Lowbaseline

USAmps Question!!

Postby Lowbaseline » September 3rd, 2007, 7:09 am

I am considering the following amps

XT 1600.4
XT 4000D

Any thoughts or comments about these amps? Looking for a high level of sound quality. Please make Recommendations.

I have not considered the subs yet, but i want to run 2 15s RE Audio. Possibly 2 10" eighteen sound and two compression drivers for mids.

casper

Postby casper » September 3rd, 2007, 8:10 am

^^^hmmm...ure mids gonna be rell similar to mine....what compression driver u planning on using???i using 18sound 10's and drivers as well

btw....nice choice of amps...BUT...u will not get a HIGH level of SQ from the xterminator series from US amps.....the 4000d is overated as well...so if u going 2 15's RE...go with the SX or the SE.....SE preferably so u will hit them ting NICE.... :)

Lowbaseline

Postby Lowbaseline » September 3rd, 2007, 8:22 am

Well i am unsure about compression drivers, are they for mids alone, or do they produce highs as well ?? I want my mids sounding real clean. Also the bassline must be real lowww.

Recommend a brand of compression drivers as well while you're at it ..... :pokes:

casper

Postby casper » September 3rd, 2007, 8:33 am

^^^well it depends on how much u willing to spend on the drivers bro...

to get REAL drivers that gonna say something...you will have to pelt out RELLL money....i am personally using the 18sound 2060 drivers....

^^^those ones....they are 18sound's driver to compete with RCF's n850 drivers

those 18sound drivers start at 500hz and play straight up to 20khz....their recommended playing frequency starts at 800hz.....lower line drivers start at 1600hz....that is pure high frequencies such as what bullet tweeters play....so what u really buying when going with cheaper compression drivers is a very loud bullet....u can tune the 18sound 2060 and also the RCF n850 to play high midrange tones as well as hights....

both of these models i mentioned from 18sound and rcf both have a 3" voice coil with a 2" exit throat....they also able to handle 200rms on them easily...sensitivity for the 18sound 2060 is 109dB so you know that getting LOUWWWWWWWD....i strongle recommend u to save the money if u buying drivers and buy the higher end ones such as these what i mentioned as you will get ure money's worth and more...2 10's and 2 of any of these drivers is all you will ever need....the problem is...they cost ALOT...18sound 2060 costs $2000 EACH and the RCF last time i checked costs $1850 each

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » September 3rd, 2007, 8:51 am

SX come in dual 2 only
SE come in dual 4 only

so if u gonna run 2 sx u may have to strap 2 monos together to give the pair power at 2 ohms

a 1 ohm mono will push d 2 se nicely

check d fuses on those xt series to give u an idea of their true power ...as for compression drivers...rfc 850n ...me personally wuddnt run drivers ...and jus rem ull have no midbass eh

Lance

Postby Lance » September 3rd, 2007, 9:08 am

Actually Videsh My friend Has a Dual 4 SX.

But i believe he got it at RIK not 12 VOLTS.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » September 3rd, 2007, 9:19 am

u freal ?...cool ...i kno they do those eh ..but u have to order it that way

Lance

Postby Lance » September 3rd, 2007, 9:22 am

probably so,

RE will do custom configs. for anyone.

Postby 3stagevtec » September 3rd, 2007, 9:23 am

casper wrote:^^^well it depends on how much u willing to spend on the drivers bro...

to get REAL drivers that gonna say something...you will have to pelt out RELLL money....i am personally using the 18sound 2060 drivers....

^^^those ones....they are 18sound's driver to compete with RCF's n850 drivers

those 18sound drivers start at 500hz and play straight up to 20khz....their recommended playing frequency starts at 800hz.....lower line drivers start at 1600hz....that is pure high frequencies such as what bullet tweeters play....so what u really buying when going with cheaper compression drivers is a very loud bullet....u can tune the 18sound 2060 and also the RCF n850 to play high midrange tones as well as hights....

