the right to bear arms

Re: the right to bear arms

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2025, 10:33 am

yuh think some of them 1% could make it the same way in another country with a more level playing field?

hover11 wrote:I keep telling allya I watching this from a rich must get richer perspective ever since I heard those words my whole perspective of this country changed I now understand why the status quo remained the same

Postby hover11 » May 30th, 2025, 10:53 am

Never remember is only in this small island they could play big tantos...big fish in little pond syndrome put them in the ocean with the bigger fish and see
pugboy wrote:yuh think some of them 1% could make it the same way in another country with a more level playing field?

hover11 wrote:I keep telling allya I watching this from a rich must get richer perspective ever since I heard those words my whole perspective of this country changed I now understand why the status quo remained the same

Postby mero » May 30th, 2025, 10:58 am

hover11 wrote:Question if everybody was armed would business owners still have need for security companies and their hefty packages such as the Syrian owned one in particular that is the second largest employer in this country?
Having a gun doesn't make you, your family or your vehicle bulletproof.

Cuz you have a gun you'd feel safe driving around with large sums of cash everyday?

Having a gun don't mean you trained or even ready for a firefight. You in a bulletproof vest 24/7?

Ppl pay for convenience, less risk and peace or mind

Everyone can wash their own car but car washes always full right?

Basic human resources and common sense

Postby hover11 » May 30th, 2025, 11:02 am

mero wrote:
hover11 wrote:Question if everybody was armed would business owners still have need for security companies and their hefty packages such as the Syrian owned one in particular that is the second largest employer in this country?

Cuz you have a gun you'd feel safe driving around with large sums of cash everyday?

Having a gun don't mean you trained or even ready for a firefight. You in a bulletproof vest 24/7?

Well you stay their defenseless I apply for My FUL when bandit come into your home tell them you dont need a firearm

Postby mero » May 30th, 2025, 11:38 am

What that reply have anything to do with the question u ask? Bots malfunctioning yes

Postby mero » May 30th, 2025, 11:39 am

Stand your ground coming soon! Keep allyuh ailing and mentally deteriating family lockup inside.

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2025, 12:46 pm

will take a lil while for ppl to remember to not walk in ppl property so, but eventually they will get the message

i give a begging guy some work monday to just clean up side of property
he ask me if he could get more work later in week
i say ok comeback wednesday and could clean up the back alley
wednesday morning i in the back and he open side gate and walk in back normel

Postby alfa » May 30th, 2025, 1:54 pm

hover11 wrote:Never remember is only in this small island they could play big tantos...big fish in little pond syndrome put them in the ocean with the bigger fish and see
pugboy wrote:yuh think some of them 1% could make it the same way in another country with a more level playing field?

Also a lot of those Syrian Lebanese top shottas in Trinidad couldn't use that as a flex in a big country where real white folks will make them out for middle eastern. Might even be called terrorists.
They ain't never leaving here

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2025, 1:56 pm

jews > arabs

Postby sMASH » May 30th, 2025, 6:13 pm

alfa wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ag-standyourground-legislation-coming-to-parliament-after-midyear-budget-review-6.2.2317588.a22738e144
Stand yuh ground may be coming in later this year

It may not be the stand your ground laws everyone excited about.

Kamz has gaslighted the population and many are eager to empty d clip on a mango tief and walk away squeaky clean…..it may not be that easy
Don't go in nobody yard!

Postby MaxPower » May 30th, 2025, 6:49 pm

sMASH wrote:Don't go in nobody yard!

I totally agree

Postby 88sins » May 30th, 2025, 7:00 pm

You can call it castle doctrine, stand your ground, or pelau on a stick, whatever you think sounds best or coolest or whatever.

But just keep these lil nuggets in the back of your head

You having the right to defend yourself vs you having the ability to defend yourself are two very separate and entirely different things, and you can have a billion differently named pieces of legislation that can even literally guarantee that you are allowed to defend yourself if and when the need arises, but what good is such legislation to you if you are not by law or other mechanisms able to have the access to the necessary tools required for the task?

