Re: Columbus ships to be removed from T&T Coat of Arms

Postby Dizzy28 » January 23rd, 2025, 10:46 am

hover11 wrote:
Alpha_2nr wrote:
16 cycles wrote:previous coat of arms helped to educate nation on the 'beginning' ...

steelpan might just be a reflection of how we invented something and someone else commercialized it - like an inside joke to a missed opportunity...

A missed opportunity, like how the patent for steelpan production is held by the US?

Instead of by us/Trinidad/a trini, who were the inventors of said instrument?

There is no patent for steelpan production being held by anyone in the US.
There are patents for electronic synthesizer pans, for the metallurgy behind new pans and for particular pieces of equipment for production.

https://patents.google.com/?q=(steelpan+production)&oq=steelpan+production

As a taxpayer we should be concerned that after tens of millions of dollars were spent on the G Pan and PHI Pan patents they expire in two years time and no real commercialization and subsequent monetization has happened. Waste of money in this country that by now is accustomed to wasting money.

I remember going to a training years ago done by a guy from Ireland who headed R&D for a number of European FMCG companies and the guy said if you don't intend to go to market quickly its makes no sense filing a patent.
What has Pan trinbago been doing, anybody held accountable for such. Which party had the majority of leadership years since independence, we all know who is to blame here.

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Those patents are held in the name of UWI (PHI pan) and GORTT (G Pan) but they are primarily attributed to Professor Brian Copeland, UWI St Augustine's former Principal.
https://patents.google.com/patent/US806 ... =(steelpan)&inventor=brian+copeland&oq=brian+copeland+steelpan
https://patents.google.com/patent/EP201 ... =(steelpan)&inventor=brian+copeland&oq=brian+copeland+steelpan

They were part of the Steelpan Initiatives Project (SIP) wherein the administration between 2003-2010 pumped quite a lot of money into the instrument.

Pan Trinbago was not party to this.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 23rd, 2025, 11:42 am

pugboy wrote:except jit samaroo reigned for a very long time

viedcht wrote:Steelpan used to be a mostly black folk thing, hardly saw indos playing pan. Go look at the old ttt footage and point out the indos playing pan.
It echoes a togetherness that those Trinis with Slavery roots will always gravitate towards. Politicians using it to manipulate people's emotions, to support this simple change, and Our continued divide is wrong.
I typed out a good reply yesterday but me eh know what is SQL error

By percentages, indos attendance and participation was small.
Last edited by viedcht on January 23rd, 2025, 11:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby matr1x » January 23rd, 2025, 11:48 am

I think it's fantastic.

Just another of thr fantastic ideas this moronic government capable of

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 23rd, 2025, 12:04 pm

matr1x wrote:I think it's fantastic.

Other than reminding us that Indians, Africans, and the whites were brought/came and conquered the people already living here, what's the use of having the ships? Alternatively instead of the pan, why not a symbol to associate with the First People

Postby timelapse » January 23rd, 2025, 1:28 pm

viedcht wrote:
matr1x wrote:I think it's fantastic.

Other than reminding us that Indians, Africans, and the whites were brought/came and conquered the people already living here, what's the use of having the ships? Alternatively instead of the pan, why not a symbol to associate with the First People

I was waiting for this comment

Postby st7 » January 23rd, 2025, 7:58 pm

imagine seeing this on the new passports...

Postby pugboy » January 24th, 2025, 8:28 am

the graded gold colours may be troublesome to print in mono embossed scheme like on a passport

Postby matr1x » January 24th, 2025, 8:59 am

pugboy wrote:the graded gold colours may be troublesome to print in mono embossed scheme like on a passport

Nahhhh, they not letting a little thing like reality keep them back

Postby 16 cycles » January 24th, 2025, 9:58 am

Immigration officers around the world will wonder if its a meme :(

Postby paid_influencer » January 24th, 2025, 6:45 pm

16 cycles wrote:Immigration officers around the world will wonder if its a meme :(

you know why it looks like a meme?

because there was no real process to develop it. There was no committee, no consultation of the population, nothing besides a vaps by the Prime Minister to 'move them ships' before election.