both of these models i mentioned from 18sound and rcf both have a 3" voice coil with a 2" exit throat....they also able to handle 200rms on them easily...sensitivity for the 18sound 2060 is 109dB so you know that getting LOUWWWWWWWD....i strongle recommend u to save the money if u buying drivers and buy the higher end ones such as these what i mentioned as you will get ure money's worth and more...2 10's and 2 of any of these drivers is all you will ever need....the problem is...they cost ALOT...18sound 2060 costs $2000 EACH and the RCF last time i checked costs $1850 each

i saw this on the net a few times i.e. compression drivers, but i never knew what they were!

i always got the feeling that they were only part of a speaker, e.g. the magnet only... i just never asked.. :oops:

Lance

Postby Lance » September 3rd, 2007, 9:26 am

They still need Flares on those,

*Flares not included* :D

Postby 3stagevtec » September 3rd, 2007, 9:36 am

^ right :idea:

(sorry for hijacking your thread, but i got one quick question - do the flares come in different sizes and would the different sizes affect how they sound??)

casper

Postby casper » September 3rd, 2007, 9:42 am

3stagevtec wrote:^ right :idea:

(sorry for hijacking your thread, but i got one quick question - do the flares come in different sizes and would the different sizes affect how they sound??)

yea man....flares come in different sizes....cheaper drivers come with a 1" exit throat so obviously u cant use the flares for these on ure 2" throat driver...lol....ideally...the usual manufacturer size for their flare's dimensions often tends to be 10" x 10"( for a 2" exit driver)....u can get differently shaped flares tuned to different frequencies....the shape...just as in the case of a sub's enclosure...determines the frequency at which the driver would play ....dont be fooled....flare dimensions matter...

jeff

Re: USAmps Question!!

Postby jeff » September 3rd, 2007, 10:30 am

Lowbaseline wrote:Looking for a high level of sound quality. Please make Recommendations.

I have not considered the subs yet, but i want to run 2 15s RE Audio. Possibly 2 10" eighteen sound and two compression drivers for mids.

i have no probs with your equipment choosen sounds pretty loud and some pretty HIGH END stuff for your purposes :o

but please all i ask is that you know the difference between "high level of sound q" and what you want in a system.. 8-)

peace out gallery men :rainbowafro:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 3rd, 2007, 11:14 am

dat us amp 4000d rated to put out 1500wrms @ 1ohm so IMO it should be good to push 2 RE SE rated @ 600wrms each (every1 knows RE subs underrated & can handle a certain amt of over power) ......

Lowbaseline

Postby Lowbaseline » September 3rd, 2007, 12:13 pm

Can a loud system not posess a high level of SQ ???

gfbl

Postby gfbl » September 3rd, 2007, 12:18 pm

definitely, the thing is the compression drivers like rcf are not used when sq is a concern. stick to components.

casper

Postby casper » September 3rd, 2007, 12:22 pm

a loud system what u looking to get into will not give u SQ as others in this forum will consider....it can give u loud, CLEAR, and possibly clean music...sq is a term that relates to not only ure speaker's bandwidth,and ability to play certain tones with good transient response, but also how u place them in ure vehicle as well...

with what u looking at there lowbaseline....u cant really mention SQ in that same phrase....clarity is the word to use rather than sound quality

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 3rd, 2007, 12:30 pm

Nuttin wrong with running 15's for sound q.

In fact, the person who scored the highest (19/20) in subbass at the last world finals ran 2 15's. :) It even had a guy running 6 15's.

Lowbaseline

Postby Lowbaseline » September 3rd, 2007, 12:31 pm

Thanks, well expained casper....... :!:

jeff

Postby jeff » September 3rd, 2007, 12:38 pm

what is goin on here ... :o well said casper! :faint: :o

silent_riot wrote:Nuttin wrong with running 15's for sound q.

In fact, the person who scored the highest (19/20) in subbass at the last world finals ran 2 15's. :) It even had a guy running 6 15's.

:o :o :faint: gallery men what yal tink bout dat?? u tink SQ mean Soft Quality? :mrgreen: ....6 15 damnnnnn.....

gfbl

Postby gfbl » September 3rd, 2007, 12:46 pm

man id love to run a pair of 18's sealed

casper

Postby casper » September 3rd, 2007, 4:15 pm

casper wrote:^^^hmmm...ure mids gonna be rell similar to mine....what compression driver u planning on using???i using 18sound 10's and drivers as well

btw....nice choice of amps...BUT...u will not get a HIGH level of SQ from the xterminator series from US amps.....the 4000d is overated as well...so if u going 2 15's RE...go with the SX or the SE.....SE preferably so u will hit them ting NICE.... :)

ummm casper you know what you talkin bout ?