Forgive me if I have difficulty believing that an armed assailant will retreat if I shout "I invoke castle doctrine/stand your ground" in a firm loud voice or put it on a notice outside the fence/wall in large bold print, with a copy of the legislation attached for good measure.

I've said it before, and I will say it again
The authority for the issuance or terminatiom of FUL's ABSOLUTELY MUST BE REMOVED FROM THE CoP, AND THE TTPS IN GENERAL. Ideally that organization is to have absolutely no input, influence, control or authority over the process.
The locals over the decades who've been the holders of the office of the CoP, and have had all the assistance they could ever want over the course of multiple decades, have proven over the course of half a century to be at best incompetent and inept, and at worst entirely and intentionally corrupt, in the management of this responsibility.
If after half a century the office of the CoP is still somehow showing with a degree of pride and a sense of accomplishment that all the holder of the office can do is jackassness in regards to this one facets of their employment, methinks the best thing to do for the greatest good in general would be to remove that responsibility from that organization, totally, and permanently.

Postby 16 cycles » May 30th, 2025, 9:03 pm

mero wrote:

With or without a legal firearm, risk is same

There is a basic proficiency test. Even police who have firearms as everyday carry are not competent. Some are, some are not. Those who serious would put the time in to minimize their risk and maximize their effective response. Nothing guaranteed, you can still end up in a coffin with John Wick skills.

Postby The_Honourable » June 3rd, 2025, 2:03 pm

Guys... quick question

How exactly TTPS can prosecute a FUL holder who fired a warning shot? You're not allowed to do so?

Article below for context:

'Knife-wielding' neighbour prompts warning shot in St. James—FUL holder held, firearm taken by police

A licensed firearm holder is now facing possible prosecution after allegedly discharging his weapon during a confrontation with a neighbour on Thursday evening in St. James.

According to police reports, around 6:00 p.m. on May 29th, 2025, the firearm user reported that he was in the driveway of his home with his wife, daughter, and brother-in-law when an argument erupted with his neighbour, a 35-year-old of Brunton Street, St. James.

He told police that his neighbour, armed with a knife, was behaving erratically and issued verbal threats against him and his family. He claimed the man advanced onto his private property and continued to threaten him while making stabbing motions with the knife.

Fearing for his life and the safety of his family, the firearm holder said he unholstered his Smith & Wesson M&P .40 calibre pistol loaded with 13 rounds, and fired a warning shot into the air.

Officers responded to the scene, interviewed the parties involved, and later conveyed the FUL holder to the St. James Police Station. There, he was informed of the intention to prosecute. His firearm, along with three magazines and 30 rounds of ammunition, were seized as part of the investigation.

The matter is currently being investigated by PC Phipps of the St. James CID.— Story by Ian Alleyne Network

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2025, 2:16 pm

he shoulda report it asap along with the appropriate story

proper firearm training involves story telling as well

Postby matr1x » June 3rd, 2025, 2:44 pm

pugboy wrote:he shoulda report it asap along with the appropriate story

proper firearm training involves story telling as well

You are very correct.

The minutes after are crucial in the call in are vital in establishing victim/ perp narrative

Postby MaxPower » June 3rd, 2025, 3:06 pm

Yep,

The TTPS is right to seize the firearm and the FUL should be revoked.

Any trained FUL holder can tell you that firing a “warning shot” is NEVER taught in training. When you do not hit your target, a stray bullet can endanger the lives of others. When you discharge to the sky, who collecting that? A hunter in the bush? Someone’s property? Jezus?

Logical thinking:

Which situation is more justified?

Loss of life from a reckless stray bullet?

Or,

Based on a threat presented on YOUR property where aggression and a weapon is also involved…the threat is immobilized.

Revoke the FUL.

Postby mero » June 3rd, 2025, 3:14 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Guys... quick question

How exactly TTPS can prosecute a FUL holder who fired a warning shot? You're not allowed to do so?

Article below for context:

'Knife-wielding' neighbour prompts warning shot in St. James—FUL holder held, firearm taken by police

A licensed firearm holder is now facing possible prosecution after allegedly discharging his weapon during a confrontation with a neighbour on Thursday evening in St. James.

