The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

fras

Postby fras » January 15th, 2007, 10:52 pm

hmm... If I have nothing to do tomorrow i'll take out my air box and see
But the space below is so limited due to the size of the tranny :!:

I think the best bet is remove the second half of the air box (the half going back to the TB) and run a short ram to that, leaving the first half of the airbox (used as a heat shield). I was also looking at the scoop from the evo7 which is much bigger than the CS3A :twisted:
Last edited by fras on January 15th, 2007, 11:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

venum

Postby venum » January 15th, 2007, 10:57 pm

frass wrote: I think the best bet is remove the second half of the air box (the half going back to the TB) and run a short ram to that

this is the idea that I have in my diagram

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » January 16th, 2007, 5:57 pm

off topic but anybody know the engine mount part #'s or the front cradle part #'s

if text your # to 717-1069 and i will call u back

Marct

Postby Marct » January 16th, 2007, 7:15 pm

^^^share the info i need to get the whole cradle arm

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » January 16th, 2007, 8:43 pm

whole cradle arm? what happened? i bent mine but got it straightened. Anyway heres a link to a lancer mod site and parts for sale. http://www.roadracemotorsports.com/lancer.htm when you get there you can check out the 3 sections below: drive train,suspension and dress up.

heres a pic from the dress up section with something im sure alot of lancer owners would would love to have.

Evo Vii Tail lights made for the regular lancer

venum

Postby venum » January 16th, 2007, 9:42 pm

most of the sites that sell cold air intakes do so for the OZ manual only

the gearbox would most likely allow for more room to route the pipe as done in my post above

that CVT tranny may not allow for such

anyone who took of their gearbox can confirm?

also I need a owners manual, can anyone loan one so that I can copy it?

fras

Postby fras » January 17th, 2007, 10:17 am

Anyone has any info on the fuel system on the 4G18 engine :?:
Does it have a factory regulator, a returnless fuel system or a return-type fuel system :?:

And I still looking for dem 02 fogs :!: Like i'll have to fit ah 03/04 fogs :?:

venum

Postby venum » January 17th, 2007, 9:03 pm

frass,

That site is nice, but a lot of stuff is for LHD models

fras

Postby fras » January 18th, 2007, 11:42 am

Our 4G18 has a return-type fuel system what ever that means

Ok so I think i'm ready for some fuel work... RPW suggested I go with a fuel pressure regulator! But i was thinking about gettin a fuel controller (SAFC/VAFC). What are main defferences between a fuel regulator and fuel controller and which would be better for this engine :?:

venum

Postby venum » January 18th, 2007, 8:13 pm

^^^^

remember what I told you some time ago

Fuel doesn't make power - air does

more air in the cylinder = more power

so if you are planning to implement better fuel delivery, which is not a bad option, then you must match that increased fuel with the right amount of air

otherwise you may just be buying a lot of gas and not really maximizing your potential

improved fuel delivery combined with better breatheability will ultimately make a better driving experience.

venum

Postby venum » January 18th, 2007, 8:32 pm

^^^^

remember what I told you some time ago

Fuel doesn't make power - air does

more air in the cylinder = more power

so if you are planning to implement better fuel delivery, which is not a bad option, then you must match that increased fuel with the right amount of air

otherwise you may just be buying a lot of gas and not really maximizing your potential

improved fuel delivery combined with better breatheability will ultimately make a better driving experience.

fras

Postby fras » January 19th, 2007, 12:06 am

Ok venum but at this point I cant improve any more on my intake that why I wanna try a fuel mod.
And i'm not ready for that noise yet, so the exhaust will have to wait.

fras

Postby fras » January 24th, 2007, 10:16 am

:twisted:
Does this pic give you any ideas :?:

