TRIBUTE to the real men of Car Music

richiepooh

TRIBUTE to the real men of Car Music

Postby richiepooh » August 22nd, 2007, 1:11 pm

Anyone on the forum remembered these guys?

Anyone who played with: Evel Kenevel, six million dollar man and great comic books. Food: Ice block, salt prune dust and Cigarette sweety will have remembered these Lords of Sound.

1) BUNNY - the rocky
2) PARTY ANIMAL - the sunny
3) MATTRESS - the renegade
4) SADAM - the brown band maxi
5) Triple 'R' - the sunny
6) Fresh Prince (casper's DAD) - the 626
7) David (hittler) - the escort
8) Frankie - the suzuki jimny

:wink:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » August 22nd, 2007, 1:15 pm

Robert Aleongs White charmant.

Bunny was actually one of the First people in Trinidad to have such an elaborate music system- he had that done even before soundoffs or CAr audio competitions hit trinidad, then again- so did i

You might as well pay tribute to the following Richipooh:

The Pioneer Clockface( yes yes sr you have 2 of them)

The Soundbarrier Commander 5 and 10

The soundbarrier 12 and 15" Woofers with the square magnet

The old Sherwood 180's and 240's

The Pionner Keh1700 is it? ( the one that the entire deck pulled out with a handle)

and so orn- add to the list nah sr :lol: you old fart

Postby SR » August 22nd, 2007, 1:21 pm

dave singh and his grandfather with the the 1st gen rx7

andre critchlow and company....................

HITTLER

Postby HITTLER » August 22nd, 2007, 1:33 pm

dee garbage boys
posh maxi from diego

tristanrules

Postby tristanrules » August 22nd, 2007, 1:42 pm

De original Green Civic with de strokers and de alpine amps, had to charge 1 hour to play 5 mins of music, but it was de loudest and cleanest ALL IN CAR system I heard in Trinidad.

Ballz de original betsy de benz with de image dynamics setup.

Aleem with de blue corolla.

De man with de simple cadence system dat slam meh out when I was now starting in music, one of the most embarassing moments in my car audio history. After dat day I vow never to be slammed like that again. Thanks cadence guy for the inspiration hehe

HITTLER

Postby HITTLER » August 22nd, 2007, 1:44 pm

yuh bring some nice memories dey richie, i was one of dee men help push bunny's rocky to the staging area in dee stadium when he come up against mattress with dee renegade. had to also help to calm down mattress when dee judges give the win to bunny. those were good days. rawle francis (steele crank) was no where to be found along with dee so called musical saviors of 3ne2nr ICE. I done talk

southside connections

Postby southside connections » August 22nd, 2007, 2:19 pm

wham i see nobody mention jan in this man

jan was always there and made some of the best cars around and som of those cars are still here today still rocking up d place

so i say JAN is one of d names to put on tribute

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » August 22nd, 2007, 2:22 pm

Peace & Love Dread
Last edited by richiepooh on August 22nd, 2007, 4:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

casper

Postby casper » August 22nd, 2007, 2:24 pm

tristan....green civic cant be put in this category of OLD time greats...u hadda go wayyyyyy further back than that.....the cars they talking about here was in the mid 80's.....

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » August 22nd, 2007, 2:30 pm

Tristan & southside...yes these guys were great, but are test tube babies in this THREAD. Respect :wink:

casper

Postby casper » August 22nd, 2007, 2:36 pm

and the thing is eh richie.....it has no excuse to say that it is not of interest regarding those loud noise makers cuz back then....everything was car audio...NOT DJ.... :|

bump for the sweet days of car entertainment...i guess if they class these long time big guns in the gallary bracket too then it will prove to everyone that gallary has been in existence since 1980 something eh????...thats a VERYYYYYYYY long time

southside....although Jan was and will always be great....this going wayyyyyyyyy back before jan's reign.....he may have been around ...yesss....but may have not been as active back then as he was a couple years ago....i dunno...

i know SR have plenty days and moments he could share with us...strange enough...i may be young an lack knowledge as some of u may say....but i was in fact present in these same car shows discussed alongside my other family members such as my father and HITTLER ...so we around the game for a while now....where was you? :|

HITTLER

Postby HITTLER » August 22nd, 2007, 2:38 pm

young boss

casper

Postby casper » August 22nd, 2007, 2:40 pm

SR wrote:dave singh and his grandfather with the the 1st gen rx7

andre critchlow and company....................

i know this car what u talkin bout SR....it was really the grandson's car but he used to have his grandpops entering in the arena to play the music as a side gimmic as this ole man entering soundoff and ting...

