Trinispougla wrote:i know its available in TT but i want a review before i make a decision.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Trinispougla wrote:i know its available in TT but i want a review before i make a decision.
It works well.
It's too expensive to replace land based service providers, but it's great for locations where no internet broadband service is available.
It's more cost effective to use it at one location only as the option to move around the dish costs more monthly (roaming).
Trinispougla wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Trinispougla wrote:i know its available in TT but i want a review before i make a decision.
It works well.
It's too expensive to replace land based service providers, but it's great for locations where no internet broadband service is available.
It's more cost effective to use it at one location only as the option to move around the dish costs more monthly (roaming).
isn't it 365$ TT per month? I know the cost is not inclusive of the hardware which is something like 3800TT, but its a one off payment
price droppedTrinispougla wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Trinispougla wrote:i know its available in TT but i want a review before i make a decision.
It works well.
isn't it 365$ TT per month? I know the cost is not inclusive of the hardware which is something like 3800TT, but its a one off payment
Drop some speed test/latency test and pics when you get timest7 wrote:price droppedTrinispougla wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Trinispougla wrote:i know its available in TT but i want a review before i make a decision.
It works well.
gastly369 wrote:Drop some speed test/latency test and pics when you get timest7 wrote:price droppedIMG-20241230-WA0021.jpgTrinispougla wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Trinispougla wrote:i know its available in TT but i want a review before i make a decision.
It works well.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It fluctuates all the time.
Latency is high for gaming
MaxPower wrote:Calm down eh Trinis…no need to run and buy toilet paper. This doh affect allyuh
SuperMan9999 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It fluctuates all the time.
Thank you I suppose might be best to stay away from it for gaming if that is the case.
BTW if I do a ping google.com in cmd prompt I get 49ms with Amplia or 58ms with Digicel fiber.
How much do you get with starlink? I assumed this would be very good for gaming since it uses laser communication between satellites and hence doesn't have to go through our undersea cable?
daxt0r wrote:SuperMan9999 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It fluctuates all the time.
Thank you I suppose might be best to stay away from it for gaming if that is the case.
BTW if I do a ping google.com in cmd prompt I get 49ms with Amplia or 58ms with Digicel fiber.
How much do you get with starlink? I assumed this would be very good for gaming since it uses laser communication between satellites and hence doesn't have to go through our undersea cable?
Lasers are also used for communication with the undersea fibers and the ground station that the satellites are linked to are still linked to peering locations via fiber. I wouldn't trust those pings to Google DNS as it uses anycast which would direct to closest server which is affected by ISP peering agreements.
Stick with Digi fiber for any type of performance application, if you are a business i would say TSTT fiber because there service is rock solid and well peered.
Sorry for the late reply man...I have star link gonna be 1 year soon around may I think.SuperMan9999 wrote:Hi all I was wondering something how does StarLink compare to Digicel Fiber for Online Gaming? like cloudy days and rainy seasons etc?
Particularly Peer to Peer games like fighting games such as street fighter etc games sensitive to latency
What kind of latency and lag spikes and packet loss are we talking about?
Don't care about speed. Can someone post some results from http://www.testmy.net (don't use firefox it gives fake readings)
nick639v2 wrote:Pings are the same as local isps but with starlink expect three to five % packet loss on the regular
theview868 wrote:Sorry for the late reply man...I have star link gonna be 1 year soon around may I think.SuperMan9999 wrote:Hi all I was wondering something how does StarLink compare to Digicel Fiber for Online Gaming? like cloudy days and rainy seasons etc?
Particularly Peer to Peer games like fighting games such as street fighter etc games sensitive to latency
What kind of latency and lag spikes and packet loss are we talking about?
Don't care about speed. Can someone post some results from http://www.testmy.net (don't use firefox it gives fake readings)
I on the whatsgroup and ppl usually get 69ms on call of duty on a PS5.
I don't have ps or I don't game online.
Otherwise factors to consider
1month is 365ttd
You need to source your own kit via buying by your credit card works to be 3000 with shipping and handling to DHL In San Juan
I took this route as
1.where I moved to it was only Digicel and only node close to be are fully populated And they say only way they upgrading in the future is if more customers come on and we'll that ain't happening
2.flow is in the area but out about 300ft. They surveyed me to run fibre but nothing as yet.
3. Was using my data plan for my me and family (ie wife and young daughter)
st[emoji[emoji6[emoji640][emoji638]][emoji640][emoji639]] wrote:be careful sailing the high seas...