T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby Gladiator » March 10th, 2025, 8:14 pm

Tezzadude wrote:I'm surprised no one talked about the Rexton that a customer parked up at lifestyle because of a software issue and a leaky sunroof which went to court.

I also saw some weird GWM suv today where the wheels were so small, it seems too narrow for the wheel housing. It looks so disproportionate to the wheel well itself that the designs looks unfinished.

re the Ssangyong, owner seems to be a bit of a tool, based on the press article...complained about a CEL that turned out to be a driver assist warning for when the car detects you not paying attention
Re the sunroof, the judge is an aas for saying 'that should be expected'
He should have said it's a warranty issue that the dealer needs to address promptly, and not grounds for a replacement vehicle

If you ever had to deal with that company on a warranty issue you might understand his frustration. They are totally incompetent, have no care whatsoever for the customer once they have your money, they couldn't care less about your inconvenience, they are perfectly fine keeping a warranty issue going for 6-8 months, they don't care about feedback or negative publicity and nobody ever knows anything about your warranty case. They make Southern Sales look like guardian angels...

Postby MG Man » March 18th, 2025, 12:18 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Tezzadude wrote:I'm surprised no one talked about the Rexton that a customer parked up at lifestyle because of a software issue and a leaky sunroof which went to court.

I also saw some weird GWM suv today where the wheels were so small, it seems too narrow for the wheel housing. It looks so disproportionate to the wheel well itself that the designs looks unfinished.

re the Ssangyong, owner seems to be a bit of a tool, based on the press article...complained about a CEL that turned out to be a driver assist warning for when the car detects you not paying attention
He should have said it's a warranty issue that the dealer needs to address promptly, and not grounds for a replacement vehicle

If you ever had to deal with that company on a warranty issue you might understand his frustration. They are totally incompetent, have no care whatsoever for the customer once they have your money, they couldn't care less about your inconvenience, they are perfectly fine keeping a warranty issue going for 6-8 months, they don't care about feedback or negative publicity and nobody ever knows anything about your warranty case. They make Southern Sales look like guardian angels...

did you read the part about the 'warning light' that he complained about?

Postby Gladiator » March 18th, 2025, 8:24 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Yes he seems to be a tool... but that company is the absolute worst.

Postby MG Man » March 19th, 2025, 11:46 am

Gladiator wrote:

Yes he seems to be a tool... but that company is the absolute worst.

u read the part where I said the judge should have promptly dealt with it as a warranty issue right
My issue isn't the dealership service...it's the poor judgement by the court...the judge basically said 'well we road dem bad, so yuh mus expect dem ting to leak', when he should said it's unacceptable for a customer to receive substandard service for issues that should be fully rectified under warranty, in a prompt and transparent manner, as per the terms of said warranty
My issue isn't re LSM

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 19th, 2025, 2:41 pm

"It was in April 2023 that Ramkissoon complained of a warning light on the dashboard. This turned out to be the driver attention alert feature. The company found no faults in the system in relation to this light and it was turned off."

"One of the technicians stated that he found a teaspoon of water in the cabin light, and it was also stated that there was no damage to the upholstery. The technicians outlined how they dealt with the water issue.

The court concluded that when testing was done on that day, no leak was discovered.

The claimant returned the following day, and Seepersad found that this was more based on the report that was given to him rather than concerns about the sunroof and the claimed leak.

'The claimant felt strongly that the report of the 8th (August) did not accurately reflect all his concerns,' Seepersad said.

Ramkissoon was issued a courtesy vehicle while his vehicle was kept at the company where further water testing was done on the vehicle. No leaks were found.

A minor adjustment was made in the area of the sunroof as it was noted there was shifting."

Really not seeing no bad response from the dealer.

And i cannot see why the whole vehicle shoube replaced

The man even got a courtesy car

Not seeing much wrong with the court either

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 19th, 2025, 2:46 pm

As to the courts response
Nothing wrong there at all

"While it was hinted that it may have been buyer's remorse or a level of frustration, the court however noted that some of Ramkissoon's concerns over the report should have been addressed by the company in a more proactive manner.

