*** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Who do you believe will win General Elections 2025?

Poll ended at April 28th, 2025, 9:17 pm

People's National Movement (PNM)
48%
United National Congress (UNC) + Coalition of Interests (PEP, COP, OWTU, LOVE)
44%
Patriotic Front (PF)
4%
Tie/Deadlock
4%

Total votes: 48

Re: *** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Postby The_Honourable » May 2nd, 2025, 12:40 am

Recount most likely will finish later today.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ebc-say ... e5c335c7ba

Imagine lowest voter turnout on record and the recount eh done yet

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 2nd, 2025, 4:46 am

watson boi wey yuh be? yuh taut farly cudnt win but he mash up the dance without yuh. yuh give the man d proverbial knife and he use it to destroy you and claim yuh kingdom. you is one arse.

Postby zoom rader » May 2nd, 2025, 5:00 am

pugboy wrote:ain’t dat the truth
nobody wants to hear about money down the road

but she talk about the eat ah food scene today
so lewwe give she the benefit of doubt for the while

MG Man wrote:thousands have put their faith in kamla....I really hope she doesn't disappoint them
Well she better not play with black folk

Zoom,

This 5 year term is take what you could get and buss out.

Financiers cannot risk being out of power for another set of years.
Kams has leant from the past on having injuns in suits.

Margaret Thatcher was faced with the same with her first term in office. She immediately flushed the parasites from her tory government.

Postby hover11 » May 2nd, 2025, 6:24 am

The_Honourable wrote:Recount most likely will finish later today.

This is making me think that PNM lost more seats because the maths not mathsing why is a recount which is usually done in hours now spanning for days

Postby sMASH » May 2nd, 2025, 6:32 am

hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Recount most likely will finish later today.

This is making me think that PNM lost more seats because the maths not mathsing why is a recount which is usually done in hours now spanning for days
It could, if it have questionable ballots that all sides arguing for and against.
Like the x touching the line and both sides want it.

The ebc initials not clear so one side want to disqualify it

U hadda have sensible polling agents to fight on ur behalf in the counting phase.

Postby The_Honourable » May 2nd, 2025, 9:57 am

daring dragoon wrote:watson boi wey yuh be? yuh taut farly cudnt win but he mash up the dance without yuh. yuh give the man d proverbial knife and he use it to destroy you and claim yuh kingdom. you is one arse.

Yeah the PDP got soundly rejected. Watson's real test is later this year for THA elections. If PDP underperforms and he looses his seat, it's over.

Postby sMASH » May 2nd, 2025, 4:10 pm

Tobago gonna give tpp a chance to prove themselves.
They not gonna jump the gun on such small time scales jess to go back to nonsense.

Pep done.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 3rd, 2025, 6:36 am

The_Honourable wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:watson boi wey yuh be? yuh taut farly cudnt win but he mash up the dance without yuh. yuh give the man d proverbial knife and he use it to destroy you and claim yuh kingdom. you is one arse.

Yeah the PDP got soundly rejected. Watson's real test is later this year for THA elections. If PDP underperforms and he looses his seat, it's over.

Time to proceed with the rape case. Like it get dismissed like section 34.

eitech

Postby eitech » May 3rd, 2025, 7:04 am

Wait i tort kezel was fielding candidates too. I see she up and gone singapoer. No name on ballot box nutten

Postby hover11 » May 3rd, 2025, 7:39 am

eitech wrote:Wait i tort kezel was fielding candidates too. I see she up and gone singapoer. No name on ballot box nutten
Ppl was actually taking kezel serious?

Postby pugboy » May 3rd, 2025, 8:01 am

she and duke need to get back together and live happily ever after
we don’t need to see or hear them

Postby zoom rader » May 3rd, 2025, 8:44 am

Still no Eliteauto

This man brings the worst PNM bloggers on tuner the likes of Redman, Habit7 & Wing

Years ago, there was other idiots RASC & rafri.

Habit7 took a beating where other tuners disproved and refurted his post, he looked as other Idiot.

Postby MaxPower » May 3rd, 2025, 8:49 am

I studying my MP of Point Fortin.

Man did alot, rel nice guy, beautiful family and very active in engaging the people and community.

Point Fortians turned their back on him and went yellow.

Postby hover11 » May 3rd, 2025, 8:53 am

MaxPower wrote:I studying my MP of Point Fortin.

Man did alot, rel nice guy, beautiful family and very active in engaging the people and community.

Ppl voted on party this time max not person

Postby MaxPower » May 3rd, 2025, 8:59 am

hover11 wrote:

Ppl voted on party this max not person

Yeh Jason thats true, you was right all along.

