The comprehensive 4age thread

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

Terran

Postby Terran » July 22nd, 2006, 9:48 am

Good thing I asked that question, eh nasscott. :D Good info here, boy!

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » July 22nd, 2006, 1:28 pm

Any opinions on the use of a cone filter directly onto the AF sensor?

I've just setup mine like this and haven't started running the car yet. I've been hearing that it's not good for this AF sensor?

Opinions?

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » July 22nd, 2006, 3:35 pm

^^ onther thing is the oil wud be below half and then it fills right up with 1 qt i doh understand that physics

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » July 22nd, 2006, 6:24 pm

WOW i just realised i missed quite a few posts on page two. you guys musta sneeked them in last minute. Anyway RS200 pretty much has it covered thanks bro. One thing you blacktop owners with oil disappearing and smog problems should SERIOUSLY consider is doing a compression test. Compression leaks can result in a lack of power excess oil consumption and poor fuel econonmy. For the blacktop 20V you should have readings of 1330kPa (13.6kgf/cm2 193psi) or more. The minimum pressure should be 1080kPa (11.0kgf/cm2 156psi) And the difference between each cylinder should be 98kPa (1kgf/cm2 14psi) or less. If the compression in one or more cylinders is low pour a little bit of engine oil through the spark plug hole and test again. If this helps the compression then it means that the piston rings or cylinder walls are either worn or damaged. However if the compression still is low then a valve may not be seating properly or sticking or the gasket may be leaking.

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » July 22nd, 2006, 11:06 pm

cool meng thanks ^
who or where cud do the compression test?

Postby AllTrac » July 23rd, 2006, 10:40 am

nasscott, those fwhp figures are for the american spec 3sgte, we are lucky enuff to get the Japan spec :)

1st gen 3sgte(st165) - 200hp

2nd gen 3sgte - 230hp

3rdgen 3sgte - 245hp

4th gen 3sgte - 250hp

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » July 25th, 2006, 3:28 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:Any opinions on the use of a cone filter directly onto the AF sensor?

I've just setup mine like this and haven't started running the car yet. I've been hearing that it's not good for this AF sensor?

Opinions?

WDMC?? I talkin to a wall?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 25th, 2006, 4:28 pm

Any opinions on the use of a cone filter directly onto the AF sensor?

Opinions?

differnet cars are different, my filter is attached directly to my AF< and in my case it works, but allot of altezza owners have had trouble wiht that as wella shte same HKS rs intake i have,.,but i have no porbs... the filter hs hot spots that can cause the air to rush past the AFm element or cause fluctuations in voltage... using a screen or special post filter sperators and filters help this by directing teh air directly to the afm element..

good luck

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » July 26th, 2006, 3:55 pm

yeah i have that problem with my oil as well..if i change oil chances are after 3 weeks i need a 1/2 quart or more..its really dependent on how i drive if i drive normal it doesnt fluctuate but once i start doing redline shifts thats it bye bye oil :lol: as for the filter scully i use an aftermarket cone on my application an havent had any problems if you want you can take a look at my application in the readers rides

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » July 26th, 2006, 5:00 pm

^^i think thats me problem right there

the constant redlining :oops: :oops: :lol: :lol: :lol:

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » July 28th, 2006, 9:06 am

I've asked this several times and so far everyone has ignored me. HAS ANYONE OF YOU GUYS DYNO TESTED YOUR CAR OR HAD IT OFFICIALLY TIMED ???????????????????????????????

Apart from that... i would like to make a list of toyota mechanics that are competent and recommendable i just dont know if that is allowed so let me find out first and we can compile a list in the thread. Too many of the questions im hearing should be answerable by your tuner or mechanic. so maybe you guys dont know the right places to go. hint you may pay almost twice as much for a tuner to do your mechanical work than a regular mechanic. Know the difference and save yourself a pretty penny.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » July 28th, 2006, 10:04 am

fafrumlosin wrote:yeah i have that problem with my oil as well..if i change oil chances are after 3 weeks i need a 1/2 quart or more..its really dependent on how i drive if i drive normal it doesnt fluctuate but once i start doing redline shifts thats it bye bye oil :lol: as for the filter scully i use an aftermarket cone on my application an havent had any problems if you want you can take a look at my application in the readers rides

Thanx, my setup is pretty similar except for the pipe. My AFS is directly onto the rubber flex (like the one you have), and then the filter directly onto the AFS.

Yours lookin really good. Wouldn't mind some advice in the next couple weeks.

BTW, i'm lookin for a Clutch fluid reservoir cover. Plastic cover about 1 1/2" dia.