You saying XT amps don't have a high level of SQ, yet YOU using 18sound drivers ? :roll:

so...what is the matter with that???am i restricted to say that the sound quality from the xterminator amps aren't good just because i own a pair of 18sound 10's and drivers???? :? .....

man...get a life nah

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 3rd, 2007, 4:17 pm

dont know wha pio meant but casper using ole skool soundstream amps to power his set ...... :|

casper

Postby casper » September 4th, 2007, 8:33 am

pioneer wrote:LOL so the basis or your argument is that u tested an XT amp on your SQ-18sounds ? :roll:

no stupid man.....u think its ONLY 18sound i've ever heard or what???....you dont know how ignorant you just sounded in that post eh... :roll:

i install in a garage on weekends in santa cruz...i used these XT amps on customer's cars....WITH components.....the XT800.4 was used on some kicker RS series components....and the sq wasnt as i expected from that amp being US amps at all....probably because its their lowest line....the kickers sounded much better on another customers...(d man's cousin) hifonics amp...they both bought the same kicker comps from ballz in la pastora and came by us to install them...one of them apparently bought the USamps from him probably because he had no amp and the other...already had the hifonics amp....zeus was the model of the other amp....the one with the xterminator had a b13...and the other fella...(his cousin) had a b14....

what else u wanna know in my "invalid" review now pioneer???....would you like to know what color jersey the fella with the usamps had on in comparison to the color of his cousin's jersey???...

loser.....

Lowbaseline

Postby Lowbaseline » September 4th, 2007, 12:02 pm

Blaze dem Blaze dem............ lol :P

casper

Postby casper » September 5th, 2007, 8:46 am

pioneer wrote:So defensive u getting ?... i simply ask ah question eh :roll:

Were both instllations of the kicker's in both cars the same ?...same car ?...same cabin space ?...same mounting angle ?...same damping ?

jus asking...doh get yuh panties inna bunch this time...

jus wanna know what's your basis...thaz all :roll:

same install in the front doors

NOT the same car....(come on...really....u NEED to have the same car to hear a QUALITY difference in the components themselves patnah???....obviously the amp is the major difference here so why mention the car???...b13's aren't much different than b14's :roll: )....like yuh have an xterminator amp or wat???how u getting defensive so???

same mounting angle???.......probably not much of a difference

same damping????....NO damping

dont worry....i wont bundle up my panties this time .....i fraid u snatch them and sniff it.....

*the car's acoustics's wont change the fact that different amps were being used.....stop trying to be so technical.......creep before you walk pioneer*

Loprofile PC

Postby Loprofile PC » September 8th, 2007, 11:46 pm

I had the 1600.2 us amp and i have to agree with casper on this one, the quality on the xterminater series could probably rate with boss amps and lil wonder. U really get what u pay for.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » September 13th, 2007, 2:28 am

i have a1600.2
good amp for asub good for abt 600-800wrms dont og by what the manuals say on any of the xt amp theyr ated at 1khz ...i made a post abt this monthss ago with a picof the internals :wink:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » September 13th, 2007, 4:02 am

casper acoustics of a car is very important..after i scrap out i put in some stuff i had sitting down dat was from a cedia lancer and a hilux and completely differnt

and pionner is right sq itself is a very technical field and i realising dat as to how much work men like nigel does hold it in reguard as its alot more dan jus putting an amp to speakers..

neway back to the topics u get what u pay for and the xt series jus wap..dunno y ppl jus dont spend their money on better..buy sumthing good and done 1 time..try buying ya gyul ah hick arse ring an see if she eh pelt yuh wit it

boom

Postby boom » September 13th, 2007, 7:41 am

pimptacular, you have to understand to eh that not all of us have jobs as high paying as others and sometimes my deffination of a system in a car and your perception of ah system in a car is two totally different things....