People were really fed up.

Postby zoom rader » May 3rd, 2025, 9:07 am

PNM lost elections cause they are owned and controlled by the 1%.

Pnm stepped on the little man, taxed everyone while 1% grew and evaded paying taxes.

Forex, 1% had controll over this

1. Economic Issues

Economic Performance: One of the primary reasons for a political party’s loss is the economic situation under its governance. If the economy is struggling—whether due to falling oil prices (since Trinidad and Tobago is an oil-exporting country), mismanagement, or global economic trends—voters may hold the incumbent party accountable.

Unemployment and Inflation: High unemployment rates, rising inflation, or a lack of economic opportunities can erode voter confidence, especially if the public feels the ruling party has not delivered on promises of economic prosperity.

2. Corruption Scandals

Perception of Corruption: Political scandals, corruption allegations, or accusations of mismanagement can damage the credibility of a political party. If voters perceive that the ruling party is corrupt or out of touch with the common people, they might turn to the opposition in hopes of change.

Failure to Address Corruption: Even if a party is not directly involved in corruption, a failure to effectively address corruption within its ranks can hurt its reputation.

3. Leadership Issues

Leadership Challenges: Leadership changes, infighting within the party, or poor leadership decisions can weaken a political party. The charisma and effectiveness of the leader play a crucial role in elections. If the party's leader is seen as ineffective, uninspiring, or out of touch, it can contribute to electoral defeat.

Unpopular Prime Minister/Leader: In many elections, the Prime Minister’s popularity is a major factor. If the sitting Prime Minister or leader of the PNM loses public support, it can significantly hurt the party’s chances of victory.

4. Opposition Unity and Appeal

Effective Opposition: If the opposition parties unite or offer a strong, credible alternative to the PNM, it can lead to the party’s downfall. The opposition's ability to present a compelling narrative of change and improvements can sway undecided voters.

5. Public Dissatisfaction with Policies

Policy Failures: If voters feel the ruling party has not delivered on key promises—whether it's healthcare, education, crime, or infrastructure—this dissatisfaction can lead to electoral losses. Public frustration with unresolved issues, like crime rates or health system failures, often plays a large role in elections.

Social Inequality: Voters may also feel that the benefits of economic growth are not reaching all segments of society, leading to calls for change.

6. International Factors

Global Economic Trends: Global events, like fluctuations in oil prices or external economic crises, can affect domestic politics in oil-dependent countries like Trinidad and Tobago. A downturn in the global economy can have a direct impact on the country’s budget, leading to austerity measures that are unpopular with voters.

Foreign Policy Missteps: Poor international relations or policy failures can also harm the credibility of a ruling party, especially if it affects national security or economic well-being.

7. Voter Behavior

Low Turnout: Sometimes, even if a party does well in terms of securing votes, low voter turnout among its base or a high turnout among opposition supporters can contribute to a loss.

Shifting Demographics: Changing demographics—such as younger voters coming into the electorate who are dissatisfied with the status quo—can also lead to a shift in voting patterns, often away from long-standing political parties.

PNM abused Citizens

Petrotrin killed South
Last edited by zoom rader on May 3rd, 2025, 9:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » May 3rd, 2025, 9:08 am

hover11 wrote:

Max i told you the last straw that broke the camel's back was that 47 percent increase in salaries for doing absolutely nothing. You don't play with the working class we put you there to work for us and we will remove you if we see you not performing

Postby alfa » May 3rd, 2025, 9:43 am

hover11 wrote:

Hooves and zoom does be right about plenty thing but people just refuse to believe

Postby The_Honourable » May 3rd, 2025, 11:14 am

A bold take by Kevin Baldeosingh

The UNC won the election with the second lowest voter turnout in T&T history (54%). Just 29% of the electorate voted UNC, which means the party has no political capital to push through drastic reforms.

But the UNC will lose the next election if it doesn't change the electoral system, since PNM voters will come out in 2030 and it was only their refusal to vote that gave UNC 26 seats to PNM's 13.

If I understand the constitutional provisions, the FPTP can be changed with a simple majority and the constituencies system with the cooperation of the TPP with a two-thirds majority.

If they don't do this, the UNC chicken is curried.

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/19K7TZLgN3/

Postby matr1x » May 3rd, 2025, 11:19 am

The real question hasn't been asked yet.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 3rd, 2025, 11:55 am

The more I look at it the more I believe PNM wanted to lose this election. Even Stuart's appointment was shaky.

That could only mean that things truly dire and they don't want to be holding the smoking gun.

eitech

Postby eitech » May 3rd, 2025, 1:12 pm

Redress10 wrote:The more I look at it the more I believe PNM wanted to lose this election. Even Stuart's appointment was shaky.

