the weather has been unpredictably better this year so far

Chimera wrote:
screwbash wrote:
Chimera wrote:
pugboy wrote:boy i just buy a big papaya for $7
biggest deal i ever get in foodstuff

everything dog cheap now

plantain wholesaling for 1.5 - 2 per lb and retailing for $4-5

sweet potato is $2 wholesale (4-5 retail)

1% trick to get the dotish to feel pnm bringing down prices. Double prices in allyuh mc after d 28th when pnm win.
No...everyone planted when things were expensive recently plus the weather is very good now.

screwbash

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby screwbash » April 15th, 2025, 5:46 am

pugboy wrote:the weather has been unpredictably better this year so far

Chimera wrote:
screwbash wrote:
Chimera wrote:

everything dog cheap now

1% trick to get the dotish to feel pnm bringing down prices. Double prices in allyuh mc after d 28th when pnm win.
No...everyone planted when things were expensive recently plus the weather is very good now.

the 1% buy the mall in trincity and going to renovate and make allyuh 99% shop there by restricting allyuh credit card and overall making it very difficult to shop online. They do not want kamla to float the USD making it accessible to everyone so they putting thing in place for when stuart become the next PM. they give allyuh a lil cheap vege that generally selling cheap all over central and south an have allyuh feeling that shopping in massy means something to you 99%. only idiots will be impressed and fooled.

Postby zoom rader » April 15th, 2025, 8:04 am

screwbash wrote:

Chimera wrote:
screwbash wrote:
Chimera wrote:

everything dog cheap now

the 1% buy the mall in trincity and going to renovate and make allyuh 99% shop there by restricting allyuh credit card and overall making it very difficult to shop online. They do not want kamla to float the USD making it accessible to everyone so they putting thing in place for when stuart become the next PM. they give allyuh a lil cheap vege that generally selling cheap all over central and south an have allyuh feeling that shopping in massy means something to you 99%. only idiots will be impressed and fooled.
Credit Card?

Dont buy into that bullśhit

Spend real cash and support local road side or market vendors.

Stop supporting these parasites

dogg

Postby dogg » April 15th, 2025, 8:55 pm

what is skont bodi?
Guyana slang? what does it mean?
dogg wrote:Partner, you need to get over this massy stores obsession. its just a grocery.
There are many illegal Guyanese like yourself living in the Pasea area, and none of them, unlike you, believes massy is some exclusive club catering to the upperclass and is something to aspire to.
It’s a chain store, not a country club. its free entry. Just buy what you, need, leave and don't go in and stare at the displays et al if you too broke to buy anything.

MaxPower wrote:Love it,

Walk with your bags.

No wajang behavior, the loyal customers dont like dem kinda ting.

O skont boddy Dogg,

You still park up in Massy carpark watching to see who going in and out and buying what?

Yuh cant be toting where people choose to shop and spend their hard earned money.

Massy creates a good environment i.e - parking, convenience, quality and customer service etc. It’s the best grocery in T&T and even though prices are on the higher side, they have their loyal customers. And yes, it’s free entry to anyone, but the wajang crowd is controlled creating a more pleasant and harass free shopping experience.

One day bro, when you stop ketching your ass and the angry suffering stop, you will realize where i coming from. It’s easy to tell you in a position because every post about Massy is like you get triggered. Yuh hadda work on that.

Postby 88sins » April 17th, 2025, 11:24 pm

screwbash wrote:

Chimera wrote:
screwbash wrote:
Chimera wrote:

everything dog cheap now

maybe
But those who know still won't have too much of a problem. we doing our own thing, growing what we can at home, and as per the USD restriction speculation, that can only last so long before the economy collapse and the money they so covet becomes as worthless as the ink it's printed with y

Postby bluefete » April 18th, 2025, 1:20 am

Creamery ice cream 3.78 litres - 2/$100. at Better deal

Flavourite 3.2 litres - 2/$95.00 at Better Deal.

Less ice cream for almost the same price.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 18th, 2025, 8:13 am

bluefete wrote:Creamery ice cream 3.78 litres - 2/$100. at Better deal

They shouldn't be allowed to call them thing ice cream

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 18th, 2025, 8:30 am

^ Mr. Sawatee only likes Haagen Daaz or wat? That shouldn't be allowed to be called ice cream as well.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 18th, 2025, 8:59 am

DMan7 wrote:^ Mr. Sawatee only likes Haagen Daaz or wat? That shouldn't be allowed to be called ice cream as well.

Compare the ingredients and see. Flavorite has a strawberry ice cream that does not even have a drop of strawberry in it

Postby bluefete » April 18th, 2025, 9:09 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
bluefete wrote:Creamery ice cream 3.78 litres - 2/$100. at Better deal

They shouldn't be allowed to call them thing ice cream

DMan7 wrote:^ Mr. Sawatee only likes Haagen Daaz or wat? That shouldn't be allowed to be called ice cream as well.

