On the topic of SQUATTERS in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: On the topic of SQUATTERS in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby bluefete » September 27th, 2022, 4:17 pm

Rule of law operates for whom?

Definitely not the legal owner of the land!

I had to run a man off family land. When I was done with him, he could never get a visa to go to the USA again.

Postby The_Honourable » February 6th, 2025, 12:49 pm

Take a chance, get away for a while and now the bulldozers have arrived

HEARTBREAKING SCENES IN LA HORQUETTA

A demolition crew went into a squatting settlement at Ramjattan Trace, Tumpuna Road, La Horquetta on Thursday and dismantled the houses of those who got eviction notices in 2023.

Last month, residents protested, telling the Express that many had been occupying the land for more than 15 years, and were promised some relief by Member of Parliament Foster Cummings that he would assist them in fixing the roads and getting electricity. However, the Express could not confirm this as calls to the minister went unanswered.

Express photojournalist Jermaine Cruickshank was present this morning during the exercise. (Some of the audio in this video has been muted due to its sensitive nature).

https://www.facebook.com/ExpressNewspap ... 2467908762

CNC3: It's the moment residents of Ramjattan Trace feared for weeks. Police and HDC officials move into the area with an excavator destroying homes in minutes as angry residents look on.

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television ... 9008277774

An excavator destroys homes at Ramjattan Trace. Residents received eviction notices for a few weeks but never knew who sent them.

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television ... 8163140413

Residents of Ramjattan Trace clash with police as officials in HDC uniforms oversee the demolition of their homes. They had been receiving eviction notices for a few weeks but never knew who sent them.

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television ... 7961332383

wing

Postby wing » February 6th, 2025, 1:12 pm

There's plenty of land at Phillipine, next to the pink palace. I'm sure her royal wokeness will welcome these people with open arms.

Postby timelapse » February 6th, 2025, 1:14 pm

wing wrote:There's plenty of land at Phillipine, next to the pink palace. I'm sure her royal wokeness will welcome these people with open arms.

The only land your folks know about is Beetham Gardens,stay in your lane

Postby MaxPower » February 6th, 2025, 1:47 pm

May i ask who granted permission to occupy the land in the first place?

I know i worked very hard to say i deserved to be in the land i am on now through proper payment and acquisition processes.

So just asking

matix

Postby matix » February 6th, 2025, 1:51 pm

wing wrote:There's plenty of land at Phillipine, next to the pink palace. I'm sure her royal wokeness will welcome these people with open arms.

Who?

Postby The_Honourable » February 6th, 2025, 2:20 pm

matix wrote:

Who?

He's just thinking and talking about kamla everywhere he goes, ignore him

Postby The_Honourable » February 6th, 2025, 2:24 pm

MaxPower wrote:May i ask who granted permission to occupy the land in the first place?

I know i worked very hard to say i deserved to be in the land i am on now through proper payment and acquisition processes.

So just asking

lol nobody

Some of them now building structure but bawling that they "dey" for 14 years. Like if the authorities don't have aerial photos from over the years to prove their statements false.

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2025, 6:17 pm

what about squatter rights?

Postby zoom rader » February 6th, 2025, 8:33 pm

timelapse wrote:

The only land your folks know about is Beetham Gardens,stay in your lane

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2025, 9:06 pm

wha bout the huge squatter enclaves in valencia and by the roundabouts off antigua road

Postby gastly369 » February 6th, 2025, 9:07 pm

Postby MaxPower » February 7th, 2025, 2:32 am

Fair is fair…

Either move or be moved.

If you want to stay, the land should be evaluated and you pay a mortgage like everyone else.

Other than that, take a bulldoze iymc, no heartbreak here.

It may be harsh, but it was never your land and that is boldfaceness.

How many people have lost THEIR land due to “squatting rights”?

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2025, 4:37 am

what bout the places where trains used to pass
ie everywhere which had train line is fully squatted

MaxPower wrote:Fair is fair…

Either move or be moved.

If you want to stay, the land should be evaluated and you pay a mortgage like everyone else.

