Got coilovers and serious about handling ?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Got coilovers and serious about handling ?

Postby X2 » January 20th, 2008, 8:01 pm

Well... coilovers or adjustable perches actually.

If you have an adjustable suspension on your Honda... there are many other things that need to be done... camber adjustement, alignment and then there is one of the best things you can do for the handling of your ride is to now corner balance the car.

Essentially, this is where you put the car on a specially setup scale system that weighs the car at all 4 corners. This tells you whether the car's weight distribution is ideal or not. When you have incorrectly adjusted coilovers OR unsound weight distribution, you will get a car that does not sit right on the road which makes it easy to upset on corners or uneven pavement. When on the scales, you can adjust the coilover heights to change the weight distribution on each corner (Think of a table with 4 legs of different heights, then you cut all the legs to an indentical height) If you want more in depth info, I am sure there is a tonne on the internet and more.

This adjustment is ideal for solodexer's, circuit racers, drifters and basically makes your street car more confident on the road.

There is a company offering the rental of the scales locally and I intend to get this done in the near future. The cost is moderate (around the price of a tune up) and it can be done for one person or a group or can also be rented for a full day.

I would like to know who would be SERIOUSLY interested in doing this as a group (which would also permit people new to performance tuning to learn from others AND get a valuable adjustment done to thier cars).

I am asking ONLY for enthusiasts that are serious about getting this done. I would like to see how many people would want to actually do this to their cars. The work needs to be scheduled in advance for rental purposes and would be better if done in conjunction with an alignment. Price will be based on number of participants we can get done in a single day and am intending to get it done by April 2008 or earlier.

Your car MUST be in proper running order, if it is need of repair the day of the balancing, forget it... get it fixed up first. Have proper tires and it would be good to have an alignment done before hand (although you would need to get one done after anyways). Further details will be worked out with the scale company... I just need to know who is seriously interested.

ADVISORY:

Don't get your panties in a bunch, but, this is NOT an invitation for a lime or a gathering. If you just want to come and watch, don't bother. :D

hatch is best

Postby hatch is best » January 20th, 2008, 9:58 pm

I am interested

Postby SR » January 20th, 2008, 10:13 pm

who's gonna do the actual adjustments for the conrer balancing

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » January 20th, 2008, 10:38 pm

SR wrote:who's gonna do the actual adjustments for the conrer balancing

?

Postby 3stagevtec » January 20th, 2008, 10:43 pm

for the longest while i wanted to do this.. the timing is just all wrong for me though..

this is a very good opportunity for tuners with coilover setups that want to truly take advantage of their design purpose..

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » January 20th, 2008, 10:49 pm

i in...
great first step..

Postby X2 » January 21st, 2008, 10:26 am

SR wrote:who's gonna do the actual adjustments for the conrer balancing

The physical adjustment of the coilover can, of course, always be done by the owner or his/her mechanic if they bring one... and the owners of the scales will provide a technician familiar with the procedure to assist. But I would bet we will do the coilover adjustments ourselves (If you have coilovers, you should know how to do this anyway, so bring some breeze and your coilover tools) I am also trying to find out if it can be done near or in an alignment shop so we can kill two birds with one stone.

Note:

I was going to do this by my lonesome, but figured some others would be seriously interested as I know how hard it can be for an individual tuner to get off our bums to do something like this alone. Nothing is finalized to do this as of yet. This post is to gauge the interest while I plan what is needed to be done. All interested parties will be given details on who, what, where, how much, etc... as I get an idea of how many are locking into the plan.

Tentative so far would be:

Kes_Vtec
Hatch is Best

** Anyone willing to help or if you have suggestions on location, etc... Post or PM.
Last edited by X2 on January 21st, 2008, 12:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby SR » January 21st, 2008, 10:52 am

i dont have anything to adjust but would like to be present to expand the knowledgebase

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » January 21st, 2008, 11:19 am

SR wrote:i dont have anything to adjust but would like to be present to expand the knowledgebase

ditto.
Also don't have coilovers, but I would like to get my car corner weighted to see how the distribution is with the current setup I have.

simplicity

Postby simplicity » January 21st, 2008, 11:49 am

SR wrote:i dont have anything to adjust but would like to be present to expand the knowledgebase

same here

Postby X2 » January 21st, 2008, 1:11 pm

Dragaholic, SR and last but least *drumroll* SIMPLICITY !!! although your cars may not need adjustment (or have springs that cannot be adjusted in height), you are still welcome to weigh the vehicles for your own knowledge.

This will actually be much faster than adjusting heights, so I am sure we can organize a special price for ONLY corner weighing on the same day. (Keep in mind guys, the process will give you two things, individual corner weights of your ride as well as the car's entire weight)
Last edited by X2 on January 21st, 2008, 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

simplicity

Postby simplicity » January 21st, 2008, 1:20 pm

^^man leave me out yes :roll:

Zim

Postby Zim » January 21st, 2008, 2:09 pm

Postby X2 » January 21st, 2008, 2:15 pm

Maybe he doh like yuh ?

j/k....*edited* as per above.....

