Re: Share the burden - PM & President get more $$$

Postby wing » November 17th, 2024, 9:04 am

paid_influencer wrote:tell us wing
I don't know. That's why I'm asking.

Postby hover11 » November 17th, 2024, 9:06 am

I honestly think the SRC should be disbanded as it's a waste of Tax dollars and only acts as a self serving ploy. I think the public should vote and decide if they get a pay rise based on their performance, and based on the job they're doing so far, they should be working for free.
Last edited by hover11 on November 17th, 2024, 9:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » November 17th, 2024, 9:06 am

hover11 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:How will allyuh PM spend his new money?
If I was him I was taking a big shite on the entire population and after I take my million , I just reminding allya brace for harder times eh setta asses

Or ok.

But the support still there for him to secure the elections.

How come?

Postby paid_influencer » November 17th, 2024, 9:07 am

ent he retiring tho

everybody saying he retiring but he also picking the MPs for the next election. very curious

Postby hover11 » November 17th, 2024, 9:09 am

hover11 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:How will allyuh PM spend his new money?
If I was him I was taking a big shite on the entire population and after I take my million , I just reminding allya brace for harder times eh setta asses

Or ok.

But the support still there for him to secure the elections.

How come?
Max,

Lemme tell you sum, you may not know this but alot of PNM supporters are highly illiterate , they have no clue as to the current state of affairs the country is presently dealing with as they don't take the time to educate themselves. Give them a simple form to complete and they get confused very easily. On election day all they see is a man who looks like them trying to go in power and they vote for such.
Last edited by hover11 on November 17th, 2024, 9:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MaxPower » November 17th, 2024, 9:47 am

^ thanks Jason.

Postby The_Honourable » November 17th, 2024, 11:01 am

paid_influencer wrote:ent he retiring tho

everybody saying he retiring but he also picking the MPs for the next election. very curious

Aye... he's not going anywhere.

Whether he wins or loses, he stays in the pnm as prime minister or opposition leader until 2030. Succession begins after GE 2025.

If he loses not just the election but also his seat (which is possible), he would be gone as pnm leader in 2026.

Postby hover11 » November 18th, 2024, 7:05 am

Just lie down and take pipe with no grease the PNM way
FB_IMG_1731927898229.jpg

Postby timelapse » November 18th, 2024, 7:49 am

paid_influencer wrote:ent he retiring tho

You do know that they collect PM salary FOR LIFE right?

moving

Postby moving » November 18th, 2024, 3:41 pm

If they dont pay more they will never be able to attract top talent from the private sector.
However they need to hold persons accountable and develop measurable Kpis.
Top positions in government and ministries need to be performance driven.

We cant change our country if the government sector isnt attractive for the top talent.

Postby j.o.e » November 18th, 2024, 4:44 pm

moving wrote:If they dont pay more they will never be able to attract top talent from the private sector.

We cant change our country if the government sector isnt attractive for the top talent.

Yea but politicians not pulled from the best of the private sector generally. It’s usually just party faithful

Postby hover11 » November 18th, 2024, 6:08 pm

God watching The PM take the pay raise ….
FB_IMG_1731967662187.jpg

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 18th, 2024, 6:38 pm

moving wrote:If they dont pay more they will never be able to attract top talent from the private sector.

This has always been a BS argument. It is never about the salary, it is about the power.

wing

Postby wing » November 18th, 2024, 7:49 pm

hover11 wrote:God watching The PM take the pay raise ….
FB_IMG_1731967662187.jpg
Who is the highest paid office holder in the country? Will that person be accepting the raise and backpay? Is that person bringing value for money that the taxpayers have to contribute?

Postby timelapse » November 19th, 2024, 7:38 am

wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:God watching The PM take the pay raise ….FB_IMG_1731967662187.jpg
Who is the highest paid office holder in the country? Will that person be accepting the raise and backpay? Is that person bringing value for money that the taxpayers have to contribute?

Would love to know your opinion on that

moving

Postby moving » November 19th, 2024, 1:28 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

This has always been a BS argument. It is never about the salary, it is about the power.

When you have power but are not compensated properly......maybe thats why we have so much corruption and nothing is working properly.... who is going to take up a job and sacrifice salary?

What top talent from the private sector is choosing a life of public service during their prime?

Postby paid_influencer » November 19th, 2024, 6:11 pm

moving wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:

When you have power but are not compensated properly......maybe thats why we have so much corruption and nothing is working properly.... who is going to take up a job and sacrifice salary?

What top talent from the private sector is choosing a life of public service during their prime?

it doesn't work like that tho

many very talented ppl already trying to get the top job but there is "no vacancy"
paying $50k or $87k or $200k to the top job doesn't change the fact that there is "no vacancy" for the top position

we have some really good ppl who could be politicians like Mariano Browne or Penny or Saddam, but again, there is "no vacancy"

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 19th, 2024, 6:52 pm

moving wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:

The monthly salary of the legislature and executive could be 3x what it is now and it would not change much. Politics is a game of power and connections. Some people enter politics from the private sector because they are well known in their communities and sometimes nationally, and that translates to political mileage if they latch onto the main parties.