'Customers need to always feel that they are heard and that their legitimate concerns are being recorded and addressed, and it is really the report that catalysed the sequence of events which occurred on the 9th (August 2023) and the spiral downwards that occurred thereafter,' Seepersad said.

The judge however found the water was not so fundamental an issue that it impacted upon the vehicle, and Seepersad concluded that the claimant had not discharged a burden of proof.

The court was unable to find that the vehicle was not of merchantable quality or fit for purpose."

Postby MG Man » March 20th, 2025, 4:49 pm

somewhere in that ruling, the court basically said we roads bad so doh be vex if yuh sunroof start to leak
That's bs

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 20th, 2025, 5:14 pm

From a common-sense perspective, too, it didn't come up in the trial, but one always has to wonder if some of these features are designed for the type of roads, or what passes as roads here, because you go into one of these potholes and you have a vehicle vibrating in a way that one does not expect

This what was said still doh see nothing wrong there

Postby MG Man » March 21st, 2025, 9:17 am

PariaMan wrote:From a common-sense perspective, too, it didn't come up in the trial, but one always has to wonder if some of these features are designed for the type of roads, or what passes as roads here, because you go into one of these potholes and you have a vehicle vibrating in a way that one does not expect

still nope. Modern vehicles are tested rigorously for NVH. You should see some roads in Europe
It was clearly a warranty defect that should have been addressed promptly. A judge saying our bad roads can cause damage without understanding anything about vehicles sets a very bad precedent

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 21st, 2025, 11:01 am

So you saying bad road doh damage vehicles?

Ok full speed on the Blanchicheusse and Naparima Roads no need to slow down for potholes

Capleton

Postby Capleton » March 26th, 2025, 9:46 am

PariaMan wrote:From a common-sense perspective, too, it didn't come up in the trial, but one always has to wonder if some of these features are designed for the type of roads, or what passes as roads here, because you go into one of these potholes and you have a vehicle vibrating in a way that one does not expect

still nope. Modern vehicles are tested rigorously for NVH. You should see some roads in Europe
It was clearly a warranty defect that should have been addressed promptly. A judge saying our bad roads can cause damage without understanding anything about vehicles sets a very bad precedent

but didn't LSM address the issue for the gentleman under warranty when he raised the issue?

zando

Postby zando » April 1st, 2025, 6:18 pm

Good article here to read Incase anyone is interested about how Nissan learnt from the Chinese automakers .

https://insideevs.com/features/755181/n ... velopment/

Capleton

Postby Capleton » April 4th, 2025, 10:56 am

Saw Kia launched the EV5 at $371K (400km ) and $416K (550km). Kinda directly competes with the KGM Torres EVX. EVX is now $355K with a better warranty though.

EV5 styling will have to grow on me though.

blacklight

Postby blacklight » April 6th, 2025, 5:08 am

Capleton wrote:Saw Kia launched the EV5 at $371K (400km ) and $416K (550km). Kinda directly competes with the KGM Torres EVX. EVX is now $355K with a better warranty though.

EV5 styling will have to grow on me though.

Test Drove it......and it's nice. My only concern is that the steering wheel is really light with not much road feedback...feels floaty. Otherwise, it's a good contender in this segment.

Postby nervewrecker » April 7th, 2025, 3:42 pm

What's the price on the Honda E? Saw a yellow in San Fernando and fell in love with it.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 12th, 2025, 9:00 am

nervewrecker wrote:What's the price on the Honda E? Saw a yellow in San Fernando and fell in love with it.

$220k at Bess Motors

Postby nemisis » April 20th, 2025, 6:25 pm

Quick Question. Where does one go locally to buy the level 2 wall box type EV chargers locally in Trinidad as I am seeing a lot of full electrics coming into the country.

Postby j.o.e » April 21st, 2025, 4:53 am

nemisis wrote:Quick Question. Where does one go locally to buy the level 2 wall box type EV chargers locally in Trinidad as I am seeing a lot of full electrics coming into the country.

