Re: UNC in govt 2025-2030!!!

Postby The_Honourable » May 12th, 2025, 11:14 am

PSA boss giving Govt time to settle in

... but believes PM will keep her word on minimum 10% wage hike

Public Services Association president Felisha Thomas says the union is not being lenient with the new Kamla Persad-Bissessar United National Congress-led Government, but is giving them time to settle in before making good on its promise of a wage increase of 10 per cent.

Responding to questions on Friday about whether the union had yet approached the Government for talks on impending negotiations, Thomas said the union understood that only a week had passed since the Government entered office. She added that while the Government needed time, she could not say how much of a grace period she was willing to give the Government.

However, Thomas said, “I am confident that the Prime Minister will hold to her commitment, and she actually said that yesterday (last Thursday) at the press conference that they will find it, so we are patient. We have been waiting, we have been fighting against the four per cent and now a better day is before us. We await the Prime Minister’s news that they are ready to commence the negotiation with no less than 10 per cent.”

During a media briefing on Thursday, Persad-Bissessar, when asked about the promise to pay public servants a 10 per cent increase during the UNC’s election campaign, said, “We will make it happen. We will find the money and we will make it happen.”

The PSA was adamant that it was not accepting the four and five per cent offers by the former People’s National Movement (PNM) government. The rejection began with former leader Leroy Baptiste and was followed by Thomas.

Asked if the union was being lenient as Baptiste is now Labour Minister, Thomas, who took the UNC’s election platform to campaign against the PNM, said no.

“The labour movement waited 10 years under the PNM. Workers suffered for 10 years under the PNM, so being lenient with a UNC Government that has said to us that they will start negotiations with no less than 10 per cent, that’s not being lenient with a Government that has only taken office one week. That’s being reasonable.”

Thomas added that the Cabinet should be given time to “get into their business.” She stressed she will not give the Government a time frame to make good on its promise.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/psa-bos ... 4ae4a35fe5

Postby mero » May 12th, 2025, 11:17 am

Why allyuh vex with me for? I vote PF

Since 2015, everyday allyuh crying and complaining. Why allyuh not sounding any happier? Hover done calculate backpay, BIG MOOD

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2025, 11:21 am

mero wrote:Why allyuh vex with me for? I vote PF

Since 2015, everyday allyuh crying and complaining. Why allyuh not sounding any happier? Hover done calculate backpay, BIG MOOD
Mero is a clown. You proud to say you vote for PF you waste your vote pal. Better you did vote for kezel. Real leader going to show how to run a country study you were the same one who said PNM doesn't deserve to win another election yet you were defending them to the end election season yet you voted for Mickela. Faker than a three dollar bill this one

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2025, 11:21 am

mero wrote:Why allyuh vex with me for? I vote PF

We not vex with u. U speweth the acid froth, and we apply the Andrews.
Its u that seem to be exhibiting volcanic behavior.

Calm ur self pappy. 5 years now start

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2025, 11:24 am

Mero is like a woman who throwing a tantrum yet when ppl calls her out on her outrageous behavior claiming victim blaming

Postby mero » May 12th, 2025, 11:39 am

But allyuh crying more now than when PNM was in power.

UNC win and hover-bot more unproductive now than ever. Skin back season start, BIG MOOD

Smash have no back pay or salary increase to get cuz he works no where and draws no pay years now. Yet he thinks he is the one applying Andrews. Yet they want to beat up d dawg mero

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2025, 11:42 am

Wehhh Wehhh wehhh.
Cry cry baby , wala wala dumplin.

5 more years bro. Man up

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2025, 11:52 am

mero wrote:But allyuh crying more now than when PNM was in power.

UNC win and hover-bot more unproductive now than ever. Skin back season start, BIG MOOD

Smash have no back pay or salary increase to get cuz he works no where and draws no pay years now. Yet he thinks he is the one applying Andrews. Yet they want to beat up d dawg mero
It is because UNC now has to clean up the shite that PNM left for them to deal with. Who fault is it that the budget is not due for another six months yet ministry allocation done already for the financial year? Is the UNC fault right? Who borrow 500 million last month in the face of elections knowing fully they wasn't going back there , the UNC? Who left all salary negotiations on hold and now the workers want their just dues they frustrated no MC, the UNC ent.....bai sum wrong with you

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2025, 12:06 pm

Kamla: Expect ‘serious revelations’
PM speaks on 2024 Auditor General’s report

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... qKf6G8jApA

Where mero , how he going to spin and defend this?

