hover11 wrote:What has Pan trinbago been doing, anybody held accountable for such. Which party had the majority of leadership years since independence, we all know who is to blame here.Dizzy28 wrote:Alpha_2nr wrote:16 cycles wrote:previous coat of arms helped to educate nation on the 'beginning' ...
steelpan might just be a reflection of how we invented something and someone else commercialized it - like an inside joke to a missed opportunity...
A missed opportunity, like how the patent for steelpan production is held by the US?
Instead of by us/Trinidad/a trini, who were the inventors of said instrument?
There is no patent for steelpan production being held by anyone in the US.
There are patents for electronic synthesizer pans, for the metallurgy behind new pans and for particular pieces of equipment for production.
https://patents.google.com/?q=(steelpan+production)&oq=steelpan+production
As a taxpayer we should be concerned that after tens of millions of dollars were spent on the G Pan and PHI Pan patents they expire in two years time and no real commercialization and subsequent monetization has happened. Waste of money in this country that by now is accustomed to wasting money.
I remember going to a training years ago done by a guy from Ireland who headed R&D for a number of European FMCG companies and the guy said if you don't intend to go to market quickly its makes no sense filing a patent.
Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app
I typed out a good reply yesterday but me eh know what is SQL errorpugboy wrote:except jit samaroo reigned for a very long timeviedcht wrote:Steelpan used to be a mostly black folk thing, hardly saw indos playing pan. Go look at the old ttt footage and point out the indos playing pan.
It echoes a togetherness that those Trinis with Slavery roots will always gravitate towards. Politicians using it to manipulate people's emotions, to support this simple change, and Our continued divide is wrong.
Other than reminding us that Indians, Africans, and the whites were brought/came and conquered the people already living here, what's the use of having the ships? Alternatively instead of the pan, why not a symbol to associate with the First Peoplematr1x wrote:I think it's fantastic.
Just another of thr fantastic ideas this moronic government capable of
viedcht wrote:Other than reminding us that Indians, Africans, and the whites were brought/came and conquered the people already living here, what's the use of having the ships? Alternatively instead of the pan, why not a symbol to associate with the First Peoplematr1x wrote:I think it's fantastic.
Just another of thr fantastic ideas this moronic government capable of
pugboy wrote:the graded gold colours may be troublesome to print in mono embossed scheme like on a passport
16 cycles wrote:Immigration officers around the world will wonder if its a meme
paid_influencer wrote:16 cycles wrote:Immigration officers around the world will wonder if its a meme
you know why it looks like a meme?
because there was no real process to develop it. There was no committee, no consultation of the population, nothing besides a vaps by the Prime Minister to 'move them ships' before election.
The new design had no more objective than a rushed election gimmick and it shows. If you don't agree, take a cue from the designer.
tbh we could have had a much better design if more work was done, outside of the 'those ships must go' start-and-end mandate of the PM. For one, we could have replaced the helm with maybe that cool head dress the Carib Queen wears. I would feel proud to hold that icon of somebody that lives here. It would look cool too
paid_influencer wrote:tbh we could have had a much better design if more work was done, outside of the 'those ships must go' start-and-end mandate of the PM. For one, we could have replaced the helm with maybe that cool head dress the Carib Queen wears. I would feel proud to hold that icon of somebody that lives here. It would look cool too
MaxPower wrote:Trinis don’t even care to follow the National Motto written at the bottom, probably never even knew it existed.
But suddenly care about modifying it?
Gosh allyuh save it na.
The designer gave the perfect response to critics…..follow suit.
16 cycles wrote:paid_influencer wrote:16 cycles wrote:Immigration officers around the world will wonder if its a meme
you know why it looks like a meme?
because there was no real process to develop it. There was no committee, no consultation of the population, nothing besides a vaps by the Prime Minister to 'move them ships' before election.
The new design had no more objective than a rushed election gimmick and it shows. If you don't agree, take a cue from the designer.
idontcare.jpg
tbh we could have had a much better design if more work was done, outside of the 'those ships must go' start-and-end mandate of the PM. For one, we could have replaced the helm with maybe that cool head dress the Carib Queen wears. I would feel proud to hold that icon of somebody that lives here. It would look cool too
Pretty good idea to have it reflect indigenous people that were here before Columbus
matr1x wrote:MaxPower wrote:Trinis don’t even care to follow the National Motto written at the bottom, probably never even knew it existed.
But suddenly care about modifying it?
Gosh allyuh save it na.
The designer gave the perfect response to critics…..follow suit.
You are right.
If we were truly working together, the venes wouldn't survive here