Well if we move our battery to where our airbox is... We now have room for a CAI where the battery was :twisted:
Last edited by fras on January 26th, 2007, 10:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

bobacue

GDI 4g15

Postby bobacue » January 25th, 2007, 7:06 pm

Hey venom u seem to be the expert on lancers here, i bought a lancer(2002) 4G15 four mths ago and i'm really getting to thinking that was a big mistake cause of all the probs i'm hearing it gets, like throttle body, tranny and engine mount problems..tell me if theres more please. I dunno if to sell it in like a 5-6 mths from now and buy ah impreza OR just change the engine and if so what type??? can someone help me with any suggestions pleeeez :(

venum

Re: GDI 4g15

Postby venum » January 25th, 2007, 9:34 pm

bobacue wrote:Hey venom u seem to be the expert on lancers here

^^^ Expert :!: Me :?: NO

that would be Dave, Jus4Sho, W2J, Horsepwrjunki and MISHI

bobacue wrote:i bought a lancer(2002) 4G15 four mths ago and i'm really getting to thinking that was a big mistake cause of all the probs i'm hearing it gets, like throttle body, tranny and engine mount problems..tell me if theres more please.

I'm not too sure I understand what you mean. . . from this statement, you sound like you have not actually gotten any problems, but have heard that these cars\engines give a lot of problems and are concerned about getting these problems in the future.

there are several ppl who have reported that they have experienced the problems that you mentioned.

Throttle bodies can be repaired, several time over for relatively low $$$, tranny problems AFAIK are not as common.

Please recognize that the F101A tranny that comes on the CS2\3 is a CVT tranny and should not be treated as a mechanical tranny that can take a lot more roughing up. non-tiptronic CVT's are not as rigid as conventional mechanical tranny's. thesy are designed to optimize fuel consumption because they allow the car to output a lot of torque at a low rpm. you would have noticed that teh engine usually revs at a lower rpm during high speed as opposed to a mechanical tranny

treat the tranny the way it was designed and it shouldn't act up, i.e easy acceleration

bobacue wrote:I dunno if to sell it in like a 5-6 mths from now and buy ah impreza

this is something that you only can determine based on your $$$

I dunno how available Impreza parts are, but there are a lot more CS Lancers on teh roads and they have been around a lot longer than the Impreza's which I think will cause the Lancer parts to be more readily available and easier on your $$$. also a lot more places would stock Mitsu parts die to their longer history in T&T than Subie's

bobacue wrote:OR just change the engine and if so what type??? can someone help me with any suggestions pleeeez :(

why do you want to change teh engine? is it because you have problems with your engine?

if not, then no need to change it.

if you are having problems, then you can consider the 1.6L EFI 4G18 SOHC 16V engine from teh CS3.

this may be the best swap as it will fit bolt-for-bolt and will be able to work with your existing tranny - no mods needed. if you get the full wiring and harness, then it will be even easier

bobacue

Increasing Performance

Postby bobacue » January 26th, 2007, 1:50 pm

Hey thanks man! That was a lot of help :D .... however, I may be installing a larger air intake with an electric supercharger with a fuel mod to increase performance, but, I'm worrying if this may damage the engine... I dunno if you may know anything about this.

bobacue

Postby bobacue » January 26th, 2007, 4:11 pm

Oh yea and i'm not getting any trouble with the car AS YET however I just want to take preventative measures.I think that CVT tranny is not for me cause I floor it all the time , I drive hard :oops: but not stupid 8-) if u want to see the car check out the link I pimped it out, just want the best way of improving performance now, either changing engine or mods to the current engine without damaging it.

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2551872

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 26th, 2007, 11:44 pm

venum wrote:
bobacue wrote:Hey venom u seem to be the expert on lancers here

^^^ Expert :!: Me :?: NO

that would be Dave, Jus4Sho, W2J, Horsepwrjunki and MISHI

whoa I assure you I am no expert. Those first 3 are the guys...

