..holy fuq
20221214_120706.jpg
20221214_120657.jpg
20221214_120654.jpg

Re: Water pump

Postby Chimera » December 14th, 2022, 12:25 pm

Btw where sells cycle stop valves locally?

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2022, 12:32 pm

rotopkastics water source had

Phone Surgeon wrote:Btw where sells cycle stop valves locally?

Postby Chimera » December 14th, 2022, 7:28 pm

watersource doesnt have

and the few other pump places i called dont have

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2022, 7:32 pm

they used to carry it,

guess you have to go amazon or ebay or the website

regular pump places wouldnt be so knowledgeable.

Phone Surgeon wrote:watersource doesnt have

and the few other pump places i called dont have

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2022, 7:34 pm

https://www.ebay.com/itm/285002953390?e ... R8635K-iYQ

look like the company not selling on amazon

used to be $65, gone up plenty

Postby redmanjp » December 14th, 2022, 8:04 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Allyuh ever price goulds pumps recently
..holy fuq

why i made sure i replace the pressure switch- pump was stuck on when no water using and overheating- if i didnt happen to check after i shower we might of had to spend that kind of money.

Postby maj. tom » December 14th, 2022, 8:16 pm

I had posted 2 pages ago for you guys current Goulds prices:

Postby timelapse » December 14th, 2022, 9:19 pm

Despite the pop down that Pentax gets, mine going strong for about 5 years and has survived multiple floods being completely submerged.

Postby alfa » December 14th, 2022, 9:24 pm

timelapse wrote:Despite the pop down that Pentax gets, mine going strong for about 5 years and has survived multiple floods being completely submerged.

They take a beating for sure and work well, simpler to disassemble as well. Only issue is that parts like shaft seals usually have to be sourced at rotoplastics as they're the dealer. I went as far as Wongs hardware to get a seal on a Sunday. Other than that they are the Nissans of the pump world

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2022, 9:27 pm

j5s is the big boy goulds 1/2
used to be around $1800-2200
and the smaller jrs around $1400

Postby Chimera » December 14th, 2022, 9:44 pm

I have some of those goulds that my father would have bought 30 years ago.

Better i service dem fawkers yes.

And pressure with that cycle stop valve. Prices I seeing are 150 us all the way to 300 usd.

Realistically if it saves you from buying a bigger pressure tank and also makes your pump last longer and also saves electricity....it should pay for itself quickly.....especially if paying for commercial current.

I plug in a smart plug with kwh reader this morning on a pump that giving me issues to see what the actual current draw is like

In like 1 min I hear it cycle on and off 4 times.

Postby Chimera » December 14th, 2022, 9:51 pm

Interesting stuff.
Screenshot_20221214-214948_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20221214-214916_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20221214-214906_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20221214-214846_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20221214-214815_Chrome.jpg

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2022, 10:25 pm

Goulds have diaphragm in the impeller chamber which has a hole in it, it often gets distorted ripped or the hole is out of shape and results in inefficient pump function but still works.
Goulds not hard to service if you are handy, they also carry an inertia switch on the shaft.

Pentax is a straight impeller spun by motor directly just like a turbo.

Phone Surgeon wrote:I have some of those goulds that my father would have bought 30 years ago.

Better i service dem fawkers yes.

And pressure with that cycle stop valve. Prices I seeing are 150 us all the way to 300 usd.

Realistically if it saves you from buying a bigger pressure tank and also makes your pump last longer and also saves electricity....it should pay for itself quickly.....especially if paying for commercial current.

I plug in a smart plug with kwh reader this morning on a pump that giving me issues to see what the actual current draw is like

In like 1 min I hear it cycle on and off 4 times.

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2022, 6:14 am

actually the mfg website has it for $89 free shipping

I use this one
https://cyclestopvalves.com/products/cs ... stop-valve

no need for the stainless.

Postby timelapse » December 15th, 2022, 6:50 am

alfa wrote:
timelapse wrote:Despite the pop down that Pentax gets, mine going strong for about 5 years and has survived multiple floods being completely submerged.

They take a beating for sure and work well, simpler to disassemble as well. Only issue is that parts like shaft seals usually have to be sourced at rotoplastics as they're the dealer. I went as far as Wongs hardware to get a seal on a Sunday. Other than that they are the Nissans of the pump world
I have a guy in Palmyra that services all kinds if water pumps and he has seals for all kinds of pumps ,pentax and goulds being the most common.I never serviced the pentax, except for a light spraying of penetrating spray on the impeller to clear out some flood mud.Pump guy says to NEVER use WD40 on a water pump because it firetrucks the seals for some reason.

Postby Chimera » December 15th, 2022, 7:33 am

This bpa thing is genuinely a concern?

Or thats something that in everything and only the hippies worry about it

Screenshot_20221215-073222_Chrome.jpg

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2022, 7:49 am

only if water sitting in a bpa plastic container long enough to absorb any in a certain quantity
vs passing through

we likely consume food daily that has passed through other similar chemical warnings on a daily basis
not to mention the air pollution and the testicular cancer risk of a phone in pants pocket.....

