EOI: THE GREAT HONDA FACE-OFF

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

sirbill

Postby sirbill » May 20th, 2008, 8:01 am

X2,

The Canadians have an interesting classing system for their Solo type competitions that may be useful, if not a bit involved.

They use the normal weight/power ratio to come up with 1 part of the index.

Then they use a suspension/handling ratio as another part of the index.

Finally, they add in a performance enhancer index for mods.

At the end of it all, each car has "handicap" figure applies to whatever times they do. That way heavily modded cars can compete against bone stock ones and a "leve" playing field.

It would take some doing, but once a spreadsheet is set up and reference cars for suspension index obtained, I am sure we could come up with an interesting system for this sort of thing.

You can even use SR to figure out an ICE index to apply to that side of it, and someone to index the Show Off area.

S2000 to the list

Postby SR » May 20th, 2008, 8:10 am

iasca has a section for "ice/customizing" of the car

its called tuner jam and there are already a proper set of rules and guidlines to judge it

no need for development there

sirbill

Postby sirbill » May 20th, 2008, 8:12 am

Need to work in into a simplified "handicap" figure though. Don' think you could get away that easily.

Postby SR » May 20th, 2008, 8:16 am

already done

Rookie - (Mild) Rookie Division is for vehicles that have simple modifications and have an enhanced factory "look". It allows competitors to have upgrades like wheels, tires, vinyl graphics, short wing and simple stereo upgrades.

Street - (Semi-Wild) Street Division is designed for vehicles with more modifications than a Rookie vehicle, but the vehicle is still used as a daily driver and does not have the extent of madifications that a "wild" vehicle has. It provides a fair and competitive class that levels out the playing field between daily driven vehicles and those with elaborate modifications.

Ultimate - (Wild) Ultimate Division is for vehicles with extensive performance and cosmetic modifications, designed for show, demo and trailered vehicles. Scoring for Ultimate Division vehicles is based on traditional Tuner Jam scoring and includes additional point values for creativity and originality.

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » May 26th, 2008, 8:30 am

any update on this event ????

Postby X2 » May 26th, 2008, 5:03 pm

roshan01, as mentioned, I am trying to give a lot of time for tuners to prepare, no dates are set, nor are rules or venues finalized. I have been quite busy with other projects due to my job, but am slowly compiling necessary info to make this an enjoyable series.

I am taking all advice to heart, all info from experienced organizers, etc and will call a meeting with all interested parties some time in July. I am NOT rushing this as every rush job always turns out as poo in the end. If you are interested in this, use the waiting time to fine tune your whip... I have a feeling competition will be very stiff. Take your free time after fixing up the ride and compete in the standard solodex and drag events... you will need it !!!

Postby X2 » May 26th, 2008, 5:12 pm

List as it stands now. If you asked to be added and are not on this list, my apologies, please post a notification again ( or send me $5.00 and a cookie )

1) X2 - Civic Hatch, Modified B18c1, basic suspension mods
2) Kezay- ES Civic, Modified K24, NA
3) SR - eg hatch Spoon B18C type r suspension
4) roshan - eg9 b16a boosted
5) triniboy13b - CRX del sol H22a ground control suspension.
6) Kinday - Accord (H22 all motor, Tanabe Sustec Pro Series suspension)
7) type_r_teggy - Integra dc2 (Stock B18C, upgraded suspension)
8 ) Honda Hoe - DC5 ITR
9) moe - eg8 b16a boost
10 ) Sky - EG8, D15 3 stage, Bilstien/Eibach suspension
11 ) Type r - Civic Hatch Modified B20 vtec upgraded suspension
12) Stephanweaver - SiR Sedan
13) Pornstar4777- EK9 CTR
14) $mall$464 - Stock H22a Accord.
15) simplicity - Civic CRVTEC !
16) dragaholic - Eg Civic Hatch. STOCK B16A.
17) SUPAstarr - '00 EK2 Civic Hatchback - D13b unmodified, TEIN Shocks and Springs.
18 ) redsupra101 - '96 coupe, 1.6 sohc vtec
19) paz- vti d15b turbo or eg9 SIR bolt ons buddy club coilovers
20) reiXmann - EG Hatchback, D15B w/ breather mods
21) JD... - EG9 stock
22) eLEVated cvt - 99 Civic hatch/D15B CVT/lower anti-sway bars, SIR seats
23) Import - Accord SOHC F20 Turbo-- Nothin fancy .Basic system with proper tuning
24) Sudhaakar -01 Civic ES8, D15y, SOHC VTEC Boosted
25) sirbill - S2000
26) ?

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » May 26th, 2008, 9:06 pm

thanks for the update x2....
will take your advice..

:D :D

the tuner jam idea is not bad...

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 27th, 2008, 12:08 am

26) Ingalook - EK hatch/b16A/Bolt-ons FTW

Zim

Postby Zim » June 3rd, 2008, 10:59 am

simplicity wrote:update meh

simplicity CRVTEC

Image *classic car's hound sounds*

simplicity

Postby simplicity » June 3rd, 2008, 11:24 am

^^sell meh dem Konig rims nah :mrgreen:

Zim

Postby Zim » June 3rd, 2008, 11:37 am

One ah dem bent yo... check PM

simplicity

Postby simplicity » June 3rd, 2008, 11:50 am

:(
dais some bess rims hoss......

