Re: Funding Cepep as important as awarding scholarships

Postby hover11 » June 30th, 2025, 1:00 pm

mero wrote:Right right.

Careful Barry eh come for NIB next eh.

Know you getting send home first cuz we all know how shitty of an employee you is.
We don't fall under ministry of public utilities we fall under finance, so not sure what's the correlation there also we are the only statutory authority that is actually short staffed with only 600 employees. Nice try though

Postby mero » June 30th, 2025, 1:10 pm

Guess that flew over your head.

Postby hover11 » June 30th, 2025, 1:14 pm

mero wrote:Guess that flew over your head.
I feel mero have a cepep contract that was terminated yes cuz ain't no way this guy gives a shite about cepep workers na pal you have to be either heavily invested or gaining some type of financial motivation for defending this.

The government provide many opportunities for ppl to better themselves through YTEPP and other services . If ppl want to spend 20 years cleaning drains and cutting grass that's on them. That is wutlessness

Postby timelapse » June 30th, 2025, 1:32 pm

mero wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:When did Trinidad become a welfare state are ppl seriously ok with persons working 4 hours a day and getting paid for a full day's work. Where are we getting the money to sustain this initiative with a declining energy sector

Trinidad has always been a welfare state. Please wake up
Free healthcare
Subsidized buses, ferry, flights
Free education
Retirement benefits etc
Free rides/tickets for over 60
HDC

Welfare definition
a system whereby the state undertakes to protect the health and well-being of its citizens, especially those in financial or social need, by means of grants, pensions, and other benefits.

We have been told we need to wean ourselves off these things by the same govnts that expand cepep.
Fuel subsidy and the RIC recommendations
What other suggestions you have to take us to 1st world status? Who or what should get the axe?

We will never get First World Status. We became independent after WW2. What you meant is Developed Status

Postby mero » June 30th, 2025, 1:34 pm

hover11 wrote:
I feel mero have a cepep contract that was terminated yes cuz ain't no way this guy gives a shite about cepep workers na pal you have to be either heavily invested or gaining some type of financial motivation for defending this.

The government provide many opportunities for ppl to better themselves through YTEPP and other services . If ppl want to spend 20 years cleaning drains and cutting grass that's on them. That is wutlessness
Says the guy on 2013 salaries with 0 upward mobility or attempts to better himself.

Levels

Postby hover11 » June 30th, 2025, 1:39 pm

mero wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Says the guy on 2013 salaries with 0 upward mobility or attempts to better himself.

Levels
Fail to see your point many public servants have degrees and stay because you have freedom than private ...also the economy is dogshite so I fail to see your point as opportunities are limited due to the government poor mishandling of the economy

Postby The_Honourable » June 30th, 2025, 3:37 pm

j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:When did Trinidad become a welfare state are ppl seriously ok with persons working 4 hours a day and getting paid for a full day's work. Where are we getting the money to sustain this initiative with a declining energy sector

Trinidad has always been a welfare state. Please wake up
Free healthcare
Subsidized buses, ferry, flights
Free education
Retirement benefits etc
Free rides/tickets for over 60
HDC

Welfare definition
a system whereby the state undertakes to protect the health and well-being of its citizens, especially those in financial or social need, by means of grants, pensions, and other benefits.
Can't have a welfare state with a declining economy it will eventually come down to choices....free Healthcare vs CEPEP

This is not about reducing costs. UNC is going to start back CEPEP just with different contractors.
Lets not be naive

CEPEP starting back for sure. Will it be streamlined and costs reduced? I hope so but remains to be seen.

Barry needed reasons to shut cepep down temporarily and clear house. Flagged by NIB, Auditor General, and Ministry of Finance with no audit reports for 5 years, plus a feeding through for persons associated with the pnm, the setup was nice for a shut down. Pretty sure we'll hear criminal elements that was flagged by TTPS having cepep contracts... similar to corporations giving contracts to gangsters operating through their companies.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2025, 4:07 pm

they need to got thru all the companies leonce and heinz was helping setup with the east pos company
guaranteed all is bobol

Postby nervewrecker » June 30th, 2025, 6:49 pm

Love how this cepep issue at the forefront while not a whisper of bigger news. Good news that is.

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2025, 8:21 pm

what about crocro
how many gangs he was running?

one eye

Postby one eye » June 30th, 2025, 10:27 pm

Dizzy no need for the ad hominem.

What do you mean support here is not for cost/benefit? Do the workers belong to one party affiliation only?