Me ent paying no $100.00 for a 2 pint of big name ice cream from furrin.
Last edited by bluefete on April 18th, 2025, 9:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » April 18th, 2025, 9:14 am

Mmoney607 wrote:

Compare the ingredients and see. Flavorite has a strawberry ice cream that does not even have a drop of strawberry in it

Hear nah. I stood up in Better deal yesterday reading all the ingredients in a Creamery Orange pine ice cream. I was bitterly disappointed. Orange pine was last on the list of ingredients. I ended up taking my usual coconut and I tried the strawberry cheesecake. BUT, strawberry ripple and strawberry cheesecake have the same ingredients except that the ripple has vanilla.

Flavorite orange pine still hits well. But they shafting people with their smaller 3.2L containers V Creamery's 3.78L..

Postby alfa » April 18th, 2025, 10:06 am

Nutty royale come back in cone form yet? Seeing a lolly version but meen like lolly

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 18th, 2025, 10:19 am

Yes it not tasting d same. More like a natty royal

Postby MaxPower » April 18th, 2025, 10:24 am

Fellas just watch all that sugar eh

Postby hover11 » April 18th, 2025, 10:29 am

MaxPower wrote:Fellas just watch all that sugar eh
Life short max let men enjoy themselves

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 18th, 2025, 10:34 am

screwbash wrote:

Chimera wrote:
screwbash wrote:
Chimera wrote:

everything dog cheap now

Floating the usd isn't going to make it accessible to everyone. The average trini can't afford 10ttd to 1usd etc. Floating the usd will pauperize alot of trinis tbh

Postby paid_influencer » April 18th, 2025, 10:44 am

Redress10 wrote:Floating the usd isn't going to make it accessible to everyone. The average trini can't afford 10ttd to 1usd etc. Floating the usd will pauperize alot of trinis tbh

if the exchange rate doesn't affect the accessibility of forex, why not make it 2:1

everything would be very cheap. trinis would be rich and could afford all the BMW, Haagen Daaz, Disneyworld vacations, etc.

after all, either you accept that the exchange rate is based on economics or not. And so far we have decided it is not. We decided the government can create a fixed exchange rate out of thin air, by sheer force of propaganda, from a currency that was never designed to be fixed exchange.

even wendell mottley come out of retirement with euric bobb to tell allyuh modern pnmites how dotish imbert's policy is, but like stick break in allyuh ears

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/top-economists-c ... flotation/

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 18th, 2025, 10:53 am

paid_influencer wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Floating the usd isn't going to make it accessible to everyone. The average trini can't afford 10ttd to 1usd etc. Floating the usd will pauperize alot of trinis tbh

if the exchange rate doesn't affect the accessibility of forex, why not make it 2:1

everything would be very cheap. trinis would be rich and could afford all the BMW, Haagen Daaz, Disneyworld vacations, etc.

after all, either you accept that the exchange rate is based on economics or not. And so far we have decided it is not.

We will talk more in the forex forum so as to not derail this thread. But ultimately the forex is subsidised by the government by artificially maintaining the rate at the rate we know. So if the rate is actually 8 and the we paying 6 etc then Gov't finding the extra 2. So if it was 2 then the government would need to find 6 to make up the 8. If trinis had to pay the real rate then they would simply purchase less foreign goods etc.

Postby paid_influencer » April 18th, 2025, 11:06 am

^ exactly yes, and ppl need to understand a fixed exchange rate can't happen by magic. You need a central bank to design a currency and monetary policy for a fixed rate from the start, and keep a set amount of hard currency reserves to match the amount of currency issued by that central bank. Take a look at the Eastern Caribbean dollar and how long it took them to establish that currency. It isn't something you can just do by accident or incompetence like Imbert claims to have done

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 18th, 2025, 11:10 am

paid_influencer wrote:^ exactly yes, and ppl need to understand a fixed exchange rate can't happen by magic. You need a central bank to design a currency and monetary policy for a fixed rate from the start, and keep a set amount of hard currency reserves to match the amount of currency issued by that central bank. Take a look at the Eastern Caribbean dollar and how long it took them to establish that currency. It isn't something you can just do by accident or incompetence like Imbert claims to have done

But ppl like Hovie will say that they subsidised rate is part of their patrimony.

Postby hover11 » April 18th, 2025, 11:25 am

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:^ exactly yes, and ppl need to understand a fixed exchange rate can't happen by magic. You need a central bank to design a currency and monetary policy for a fixed rate from the start, and keep a set amount of hard currency reserves to match the amount of currency issued by that central bank. Take a look at the Eastern Caribbean dollar and how long it took them to establish that currency. It isn't something you can just do by accident or incompetence like Imbert claims to have done

But ppl like Hovie will say that they subsidised rate is part of their patrimony.
Redress is one of the idiots who continue to vote for imbert regardless of his lackluster performance as minister of Finance

Postby paid_influencer » April 18th, 2025, 11:32 am

redress, allow me to break it down for the 'mites here.

Supposed you decide to make a currency called Redress dollars, RD$, issued by the Redress Central Bank. You have $1000 US$ in an account set asides as reserves and issue $2000 RD$. You set an exchange rate at 2:1 for a RD$. You can vary that exchange rate, make it 6:1 if you want, but you keep your currency issued balanced with your hard currency reserves.