That could only mean that things truly dire and they don't want to be holding the smoking gun.

Same sentiment here. For the country sake i hope not. Auntie kam go hada renege on some of her promises. Daz when bacchanal go start. Hopefully the population will understand

Postby Dizzy28 » May 3rd, 2025, 1:59 pm

Ppl who think only the PNM was ruled by the 1% going to be in for a rude awakening

Postby hover11 » May 3rd, 2025, 2:02 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Ppl who think only the PNM was ruled by the 1% going to be in for a rude awakening
I rather the party that gave more to the regular citizens than the one who only tended to the needs of the 1 percent. I don't care who serves the 1 percent tbh but don't neglect your working class and your ppl on the ground

Postby Gladiator » May 3rd, 2025, 3:10 pm

Pease list the things that he did...

Postby The_Honourable » May 3rd, 2025, 3:12 pm

Recount confirms PNM win in Malabar/Mausica

The Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) has confirmed that the outcome of the Malabar/Mausica seat in the 2025 general election remains largely unchanged following a recount requested by the United National Congress (UNC).

Following the recount, Dominic Romain of the People’s National Movement (PNM) maintained his lead with 7,691 votes. His closest rival, the UNC’s Dominic Smith, secured 7,437 votes. The Patriotic Front received 834 votes, and there were 45 rejected ballots.

More: https://www.cnc3.co.tt/recount-confirms ... r-mausica/

Strong case that Mickela split the votes for this seat

Postby paid_influencer » May 3rd, 2025, 3:33 pm

that 'lowest voter turn out on record' thing based on absolute numbers, or as a % of the ridiculous 1.1 million voters number?

population shrinking every year but number of voters going up up towards the sky. yes voters going up into heaven to vote, ebc need to declare heaven as a constituency. also hell

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2025, 4:03 pm

The_Honourable wrote:A bold take by Kevin Baldeosingh

The UNC won the election with the second lowest voter turnout in T&T history (54%). Just 29% of the electorate voted UNC, which means the party has no political capital to push through drastic reforms.

But the UNC will lose the next election if it doesn't change the electoral system, since PNM voters will come out in 2030 and it was only their refusal to vote that gave UNC 26 seats to PNM's 13.

If I understand the constitutional provisions, the FPTP can be changed with a simple majority and the constituencies system with the cooperation of the TPP with a two-thirds majority.

If they don't do this, the UNC chicken is curried.

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/19K7TZLgN3/

He is one racist biased Mc.

Unc kept increasing votes. 2020 was higher than 2015 , 2025 higher than 2020.

The third and independent did as normal .

Its pnm that stayed away, they got less in 2020 than 2015 .

They also lost the THA , and I think fewer corporations in the lge(I can be wrong , but the moruga had saved them)

Unc attracted increasingly more people . Pnm discouraging more and more people

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 3rd, 2025, 4:10 pm

The_Honourable wrote:The Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) has confirmed that the outcome of the Malabar/Mausica seat in the 2025 general election remains largely unchanged following a recount requested by the United National Congress (UNC).

Following the recount, Dominic Romain of the People’s National Movement (PNM) maintained his lead with 7,691 votes. His closest rival, the UNC’s Dominic Smith, secured 7,437 votes. The Patriotic Front received 834 votes, and there were 45 rejected ballots.

More: https://www.cnc3.co.tt/recount-confirms ... r-mausica/

Strong case that Mickela split the votes for this seat

I could be wrong, but I think the same applies for the Marvin gonzales seat

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2025, 4:12 pm

eitech wrote:
Redress10 wrote:The more I look at it the more I believe PNM wanted to lose this election. Even Stuart's appointment was shaky.

Same sentiment here. For the country sake i hope not. Auntie kam go hada renege on some of her promises. Daz when bacchanal go start. Hopefully the population will understand
Things are dire yes. But an intelligent party can turn it around. Not prosper, but steady it from crashing.

Pnm didn't have competence to handle a tricky economy. They wanted to lose the 2020 but dummies came out in force..

This time they took no chances and said all kinda madness, put the controversial leader , made sure and make it look controversial with the penny bypass . Did the salary spike . Kept on saying u have to cut back , kept on telling workers they deserve less.

If pnm had gotten tru now, they would have no excuse for crashing the country , cause is on 10 years of pnm ground work.

Thets why I kinda wanted them to get this 5 years... Pnm would have sealed their fate forever.

What is up to do now, is unc to do a good job, a d every step of the way , remind the population of how incompetent the pnm is... Morning noon and night. U must dream unc fix it pnm will mash it up.