Official Starlink/SpaceX INTERNET Thread

Re: Official Starlink/SpaceX INTERNET Thread

Postby sMASH » October 13th, 2024, 9:40 am

Mechzilla attempted catch of starship super heavy booster .
Work or fail, it's insane

https://youtu.be/iOShxK-sg-E?si=h9YY8YRZrjvXNDof

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » November 28th, 2024, 2:55 pm

Anyone has the enterprise kit? Mine keeps saying it cant reach the device even though the device and my phone is connected to the router.

Trinispougla

Starlink Internet service

Postby Trinispougla » December 28th, 2024, 5:03 pm

i know its available in TT but i want a review before i make a decision.

Re: Starlink Internet service

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 28th, 2024, 11:06 pm

Trinispougla wrote:i know its available in TT but i want a review before i make a decision.

It works well.
It's too expensive to replace land based service providers, but it's great for locations where no internet broadband service is available.
It's more cost effective to use it at one location only as the option to move around the dish costs more monthly (roaming).

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » December 29th, 2024, 2:43 pm

Trinispougla wrote:i know its available in TT but i want a review before i make a decision.

It works well.
It's too expensive to replace land based service providers, but it's great for locations where no internet broadband service is available.
It's more cost effective to use it at one location only as the option to move around the dish costs more monthly (roaming).

isn't it 365$ TT per month? I know the cost is not inclusive of the hardware which is something like 3800TT, but its a one off payment

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 29th, 2024, 4:02 pm

Trinispougla wrote:

It works well.

isn't it 365$ TT per month? I know the cost is not inclusive of the hardware which is something like 3800TT, but its a one off payment

Yeah but what's the bandwidth for that price. Enterprise packages get higher bandwidth.
Also you have to factor the hardware into the cost.
And keep in mind the service varies based on weather and cloud cover.

I think it's excellent for places that can't get wired/fibre internet at all.
I wouldn't replace my current home fibre connection with it though.

Postby redmanjp » January 1st, 2025, 9:13 pm

I see somewhere they activate direct to cell service. Does it work in T&T? even if only for emergency calls?

Postby st7 » January 1st, 2025, 10:48 pm

Trinispougla wrote:

It works well.

price dropped
IMG-20241230-WA0021.jpg

Postby gastly369 » January 2nd, 2025, 4:56 pm

st7 wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

It works well.

price dropped
IMG-20241230-WA0021.jpg
Drop some speed test/latency test and pics when you get time

Postby st7 » January 2nd, 2025, 5:42 pm

gastly369 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

It works well.

price droppedIMG-20241230-WA0021.jpg
Drop some speed test/latency test and pics when you get time

i doh intend to get it... was doing that for informational purposes lol

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 12th, 2025, 4:57 am

i would only support elon trump if he deport all them trins back to trinidad.

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » January 15th, 2025, 1:12 pm

Hi all I was wondering something how does StarLink compare to Digicel Fiber for Online Gaming? like cloudy days and rainy seasons etc?
Particularly Peer to Peer games like fighting games such as street fighter etc games sensitive to latency

What kind of latency and lag spikes and packet loss are we talking about?

Don't care about speed. Can someone post some results from http://www.testmy.net (don't use firefox it gives fake readings)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 15th, 2025, 1:25 pm

It fluctuates all the time.
Latency is high for gaming

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » January 15th, 2025, 1:43 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It fluctuates all the time.

Thank you I suppose might be best to stay away from it for gaming if that is the case.

BTW if I do a ping google.com in cmd prompt I get 49ms with Amplia or 58ms with Digicel fiber.

How much do you get with starlink? I assumed this would be very good for gaming since it uses laser communication between satellites and hence doesn't have to go through our undersea cable?

Postby MaxPower » January 16th, 2025, 8:29 pm

Postby MaxPower » January 16th, 2025, 9:11 pm

Calm down eh Trinis…no need to run and buy toilet paper. This doh affect allyuh

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 16th, 2025, 10:10 pm

IMG_05DD613DB662-1.jpeg

afdb7fd9-d4c0-4ad4-8968-9f1777362d40.jpg

Express Newspaper - Caribbean Airlines has announced the delay of three flights between Piarco International Airport and JFK, New York, due to "air space closures."

The Caribbean Airlines announcement came after SpaceX announced that its Starship space vehicle had broken up during a flight.

Several countries closed their air space because of the falling debris.

The affected flights are BW 550, which was originally scheduled to depart Piarco at 5:55 pm today; BW 551, originally scheduled to leave JFK at 12:10 am tomorrow; and BW 526, which was set to depart at 3:35 pm.

"The Airline's other services and operations continue as per their regular schedule," it stated.

SpaceX said Thursday that its Starship space vehicle broke up during a flight meant to test its capabilities.