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2025, 4:49 pm

i wonder if it is possible to strong arm big forex earners to bring their usd monies home
we have a few big companies doing big exports
snacks and food stuffs

a start would be making it legal to have and use currencies other than ttd

having it simply outlawed and illegal is total discouragement to anybody to bring money back

hover11 wrote:If we don't find one the integrity if the economy will collapse
pugboy wrote:right now we really looking desperate looking for a gas deal donor all how

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2025, 4:55 pm

Doubt it every big player in the game trying to hide and horde their forex. We in a shiteeee predicament. The dollar not strong if we don't get a gas deal quick the economy gonna tank worse than it already is. Soon the government will have to either cutting back or more than likely borrowing to meet their commitments
pugboy wrote:i wonder if it is possible to strong arm big forex earners to bring their usd monies home
we have a few big companies doing big exports
snacks and food stuffs

a start would be making it legal to have and use currencies other than ttd

having it simply outlawed and illegal is total discouragement to anybody to bring money back

pugboy wrote:right now we really looking desperate looking for a gas deal donor all how

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2025, 5:21 pm

And that is why wasting time and effort on dragon was was such a bone headed decision.

WE NEED GAS . USA WOULD NOT LET WE USE VENE GAS

...To the pnm duncy heads knuckle daggers

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2025, 5:43 pm

Just a reminder to all:

NO CAL AUDITED ACCOUNTS SINCE 2015

We are in 2025

UNC in govt 2025-2030!!!

Postby MaxPower » May 12th, 2025, 8:27 pm

hover11 wrote:Doubt it every big player in the game trying to hide and horde their forex. We in a shiteeee predicament. The dollar not strong if we don't get a gas deal quick the economy gonna tank worse than it already is. Soon the government will have to either cutting back or more than likely borrowing to meet their commitments

Jason,

If we do not get a deal quick, do you think your backpay is a priority right now?

UNderstand the difference between Promise and Survival.

Borrowing money has its consequences.

Borrowing money to pay backpay may not be logical at this time. Borrowing to invest initially and then make payments and commitments at a later period may be more favorable to save the economy.

Time is needed to make money and you may very well be waiting for that money under a PNM government.

Jason, you have been waiting for years for this break through, are you prepared to wait another few years if required of you?

Hold strain

Postby st7 » May 12th, 2025, 8:41 pm

hover11 wrote:Doubt it every big player in the game trying to hide and horde their forex. We in a shiteeee predicament. The dollar not strong if we don't get a gas deal quick the economy gonna tank worse than it already is. Soon the government will have to either cutting back or more than likely borrowing to meet their commitments

Jason,

If we do not get a deal quick, do you think your backpay is a priority right now?

Borrowing money to pay backpay may not be logical at this time. Borrowing to invest initially and then make payments and commitments at a later period may be more favorable to save the economy.

Time is needed to make money and you may very well be waiting for that money under a PNM government.

Jason, you have been waiting for years for this break through, are you prepared to wait another few years if required of you?

Hold strain

he had no ambition to leave when he complain for that many years, of course he would wait lol

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2025, 8:58 pm

Jason,

Hold strain
Max tell me how you would stimulate the economy otherwise because last time I checked if the government pays what it owes workers these workers would then spend as their disposable income would grow would that not stimulate the economy and encourage growth?

Postby MaxPower » May 12th, 2025, 9:07 pm

hover11 wrote:Max tell me how you would stimulate the economy otherwise because last time I checked if the government pays what it owes workers these workers would then spend as their disposable income would grow would that not stimulate the economy and encourage growth?

Jason,

In a way yes, but if the amount of stimulation and growth makes a significant impact…then Govts would forever be raising salaries to get the growth you talking about if it was so fantastic. It don’t work so.

You stimulate the economy if you are in a position to do so. You need money to stimulate.

Make money to stimulate and then compensate son.

Postby st7 » May 12th, 2025, 9:29 pm

you want to stimulate the economy -- govt workers need to become efficient. efficiency brings effectiveness.

and also, set a low threshold for them financiers importing everything we can grow here, and buy locally.

that backpay not spilling back into trinidad economy, daz for sure.

Postby MaxPower » May 12th, 2025, 9:53 pm

st7 wrote:you want to stimulate the economy -- govt workers need to become efficient. efficiency brings effectiveness.

and also, set a low threshold for them financiers importing everything we can grow here, and buy locally.

that backpay not spilling back into trinidad economy, daz for sure.

Excellent points.

I think right now we need to focus on making some money first. Invest all that money for election “promises” in economy growth. ALL them Govt workers hadda start to pull their weight.

T&T needs to GET productive.

