Phone Surgeon wrote:Btw where sells cycle stop valves locally?
Phone Surgeon wrote:watersource doesnt have
and the few other pump places i called dont have
Phone Surgeon wrote:Allyuh ever price goulds pumps recently
..holy fuq
timelapse wrote:Despite the pop down that Pentax gets, mine going strong for about 5 years and has survived multiple floods being completely submerged.
Phone Surgeon wrote:I have some of those goulds that my father would have bought 30 years ago.
Better i service dem fawkers yes.
And pressure with that cycle stop valve. Prices I seeing are 150 us all the way to 300 usd.
Realistically if it saves you from buying a bigger pressure tank and also makes your pump last longer and also saves electricity....it should pay for itself quickly.....especially if paying for commercial current.
I plug in a smart plug with kwh reader this morning on a pump that giving me issues to see what the actual current draw is like
In like 1 min I hear it cycle on and off 4 times.
I have a guy in Palmyra that services all kinds if water pumps and he has seals for all kinds of pumps ,pentax and goulds being the most common.I never serviced the pentax, except for a light spraying of penetrating spray on the impeller to clear out some flood mud.Pump guy says to NEVER use WD40 on a water pump because it firetrucks the seals for some reason.alfa wrote:timelapse wrote:Despite the pop down that Pentax gets, mine going strong for about 5 years and has survived multiple floods being completely submerged.
They take a beating for sure and work well, simpler to disassemble as well. Only issue is that parts like shaft seals usually have to be sourced at rotoplastics as they're the dealer. I went as far as Wongs hardware to get a seal on a Sunday. Other than that they are the Nissans of the pump world
Cycling and polymer breakdown from age and temperature.Phone Surgeon wrote:Why do the diaphragms in pressure tanks go bad? From constant cycling over the course of time?
Phone Surgeon wrote:Why do the diaphragms in pressure tanks go bad? From constant cycling over the course of time?
goalpost wrote:Guys I have an issue with my Pentax pump with pressure tank.
Sometimes in September water stopped running. Plumber advise me to tap the pressure switch and press the contacts and pump came on but didnt remain on. He eventually came and changed the switch and tank. All worked well for a month, until it suddenly cut off again. This time tho after I press the pressure switch contacts it worked fine, meaning the switch came on and off as it should.
Now when wasa sends water for us we have to turn off the pump, and open a valve for us to fill the tanks. When tanks are filled we close the valve and switch on back the pump (when wasa water goes). This is something we doing for almost 10 years. Now on two or three occasions when I switch on the pump, it doesn't come on...I have to fiddle with the pressure switch and then it comes on and works...sometime it sticks again and i have to fiddle again for it to work.
Plumber coming to change the switch again but it's already a brand new switch so I'm trying to get advice on if this is really the solution.
Chimera wrote:Why do you have to turn off the pump and open a valve to full the tank? Is the pump hooked up directly to the wasa line?