TriniTuner.com | Latest Event:
bluefete wrote:pugboy wrote:ahhmmm it have no such things selling in sandals
it’s strictly food catered for the tourists tastes
eg sushi, uk fish chips, american style, italian and french
plenty bars with cocktail type drinksRedress10 wrote:Which Tobagonian waking up 3 in the morning to make tambran ball and toolum to go on the beach and try to sell to a tourist?
In order for Tobago tourism to improve and develop you need to cut Tobago off from the oil and gas funds
Seriously, pugboy?
Then is only one set of mamaguy for Tobagonians?
So all the talk about buying local fruits and veggies is just talk?
Gladiator wrote:I could tell you guys never visited a Sandals... LOL
Everything is first class. The restaurants are mostly international and their model is to rent the space and pay the restaurant per plate. Absolutely no tanty merle setting up shop or bake and shark, curry crab etc.... white people are grossed out by that. The buffets are reasonably good with some local content for breakfast. St Lucia has a Caribbean restaurant at the La Toc Sandals... great ambience but horrible food.
There are no local fruit and veg, it all comes through their established supply chain, nobody goes to any market or to farmers to buy produce LOL
The drinks Puggy are all premium... you get your hard stuff, whisky, gin, brandy, etc etc but most guests prefer the cocktails. There are rooms with full premium bars included in the stay. You have enough in the room to have a party for 20 people and when it done they come and put back everything for you.
Sandals is great and plenty fun for the guests... not so much for the country that has to bear the burden of their presence.
Global clientele is 80% American , 10% British and European, 5% Indians and Caribbean people, a sprinkle of Chinese. They market themselves as a honeymoon destination, people go to get married which is a very good option TBH.
The resorts have been getting worser and worser every year... maintenance is lacking, customer service is getting worse, food options are being cut, premium drinks not being served as it used to... the new resorts in Barbados are on a horrible beach.
I got to meet Butch once... he was a really great guy. Things started going South after he died though.
Redress10 wrote:Gladiator wrote:I could tell you guys never visited a Sandals... LOL
Everything is first class. The restaurants are mostly international and their model is to rent the space and pay the restaurant per plate. Absolutely no tanty merle setting up shop or bake and shark, curry crab etc.... white people are grossed out by that. The buffets are reasonably good with some local content for breakfast. St Lucia has a Caribbean restaurant at the La Toc Sandals... great ambience but horrible food.
There are no local fruit and veg, it all comes through their established supply chain, nobody goes to any market or to farmers to buy produce LOL
The drinks Puggy are all premium... you get your hard stuff, whisky, gin, brandy, etc etc but most guests prefer the cocktails. There are rooms with full premium bars included in the stay. You have enough in the room to have a party for 20 people and when it done they come and put back everything for you.
Sandals is great and plenty fun for the guests... not so much for the country that has to bear the burden of their presence.
Global clientele is 80% American , 10% British and European, 5% Indians and Caribbean people, a sprinkle of Chinese. They market themselves as a honeymoon destination, people go to get married which is a very good option TBH.
The resorts have been getting worser and worser every year... maintenance is lacking, customer service is getting worse, food options are being cut, premium drinks not being served as it used to... the new resorts in Barbados are on a horrible beach.
I got to meet Butch once... he was a really great guy. Things started going South after he died though.
I have zero intention of ever visiting a Sandals. I'm not going to leave a hot caribbean island with beaches to go to another hot caribbean island with beaches.
Yes. My thinking is if I want beach I going Tobago.Redress10 wrote:Gladiator wrote:I could tell you guys never visited a Sandals... LOL
I have zero intention of ever visiting a Sandals. I'm not going to leave a hot caribbean island with beaches to go to another hot caribbean island with beaches.
Dizzy28 wrote:Yes. My thinking is if I want beach I going Tobago.Redress10 wrote:Gladiator wrote:I could tell you guys never visited a Sandals... LOL
The other islands are Tobago with an added step of international travel and a different accent.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Stuart said he had faith in rubio and look what happen to the dragon deal...
Id give this sandals thing a rest until I actually see a shovel turn some dirt.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Stuart said he had faith in rubio and look what happen to the dragon deal...
Id give this sandals thing a rest until I actually see a shovel turn some dirt.