I dunno where sells them but they are available tax free on Amazon and some dealerships bundle them free with the car

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 27th, 2025, 9:50 pm

Anyone know if the 2.0 ford rangers sold here are wet timing belt engines?
If it is... That is sad

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » May 3rd, 2025, 3:11 am

Why is that sad? If the belt is being bathed in engine oil then it won’t have that loud old-tech industrial diesel noise associated with past diesel engine designs (think Isuzu). Or am I missing something here? Besides, if the belt burst during warranty then you get to claim for a new engine provided that you kept up with ANSA service requirements. Like older vehicles that came with timing belts, just make sure to change them at 100 thousand kms and never let up on your service schedule.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 3rd, 2025, 9:38 am

Sad part is that people thought that this was a step forward when it is not.

Oil breaks down rubber. Add in heat, contamination and manufacturer extended oil drain intervals and that belt isn't going to last as long as a normal t-belt.
To compound the bad decision, when the belt starts deteriorating, the small pieces that break off, slowly clog the oil pickup screen.

That is a ticking time bomb.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 3rd, 2025, 11:30 am

Saw a You tube that said the same. Never buy

zando

Postby zando » May 3rd, 2025, 9:56 pm

Tezzadude wrote:Why is that sad? If the belt is being bathed in engine oil then it won’t have that loud old-tech industrial diesel noise associated with past diesel engine designs (think Isuzu). Or am I missing something here? Besides, if the belt burst during warranty then you get to claim for a new engine provided that you kept up with ANSA service requirements. Like older vehicles that came with timing belts, just make sure to change them at 100 thousand kms and never let up on your service schedule.
See below:

Ford was notorious for this nonsense, also I believe Peugeot and some other brands.

Wet timing belts, unlike traditional dry timing belts, operate within the engine oil. This can lead to premature degradation of the belt due to oil contamination and heat exposure, increasing the risk of belt failure. This failure can lead to engine damage and even catastrophic engine failure.
Here's a more detailed explanation of the potential problems:
1. Degradation and Failure:
Oil Contamination:
Engine oil can become contaminated with soot, debris, or sludge, which can further degrade the belt's rubber.
Heat Exposure:
The belt is continuously exposed to high engine temperatures, which can accelerate its aging process.
Belt Material Degradation:
The belt material can weaken and potentially lead to premature failure, causing the belt to break or disintegrate.
2. Consequences of Belt Failure:
Engine Damage:
A failed wet timing belt can cause the engine's valves to open or close at the wrong time, leading to valve damage or even complete engine failure.
Oil Starvation:
If the belt breaks or disintegrates, debris can clog the oil pump, potentially starving the engine of lubrication and causing further damage.
Engine Misfiring:
A worn or slipping wet belt can throw off the engine's timing, resulting in misfires or poor performance.
Increased Repair Costs:
The potential for catastrophic engine failure due to a wet timing belt failure can lead to expensive repairs or even complete engine replacement.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 4th, 2025, 8:54 am

Ford does have a massive recall on rangers right now too. Don’t know if it’s for this issue or the crank gear failure on the v[emoji6]s

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » May 4th, 2025, 1:53 pm

When I posted my concerns about those Chinese vehicles, most of you all defended them. Now some of you all bad talking Ford and questioning their engineering capability with the belt like you all could do any better. The Ranger has gotten some really glowing reviews over the years especially in Australia and Ford makes the best selling F150, you mean to tell me that Ford is prepared to jeopardize that legacy all of a sudden with some belt that is deemed a poor design? Where were you all when it had timing belts long time before they came up with chain driven cams?

A man even post up an AI write-up. What do you all drive? Honestly, I want to know what the perfect cars are. How much of you all bought Chinese vehicles recently especially the hybrid and ev ones? Don't be shy board experts...

One set ah fickle clowns in here.

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » May 4th, 2025, 7:06 pm

Tezzadude wrote:When I posted my concerns about those Chinese vehicles, most of you all defended them. Now some of you all bad talking Ford and questioning their engineering capability with the belt like you all could do any better. The Ranger has gotten some really glowing reviews over the years especially in Australia and Ford makes the best selling F150, you mean to tell me that Ford is prepared to jeopardize that legacy all of a sudden with some belt that is deemed a poor design? Where were you all when it had timing belts long time before they came up with chain driven cams?