Postby SR » August 22nd, 2007, 2:48 pm

where was me???

lawd casper i eh belive yuh askin meh dat

white kingswood 4 pyle driver 10's and 2 12's
then 2 mtx 15's
then 1 pioneer12
white 910 bluebird 2 hcca 10's
white ke70 corrolla 8 12's sealed orion
then 4 15's
then 2 15's

honda odysey 2 NT orion 15's
then the dvd system with head rest screens long before men was doing this
was only aleem myself and harry

neal with the red commodore and the many gallary versions

including our 4 case of heineken box design done at 2 in the morning drawn on a piece of cardboard for 18 12" subs which allfit in the commodore

casper

Postby casper » August 22nd, 2007, 2:55 pm

not u i was askin dat SR... :lol:

i was just saying that in general...like how destra duz ask.."what's your position?" :lol:

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » August 22nd, 2007, 7:04 pm

the best systems i ever heard...

sr's bluebird with 2 hcca 10's..

There was a red wagon with 4 15" Cerwin vega VEGA series..that used to sound real facking good..only ever saw it once @ a car show though..anybody know that system?

Also

Harry's 12 12" mtx blue thunder in a 323

Neil's commodore (HCCA)

The original Green civic as tristan mentioned..

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » August 22nd, 2007, 7:19 pm

agro center green van .... ask nigel bout dis system

boom

Postby boom » August 22nd, 2007, 10:36 pm

weyy I ent know nun ah dem cars, except the one MonsterPower, call and Ive only seen the rest in pics

Postby SR » August 23rd, 2007, 7:25 am

fuzz_174 wrote:the best systems i ever heard...

sr's bluebird with 2 hcca 10's..
There was a red wagon with 4 15" Cerwin vega VEGA series..that used to sound real facking good..only ever saw it once @ a car show though..anybody know that system?

Also

Harry's 12 12" mtx blue thunder in a 323

Neil's commodore (HCCA)

The original Green civic as tristan mentioned..

sigh.........

planning to recreate that bassline in the odyssey and improve on the mids
all with dls stuff

but d lowbass in that bluebird use to rattle yuh brains

still ahve yet to hear another sub perform like thos 1st get hcca subs with small power

boom

Postby boom » August 23rd, 2007, 7:29 am

what power you had on them SR? Man ur like ah liveing legeon dread

gfbl

Postby gfbl » August 23rd, 2007, 7:38 am

hahha, yep he ole as fork.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 23rd, 2007, 7:51 am

Car Audio Competitions

Car audio competitions started in the early 1980s in a quest to find the loudest and/or most outrageous installations. For example, in 1985, Wayne Harris famously modified a 1960 Cadillac Hearse to feature several 32-inch subwoofers in an effort to create a very high spl (Sound Pressure Level). Little consideration was given to sound quality (SQ) early on, but in the early 1990s, several organizations, including IASCA, began car audio competitions focusing on sound quality. The two styles -- SPL vs. sound quality -- have become almost mutually exclusive.

In Trinidad, a third type has been spawned apart from the 2 primary styles; called Gallery or Crowd Pleaser. In its basic sense, it is a sport that involves 2 competing vehicles to demonstrate their systems to a participating crowd. The crowd decides the winner of the round based on perceived loudness, among other factors. Its rise in popularity has given birth and caused a re-emergence of home audio components into the car audio environment.

Recently IASCA has formulated a 4th style of competition called Bass Boxing. Bass boxing is an attempt to harness the enthusiasms of the crowd pleaser competitors into a formal competition structure. This achieves the sole purpose of legitimating a score or win in a round of competition. Interesting to note, statistically, Trinidad has the highest number of competitors in Bass Boxing and Crowd Pleaser in the world, but has the LOWEST quota of SQ competitors, world wide.

BRINGING THIS HOME

Understanding and predicting the Future of Car audio is difficult, without first understanding the origins of Car Audio. Before IASCA brought organised sound-offs into Trinidad, numerous hosts held events all over Trinidad, Autosport promotions, TTASA, CARS, Zacx, Tasca, all wanting a bit of the pie. Sound Clashes have always been a part of Trinidadian sound offs. Once the official testing has completed, there were a few competitors who opted to attach large outdoor speaker boxes atop the vehicle's roof in an effort to leave the day with the biggest bragging rights. Sound clashing, was still an unrecognized sport, but it was highly anticipated and was a large crowd attraction.

Event promoters, wanting to capitalise on this, formulated a sport called CROWD Pleaser, which is exactly as it says. In 1992 massive bi-radial flares were used to generate hi dB levels. Nowadays, a fleet of midrange drivers designed for dj use are used to generate hi db levels for what is called "Top end" which is basically everything else but sub bass.