Postby AllTrac » July 28th, 2006, 8:18 pm

nope, not yet, my car is a work in progress, parts are a bit harder to find and its near impossible to get parts of it locally, but as soon as im finished and satisfied with it, i'll throw my greasy rust bucket on de dyno.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » July 30th, 2006, 12:10 am

i was so upset about wallerfield on Saturday that i started a thread about it in the tech forum instead of ole talk.... my apologies.

katurbobeast

Postby katurbobeast » July 30th, 2006, 9:31 pm

to the xperienced toyo tuners....

wat yall suggest for a AE92 swap, 4age 20V (would like to eventually build for turbo)
the 4agze or convert to 4agte
or just firetruck it all and fit the 3sgte in?

i personally think the dam 3sgte is to dam big to just swap into a AE92..without any suspension/chasis/brakes mods
this has me leaning towards the 4AGsss....

gimme some thoughts!!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 31st, 2006, 10:07 am

I've asked this several times and so far everyone has ignored me. HAS ANYONE OF YOU GUYS DYNO TESTED YOUR CAR OR HAD IT OFFICIALLY TIMED ???????????????????????????????

hehem chill meng. i took my car to wallers a few weeks ago to time it but it rained, i am waiting on my CAMCON so i can go dyno and before and after tuning.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 31st, 2006, 10:10 am

to the xperienced toyo tuners....

wat yall suggest for a AE92 swap, 4age 20V (would like to eventually build for turbo)
the 4agze or convert to 4agte
or just firetruck it all and fit the 3sgte in?

i personally think the dam 3sgte is to dam big to just swap into a AE92..without any suspension/chasis/brakes mods
this has me leaning towards the 4AGsss....

gimme some thoughts!!

you should porbably upgrade those no matter what engine swap and mods you do, and it doesnt have to be amd coilovers and big 4 piston callipers, good sping and shock combo with good pads on a well working stock system can be jsut as good,..

Terran

Postby Terran » August 1st, 2006, 9:11 am

I get a good pull in a ZE last night. Big, BIG difference to the 4AGE. That 20V sucks in comparison. What the hell was Toyota thinking???

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » August 4th, 2006, 6:30 pm

supercharged or turbo built ZE? and the 20V sux period. what the hell right? everytime i drive the turbo car goin back to the 20V feels like driving a fork lift.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » September 4th, 2006, 7:37 am

any 4AGE'ers with me on the 24th of sept? I think that is the next date for wallerfield and i boldface enough to roll up in wallerfield with a BONE stock AUTOMATIC 20V in a bomboclart station wagon to put down a time. wuh de hell i goin just fuh de hell of it any of allyuh fellas with a NA 4AGE want tuh run let me know...

Terran

Postby Terran » September 5th, 2006, 7:36 am

nasscott wrote:supercharged or turbo built ZE? and the 20V sux period. what the hell right? everytime i drive the turbo car goin back to the 20V feels like driving a fork lift.

Supercharged. Stock form. Total madness.

Terran

Postby Terran » September 5th, 2006, 7:37 am

nasscott wrote:any 4AGE'ers with me on the 24th of sept? I think that is the next date for wallerfield and i boldface enough to roll up in wallerfield with a BONE stock AUTOMATIC 20V in a bomboclart station wagon to put down a time. wuh de hell i goin just fuh de hell of it any of allyuh fellas with a NA 4AGE want tuh run let me know...

Tempting... tempting...

Postby AllTrac » September 5th, 2006, 10:55 am

boost, there is no replacement :P

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » September 5th, 2006, 12:29 pm

Terran c'mon let me see what that blacktop workin like. yuh commin out on the 24th or what? If allyuh not goin i not goin to waste time changing my timing belt and fixin no damn oil leak yuh know.

mrboxman

Postby mrboxman » September 5th, 2006, 2:49 pm

*scratches chin* hmm
lemme make sure my head gasket not blown and i ll decide...

Postby gt4tified » September 5th, 2006, 3:25 pm

Aight beyotches, ah reach! Waz allyuh problem now? nasscott...I done see u sweet on high revving and yuh go mash up ah ct26 if yuh go 3s like how saucywow does mash up maggaman! If u want a frankenstein of somewhat, try the 20valve BT head on the 4agze bottom...spend around $10k behind a good bb-turbo, engine management, celica brake setup and proper exhaust and yuh in order.

As for those of you with intentions of swapping the 3s into your put-puts, doan study about how hard a good a 3sgte is to locate and start thinking about what will happen when you put it in such a crammed space.

The 3sgte engine does NOT stay cool for long...it generates a sh!tload of heat and if you can't cool the entire engine well enough, you're in for a fast headache.

There are only very few persons on 2nr that have experienced any medium to long term success with that sort of swap and you could start by asking them how much they would have spent to do so!

The most successful would be pitbull (on this site) with the blue AE92 which really isn't a ae92 but really a celica on an ae92 shell :wink:

For headache stories, I would refer you to Mr. Go Slow but he still honeymooning and probably ent pick up this thread yet.