A man even post up an AI write-up. What do you all drive? Honestly, I want to know what the perfect cars are. How much of you all bought Chinese vehicles recently especially the hybrid and ev ones? Don't be shy board experts...

Take a look tezza dude.
No need to get all on your feelings.
It's been proven that wet belts are sh1t.
https://youtu.be/0SASSFjIt5I?si=wQA6fB73diAV6_KD

zando

Postby zando » May 4th, 2025, 8:52 pm

Tezzadude wrote:When I posted my concerns about those Chinese vehicles, most of you all defended them. Now some of you all bad talking Ford and questioning their engineering capability with the belt like you all could do any better. The Ranger has gotten some really glowing reviews over the years especially in Australia and Ford makes the best selling F150, you mean to tell me that Ford is prepared to jeopardize that legacy all of a sudden with some belt that is deemed a poor design? Where were you all when it had timing belts long time before they came up with chain driven cams?

Firstly, To be honest, based on most of your posts, you seem to be the leader of the clowns.

Secondly, Ford has been in the industry for how long? I bet you know the answer, yet they started with that stupid design of wet timing belts, which, btw has been criticized a lot by people who review vehicles, not just short term but long term, however, the fact that you're here and didn't even know about wet timing belts speaks volumes.

Thirdly, normal timing belts are a known variable, wet timing belts have never lasted until the manufacturer says the change them, that's the issue, they're unpredictable.

Fourth, the Chinese vehicles haven't been out as long as Ford, but I can bet you they aren't making the same stupid decisions as Ford, the ranger also had egr and transmission issues, this is well known and documented.

Please, get off your high horse.

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » May 4th, 2025, 9:57 pm

Fella like you need to do like the ebc and take a few days to digest the info before talking sh!t. Why would I know about Ford and they wet belt design? You feel I have time to dig up on each vehicle to know what good and what not good? I just happen to real like the Everest which is basically a ranger wagon that's all. Is alluh come on this nonsense to discredit Ford and their engineering wisdom like you all could do any better. Who else still thinking about buying a Haval or Proton or San yong month end please gawd? Time to tell us what alluh driving cause i want to know what are the perfect rides since according to tuner logic, the Ford Ranger is officially garbage. Reason being it have a wet belt lmao.

zando

Postby zando » May 4th, 2025, 10:22 pm

Tezzadude wrote:Fella like you need to do like the ebc and take a few days to digest the info before talking sh!t. Why would I know about Ford and they wet belt design? You feel I have time to dig up on each vehicle to know what good and what not good? I just happen to real like the Everest which is basically a ranger wagon that's all. Is alluh come on this nonsense to discredit Ford and their engineering wisdom like you all could do any better. Who else still thinking about buying a Haval or Proton or San yong month end please gawd? Time to tell us what alluh driving cause i want to know what are the perfect rides since according to tuner logic, the Ford Ranger is officially garbage. Reason being it have a wet belt lmao.
Sigh* I guess you just gonna die being ignorant huh? It's not just Ford, other manufacturers used the design also, but Ford was the first to introduce it so they're are considered as the pioneers, do some research nah instead of coming on here sounding like an idiot. Google is your friend, and yes, a.i. is mostly accurate, but in this circumstance it's spot on.

Postby j.o.e » May 5th, 2025, 9:55 am

Tezzadude wrote:Fella like you need to do like the ebc and take a few days to digest the info before talking sh!t. Why would I know about Ford and they wet belt design? You feel I have time to dig up on each vehicle to know what good and what not good? I just happen to real like the Everest which is basically a ranger wagon that's all. Is alluh come on this nonsense to discredit Ford and their engineering wisdom like you all could do any better. Who else still thinking about buying a Haval or Proton or San yong month end please gawd? Time to tell us what alluh driving cause i want to know what are the perfect rides since according to tuner logic, the Ford Ranger is officially garbage. Reason being it have a wet belt lmao.

If you don’t want to know how things work especially on a vehicle you like why did you come on the forum ?
Btw how much for the new Everest it looking real good for real