According to police reports, around 6:00 p.m. on May 29th, 2025, the firearm user reported that he was in the driveway of his home with his wife, daughter, and brother-in-law when an argument erupted with his neighbour, a 35-year-old of Brunton Street, St. James.

He told police that his neighbour, armed with a knife, was behaving erratically and issued verbal threats against him and his family. He claimed the man advanced onto his private property and continued to threaten him while making stabbing motions with the knife.

Fearing for his life and the safety of his family, the firearm holder said he unholstered his Smith & Wesson M&P .40 calibre pistol loaded with 13 rounds, and fired a warning shot into the air.

Officers responded to the scene, interviewed the parties involved, and later conveyed the FUL holder to the St. James Police Station. There, he was informed of the intention to prosecute. His firearm, along with three magazines and 30 rounds of ammunition, were seized as part of the investigation.

The matter is currently being investigated by PC Phipps of the St. James CID.— Story by Ian Alleyne Network
There was no knife. This was over garbage literally. Bachanal and ranking ting, usual trini behaviour...

Man just begging not to lose he FUL with that knife talk

Postby alfa » June 3rd, 2025, 5:32 pm

Yeah each shot needs to be accounted for and a warning shot fired into the air can do significant damage miles down.

But even if he didn't pull that dumb move, the protocol is to take your firearm for forensics testing once you engage a threat, justified shooting or not, positive impact or missed shot. There are people who took previous COPs to court to get back same. Hopefully stand your ground would address this

the right to bear arms

Postby MaxPower » June 3rd, 2025, 6:28 pm

mero wrote:There was no knife. This was over garbage literally. Bachanal and ranking ting, usual trini behaviour...

Yep, another Trini who want to pull gun for everything and then have some dotish excuse after.

You could justify planting one in the threat, even if they unarmed…..not offloading in the air like if its some cowboy western sheit and screaming eeee aaah eee aaaah

Trinis want stand yuh ground but bullets exiting the vicinity of dey property and entering that of others or inside them.

This is what makes it bad for others.

More to come.

Postby The_Honourable » June 4th, 2025, 11:05 am

Thanks for the clarification guys

the right to bear arms

Postby MaxPower » June 4th, 2025, 11:27 am

Rule#

Always point your firearm in a safe direction.

FYI, “warning shots” are illegal in some countries.

RISKS AND SAFETY CONCERNS
Firing warning shots is generally not recommended as a safe or effective practice. Firing a warning shot poses several risks and can have serious consequences. Here are some reasons why warning shots may not be a good idea:

Discharging a firearm, even into the air, poses many safety concerns by creating a risk to bystanders. The trajectory of the bullet is unpredictable, and it can come down at a considerable distance from where it was fired. This creates the potential for injury or property damage.

However, warning shots are not meant to be a requirement prior to the use of deadly force. Although the firing of a warning shot is not necessarily legally forbidden, one should be aware that if they fire a warning shot, it is highly likely that their conduct will be judged under the legal standard that they have used deadly force and not just mere force.

LEGAL IMPLICATIONS OF WARNING SHOTS
There are many legal consequences to firing a warning shot. In many jurisdictions, firing a warning shot is considered the use of deadly force. This could lead to legal consequences, as the discharge of a firearm may be subject to more strict regulations. In some cases, it might be treated as a criminal offense, especially if it endangers others.

Michigan gun laws on warning shots are not defined. The term “warning shot” is not in the Michigan Penal Code and not in the Self-Defense Act. Most likely, courts will determine the action of firing a warning shot to be the use of the deadly force standard. The only hope would be to be charged with negligent discharge of a firearm, or a simple assault. Don West, criminal defense attorney and National Trial Counsel for CCW Safe, agrees with Gary Eastridge. “If you fire a gun, as Gary pointed out, you have then employed deadly force.

