Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby bluefete » May 20th, 2025, 3:01 pm

Soooo I passed by Bermudez factory outlet today cause I heard the "tin" is back.

I got a 6.4lb Tin of Crix for $120.00

Would you believe this is $8.00 less than the last price they were selling it for about 4-5 years ago?

Mousie stores people can chime in and tell us the price please.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 20th, 2025, 3:17 pm

bluefete wrote:Soooo I passed by Bermudez factory outlet today cause I heard the "tin" is back.

Would you believe this is $8.00 less than the last price they were selling it for about 4-5 years ago?

WhatsApp Image 2025-05-20 at 3.16.41 PM.jpeg

Postby bluefete » May 20th, 2025, 3:38 pm

bluefete wrote:Soooo I passed by Bermudez factory outlet today cause I heard the "tin" is back.

Doh try that Dizzy. This was back in the Covid-19 days.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 20th, 2025, 4:27 pm

bluefete wrote:

Talk to Kavi Panday not me.
I'm merely searching their product catalogue on the Massy app and that's what they have as at today.

Postby bluefete » May 21st, 2025, 1:29 pm

bluefete wrote:

Talk to Kavi Panday not me.
I'm merely searching their product catalogue on the Massy app and that's what they have as at today.

LOL. No scene bro. It happened to me many times already. That out of stock / sold out online sign is usually not updated until they get new stock.

Postby pugboy » May 21st, 2025, 7:20 pm

lot of stuff in pricesmart is going up
hormel pepperoni is $73
1.36kg shredded mozzarella is $90

Postby 88sins » May 22nd, 2025, 5:57 am

I see they want to restart the rice farming industry. My prediction is that go be a bust.
Simply not enough space to be viable, since rice requires wetlands, and even if a boy owns land in a low lying area, the moment we get fully into the dry season unless he's allowed to pump unlimited water from a nearby river or dam, production will come toma grinding halt.

They really should have looked into boosting ground provision production instead

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2025, 5:59 am

what is the quality of our local rice ?

matix

Postby matix » May 22nd, 2025, 8:26 am

pugboy wrote:what is the quality of our local rice ?

It’s really good, lagoon and hill rice. Small scale farmers have that going strong.

Postby alfa » May 22nd, 2025, 8:58 am

I see the Akaloo family have some massive rice production going on locally

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2025, 9:12 am

i gather the local rice is of nowhere near the quantities to be seen on any large packaged scale in local supermarkets
at least i have never paid attention to it or caught my eye

jasmine rice is expensive and in high demand
no reason why we can’t produce that instead of importing it

Postby alfa » May 22nd, 2025, 11:11 am

I thought was me alone used to eat jasmine rice lol. High glycemic index but goes good with an occasional curry duck

Postby Dizzy28 » May 22nd, 2025, 11:17 am

pugboy wrote:i gather the local rice is of nowhere near the quantities to be seen on any large packaged scale in local supermarkets

According to the article from yesterday on the distribution of rice seeds to local farmers they said rice production locally moved from 2,800 tonnes per annum to 600 tonnes per annum by 2018 and 445 tonnes in 2023.

We import just over 30,000 tonnes annually

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/05/21/minist ... o-farmers/

Postby bluefete » May 22nd, 2025, 3:50 pm

So you were right.

I asked a Bermudez representative in a grocery today, how much the tins were selling for. She said $150.00

This is the same price Mousie Stores was selling at 4-5 years ago. That is why the image has $150.00 but out-of-stock.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 22nd, 2025, 4:19 pm

pugboy wrote:i gather the local rice is of nowhere near the quantities to be seen on any large packaged scale in local supermarkets

According to the article from yesterday on the distribution of rice seeds to local farmers they said rice production locally moved from 2,800 tonnes per annum to 600 tonnes per annum by 2018 and 445 tonnes in 2023.

We import just over 30,000 tonnes annually

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/05/21/minist ... o-farmers/

Just dont let vassant get his hands on it otherwise it might disappear.

