Columbus ships to be removed from T&T Coat of Arms

Re: Columbus ships to be removed from T&T Coat of Arms

Postby zoom rader » January 20th, 2025, 3:20 pm

Bia, I support Indians and their culture and do get nuff cuss on tuner for it.

I am one of Sat biggest supporters.

But there is a point when u have to separate the lies from the truth.

Indians did not invent any new instruments to Trinidad.

Recent English chutney music is all garbage, soca chutney is more .

Indians needs to revert to Tann, sonar, folk & classical Indian music/songs.

Postby st7 » January 20th, 2025, 3:30 pm

allyuh does see allyuh self as a hyphenated trinidadian, or just a trinidadian?

Postby mero » January 20th, 2025, 3:37 pm

pugboy wrote:lol trinidad killa is complete representation of our society
esp the part when he say every artiste does do the same(wrong) ting

Trinidad Killa is one of the most unintentionally entertaining talented ppl i ever see out a trini.

Scrap the whole and just put a picture of Killa

Postby mero » January 20th, 2025, 3:38 pm

timelapse wrote:
bluefete wrote:
timelapse wrote:When they going to add the Dhantaal? Seeing as though it was also invented here?

Look Sat Maharaj people reach! Always looking to downplay what the poor people invented.

You do not even know your own history. The Dhantal was NOT invented in T&T.

"The history of the dhantal can be traced back to the arrival of Indian indentured laborers in Trinidad and Tobago in the 19th century (McLeod, 2007). The instrument was brought over by the laborers and became an essential part of their religious and cultural practices.

Today, the dhantal is recognized as an important part of Trinidad and Tobago’s cultural heritage, and efforts have been made to preserve and promote the instrument (McLeod, 2007). "

https://trinidadianpercussion.wordpress.com/dhantal/

I will proudly accept the title of Sat Maharaj people, because the other people here will not even acknowledge the East Indian contributions to the country.
Even more blatant is the not so subtle disrespect in mis-pronouncing East Indian words, the complete butchering of what a roti is and so on.Even more evident is on social media where if Indo Caribbean foos are being highlighted ,theres always someone to complain about why is only Indo foods and not pelau,calalloo etc. Those who accustomed to holding the victim card of racism do not comprehend that they also can be racist.
As for both the sources you cited there, neither one can represent any conclusive evidence that the dhantal was not invented in Trinidad. The older country folks here will know the big steel pins that were used to tie cows,goats etc back in the day.If they were wagon pins or rail pins, I don't know.But these along with Horse shoes were the basis of the dhantal.Before the dhantal,they used large coins and a cutlass to achieve similar sounds.
Go easy on them times

Postby bluefete » January 20th, 2025, 4:41 pm

timelapse wrote:
bluefete wrote:
timelapse wrote:When they going to add the Dhantaal? Seeing as though it was also invented here?

Look Sat Maharaj people reach! Always looking to downplay what the poor people invented.

"The history of the dhantal can be traced back to the arrival of Indian indentured laborers in Trinidad and Tobago in the 19th century (McLeod, 2007). The instrument was brought over by the laborers and became an essential part of their religious and cultural practices.

Today, the dhantal is recognized as an important part of Trinidad and Tobago’s cultural heritage, and efforts have been made to preserve and promote the instrument (McLeod, 2007). "

I will proudly accept the title of Sat Maharaj people, because the other people here will not even acknowledge the East Indian contributions to the country.
Even more blatant is the not so subtle disrespect in mis-pronouncing East Indian words, the complete butchering of what a roti is and so on.Even more evident is on social media where if Indo Caribbean foos are being highlighted ,theres always someone to complain about why is only Indo foods and not pelau,calalloo etc. Those who accustomed to holding the victim card of racism do not comprehend that they also can be racist.
As for both the sources you cited there, neither one can represent any conclusive evidence that the dhantal was not invented in Trinidad. The older country folks here will know the big steel pins that were used to tie cows,goats etc back in the day.If they were wagon pins or rail pins, I don't know.But these along with Horse shoes were the basis of the dhantal.Before the dhantal,they used large coins and a cutlass to achieve similar sounds.