As for me, I in de same boat with alltrac, I tuning over a medium-term and getting in my parts bit by bit. And sad to say, I won't be able to dyno until we get a 4wd dyno down here. I would like to do some proper timing when I get my new clutch in.

Keep this thread going ppl....we need more discussions like these on 2nr.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » September 5th, 2006, 9:54 pm

hoss i glad fuh de advice eh but by de time you put a price to a 4agze block plus aftermarket management plus new turbo and a proper exhaust system i might as well just get a 3rd gen 3sgte and done. which is why i wanted it in the first place cause i sure a 3s would be more reliable than an overbuilt 20V. and what about the 4AGZE crank? you think it would enjoy the 8000RPM frenzy? i dont know i have never considered the ZE so i never even researched what its fortified with. i could almost guarantee you that i'd need a fuel pump and also probably higher cc/min capacity injectors cause i want to reach 325 WHP and i cant see the stock injectors supplying fuel safely for the kinda boost you'd be pumping into 1.6L of displacement to attain 325WHP so i think your advice is a lil shakey. not to mention the only Boosted 20V i know of was still running 15 seconds on 8psi boost.
If im going Turbo im not playing around. im thinking i'd save myself alot of stress with a 3rd gen 3sgte. i already intended to relocate the topmount with a more capable frontmount IC and that CT26 thing you talking about... you musbee tink i want to run dem starlet and dem or wah? i doh even want de engine in my car if it eh running a T3/T4 or somn like that. I know i dont have all the facts the way i know my engine inside out but i doh think u know how much drivetrain reinforcement it will take to get a 20V to work the way i want it too. oh and btw the 3s can be set to rev up to 8000RPM with proper setup and management quite easily and also quite reliably. my $0.02

wagonX

Postby wagonX » September 5th, 2006, 10:26 pm

Intersting thread, I dont know much about the 3s but i have like 5 pardners running 4ages in various model toyotas...i would assume its less headache. All I know is every time a turbo-man pop the bonnet of my car (fielder) they does always say "Wheyyy look at space, ah 3s go fit reall nice in dey :twisted: "

Postby AllTrac » September 5th, 2006, 11:55 pm

nasscott wrote:hoss i glad fuh de advice eh but by de time you put a price to a 4agze block plus aftermarket management plus new turbo and a proper exhaust system i might as well just get a 3rd gen 3sgte and done. which is why i wanted it in the first place cause i sure a 3s would be more reliable than an overbuilt 20V. and what about the 4AGZE crank? you think it would enjoy the 8000RPM frenzy? i dont know i have never considered the ZE so i never even researched what its fortified with. i could almost guarantee you that i'd need a fuel pump and also probably higher cc/min capacity injectors cause i want to reach 325 WHP and i cant see the stock injectors supplying fuel safely for the kinda boost you'd be pumping into 1.6L of displacement to attain 325WHP so i think your advice is a lil shakey. not to mention the only Boosted 20V i know of was still running 15 seconds on 8psi boost.
If im going Turbo im not playing around. im thinking i'd save myself alot of stress with a 3rd gen 3sgte. i already intended to relocate the topmount with a more capable frontmount IC and that CT26 thing you talking about... you musbee tink i want to run dem starlet and dem or wah? i doh even want de engine in my car if it eh running a T3/T4 or somn like that. I know i dont have all the facts the way i know my engine inside out but i doh think u know how much drivetrain reinforcement it will take to get a 20V to work the way i want it too. oh and btw the 3s can be set to rev up to 8000RPM with proper setup and management quite easily and also quite reliably. my $0.02

come nah man stop wasteing time get that 3rdgen in already :D

Terran

Postby Terran » September 6th, 2006, 7:44 am

nasscott wrote:Terran c'mon let me see what that blacktop workin like. yuh commin out on the 24th or what? If allyuh not goin i not goin to waste time changing my timing belt and fixin no damn oil leak yuh know.

Dude, the last time I was SUPPOSED to go drags, my pardner died in a car accident the day before. Never found the courage to go back, and three years later, not particularly interested.

You raise an interesting challenge, though. Whether it's enough to arouse my inclinations to the sport... I dunno. I've found myself more or less settled with having a responsive vehicle, and not overly interested in trying to prove something. In other words, you haven't provoked me enough yet! :) So, you shouldn't count on me being anywhere near Wallerfield on the 24th or any time within this year. Parang season start!

I was reading somewhere a long time ago about 4AGZEs producing up to 350HP overnight from stock form. Not sure if I can find it again, but I will try to produce the link. It's informative and good reading. You might find yourself rethinking your hunt for a 3SGTE, which unfortunately is hard enough to locate, even harder than finding a good 4AGZE.

Return to “TOYOTA”