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2025, 10:07 pm

suppose the govt offer bonds with interest of some sort to these owed backpay persons ?
would a lot of the public servants take them
instead of full instant money which would plunge the country into further debt?

BUT on the other hand we can be sure ferris fadda in law gets his rent paid on time

hover11 wrote:Max tell me how you would stimulate the economy otherwise because last time I checked if the government pays what it owes workers these workers would then spend as their disposable income would grow would that not stimulate the economy and encourage growth?

Jason,

In a way yes, but if the amount of stimulation and growth makes a significant impact…then Govts would forever be raising salaries to get the growth you talking about if it was so fantastic. It don’t work so.

You stimulate the economy if you are in a position to do so. You need money to stimulate.

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2025, 10:11 pm

Exactly because backpay is something that is owed you have to give something and the longer it takes is the more that is owed. Also they can increase the salaries and worry about the backpay after. However you can't tell me you have the money to pay millions in rent on time every month but nothing for the wage bill. St7 made a point about government workers should be more efficient what is the motivation to be more efficient when your salary hasn't increased in 10 years please tell us. It easy to say such when you are not a public servant
pugboy wrote:suppose the govt offer bonds with interest of some sort to these owed backpay persons ?
would a lot of the public servants take them
instead of full instant money which would plunge the country into further debt?

BUT on the other hand we can be sure ferris fadda in law gets his rent paid on time

Jason,

Postby sMASH » May 12th, 2025, 10:48 pm

That the next ting; if they can't get the refinery producing quickly, then settle backpay and stimulate this economy .

Prolly should pull a trump and increase the import tax to drive that new spending on locally sourced things.
I would just carry the exchange rate to 10:1

Postby The_Honourable » May 12th, 2025, 11:12 pm

sMASH wrote:That the next ting; if they can't get the refinery producing quickly, then settle backpay and stimulate this economy .

Prolly should pull a trump and increase the import tax to drive that new spending on locally sourced things.

bro... 10:1!? That will shock the economy.

If any change on the exchange rate, it should be incremental. A rate of 7:1 is a good starting point.

Black market prices averaging 8:1 have already been priced in imported products years now. We can slowly work up to that rate if necessary.

Postby hover11 » May 12th, 2025, 11:34 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
sMASH wrote:That the next ting; if they can't get the refinery producing quickly, then settle backpay and stimulate this economy .

If any change on the exchange rate, it should be incremental. A rate of 7:1 is a good starting point.

Black market prices averaging 8:1 have already been priced in imported products years now. We can slowly work up to that rate if necessary.
Honorable,

Don't youthink we wasted time with pnm over the last 10 years to have that incremental change? We reach a point where we can no longer kick the can down the road as we running out of road

Postby The_Honourable » May 13th, 2025, 1:17 am

hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Honorable,

Don't you think we wasted time with pnm over the last 10 years to have that incremental change? We reach a point where we can no longer kick the can down the road as we running out of road

Yeah well before you run out of road, you don't want to run off the road.

10:1 is drastic and will make Imbert look right in his arguments against it.

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2025, 5:41 am

10:1 will shock. So it has to be done piece by piece .. Over the course of a few years.

The biggest problem about what Trump did was massive shock to the system . It worked to get the world leaders begging , but resulted it so much losses it was a dumb move.

So, is to figure out if u can get the refinery up, to know which action to take.

But since 2010 I was saying our exchange rate need to be 10:1

daring dragoon

More $$ cuts - Blood Bath Start

Postby daring dragoon » May 13th, 2025, 6:05 am

More $$ cuts
PM puts hold on govt advertising, car purchases; to review State enterprises, other spending

It has begun. Stuart warned us by allyuh still vote yellow. she will cut jobs in a short while. yuh go see stuart was right when he say contract workers be prepared. daily paid and cepep after.

Re: More $$ cuts - Blood Bath Start

Postby hover11 » May 13th, 2025, 6:28 am

Good move , those advertising boasting of ministries initiatives don't make any financial sense. They mostly serve as a way to give back to the PNM financial 1% supporters. Like I said before if the government doesn't spend expect private sector to suffer because they are the ones who profit when government spends.

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2025, 7:29 am

starting refinery is pie in sky
lot of stuff was stolen for scrap or rusted out and would be in disrepair time warp like a chernobyl site

Postby hover11 » May 13th, 2025, 9:05 am

Minister of Homeland Security Roger Alexander says he intends to meet with officials in and out of the region to discuss matters of safety and security, as he stressed the need for a firm response to criminality.

For more…
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/alexand ... c6290bf120