The new design had no more objective than a rushed election gimmick and it shows. If you don't agree, take a cue from the designer.

idontcare.jpg

tbh we could have had a much better design if more work was done, outside of the 'those ships must go' start-and-end mandate of the PM. For one, we could have replaced the helm with maybe that cool head dress the Carib Queen wears. I would feel proud to hold that icon of somebody that lives here. It would look cool too

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » January 24th, 2025, 7:51 pm

This is one of the most cringe things the guavament has ever done.

Postby 16 cycles » January 24th, 2025, 7:59 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
16 cycles wrote:Immigration officers around the world will wonder if its a meme :(

because there was no real process to develop it. There was no committee, no consultation of the population, nothing besides a vaps by the Prime Minister to 'move them ships' before election.

The new design had no more objective than a rushed election gimmick and it shows. If you don't agree, take a cue from the designer.

idontcare.jpg

tbh we could have had a much better design if more work was done, outside of the 'those ships must go' start-and-end mandate of the PM. For one, we could have replaced the helm with maybe that cool head dress the Carib Queen wears. I would feel proud to hold that icon of somebody that lives here. It would look cool too

Pretty good idea to have it reflect indigenous people that were here before Columbus

Postby st7 » January 26th, 2025, 12:40 pm

paid_influencer wrote:tbh we could have had a much better design if more work was done, outside of the 'those ships must go' start-and-end mandate of the PM. For one, we could have replaced the helm with maybe that cool head dress the Carib Queen wears. I would feel proud to hold that icon of somebody that lives here. It would look cool too

i actually agree with you here. that's a good idea.

Postby MaxPower » January 26th, 2025, 1:01 pm

Trinis don’t even care to follow the National Motto written at the bottom, probably never even knew it existed.

But suddenly care about modifying it?

Gosh allyuh save it na.

The designer gave the perfect response to critics…..follow suit.

Postby matr1x » January 29th, 2025, 10:50 am

MaxPower wrote:Trinis don’t even care to follow the National Motto written at the bottom, probably never even knew it existed.

Gosh allyuh save it na.

You are right.

If we were truly working together, the venes wouldn't survive here

Postby timelapse » January 29th, 2025, 5:01 pm

I am surprised they didn't do the whole thing over in Spanish with this lick culo culture we have going on

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 29th, 2025, 7:14 pm

16 cycles wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

idontcare.jpg

Pretty good idea to have it reflect indigenous people that were here before Columbus

Not disagreeing but are these indigenous people still here? Not not really, it should reflect our history yes, but it should also show who we are now. That's far more important as a national identify.

Postby MaxPower » January 29th, 2025, 7:19 pm

matr1x wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Trinis don’t even care to follow the National Motto written at the bottom, probably never even knew it existed.

Gosh allyuh save it na.

You are right.

If we were truly working together, the venes wouldn't survive here

As much as i does gas light you, I did say this on a serious note many years ago.

And not only Venes btw.

Backtrack from decades ago.

So you shouldn’t be blaming immigrants eh….you allowed this to happen. And if you want to blame the Govt, you put them there as well.

Postby matr1x » January 30th, 2025, 12:45 am

Illegal immigrants, you jackass

Postby hover11 » June 14th, 2025, 6:02 pm

Looks like that new cost of arms will be on pause or repealed soon
FB_IMG_1749938451617.jpg

Postby MaxPower » June 14th, 2025, 6:05 pm

Excellent.

Postby gastly369 » June 14th, 2025, 6:39 pm

Forking steel pan yes.... Stupeess

Postby matr1x » June 14th, 2025, 10:57 pm

They shoulda put Rowley face.

freaking assclown

Postby redmanjp » June 15th, 2025, 1:57 pm

Are they stopping all items with the new coat of arms or just cash?

Postby pugboy » June 15th, 2025, 2:11 pm

will save millions of dollars

Postby paid_influencer » June 15th, 2025, 2:26 pm

nothing against the steelpan but the actual artwork is horrible and should be scrapped and redone before it gets printed thank u tancoo