To be fair, it works both ways. Unfortunately, it is always noticeable that whenever any discussion of the steelpan arises, "Sat's People" (LOL) always try to ingratiate themselves into the discussion by raising the issues of indian musical instruments that were clearly NOT INVENTED in T&T.

You will notice that I referenced ACADEMIC sources and not internet websites. However, there is no evidence that the dhantal was invented in T&T - even after all that research was done.

Postby zoom rader » January 20th, 2025, 6:21 pm

bluefete wrote:
timelapse wrote:
bluefete wrote:

To be fair, it works both ways. Unfortunately, it is always noticeable that whenever any discussion of the steelpan arises, "Sat's People" (LOL) always try to ingratiate themselves into the discussion by raising the issues of indian musical instruments that were clearly NOT INVENTED in T&T.

You will notice that I referenced ACADEMIC sources and not internet websites. However, there is no evidence that the dhantal was invented in T&T - even after all that research was done.
It was not invented in Trinidad cause it is played by Fijian Indians that share the same culture is Trinidad, Guyana and Suriname Indians.

It came from one part in Indian

Sadly, it is no longer played in India.

Postby timelapse » January 21st, 2025, 8:08 am

bluefete wrote:
timelapse wrote:
bluefete wrote:

I not fighting down the steelpan,is just that Indo Trinidadians are always being ignored when it comes to the country's history.

Postby zoom rader » January 21st, 2025, 8:35 am

timelapse wrote:
bluefete wrote:
timelapse wrote:
bluefete wrote:

I not fighting down the steelpan,is just that Indo Trinidadians are always being ignored when it comes to the country's history.
Indians have made their own marks and in the Caribbean.

Dreadlocks, ganja, & Curry are all from India.

The Rastafari movement of Dreadlocks & Ganja is all from India.

https://homegrown.co.in/homegrown-voice ... in-jamaica

Screenshot_20250121_073501_Samsung%20Internet.jpg

Postby Les Bain » January 21st, 2025, 9:22 am

So government and opposition approved this redesign; when does this item of high national importance move forward, and what's the estimated cost to taxpayers?

Postby hover11 » January 21st, 2025, 9:25 am

Les Bain wrote:So government and opposition approved this redesign; when does this item of high national importance move forward, and what's the estimated cost to taxpayers?
The ppl who benefit are the financiars, they have the same financiars like Junior Sammy for example, a government spends the most money in the election year.

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby 16 cycles » January 21st, 2025, 9:30 am

previous coat of arms helped to educate nation on the 'beginning' ...

steelpan might just be a reflection of how we invented something and someone else commercialized it - like an inside joke to a missed opportunity...

Postby Les Bain » January 21st, 2025, 9:46 am

16 cycles wrote:previous coat of arms helped to educate nation on the 'beginning' ...

steelpan might just be a reflection of how we invented something and someone else commercialized it - like an inside joke to a missed opportunity...

Point 1: agreed.

Point 2: Last year I heard some pan tunes on an international radio station. Real good stuff, both original pieces and covers of recent chart music. I was excited thinking it was from local until the DJ explained it's a German collective. To me, having the pan on the coat of arms is like Ray J popping up periodically to remind people he was Kim Kardashian first high profile man.

Also, how long til the knight helmet triggers some groups's cultural PTSD? As far as I know, we didn't have a local Ziegfried or Sir Rodney.

Postby zoom rader » January 21st, 2025, 10:38 am

Who really gives a fvck on what's on the coat of arms.

Does this improve your lives?

Are you better off if this symbol is changed every Monday morning?

Together we aspire, together we achieve has done nothing for Trinidad but play propaganda mind games.

As Max said Trinis are still nasty and disgusting people

Postby alfa » January 21st, 2025, 10:44 am

In the mind of the blind followers they will say Rowley helping us break the chains is colonialism and free us from mental slavery.
Never mind some of them can't eat this month without a food card while the successful folks sending they kids to US universities, planning early retirement etc and couldn't give two chits weather they put brownie eating a corn soup on the coat of arms

Postby zoom rader » January 21st, 2025, 10:46 am

Coat of arms means nothing when a population lacks reasoning and logic.