As I mentioned... trying to avoid hangers on, which will only make things more difficult. If you are really interested in participating or observing... then consider signing up to weigh your car.

simplicity

Postby simplicity » January 21st, 2008, 2:33 pm

I'll sign up like you said, cause that's something i really want checked, alyuh organise and give me a date....

Postby Sky » January 21st, 2008, 8:45 pm

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=167953

Well you know where I stand :)

Should get the set of Megan racing month end and throwing Munroe Dampers from an Si.

Btw I have the set of Si springs if anyone interested.

phaze

Postby phaze » January 23rd, 2008, 10:26 am

yea man im interested in this for sure.. U CAN COUNT ME IN!

Postby X2 » January 23rd, 2008, 10:55 am

Ok guys, it takes about 1.5 - 2.0 Hours of work to balance an average car (some cars may be faster) and should only take 30 mins or less to setup a car for corner weighing ONLY.

WIth that in mind, a full day would allow us to fit 4-5 cars to be corner balanced with maybe 3-4 cars that want to only get weighed. Pricing will be confirmed later, but is looking to be no more than $500 for balancing and considerably less to just get corner weighed.

So far these names want to sign up for balancing:

Kes_Vtec
Hatch is Best
Phaze

Any one else interested, please post up, but you may have to be done on a different day as we may already be at the max of 5 cars for the day.

These people want to sign up to weigh only:

Dragaholic

The location would likely be in Chaguanus and the lot can hold a few cars easily, so those interested in attending for educational or observational purposes can be accomodated. Neither the company or myself will tolerate wildness, burnouts, racing or similar activities in the area, so please be informed and post here if you are interested in attending and I will add you to the info list to be sent via PM.

Those seriously interested in attending:

Simplicity

MrD15Bvti

Postby MrD15Bvti » January 23rd, 2008, 9:18 pm

Would have liked to joined in but car down for the while, but can i get the info so that i can have this done when my car comes out the shop!!

SurGTR

Postby SurGTR » January 24th, 2008, 8:44 am

a question though (maybe stupid but....), when a car is being balanced, does it cater for the 160+ lbs driver in it and possibly passenger? what about havin a speaker box in your car, those things must be removed prior getting your car weighed or those things are factored in also? or do these things have no real adverse effect on the cars handling because of the stiffness of the springs used?

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » January 24th, 2008, 9:06 am

is this for honduhs only? :|

PM me some more details please. My coilovers need to be set up

Postby honda hoe » January 24th, 2008, 9:28 am

X2, count me in

flatline wrote:is this for honduhs only? :|

duh!!

dis ain't d nissan forum

*eyes bantron suspiciously and runs*

Postby SR » January 24th, 2008, 9:29 am

we can make some exceptions but its x2's call

:mrgreen:

i dont see why not though as we can maximaise the use of the scales and keep the cost down for everyone for the rental but we cant have too much as it may take too long

leave it up to x2 to work it out

myself and dragaholice will just need to get the cars weighed as there is no adjustments we can do

Postby X2 » January 24th, 2008, 10:00 am

SurGTR wrote:a question though (maybe stupid but....), when a car is being balanced, does it cater for the 160+ lbs driver in it and possibly passenger? what about havin a speaker box in your car, those things must be removed prior getting your car weighed or those things are factored in also? or do these things have no real adverse effect on the cars handling because of the stiffness of the springs used?

To answer your questions (based on my prior knowledge and research into the subject of corner balancing) :

1) For the most accurate/realistic balancing for a single driver car, you can weigh with driver in place or use a weighted ballast equivalent to driver weight
2) Anything that is installed fairly permanently in your car should remain there for the balancing (with the exception of dex competitors who may be required to remove certain items from the car when competing
3) Every single thing in your car can affect the handling to SOME extent, no matter how small it's effect is, it is there.

Flatline, I would be open to any make or model participating, but I am hoping this exercise will help encourage the Honda community to get together in the name of performance. As noted, we may not be able to balance more than 5 cars in a full day, but if you would like, put down your name and if we have enough interested enthusiasts, we can do a second day later on. You are also welcome to come observe if I can't fit you into this first one. :wink:

Postby wagonrunner » January 24th, 2008, 10:07 am

I'm interested in weighing as well actually.

Postby honda hoe » January 24th, 2008, 10:15 am

wagonrunner wrote:I'm interested in weighing as well actually.

ur car, or yuh belly?

SurGTR

Postby SurGTR » January 25th, 2008, 8:14 am

X2 wrote:3) Every single thing in your car can affect the handling to SOME extent, no matter how small it's effect is, it is there.

So i take it having a healthy diet is essential to a driver's car performance then :lol:
Last edited by SurGTR on January 25th, 2008, 8:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2008, 8:45 am

honda hoe wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:I'm interested in weighing as well actually.

ur car, or yuh belly?

sigh, honda forum.............Image

will respond to you in person. :lol: :lol:

moe

Postby moe » February 2nd, 2008, 2:00 am

I'm inrested in this for sure but don't know if my work rotation wll work with the date you boys come up with, will any of you boys be there for the second tune from the first tune date?

Return to “HONDA”