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2025, 6:12 am

massy flash sale today
prices a few dollars higher than what the flash sales usually are tho

Postby bluefete » May 23rd, 2025, 7:13 am

pugboy wrote:massy flash sale today
prices a few dollars higher than what the flash sales usually are tho

Massy monitoring this page :D :D :D

death365

Postby death365 » May 23rd, 2025, 12:36 pm

Dog food is now MR. DOG FOOD raised about 4 times in the last 12 to 15 months

Postby hover11 » May 23rd, 2025, 12:39 pm

How many times salaries increased in the last 12 to 15 months

Postby 88sins » May 23rd, 2025, 10:04 pm

hover11 wrote:How many times salaries increased in the last 12 to 15 months

for whom?
The general population? None
Public sector workers,, potentially once, in theory
for politicians - once, by a million times more than what was deserved

My thinking is
do something to lower the basic cost of living, and people will be able to do more with less, stop cranking up the pay and in return have the wider societies industries cranking up prices beyond the increases people receive

snatman

Postby snatman » June 6th, 2025, 11:54 am

Those $70 frozen pizzaa from Massy is pretty darn good for what it is. 100% will buy again.

Postby paid_influencer » June 15th, 2025, 12:49 pm

505576116_1277450837713963_8736104996638585421_n.jpg

popeyes have an absurd amount of fry food for $100 on mondays

this is like going back to the ole days of kfc tuesdays. but now is popeyes mondays

i going to buy and freeze

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 15th, 2025, 1:10 pm

Poopeye does taste good?

Postby K74T » June 15th, 2025, 1:19 pm

Yes

Postby paid_influencer » June 15th, 2025, 1:32 pm

DMan7 wrote:Popeye does taste good?

the chips on point, the sandwich is the best sandwich by far, so yes. very worth it.

the fry chicken on the bone is extremely oily tho. and I 99% sure they giving yuh thighs. it have no eating that and thinking you not clogging yuh arteries.

the customer service at popeyes imo is also very very good fwiw.

$100 yuh cyar go wrong. buy and freeze

Postby bluefete » June 15th, 2025, 6:47 pm

SANTA CRUZ PEOPLE:

Hear dis nah: I passed through Farmers Supermarket today (NOT the Farmers Market much higher up) in Bourg Mulatresse.

Imagine a bale (48) of White Cloud toilet paper selling for $230.00.

12, yes 12, rolls of Snuggle toilet paper is almost $90.00

One roll of toilet paper averages about $7.00 inside there.

But that pricing is working for them because they are expanding the supermarket.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 15th, 2025, 7:05 pm

Ayeee Blue the Supermarket Warrior has returned!

screwbash

Postby screwbash » June 15th, 2025, 8:02 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Popeye does taste good?

the chips on point, the sandwich is the best sandwich by far, so yes. very worth it.

the fry chicken on the bone is extremely oily tho. and I 99% sure they giving yuh thighs. it have no eating that and thinking you not clogging yuh arteries.

the customer service at popeyes imo is also very very good fwiw.

$100 yuh cyar go wrong. buy and freeze

eat up. kamla fixing the health system in TT

Postby bluefete » July 13th, 2025, 12:07 pm

Dave: I am not sure when next you will pass through this thread. Hear dis nah.

Just now we would not be able to afford to live where we live. 1% taking over.

So opposite Carib is that new mall - Royal Castle right next door to Wendy's with a bar-b-que place on the other end. LOl.

Down the road by Food Basket is Church's chicken and company.

Wifey saying real estate price will increase. That is a good thing.

I got some seriously good pineapples last week 3/$20 from that youngster opposite Lok Jack.

Also coconut vendors by Grand Bazaar selling 3 2L for $120.00

Postby Dave » July 14th, 2025, 7:06 pm

Lol at least the real estate is up

That new strip mall could mean epic traffic for ppl entering and exiting to that already bust spot on an evening.

West bees is the rumour for the bigger spot next to Bicks.

We shall see.....