This is just mind games for PNM ppl

Postby timelapse » January 22nd, 2025, 1:15 pm

zoom rader wrote:Who really gives a fvck on what's on the coat of arms.

Together we aspire, together we achieve has done nothing for Trinidad but play propaganda mind games.

We will have to pay to get documents changed AGAIN

Postby hover11 » January 22nd, 2025, 1:24 pm

timelapse wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Who really gives a fvck on what's on the coat of arms.

We will have to pay to get documents changed AGAIN
They haven't rioted yet

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2025, 1:45 pm

the tone of that woman seems pretty inline with who hired her

Postby bluefete » January 22nd, 2025, 3:15 pm

timelapse wrote:I not fighting down the steelpan,is just that Indo Trinidadians are always being ignored when it comes to the country's history.

Not necessarily so. But I understand where you are coming from.

Meanwhile, who saw this yesterday?

Read and understand where Trump was coming from all those years ago. We damn lucky he did not follow through.

Trini man recalls gifting steelpan to US President Trump

He said Trump’s curiosity shifted to the steelpan. “He was fascinated. He even asked if the steel drum was patented. I told him it was patented in Trinidad, but he wanted to know if it was patented in the US.”

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/trini-m ... 49feb5fcc7

Postby j.o.e » January 22nd, 2025, 4:04 pm

timelapse wrote:
bluefete wrote:
timelapse wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Do not be dismayed my brother, the contributions of Jit Samaroo and Lennox ‘Bobby’ Mohammed are treasured by the steelpan fraternity.

Postby paid_influencer » January 22nd, 2025, 4:49 pm

bluefete wrote:
timelapse wrote:I not fighting down the steelpan,is just that Indo Trinidadians are always being ignored when it comes to the country's history.

Read and understand where Trump was coming from all those years ago. We damn lucky he did not follow through.

He said Trump’s curiosity shifted to the steelpan. “He was fascinated. He even asked if the steel drum was patented. I told him it was patented in Trinidad, but he wanted to know if it was patented in the US.”

the gpan patent was in 2008 and patent lasts 20 years

so from 2028 gpan is fair game for anyone interested

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 22nd, 2025, 4:55 pm

Steelpan used to be a mostly black folk thing, hardly saw indos playing pan. Go look at the old ttt footage and point out the indos playing pan.
It echoes a togetherness that those Trinis with Slavery roots will always gravitate towards. Politicians using it to manipulate people's emotions, to support this simple change, and Our continued divide is wrong.

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2025, 5:09 pm

except jit samaroo reigned for a very long time

viedcht wrote:Steelpan used to be a mostly black folk thing, hardly saw indos playing pan. Go look at the old ttt footage and point out the indos playing pan.
It echoes a togetherness that those Trinis with Slavery roots will always gravitate towards. Politicians using it to manipulate people's emotions, to support this simple change, and Our continued divide is wrong.

Postby paid_influencer » January 22nd, 2025, 6:24 pm

indos have a proud history with steelpan, and are very active with pan today

but i get timeshare's point about other indo musical instruments not being given respect as as a legitimate part of 'trini culture' when said instruments are very vibrantly used here in the most grassroots of grassroots community activities. like below the wasa line grassroots. very grassroots community used of dhantal, it is part of grassroots trini culture regardless of where it originated or where it came from. below the wasa line

Postby bluefete » January 22nd, 2025, 6:34 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
bluefete wrote:

the gpan patent was in 2008 and patent lasts 20 years

so from 2028 gpan is fair game for anyone interested

I am sure you did not read the article so let me help you out. This was in 1996 long before the advent of the g-pan. We did not have a patent for any kind of steelpan in the USA at that time.

Do you remember the bacchanal that came in the early 2000's when 2 Yankees patented a form of manufacturing the pan in the USA?