Let's do some math ok.

Avg annual expenditure: $500mil -> $500mil/12 -> $41.6mil/mth -> $41.6mil/10,140 (minus 360 contractors) -> approx $4,109.13/mthly -> $4,109.13/30 -> $136.97/daily.

Right where the avg daily pay is for a CEPEP worker.

Cepep: No gangsters in our records

Al-Rawi, under whose ministry Cepep falls, added, “I’m informed that subcontracting is prohibited in Cepep. There are approximately 340 contractors. They each earn a management fee of $21,999 per month and employ 30 people.”

Hinds said it was not the first time such claims had been made about violence over Cepep contracts.

“It’s not Government policy to give contracts or financial support to known criminals,” Hinds added, saying state agencies involved with contracts had to account if someone was considered a criminal.

Meanwhile, Port of Spain South MP Keith Scotland said he had not encountered any entity or person who requested state contracts in his constituency.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/cepep-no-gangste ... r-records/

How much lower you want costs to reduce Honourable?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 30th, 2025, 11:56 pm

one eye wrote:Dizzy no need for the ad hominem.

What do you mean support here is not for cost/benefit? Do the workers belong to one party affiliation only?

Let's do some math ok.

Avg annual expenditure: $500mil -> $500mil/12 -> $41.6mil/mth -> $41.6mil/10,140 (minus 360 contractors) -> approx $4,109.13/mthly -> $4,109.13/30 -> $136.97/daily.

Right where the avg daily pay is for a CEPEP worker.

Cepep: No gangsters in our records

Al-Rawi, under whose ministry Cepep falls, added, “I’m informed that subcontracting is prohibited in Cepep. There are approximately 340 contractors. They each earn a management fee of $21,999 per month and employ 30 people.”

Hinds said it was not the first time such claims had been made about violence over Cepep contracts.

“It’s not Government policy to give contracts or financial support to known criminals,” Hinds added, saying state agencies involved with contracts had to account if someone was considered a criminal.

Meanwhile, Port of Spain South MP Keith Scotland said he had not encountered any entity or person who requested state contracts in his constituency.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/cepep-no-gangste ... r-records/

How much lower you want costs to reduce Honourable?
Minimum wage in Trinidad is 164 a day.
You are way off on your calculations.

Postby hover11 » July 1st, 2025, 8:45 am

A wise man once said " we are going to wean you off the government ", and all the sheep applauded. The only thing worse than being blind, is having sight with no vision

one eye

Postby one eye » July 1st, 2025, 9:29 am

Dizzy that was a rough estimate, did not intend it to be specific.
Since you like specific.

Min. wage -> $20.50
Hours per week -> 30
Weeks in a year -> 52
Hours in a year -> 30 x 52 -> 1560
Annual wage of worker -> $20.50 x 1560 -> $31,980
Worker approx. annual wage expenditure -> $31,980 x 10,140 -> $324,277,200
Contractor salary -> $21,999/mth
Hours in a month -> 120
Hourly rate for contractor -> $21,999/120 -> $183.33
Annual wage of contractor -> $183.33 x 1560 -> $285,994.80
Contractor approx. annual wage expenditure -> $285,994.80 x 360 -> $102,958,128

Total -> $324,277,200 + $102,958,128 -> $427,235,328

Still have to account for other expenses.

Adjusted it for you Hover.
Last edited by one eye on July 1st, 2025, 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » July 1st, 2025, 9:44 am

one eye wrote:Dizzy that was a rough estimate, did not intend it to be specific.
Since you like specific.

Min. wage -> $20.50
Hours per week -> 40
Weeks in a year -> 52
Hours in a year -> 40 x 52 -> 2080
Annual wage of worker -> $20.50 x 2080 -> $42,640
Worker approx. annual wage expenditure -> $42,640 x 10,140 -> $432,369,600
Contractor salary -> $21,999/mth
Hours in a month -> 160
Hourly rate for contractor -> $21,999/160 -> $137.49
Annual wage of contractor -> $137.49 x 2080 -> $285,979.20
Contractor approx. annual wage expenditure -> $285,979.20 x 360 -> $102,952,512

Total -> $432,369,600 + $102,952,512 -> $535,322,112

Still have to account for other expenses.
Which cepep worker working 40 hours a week please show me one just one

Postby Dizzy28 » July 1st, 2025, 3:34 pm

The last CEPEP audited financials were done in 2014.
https://www.finance.gov.tt/wp-content/u ... S-2014.pdf

In 2023 there was an article highlighting that the PAEC advised CEPEP they need to submit financials for the period 2015 - 2023 (now gone to 2024 and soon 2025). Even Keith Scotland said -
You need to be bullish with the auditor to retrieve the working papers. It gives this committee no joy to chastise CEPEP.”