POTENTIAL FOR ESCALATION
Warning shots may escalate violence in a situation rather than defusing it. If someone perceives the discharge of a firearm as a direct threat, they may respond accordingly, leading to an escalation of violence. The situation may trigger events perceived by the individual as a serious threat to themselves. Fear-inducing events give the person the perception they are under threat or about to lose something of value. The person’s body and mind prepare for a fight. They may respond physically or taunt the perceived threat if it is a person and explode into violent acts against the threat.

There are generally safer and more effective ways to de-escalate a potential threat, such as using verbal communication, seeking cover, or calling for help from law enforcement.

REQUIRED SKILLS AND RESPONSIBILITIES
Firing a warning shot requires skill and training to do so safely. In a stressful situation, accuracy may be compromised, increasing the likelihood of unintended harm. You, as a civilian, should never fire a warning shot. As a responsibly armed citizen, you are responsible for every round you fire downrange. If your warning shot kills someone, YOU'RE RESPONSIBLE.

CONCLUSION
In conclusion, if you find yourself in a situation where you feel threatened, it's essential to prioritize the safety of yourself and others. Seek to de-escalate the situation through communication and, if necessary, retreat to a safe location. It's advisable to rely on proper authorities to handle potentially dangerous situations involving firearms. Warning shots can rightfully be considered deadly force, and you must act reasonably in the use of deadly force. Prepare yourself, know your rights, know the law, and seek legal counsel from a qualified firearms law attorney when needed.

Postby redmanjp » June 4th, 2025, 4:46 pm

There are generally safer and more effective ways to de-escalate a potential threat, such as using verbal communication, seeking cover, or calling for help from law enforcement.

:lol: :lol: we all know the last option not feasible, at least not to protect you or your family- they will arrive in time to either pick u up to send u hospital after being attacked or to put u in a body bag.

Postby pugboy » June 4th, 2025, 5:51 pm

yes many trini suffer from short man small t**** syndrome
but after a few are made examples of i am sure many will straighten out and realise a gun not helping their lack of self esteem

mero wrote:There was no knife. This was over garbage literally. Bachanal and ranking ting, usual trini behaviour...

Yep, another Trini who want to pull gun for everything and then have some dotish excuse after.

You could justify planting one in the threat, even if they unarmed…..not offloading in the air like if its some cowboy western sheit and screaming eeee aaah eee aaaah

Trinis want stand yuh ground but bullets exiting the vicinity of dey property and entering that of others or inside them.

This is what makes it bad for others.

More to come.

Postby alfa » June 6th, 2025, 2:05 pm

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/mexicos ... 6e0c9965b2

So Rowley was part of the crew who wanted to sue US firearms makers instead of blaming his failure of a govt for runaway crime. The lawsuit failed just like his party.
Cuz of him there USA now restricts firearm sales to Trinidad.
Thanks Rowley

Postby MaxPower » June 6th, 2025, 2:53 pm

alfa wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/mexicos-ttbacked-lawsuit-against-us-gunmakers-fails-in-court-6.2.2325907.6e0c9965b2

So Rowley was part of the crew who wanted to sue US firearms makers instead of blaming his failure of a govt for runaway crime. The lawsuit failed just like his party.
Cuz of him there USA now restricts firearm sales to Trinidad.
Thanks Rowley

alf,

Thas ok….T&T could just source elsewhere.

It don’t matter if it gonna be more expensive…that’a what we have tax payers for

Postby 88sins » June 6th, 2025, 3:06 pm

There were always US restrictions against the export of certain types, makes and models of firearms, but yes, he properly jackass the thing

Postby pugboy » June 6th, 2025, 3:24 pm

what are the restrictions?

Postby alfa » June 6th, 2025, 3:47 pm

pugboy wrote:what are the restrictions?

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/05/05/new-us ... l-dealers/

'Military Styled' firearms. But they can use that term to refer to anything they like

Postby pugboy » June 6th, 2025, 4:04 pm

who really buys those locally and who getting variation for that?

alfa wrote:
pugboy wrote:what are the restrictions?

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/05/05/new-us ... l-dealers/

'Military Styled' firearms. But they can use that term to refer to anything they like