For example, a patent claim by two US academics, titled "Production of a Caribbean Steelpan," is being appealed by the Trinidad and Tobago Government.In this case, University of Delaware music lecturer Harvey Price, director of the Delaware Steel ensemble, and his colleague, chemical engineer George Whitmyre, were granted a claim in 2001.

The Whitmyre/Price patent uses hydroforming, more commonly used in car manufacturing, as a cost-effective way of using high-pressure hydraulic fluid to mould malleable metal into lightweight, strong, complex shapes.

The two academics formed a company, HydroSteel, with European partner Judith Spoo who is associated with the PANKULTUR Steelband and Association in Germany and is vice president of Steelpan European.Steelpan European, an organisation of steelpan interests in Belgium, the Netherlands, Germany, Sweden, the UK, Switzerland, Denmark, Finland and France, describes itself on its web site as "a pan-european organisation united by an inherent and genuine interest to explore and develop the full potential of the steelpan instrument and the talent which abounds in its members.

The countries have signed a co-operating agreement which enunciates its long-term direction ensuring that the organisation grows with a vision and common objectives in mind."

According to a 2002 statement by Horace Morancie, the Trinidad-born president of the United States Steelband Association (USSA), the patent could be challenged on the grounds that the hydroform press was also used to produce tenor pans in the 1970s at the Caribbean Industrial Research Institute (Cariri).

However, several 2002/2003 articles said the innovators, including UWI senior engineering lecturer Clement Imbert, did not apply for a patent because they did not have enough money and because government advisers said the process would be too arduous, thus leaving the door open for others to take advantage of the situation.

But there has been some progress. A US tenor pan patent in which Trinidad-born American Trevor King claimed to originate an arrangement of notes called the Cycle of Fifths was revoked last year when the Trinidad and Tobago Government provided evidence that the pattern was identical to that developed by local steelpan pioneer Anthony Williams in the 1940s.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... e_vignette

Postby hover11 » January 22nd, 2025, 6:43 pm

Jesus
FB_IMG_1737585756085.jpg

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2025, 9:28 pm

they need to do something bout them pan sticks

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 23rd, 2025, 6:47 am

16 cycles wrote:previous coat of arms helped to educate nation on the 'beginning' ...

A missed opportunity, like how the patent for steelpan production is held by the US?

Instead of by us/Trinidad/a trini, who were the inventors of said instrument?

Postby Dizzy28 » January 23rd, 2025, 9:12 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:

A missed opportunity, like how the patent for steelpan production is held by the US?

There is no patent for steelpan production being held by anyone in the US.
There are patents for electronic synthesizer pans, for the metallurgy behind new pans and for particular pieces of equipment for production.

https://patents.google.com/?q=(steelpan+production)&oq=steelpan+production

As a taxpayer we should be concerned that after tens of millions of dollars were spent on the G Pan and PHI Pan patents they expire in two years time and no real commercialization and subsequent monetization has happened. Waste of money in this country that by now is accustomed to wasting money.

I remember going to a training years ago done by a guy from Ireland who headed R&D for a number of European FMCG companies and the guy said if you don't intend to go to market quickly its makes no sense filing a patent.

Postby hover11 » January 23rd, 2025, 9:54 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:

There is no patent for steelpan production being held by anyone in the US.
There are patents for electronic synthesizer pans, for the metallurgy behind new pans and for particular pieces of equipment for production.

https://patents.google.com/?q=(steelpan+production)&oq=steelpan+production

As a taxpayer we should be concerned that after tens of millions of dollars were spent on the G Pan and PHI Pan patents they expire in two years time and no real commercialization and subsequent monetization has happened. Waste of money in this country that by now is accustomed to wasting money.

I remember going to a training years ago done by a guy from Ireland who headed R&D for a number of European FMCG companies and the guy said if you don't intend to go to market quickly its makes no sense filing a patent.
What has Pan trinbago been doing, anybody held accountable for such. Which party had the majority of leadership years since independence, we all know who is to blame here.