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » January 27th, 2007, 8:18 am

I want to ask an unrelated question. Does the lancer come with downhill assist? i noticed that sometimes it engages and other times it does not. could it be a fault? or is that something else thats happeneing and now dh assist.

venum

Postby venum » January 27th, 2007, 2:37 pm

^^^ i dunno

by downhill assistant do you mean lower gear ratio when driving downhill

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 27th, 2007, 2:45 pm

Downhill assist?..... no that is just the electronic transmission doing its thing. it will aotomatically detect if the engine is under a particular load or condition and adjust accordingly.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » January 27th, 2007, 2:50 pm

well when driving downhill car uses engine braking to keep a constant speed without using the brakes

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 27th, 2007, 4:14 pm

yeah that's just the transmission electroniaclly working... don't worry about it.

future shop llc

Postby future shop llc » January 27th, 2007, 5:06 pm

bobacue wrote:Hey venom u seem to be the expert on lancers here, i bought a lancer(2002) 4G15 four mths ago and i'm really getting to thinking that was a big mistake cause of all the probs i'm hearing it gets, like throttle body, tranny and engine mount problems..tell me if theres more please. I dunno if to sell it in like a 5-6 mths from now and buy ah impreza OR just change the engine and if so what type??? can someone help me with any suggestions pleeeez :(

After tes drivin' ah scooby to maracas an back I sell meh lancer for a good price an buy a RORO FOZ... Never look back since :twisted:

venum

Postby venum » January 29th, 2007, 11:45 pm

what is your experience like wrt parts for that Imprezza?

things like engine mounts, bushings, suspension parts etc?

fras

Postby fras » January 30th, 2007, 9:21 am

Venum u ent tell me what you think about the new CAI idea

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » January 30th, 2007, 4:09 pm

^^ a out of it for a while and men forget about the mitsu power lol

the AEM CAI is a waste reason .. it will throw off your power curve , you guys are for getting that the 4g18 non gdi max torque is at 3200 rpm there is a rule of thumb when it comes to runner lenght vs rpm that AEM is way to long and will produce max air flow far lower that top torque peak not to mention reduce air flow at higher rpm's venum short ram is ideal i think it should be a bit longer ( due to the rule of thumb ) I will post later when I find it .. as for cool air leaving the scoop is cool enough to reduce your air intake temp and also removing the coolant lines to the TB .. venum I would use the FPR instead of the electronics reason for is that to me they yeild better gains when you are duing more mods like cams ,C/R , bigger TB etc ..

venum

Postby venum » January 30th, 2007, 5:22 pm

frass wrote:Venum u ent tell me what you think about the new CAI idea

Frass i like it

it is a great way to improve on the intake temp

the Evo VII design will prob yield teh best result

if the battery can be relocated easily then I think I will pursue this method

however point to note is that the CT9A has a gearbox, dunno how feasible it would be to relocate that battery on top of a tranny wrt to space

I have not yet removed teh air box to see what lies beneath

also what would teh implications of heat from teh CVT have on teh battery?

future shop llc

Postby future shop llc » January 31st, 2007, 8:45 am

venum wrote:what is your experience like wrt parts for that Imprezza?

things like engine mounts, bushings, suspension parts etc?

This cost less to maintain than my lancer... remember it have the Boxer engine nuf said there.... Bigger harder components and parts... the fellas u hear breakin' these things into really heavy launches...

Change oil 5qts once every 7500Kms for turbo version Foz (full syn)
Change transfer case oil one per year (full syn)
Tranny fluid once per 40,000Kms.... or one year (full syn)
Airflow sensor $650 to replace because ah drop the thing while cleaning :(
Intercooler I clean my self remove 2 bolts and 2 clamps and it off

Blah blah... U get the picture...follow manu. specs and U good

For reference I drive all the time an the Foz takin' me everywhere.... San Fo 3 time a week East twice a week then west

Gas mileage 360kms on a tank $150 to fullup if ah run right dong...and a runnin' 14PSI when ah on the highway....most folks in the rearview mirror :twisted: :twisted:

Regular Foz runnin 10PSI so I guess my milage could be better

googoodoll

F.S. CK2 gearbox

Postby googoodoll » January 31st, 2007, 11:06 am

I have a CK2 gearbox that is coming out of my ck2 lancer. P.M. me and make me an offer.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”