CEPEP blamed lost data for the absence of financials.
Narine Charran, deputy permanent secretary at the Ministry of Finance, said the ministry did not have the tools to investigate a server failure and that was why an investigation could not be done. Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government permanent secretary Desdra Bascombe said her ministry didn’t see the need to investigate because the issue was between the auditor and CEPEP. The ministry’s role is to monitor, not to intervene in the company’s operations. Although Bascombe proposed litigation against the auditor, Eddy said he felt it was unnecessary at this time, since the company had found an alternative.

https://newsday.co.tt/2023/03/02/b-cepe ... ince-2009/

Billions spent with absolutely zero accountability to the tax payers of this country and men in here talking about its importance. UDFR with that BS.

Its no coincidence that CEPEP has no financials because it was more than likely used as a slush fund for the PNM to reward their high ranking boys who didn't want the scrutiny of having to file Integrity Commission forms for being on state boards. The disproportionate share of CEPEP contractors towards PNM held seats despite all constituencies having almost equal populations (+-5000ppl) also further shows the unfair nature of the programme.

If the small man today suffering its the last administration to blame for not ensuring accountability and transparency.
To allow this circus to continue would be madness.

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2025, 4:15 pm

no financials my ass
first cal, now cepep
is how they does getaway with murder

Postby Chimera » July 1st, 2025, 4:26 pm

Lol yet the bank does pester me every year for Financials for annual loan review. Kix yes

Postby st7 » July 1st, 2025, 4:45 pm

which govt worker works 40 hrs a week?

show me one, just one

Postby hover11 » July 1st, 2025, 4:56 pm

st7 wrote:which govt worker works 40 hrs a week?

show me one, just one
The same public servants who are deemed essential and have to work the entire day tomorrow

Postby The_Honourable » July 1st, 2025, 4:58 pm

So one eye hitting we simple maths to make his case for cepep monies

But when it comes to audited financial statements to see where taxpayers money actually going, none since 2018 and the server did crash.

allyuh...

Postby st7 » July 1st, 2025, 5:00 pm

lol - while the non-essential ones abuse the system. oh what a great use of our tax dollars

i wonder what percentage are non-essential vs essential

Postby Chimera » July 1st, 2025, 6:43 pm

wait and lets see who had the contracts and how much contracts they had

and allyuh be honest na

when cepep on a site...allyuh never use to see 2 men working and 25 of them hiding in the shade

Dont lie eh, the devil will get you.

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2025, 7:21 pm

go to amy southern state in usa
you will see 2 mexican doing work of a cepep crew whole day and complete job

Postby paid_influencer » July 1st, 2025, 7:25 pm

allyuh want ppl get heat stroke

Postby mero » July 1st, 2025, 9:06 pm

Chimera wrote:wait and lets see who had the contracts and how much contracts they had

and allyuh be honest na

when cepep on a site...allyuh never use to see 2 men working and 25 of them hiding in the shade

Dem CEPEP does real wuk in my area. Fields, drains and men outside lawn well maintained and they wind down from like 10.

I see more laziness what you talking about with WASA employees. 1 man in the hole or digging up something and 10 a dem watching

Postby hover11 » July 1st, 2025, 9:20 pm

mero wrote:
Chimera wrote:wait and lets see who had the contracts and how much contracts they had

and allyuh be honest na

Dem CEPEP does real wuk in my area. Fields, drains and men outside lawn well maintained and they wind down from like 10.

I see more laziness what you talking about with WASA employees. 1 man in the hole or digging up something and 10 a dem watching
Well thats strange cuz by me it's the opposite one man with a wacker and the rest of the gang sitting on the curb breezing out....could be cuz I living in a PNM area too but say what

Postby pugboy » July 1st, 2025, 9:34 pm

they should crack down on the ppl who collecting double pensions too

crock101

Postby crock101 » July 2nd, 2025, 1:11 am

Literal money laundering

Postby Dizzy28 » July 2nd, 2025, 7:13 am

After seeing what is supposedly an army man slap up the driver on the highway a conversation alluh not ready for - shutting down that version of Cepep.

The would be only net positives for the removal of the TTDFand channeling of that money elsewhere in the economy