Postby Chimera » February 7th, 2025, 6:44 am

If its state land they're squatting on they need to occupy for 30 to 32 years not 15/16

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2025, 8:43 am

wow, never knew that there was a difference

Chimera wrote:If its state land they're squatting on they need to occupy for 30 to 32 years not 15/16

Postby zoom rader » February 7th, 2025, 9:58 am

MaxPower wrote:Fair is fair…

Either move or be moved.

Waiting for trump to sign executive order

Postby 88sins » February 9th, 2025, 9:25 am

Know what I cannot stand?
If you murder someone, and 30 years pass, you can still be arrested, charged, convicted and sentenced. Same for rape, robbery, theft, fraud, etc.

So why is it we in this place have a law to allow for a person to steal someone's property, (land), and if the thief can hold onto it for 16 years they can claim to have a legal and lawful right to ownership of said stolen property?

Postby 88sins » February 9th, 2025, 9:31 am

All I go say is this
If I see anybody building anything on any of my lands, it's being demolished IMMEDIATELY, and you can bet you're arse I will be taking their backside to court for the cost of the demolition and all my legal fees.

What's needed is to make teefin land a risky and potentially extremely expensive endeavor for the theif , so it acts as a deterrent to the practice.

Postby The_Honourable » June 25th, 2025, 7:51 pm

A growing squatting settlement is rapidly destroying the environmentally sensitive area called the Aripo Savannas.

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=3983257068606367

Postby 88sins » June 26th, 2025, 6:17 am

I get it that property is ridiculously expensive to buy eh, but is squatting really the best solution? Particularly on state land? Especially when you know that if you get caught, (and you most likely will) all the money you spent to put up that structure, little as it may be, will be lost?

Postby Dave » June 26th, 2025, 6:31 am

State lands mean you might get rights after many years.
Are all the homes along the Valencia stretch illegal?
Ackee might be able to shed some light?

Postby *KRONIK* » June 26th, 2025, 6:40 am

88sins wrote:I get it that property is ridiculously expensive to buy eh, but is squatting really the best solution? Particularly on state land? Especially when you know that if you get caught, (and you most likely will) all the money you spent to put up that structure, little as it may be, will be lost?

Nobody does move them tho
Squatters is the real shot callers here

Go wasa and t&tec nah, with your legally obtained and paid for land, and see stress to get a connection

Same squatters will walk in
"Oh, we have a different/special form for you"
And them GT jusso

Postby 88sins » June 26th, 2025, 6:48 am

So, the state says it's illegal, and state agencies saying "doh study dem yuh go get"
How that supposed to work?

Postby pugboy » June 26th, 2025, 7:18 am

ain’t dat the truth

*KRONIK* wrote:
88sins wrote:I get it that property is ridiculously expensive to buy eh, but is squatting really the best solution? Particularly on state land? Especially when you know that if you get caught, (and you most likely will) all the money you spent to put up that structure, little as it may be, will be lost?

Go wasa and t&tec nah, with your legally obtained and paid for land, and see stress to get a connection

And them GT jusso

Postby mero » June 26th, 2025, 7:26 am

Some of fhe biggest land, property owners, farmers and "businessmen" start off as and still living on squat land

Postby *KRONIK* » June 26th, 2025, 7:32 am

88sins wrote:So, the state says it's illegal, and state agencies saying "doh study dem yuh go get"
How that supposed to work?
Exactly how it works:

State: "Aye allyuh cyah doh that"

Also state: "But if allyuh do it, we go handle allyuh still"

Postby *KRONIK* » June 26th, 2025, 7:33 am

pugboy wrote:ain’t dat the truth

*KRONIK* wrote:

And them GT jusso
I have witnessed it many times with my own eyes and ears.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 26th, 2025, 7:34 am

mero wrote:
Some of fhe biggest land, property owners, farmers and "businessmen" start off as and still living on squat land
Yup
Look at the valencia bypass
Its fully populated now; both sides of the street
Grocery, mechanic shop with lift, medical supplies store, all kinda ting now

Postby pugboy » June 26th, 2025, 8:49 am

squatters are probably one of or the most important vote political parties go for
everybody thinks the fence swing votes make the final difference but not necessarily