The appearance of these drivers in car audio use has caused a ripple among the car audio fans who find it more convenient and easier to follow the now industry trend. The glamor and popularity of the crowd pleaser events have certainly contributed to the decline and standard of Quality Car audio systems.

The new car audio fan is primarily concerned with loudness. This is as a direct result of what he is fed at a car show and by the retailing body, interested in a quick turnover. Sad to say, that when these youngsters become of age to appreciate the benefits of a well built car audio system, it will be too late, as their hearing would have been permanently damaged due to exposure at high db levels.

I wrote this in another thread, and thought it would be a good discussion item.

Interesting enough, these early competitions were judged on what rules or guidelines? (I would have been too young to remember, hence the reason I'm asking)

Sq competitions, under specific guidelines began in the 1990's, a decade AFTER, our soundoffs. I'd say that was remarkable.

Is Sq then inferior or superior to gallery?

The answer is NO. Either sport appeals to a different crowd. Back in 1980, terms like staging, imaging, ambience were not used to describe a system, but much rather, how loud and tonally accurate. I believe its still done this way, nearly 3 decades later.

As a youth, going to school on Harris Promenade, I heard mattress playing from short street, broke away from school, cut through woolworth and run down short street to check it out. Going to college, I rode in all of those maxis like sensitive with the 4 15" as the back seat, street legal, life, as a matter of fact, I rode in every brown band maxi going to princess town, and every green maxi going to couva, just to enjoy loud music. There is nothing more painful, than sitting on a box with 4 15" with the volume cranked while playing buju's action going from san fernando to princess town.

All these guys are pioneers in being loud, so I would also like to pay tribute to them, and add a few SQ pioneers:

1. Lyndsey Ryan
2. Vinod Maraj ( formerly of price master)
3. Nigel Sookhai/Roberto Charles
4. Shazard Rahaman
5. Ricky Ramsawak

There are a few SPL guys that were left out:

Pong Raj (white crown wagon)
Santana (pontiac)

Big up car audio fans !!!
Last edited by nigel1977 on August 23rd, 2007, 3:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » August 23rd, 2007, 7:55 am

yeah vinod and santana

Postby SR » August 23rd, 2007, 8:14 am

whatever happen to santana's car.....................BOSS AMPS all the way

ratchet handle for door winders

could have been much louder but due to subwoofer orientation this car suffered from cancellation in a big way

this was alleem's 1st big project

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » August 23rd, 2007, 8:30 am

nigel1977 wrote:....woolworth....

wayyyyy boy. that hadda be a good while ago then......i barrely remember what woolworth was exactly, but i know i used to hear bout it when i was still playin with corgi cars.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » August 23rd, 2007, 8:35 am

Hoss, we beat the pontiac in mid center when aleem dropped down to our class 0-300w. they were using some old fosgate dsm amps, and the same 12 12" jbl gti. they did 139. we did 141. a bluebird wagon with the 11" jl audio and pioneer impp subs and some class 5.0 and class 10.0 ss refs did 143. so we came second that day. But that was the last time the pontiac competed afaik.

casper

Postby casper » August 23rd, 2007, 8:50 am

mmmmmmmm........this is what i was longing to see in this forum.....SQ and gallary fellas bonding as one car entertainment body/family...

big up to nigel1977 for sharing his young boy back in the days experience with us.... :)

spam

Postby spam » August 23rd, 2007, 8:58 am

big up to spam and he system to come if he ever get a decent car to buy

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby SR » August 23rd, 2007, 10:05 am

boom wrote:what power you had on them SR? Man ur like ah liveing legeon dread

nah i eh no legend

it had men long before me
all i wanted was to put trinidad on the map with regard to car audio

i had 400 watts running per sub 1 orion hcca425

pong raj.............orion amps :)
i talkin bout the gallant wagon not the crown.....dais one legend

nigel sookhai bluebird sedan both spl and sound q
i remember when they were playing around with rear fill and l pads for the rear speakers

santana..............if yuh know the car nuff said

matress..........doh mind the income was questionable

price master gulf city...........they did quite a few vehciles

adil aka sound and security

andy jagdeosingh

evostik good fosgate partna tan yuk

dais some ah d legends for car audio in trinidad

i had video footage of most of the shows from the late 80's and early 90's all on one vhs tape which was lent to autosport to copy and it got misplaced

i had footage of all most if not all the vehicles mentioned

including spl scores

back then nigel sookhai was doing 138 i belive with 8 12's pioneer in the bluebird

and belive that was big numbers back then

who remembers tweez white mx 6 playing vice verse love in gulf city car park

HITTLER

Postby HITTLER » August 23rd, 2007, 10:17 am

that car was a fell name leslie, an sherlan (tweeze) did the system an yes i was there.