very true. Air bags is one

Postby RBphoto » August 16th, 2008, 4:32 am

Morpheus23 wrote:

^^Very true. Air bags is one

That is the reason I end up buying a Tiida. Local almera new is a strip down shame to drive compared to a RORO.

Postby cinco » August 16th, 2008, 1:50 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Yea PCK out I saw 899 this morning.

For those taking a loan I think the installment might not be a huge difference if you borrow the few extra $$$ to buy the new vehicle instead of RORO. But am not sure so someone could correct me.

most banks kill u on the interest rates on a FU vehicle so it may even be cheaper to buy a new vehicle @110 than a fu at 90 in terms of monthly payments
insurance companies love fu cars though since they can devalue your car much much much faster

Postby Gem_in_i » August 16th, 2008, 4:42 pm

So banks charge a different intrest rate for their Foreign Used loan or a New Car loan?

yeah and for roro, the interest rate varies according to the year of manufacture.....

Postby MG Man » August 17th, 2008, 8:20 pm

so after everybody done rant...............wha is the problem buyin a local used car?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 17th, 2008, 10:32 pm

Yeah? And then when one ah dem "new features" decide to fail or go bad, what you gonna do then? Bring in an entire half-cut to get yuh part? Case in point: throttle-less cable on the f.u. CEDIA lancers. When de throttle sensor goes bad, and I a heard of this doing so on more than one occasion, ppl had to pay thru they teeth to get a used sensor from Jpn.

That's one bad egg there...fine.

But how about this?

Feel good to go into Toyota's show room to buy your base model Corolla for 130K or so, which doesn't even have flipping ABS???? (Yeah...re-read that...the base models don't have it). WTF kinda stripped down BS is that?

RORO dealers are overdoing because people are WILLING to pay the high prices....

.....but damn....the new car dealers are (in some cases) selling utter crap down here also...for high prices.

Take a look at the new Bluebird Sylphy.....that's a bigger car than the Tiida, yet it's being sold with a smaller 1.5L engine!!

Why? Because.....N&M started to offer the 2.0L version (std. everywhere ELSE in the world) for a >200K price tag. Sales must have been slow, so to chop the price down..... HR15DE FTW. 165K to boot.

I'd faster pay 135K for a 2.0L Sylphy RORO (with all the amenities) rather than an underpowered 1.5L SYlphy from the firm!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 18th, 2008, 1:25 am

the prices went up as a result of inflation and increased govt taxes. the roro industry locally is being phased out as this is not in compliance with vision2020 in other words, first world countries dont import used automobiles for mass market sale. It is becoming impractical to purchase a roro vehicle when new vehicles are only slightly more expensive and since most of us take vehicle loans it really doesn't make sense putting down a 20-40% downpayment (depending on finance co.) for a roro vehicle and then pay it back over a period of 3-4yrs at a higher interest rate when you can buy a new car with as little as 10-15% down and lower interest rate over a period of 5-6yrs. Its a no brainer, thats why N&M still sells the Almera N16 for $97k (1.3), $110k (1.6). Its an affordable brand new car!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 18th, 2008, 1:30 am

bluebird sylphy in the firm is a waste of time, why spend $215k for a vehicle that has rear drum brakes, 16" rims when other compacts have 17" rims, sunroof, rear spoiler and 4-wheel disc brakes at a cheaper price? They are actually marketing that car as a primera replacement! and the tiida as an almera replacement.

furthermore, why buy a 1.5 sylphy when u can get a loaded tiida hatch which is a 1.6 with sunroof?

steups.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 18th, 2008, 7:58 am

^^I agree with you totally.

They are actually marketing that car as a primera replacement! and the tiida as an almera replacement.

Well as a point of interest, the car we know as the "Almera" was sold as the Bluebird Sylphy in Japan...no?

Hence...the sylphy we are seeing down here now is actually a replacement for that car....but then again, the new sylphy seems to have gotten a boost in size and features to make it more along the "Primera" type of lineup.

Still prefer the Tiida though. :lol:

kingabdullah

Postby kingabdullah » February 15th, 2009, 10:28 am

cant believe men supporting the purchase of a TIIDA...das rel balls

Postby honda hoe » February 15th, 2009, 12:45 pm

^ :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 15th, 2009, 12:48 pm