The rocket system's upper stage appears to have disintegrated somewhere over the Gulf of Mexico or possibly the Caribbean Sea, reports stated.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/caribb ... 75d80.html

Postby pugboy » January 17th, 2025, 6:36 am

max,
flights were affected, ppl inconvenienced
fuel wasted

MaxPower wrote:Calm down eh Trinis…no need to run and buy toilet paper. This doh affect allyuh

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » January 17th, 2025, 7:26 am

SuperMan9999 wrote:

Thank you I suppose might be best to stay away from it for gaming if that is the case.

BTW if I do a ping google.com in cmd prompt I get 49ms with Amplia or 58ms with Digicel fiber.

How much do you get with starlink? I assumed this would be very good for gaming since it uses laser communication between satellites and hence doesn't have to go through our undersea cable?

Lasers are also used for communication with the undersea fibers and the ground station that the satellites are linked to are still linked to peering locations via fiber. I wouldn't trust those pings to Google DNS as it uses anycast which would direct to closest server which is affected by ISP peering agreements.
Stick with Digi fiber for any type of performance application, if you are a business i would say TSTT fiber because there service is rock solid and well peered.

Postby timelapse » January 17th, 2025, 7:37 am

daxt0r wrote:
SuperMan9999 wrote:

Lasers are also used for communication with the undersea fibers and the ground station that the satellites are linked to are still linked to peering locations via fiber. I wouldn't trust those pings to Google DNS as it uses anycast which would direct to closest server which is affected by ISP peering agreements.
Stick with Digi fiber for any type of performance application, if you are a business i would say TSTT fiber because there service is rock solid and well peered.

Lasers are also used to bun dong entire cities it seems

theview868

Postby theview868 » February 1st, 2025, 5:57 pm

SuperMan9999 wrote:Hi all I was wondering something how does StarLink compare to Digicel Fiber for Online Gaming? like cloudy days and rainy seasons etc?
Particularly Peer to Peer games like fighting games such as street fighter etc games sensitive to latency

Don't care about speed. Can someone post some results from http://www.testmy.net (don't use firefox it gives fake readings)
Sorry for the late reply man...I have star link gonna be 1 year soon around may I think.
I on the whatsgroup and ppl usually get 69ms on call of duty on a PS5.
I don't have ps or I don't game online.
Otherwise factors to consider

1month is 365ttd
You need to source your own kit via buying by your credit card works to be 3000 with shipping and handling to DHL In San Juan

I took this route as
1.where I moved to it was only Digicel and only node close to be are fully populated And they say only way they upgrading in the future is if more customers come on and we'll that ain't happening
2.flow is in the area but out about 300ft. They surveyed me to run fibre but nothing as yet.
3. Was using my data plan for my me and family (ie wife and young daughter)

nick639v2

Official Starlink/SpaceX INTERNET Thread

Postby nick639v2 » February 1st, 2025, 9:04 pm

Pings are the same as local isps but with starlink expect three to five % packet loss on the regular

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » February 1st, 2025, 10:15 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Pings are the same as local isps but with starlink expect three to five % packet loss on the regular

Any idea how the packets are being routed on Star Link?

Does it go back to a ground station and routed via fiber or is it routed with laser from satellite to satellite? I ask this because all the Starlink pings I have seen appear to match Fiber and a test to say South America doesn't give you that super low latency it's as if it's still going to Miami and back even tho South America is next door.

Postby redmanjp » February 3rd, 2025, 3:02 pm

Maybe try a trace route? Assuming you can recognize Miami IPs

Postby sMASH » March 29th, 2025, 10:30 pm

Usa building a landing pad on an island west of Hawaii , to accommodate space X star ship. Intended for rapid delivery of hundreds of tons of cargo.

I assume that's to replenish arms to the China offensive

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 30th, 2025, 8:27 am

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 17th, 2025, 6:11 pm

theview868 wrote:
SuperMan9999 wrote:Hi all I was wondering something how does StarLink compare to Digicel Fiber for Online Gaming? like cloudy days and rainy seasons etc?

Sorry for the late reply man...I have star link gonna be 1 year soon around may I think.
I on the whatsgroup and ppl usually get 69ms on call of duty on a PS5.
I don't have ps or I don't game online.
Otherwise factors to consider

1month is 365ttd
You need to source your own kit via buying by your credit card works to be 3000 with shipping and handling to DHL In San Juan

I took this route as
1.where I moved to it was only Digicel and only node close to be are fully populated And they say only way they upgrading in the future is if more customers come on and we'll that ain't happening
2.flow is in the area but out about 300ft. They surveyed me to run fibre but nothing as yet.
3. Was using my data plan for my me and family (ie wife and young daughter)

Pulled the trigger on a starlink setup today.
Same reasons as above.

Flow nowhere near.
Amplia laughed.
Digicel has coverage but no extra nodes to add me.
Estimated delivery is 19-23 June.

We’ll see how this goes

Postby st7 » June 17th, 2025, 10:18 pm

be careful sailing the high seas...

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 18th, 2025, 2:34 pm

st[emoji[emoji6[emoji640][emoji638]][emoji640][emoji639]] wrote:be careful sailing the high seas...

That’s rare now, but we have tools to do covert ops when needed.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 19th, 2025, 1:18 pm

Starship explosion