Zim

Postby Zim » June 3rd, 2008, 3:14 pm

lol.. yea unless u wah buy it an fix it?

simplicity

Postby simplicity » June 3rd, 2008, 3:28 pm

pm meh price and i'll see what i can do....
ahemm, so like yuh selling the brakes too ?? :mrgreen: :twisted:

Postby X2 » June 3rd, 2008, 3:59 pm

Stop spamming the thread fewls....

Zim

Postby Zim » June 4th, 2008, 4:36 pm

Image ok, boss

Postby X2 » June 17th, 2008, 5:18 pm

Ok guys... still in the planning stages, no dates yet, but you should understand that the face off will be held over time. Might be 2 weekends, might be during the course of a month or longer... depending on how the strategy works out.

With that said, how would you all feel about adding these two activities to the face off which can be used to even the score between say a turbocharged DOHC and a n/a SOHC:

* Corner and Vehicle weighing
* Average of 3 Dyno pulls

The results of which would be used to 'weight' the outcome of some events.

Postby r3iXmann » June 17th, 2008, 6:45 pm

this sounding expensive :oops:

are there prizes? i assume we need sponsors for the event

ingalook

Postby ingalook » June 17th, 2008, 10:50 pm

X2... that sounding like it will get complicated - fast

I suggest we just class cars by engine size NA/turbo etc

Possible NA classes:

D series
B16A/B
B18s
B20s and K20s
H22s
K24s

Turbo and NOS can be simplified to 1 class

If anybody feel they bad and want to run out of class they are welcome to it

Of course we must have a "Fastest Honda in TnT" title as well

I don't think that you could really do a solodex type event without the help of CARSTT, but I think they would be interested and would like this idea.

The Solodex would be for just one day, so everyone would have to be there.

The classes mentioned above would apply, except for the NOS guys, who would be put in the NA engine size class they belong, because NOS and solodex wouldn't mix well.

Things like coil overs and Racing tires usually bump 1 class higher in solodex, so we could use that rule

Another event I suggest is a car show, honestly, some men have cars that are just "fuggin sweet" because of meticulous hardwork... this should be rewarded and added to the overall points total... we could just give everyone who comes to the Solodex event a ballot and let them vote for the car they like (spectators as well)

The problem with that is the man with the biggest crew will skew the results - well, that just means that everyone should walk with a big crew then :D that could only help the event ent?

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » June 18th, 2008, 6:39 am

ingalook wrote:
The problem with that is the man with the biggest crew will skew the results - well, that just means that everyone should walk with a big crew then :D that could only help the event ent?

i agree with what you have said so far there bro.
but while more spectators is good for the event...
it wud be unfair to the tuner who has put in all the work on his ride and does not have a big crew to support him...

my suggestion:
we find qualified and unbiased ppl who will judge the rides on their merit,

Postby X2 » June 18th, 2008, 11:01 am

Don't agree with the crew thing... I have see cars built by 1 or 2 people that were amazing.

I guess the weighted average would have to be down to power adder or not.... still thinking as to how to get it all to gel. Additional Input and Opinions are all welcome.

Zim

Postby Zim » June 18th, 2008, 12:30 pm

^I say u migrate hoss... :shock: trying to reach u since last week :?

Postby X2 » June 18th, 2008, 3:16 pm

You not trying hard enough maybe ?

PM, email, international phone... all working fine... haven't had any issues with people contacting me... so my advice... go with the BIGGER network.... :grab:

Zim

Postby Zim » June 19th, 2008, 3:32 pm

so u got no messages or missed callsfrom me :? YGPM

ingalook

Postby ingalook » June 19th, 2008, 11:34 pm

Well... This is more for the spectators anyway (and to make sure men have their rides looking tops on the day)

if you every see "Biker build-off" it will be something like that, those guys generally don't care who wins but they have a nice time with the competition... a chance for men to show off what they have done.

I also don't think that everyone will vote for his own car, I think some men may actually see a car they really like and give credit where it is due.

We would also have to have about 10 people from CARS there for such an event anyhow, so I think they will be some of the less biased people voting there.

I think in the end this will be a good thing for the Honda camp in TnT, I really think that as big as a crew as a man will walk with - a car that everyone else dislikes still cannot win.

ksimon

Postby ksimon » June 20th, 2008, 9:52 am

count me in...stock B16 with cold air...gear box and copper clutch, 2 inch exhaust.......link it....lol :lol: :lol:

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » June 20th, 2008, 10:01 am

maybe if a couple of judges are chosen that everyone agrees on...
and for god's sake lets choose ppl who know what is to be judged...
some ppl with experience in the i.c.e and paints areas etc...

i'l be trying out my honda in the dex this weekend...
anybody else?? :roll:

Postby SR » June 20th, 2008, 11:16 am

will be running the new project car at dex this weekend

Zim

Postby Zim » June 20th, 2008, 11:45 am

Return to “HONDA”