and the bars push you to drink umbrella juice cocktail drinks
instead of hard liquor straight drinks
so their expend is mostly juice and little alcohol

bluefete wrote:
pugboy wrote:ahhmmm it have no such things selling in sandals

it’s strictly food catered for the tourists tastes
eg sushi, uk fish chips, american style, italian and french
plenty bars with cocktail type drinks

Redress10 wrote:Which Tobagonian waking up 3 in the morning to make tambran ball and toolum to go on the beach and try to sell to a tourist?

In order for Tobago tourism to improve and develop you need to cut Tobago off from the oil and gas funds

Seriously, pugboy?

Then is only one set of mamaguy for Tobagonians?

So all the talk about buying local fruits and veggies is just talk?

Redress10

Re: Sandals Thread!

Postby Redress10 » April 8th, 2025, 6:40 pm

What's their clientele like? Global economy eh looking good for the future

Postby Gladiator » April 8th, 2025, 7:56 pm

I could tell you guys never visited a Sandals... LOL

Everything is first class. The restaurants are mostly international and their model is to rent the space and pay the restaurant per plate. Absolutely no tanty merle setting up shop or bake and shark, curry crab etc.... white people are grossed out by that. The buffets are reasonably good with some local content for breakfast. St Lucia has a Caribbean restaurant at the La Toc Sandals... great ambience but horrible food.

There are no local fruit and veg, it all comes through their established supply chain, nobody goes to any market or to farmers to buy produce LOL

The drinks Puggy are all premium... you get your hard stuff, whisky, gin, brandy, etc etc but most guests prefer the cocktails. There are rooms with full premium bars included in the stay. You have enough in the room to have a party for 20 people and when it done they come and put back everything for you.

Sandals is great and plenty fun for the guests... not so much for the country that has to bear the burden of their presence.

Global clientele is 80% American , 10% British and European, 5% Indians and Caribbean people, a sprinkle of Chinese. They market themselves as a honeymoon destination, people go to get married which is a very good option TBH.

The resorts have been getting worser and worser every year... maintenance is lacking, customer service is getting worse, food options are being cut, premium drinks not being served as it used to... the new resorts in Barbados are on a horrible beach.

I got to meet Butch once... he was a really great guy. Things started going South after he died though.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 8th, 2025, 8:13 pm

Gladiator wrote:I could tell you guys never visited a Sandals... LOL

Everything is first class. The restaurants are mostly international and their model is to rent the space and pay the restaurant per plate. Absolutely no tanty merle setting up shop or bake and shark, curry crab etc.... white people are grossed out by that. The buffets are reasonably good with some local content for breakfast. St Lucia has a Caribbean restaurant at the La Toc Sandals... great ambience but horrible food.

There are no local fruit and veg, it all comes through their established supply chain, nobody goes to any market or to farmers to buy produce LOL

The drinks Puggy are all premium... you get your hard stuff, whisky, gin, brandy, etc etc but most guests prefer the cocktails. There are rooms with full premium bars included in the stay. You have enough in the room to have a party for 20 people and when it done they come and put back everything for you.

Sandals is great and plenty fun for the guests... not so much for the country that has to bear the burden of their presence.

Global clientele is 80% American , 10% British and European, 5% Indians and Caribbean people, a sprinkle of Chinese. They market themselves as a honeymoon destination, people go to get married which is a very good option TBH.

The resorts have been getting worser and worser every year... maintenance is lacking, customer service is getting worse, food options are being cut, premium drinks not being served as it used to... the new resorts in Barbados are on a horrible beach.

I got to meet Butch once... he was a really great guy. Things started going South after he died though.

I have zero intention of ever visiting a Sandals. I'm not going to leave a hot caribbean island with beaches to go to another hot caribbean island with beaches.

Postby Gladiator » April 8th, 2025, 8:23 pm

Redress10 wrote:

I have zero intention of ever visiting a Sandals. I'm not going to leave a hot caribbean island with beaches to go to another hot caribbean island with beaches.

You should experience it at least once before they fold up... if you are married the wife will like it too. You can have a romantic getaway... no kids allowed

Postby Dizzy28 » April 8th, 2025, 8:34 pm

Redress10 wrote:

Yes. My thinking is if I want beach I going Tobago.

The other islands are Tobago with an added step of international travel and a different accent.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 8th, 2025, 8:43 pm

Redress10 wrote:

Yes. My thinking is if I want beach I going Tobago.

The other islands are Tobago with an added step of international travel and a different accent.

Yeah I cyah do that resort in the caribbean business. That's why I ask who the clientele would be because that has to be for people who accustom living in a fridge and need an escape.
Last edited by Redress10 on April 8th, 2025, 9:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2025, 8:47 pm

sandals kinda running out of places to open in the caribbean and get the top beaches
so it is harder for them to open similar experiences like in the past

the current upgrades are to put the cabanas over the water like what started in bora bora and those pacific places in 80s

i went to the older of the two in st lucia but you could take a free shuttle to go to the other one which has a nicer beach if that’s your thing and you can also
go to the restaurants in either one.

they get a lot of repeat customers who would have been to many other sandals
you will hear guests comparing notes about their past experiences

ppl generally go for the no hassle worry of anything
some of those uk folks go to drink endlessly

their staff have to go thru extensive training
i really don’t see how they getting locals to provide the level of customer service

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 8th, 2025, 8:50 pm

Stuart said he had faith in rubio and look what happen to the dragon deal...

Id give this sandals thing a rest until I actually see a shovel turn some dirt.

Postby Gladiator » April 9th, 2025, 9:53 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Stuart said he had faith in rubio and look what happen to the dragon deal...

Its basically the same scenario, Sandals is on the brink of collapse just like Venezuela.... The father like he used to promise everybody money when he was drunk and made a will with Billions of USD in promises to 9 family members. He had no cash in his name but his estate comprise the resorts. The lawyers want the resorts to be sold to get the money to satisfy his will.... its a big big mess. That's why the son diversifying with the car business etc. The dummies in the PNM don't even check nothing before they commit we money... sigh

Postby 88sins » April 10th, 2025, 4:40 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Stuart said he had faith in rubio and look what happen to the dragon deal...

Or better yet
When they openly agree to walk with their own money to lease the land they want use their money to build that monstrosity on.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » August 5th, 2025, 11:29 am