Postby maj. tom » December 15th, 2022, 8:53 am

The Rotoplastics water tanks safe regarding that so don't worry.
I never read of any concern of BPA with a water pump.

Postby Chimera » December 15th, 2022, 9:44 am

Why do the diaphragms in pressure tanks go bad? From constant cycling over the course of time?

Postby adnj » December 16th, 2022, 9:12 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Why do the diaphragms in pressure tanks go bad? From constant cycling over the course of time?
Cycling and polymer breakdown from age and temperature.

If you are willing to maintain the air pressure regularly and have the space for a larger, corrosion resistant tank, you can switch to an air-over-water tank. There is no bladder or diaphragm. I have seen some that were in service for more than 40 years.

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » December 17th, 2022, 12:28 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Why do the diaphragms in pressure tanks go bad? From constant cycling over the course of time?

Residual Chlorine can also be a culprit

Postby goalpost » December 14th, 2024, 12:52 pm

Guys I have an issue with my Pentax pump with pressure tank.

Sometimes in September water stopped running. Plumber advise me to tap the pressure switch and press the contacts and pump came on but didnt remain on. He eventually came and changed the switch and tank. All worked well for a month, until it suddenly cut off again. This time tho after I press the pressure switch contacts it worked fine, meaning the switch came on and off as it should.

Now when wasa sends water for us we have to turn off the pump, and open a valve for us to fill the tanks. When tanks are filled we close the valve and switch on back the pump (when wasa water goes). This is something we doing for almost 10 years. Now on two or three occasions when I switch on the pump, it doesn't come on...I have to fiddle with the pressure switch and then it comes on and works...sometime it sticks again and i have to fiddle again for it to work.

Plumber coming to change the switch again but it's already a brand new switch so I'm trying to get advice on if this is really the solution.

Postby alfa » December 14th, 2024, 1:08 pm

Firstly check to make sure the contacts on the switch are actually closing. If it's closing and the contacts themselves aren't burnt then it could be the pump capacitor or start winding.
If you take out the switch it's supposed to be in the normally closed position and have electrical continuity across contacts. It will be under spring tension to open the contacts. Check to see it's opening and springing back closed when released.
Check those things or have the plumber do it before just changing the switch

Skillys

Water pump

Postby Skillys » December 14th, 2024, 9:44 pm

goalpost wrote:Guys I have an issue with my Pentax pump with pressure tank.

Sometimes in September water stopped running. Plumber advise me to tap the pressure switch and press the contacts and pump came on but didnt remain on. He eventually came and changed the switch and tank. All worked well for a month, until it suddenly cut off again. This time tho after I press the pressure switch contacts it worked fine, meaning the switch came on and off as it should.

Now when wasa sends water for us we have to turn off the pump, and open a valve for us to fill the tanks. When tanks are filled we close the valve and switch on back the pump (when wasa water goes). This is something we doing for almost 10 years. Now on two or three occasions when I switch on the pump, it doesn't come on...I have to fiddle with the pressure switch and then it comes on and works...sometime it sticks again and i have to fiddle again for it to work.

Plumber coming to change the switch again but it's already a brand new switch so I'm trying to get advice on if this is really the solution.

Seems like the plumbing is not done properly, affecting normal pump operation. Do you have check valves on both water lines?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 15th, 2024, 1:59 pm

Dunno if my experience will help...
The photo showing the wasa main feed going to tanks at right, against wall. The left line goes across to house and kitchen(also connected to the line coming from the water pump), and that piece across the drain is a connection with check valve and lock off. Before I never used wasa feed direct, everything went to and came from the tank and pump system but in times when current went, open the lock off and use wasa pressure.

I started to open the lock off and leave it after one night of no current, then noticed sometimes water pump not coming on. I too thought it was the pressure switch (pump less than 3months old) but afterwards I closed lock off and never had any problems. The experienced men here will know better, but I thinking when the line pressure equalised with the pump psi or whatever, the pump wasn't activating.
IMG_2024plumbing.jpg

Postby Chimera » December 15th, 2024, 2:27 pm

Why do you have to turn off the pump and open a valve to full the tank? Is the pump hooked up directly to the wasa line?

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2024, 2:38 pm

ent, that pipe layout design must be suspect

Chimera wrote:Why do you have to turn off the pump and open a valve to full the tank? Is the pump hooked up directly to the wasa line?

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 15th, 2024, 4:11 pm

Rust is also a real problem with Pentax. Over time rust clogs the pressure switch port and then it stops responding or is sluggish to respond to changes in pressure. This manifests as a bad pressure switch.

abbow

Postby abbow » December 15th, 2024, 4:23 pm

was just about to type this ^^

unscrew the pressure switch, clean the port, allow water to flow through and then some thread seal and put back on pressure switch..