Most people in general have zero social capital and bring zero political mileage, and for that reason they wont make it past screening. It doesnt matter if the monthly salary of an MP is 150k a month if some literally who VP, Accountant, or Doctor who could do an MP's job brilliantly bring no votes to the party.

death365

Postby death365 » November 20th, 2024, 2:58 pm

where i could find the 120th SRC report?????

Postby The_Honourable » November 20th, 2024, 3:26 pm

death365 wrote:where i could find the 120th SRC report?????

ttparliament.org

http://190.213.84.147:8081/PapersLaidVi ... 202024.pdf

Postby Dizzy28 » November 20th, 2024, 3:39 pm

One recommendation I have never see in any SRC is the linkage of salaries to the Country's GDP.
Why should any high level public official get an automatic salary increase because of the passage of time beyond the TVM factor. There should be a clear linkage to GDP and salary rises and a clear calculation on how increases would be calculated based on increases to GDP.

death365

Postby death365 » November 21st, 2024, 12:13 pm

thanks ...

The_Honourable wrote:
death365 wrote:where i could find the 120th SRC report?????

ttparliament.org

http://190.213.84.147:8081/PapersLaidVi ... 202024.pdf

wing

Postby wing » November 24th, 2024, 7:02 am

So Rowley stands to get 1.1 m in backpay. The CEO of wasa, tstt and heritage made 150% more than him per month. The opposition leader is getting 960000 backpay while making more than every public official as well as more than these CEOs. Why in the world would she want anything to change?

Postby hover11 » November 24th, 2024, 7:14 am

wing wrote:So Rowley stands to get 1.1 m in backpay. The CEO of wasa, tstt and heritage made 150% more than him per month. The opposition leader is getting 960000 backpay while making more than every public official as well as more than these CEOs. Why in the world would she want anything to change?
The wise continues to live off the foolish, Rowley set to get 1 million dollars backpay meanwhile he telling the masses they can only get 4 percent. We accept this. Dotish country with Stupid ppl.

wing

Postby wing » November 24th, 2024, 7:19 am

hover11 wrote:
wing wrote:So Rowley stands to get 1.1 m in backpay. The CEO of wasa, tstt and heritage made 150% more than him per month. The opposition leader is getting 960000 backpay while making more than every public official as well as more than these CEOs. Why in the world would she want anything to change?
The wise continues to live off the foolish, Rowley set to get 1 million dollars backpay meanwhile he telling the masses they can only get 4 percent. We accept this. Dotish country with Stupid ppl.
You swallow so much of his DNA that you can't even think or talk for yourself. Reclaim your manhood and independence from ZR and realise that it's the actions of a single megalomaniac that's preventing a viable alternative in the eyes of the voting public. You calling the voters stupid yet still begging for their votes. Ask Kamala how that strategy turned out.

Postby hover11 » November 24th, 2024, 7:23 am

wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:
You swallow so much of his DNA that you can't even think or talk for yourself. Reclaim your manhood and independence from ZR and realise that it's the actions of a single megalomaniac that's preventing a viable alternative in the eyes of the voting public. You calling the voters stupid yet still begging for their votes. Ask Kamala how that strategy turned out.
ZR made some good points whether you like him or not, PNM seeking their own interests and the ppl comfortable with such and accept such. Trinidadians either sleeping or fully dunce but they wide awake and functioning so they have to be stupid to see all that going on and still voting for PNM.

wing

Postby wing » November 24th, 2024, 8:19 am

hover11 wrote:
wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:
ZR made some good points whether you like him or not, PNM seeking their own interests and the ppl comfortable with such and accept such. Trinidadians either sleeping or fully dunce but they wide awake and functioning so they have to be stupid to see all that going on and still voting for PNM.
Whatever good points are lost in the insults and rum shop ole talk. Anyway, insulting the same voters who you need to regain government isn't a viable strategy. That's why the PNM almost always wins and never out of government for more than one term at a time. Politics and governance are two different concepts.

Postby hover11 » November 24th, 2024, 8:38 am

I thought this country have No Money ? The people.of this country was told to ban their bellies until 2027..so what really going on here? I not seeing 200 dollar, 500 dollar increase or even 1000 dollar increase, I am seeing steep increases across the board. Interesting the wise continue to live off the foolish.

Postby zoom rader » November 24th, 2024, 9:01 am

hover11 wrote:I thought this country have No Money ? The people.of this country was told to ban their bellies until 2027..so what really going on here? I not seeing 200 dollar, 500 dollar increase or even 1000 dollar increase, I am seeing steep increases across the board. Interesting the wise continue to live off the foolish.
We pay Taxes, it goes to PNM and then they give if to the 1%.

Postby hover11 » November 24th, 2024, 9:07 am

hover11 wrote:I thought this country have No Money ? The people.of this country was told to ban their bellies until 2027..so what really going on here? I not seeing 200 dollar, 500 dollar increase or even 1000 dollar increase, I am seeing steep increases across the board. Interesting the wise continue to live off the foolish.
We pay Taxes, it goes to PNM and then they give if to the 1%.
But imbert said he cares about the taxpayers all of a sudden