You never going to run into shortages, because every dollar you issued is accounted for by something sitting in your reserves. This is how a "real" fixed exchange rate is supposed to operate.

Now say you decide to float your RD$. You no longer keep reserves to match your exchange rate. The value of the dollar is based on supply and demand handled by the market - not your reserves.

Now suddenly you try to fix you dollar at a below-market exchange rate. But you don't have the hard currency backing for all the additional currency you have issued. You run into forex "shortages" because the dollar has nothing backing it.

You can pretend everything is alright and pretend you have a real fixed exchange rate by making grand speeches and running down your savings and borrowing hard currency any chance you get, to "relieve shortages".

But at a certain point it cannot go on because you have simply run out of money to prop up your currency.

This is exactly what is happening in T&T, and we going to run out of money very, very soon.
Last edited by paid_influencer on April 18th, 2025, 12:36 pm, edited 7 times in total.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 18th, 2025, 11:33 am

hover11 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

Redress is one of the idiots who continue to vote for imbert regardless of his lackluster performance as minister of Finance

You calling ppl performance lacklustre whilst being on a forum whole day complaining about your low salary job is peak irony.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 18th, 2025, 11:40 am

paid_influencer wrote:redress, allow me to break it down for the 'mites here.

Supposed you decide to make a currency called Redress dollars, RD$, issued by the Redress Central Bank.

You have $1000 US$ in an account set asides as reserves and issue $2000 RD$. You set an exchange rate at 2:1 for a RD$.

You never going to run into shortages, because every dollar you issued is accounted for by something sitting in your reserves.

Now say you decide to float your RD$ and issue much more notes. You let the exchange rate go to 6:1 and issue more currency in accordance with that. You let the market decide the exchange rate, and no longer keep reserves to match your exchange rate. Supply and demand is handled by persons paying more or less for the RD$.

Now suddenly you try to fix you dollar again at 6:1. But you only have $1000 USD backing for $6000 RD$ issued. You run into forex shortages and people can't exchange their RD$ for hard currency anymore

You can pretend everything is alright and pretend you have a fixed exchange rate by making grand speeches and running down your reserves and borrowing hard currency any chance you get.

But at a certain point it cannot go on because you have simply run out of money to prop up your currency.

This is exactly what is happening in T&T, and we going to run out of money very, very soon.

I don't think we will ever "run out" of money as there will always be usd coming and going out. I think ultimately the market will decide. Some businesses have closed due to lack of forex whilst others still surviving and expanding. The market will always correct itself.

I think the economic policies are misplaced because politicians seem to be pandering to individuals needs for forex instead of the country. You hear about measures to increase forex but that is only when there is pressure from businesses and individuals for forex. You never hear politicans say they expanding manufacturing and agriculture to end certain imports etc. So let us say we increase tomato growing and manufacturing then we stop all tomato inports and remove that as a forex drainage.

Trinis have a spend it all now mindset that they need to break but it's hard.

Postby paid_influencer » April 18th, 2025, 11:42 am

we are going to run out of hard currency

the foreign reserves and HSF have a limited amount of money we can use to prop up the currency

we can let the market correct but that requires the tt$ to go to market rates, which is the point

dogg

Postby dogg » April 18th, 2025, 11:48 am

Breds, you ent realize there are actual rules in developed countries for what can be called ice cream? It has to meet certain standards, like a minimum amount of milk fat and milk solids. There's also a limit on how much stabilizers, emulsifiers, and even air they can put in it.

You ever see that imported BON brand “ice cream”? If you check the packaging, it’s not actually labelled as ice cream. That’s because it doesn’t meet the requirements.

But local brands? They don’t care. They'll call anything ice cream, mostly because they’re not exporting to countries with strict labeling laws.

Same thing goes for ketchup. No local ketchup brands, not even Matouk’s, have enough actual tomato in them to be legally called ketchup overseas.

Anyway. look it up and educate yourself.

Postby paid_influencer » April 18th, 2025, 12:03 pm

matouks is the best ketchup and creamery is the best ice cream tho ngl

them foreign ice cream too rich. too much milk solids or whatever

Postby MaxPower » April 18th, 2025, 12:06 pm

Skont boddy know rel ting boi

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 18th, 2025, 12:06 pm

dogg wrote:

Breds, you ent realize there are actual rules in developed countries for what can be called ice cream? It has to meet certain standards, like a minimum amount of milk fat and milk solids. There's also a limit on how much stabilizers, emulsifiers, and even air they can put in it.

You ever see that imported BON brand “ice cream”? If you check the packaging, it’s not actually labelled as ice cream. That’s because it doesn’t meet the requirements.

But local brands? They don’t care. They'll call anything ice cream, mostly because they’re not exporting to countries with strict labeling laws.

Same thing goes for ketchup. No local ketchup brands, not even Matouk’s, have enough actual tomato in them to be legally called ketchup overseas.

Anyway. look it up and educate yourself.

That being said Haagen Daaz tastes like shite.