Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby hover11 » November 10th, 2024, 9:44 am

Finance Minister Colm Imbert is adamant that the Government will not be floating the Trinidad and Tobago Dollar.

For more…
https://www.cnc3.co.tt/imbert-we-will-n ... tt-dollar/

We will not be closing down PETROTRIN
FB_IMG_1731246254581.jpg

Postby zoom rader » November 10th, 2024, 9:52 am

Skanky wrote:Once again it's only allyuh law abiding jackarses who complaining.

The streets flooded with guns and drugs. What they paying for guns and drugs with?....toolum ,sugar cake and paw paw balls? TTD? Wire transfer and bank draft?

The forex is there......just not for allyuh law abiding fools to pay for Netflix and buy bluetooth speakers on Amazon.

I have never seen a dumber bunch of people who negotiate against themselves like trinis.

All this gov't has to do is put the idea out there that allyuh have to suffer more and give some 2 by 4 reason why and allyuh will do the rest and come to the conclusion that yes they are right we must suffer more because one of the gov't mouthpieces say so on tv or the newspapers.

WTF wrong with allyuh! Is allyuh who suffering yuh know....not them who telling allyuh that you have to suffer.....they not suffering one bit.

The gov't withdrawing Billions for themselves and instead of demanding accountability allyuh will give every reason why what they saying makes sense and allyuh should not get access to the money.

Allyuh ridiculous yes.
Ent?

Stupid country but will still go right back and vote PNM

How dumb can a country be

Postby hover11 » November 10th, 2024, 11:21 am

Who get the midget vex? He trying his best
FB_IMG_1731252022472.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » November 10th, 2024, 11:32 am

how exactly will the 2B US$ gap between supply and demand be addressed in the future?

any of the "DONT FLOAT A FLOATING CURRENCY" people feel free to answer

Postby hover11 » November 10th, 2024, 11:36 am

paid_influencer wrote:how exactly will the 2B US$ gap between supply and demand be addressed in the future?

They will not answer, ppl want everything to remain the same while we keep kicking the can down the road, harsh measures are needed. Even the bloody IMF saying Imbert doing sheit but here we are.

Postby MaxPower » November 10th, 2024, 11:52 am

The streets flooded with guns and drugs. What they paying for guns and drugs with?....toolum ,sugar cake and paw paw balls? TTD? Wire transfer and bank draft?

The forex is there......just not for allyuh law abiding fools to pay for Netflix and buy bluetooth speakers on Amazon.

I have never seen a dumber bunch of people who negotiate against themselves like trinis.

All this gov't has to do is put the idea out there that allyuh have to suffer more and give some 2 by 4 reason why and allyuh will do the rest and come to the conclusion that yes they are right we must suffer more because one of the gov't mouthpieces say so on tv or the newspapers.

WTF wrong with allyuh! Is allyuh who suffering yuh know....not them who telling allyuh that you have to suffer.....they not suffering one bit.

The gov't withdrawing Billions for themselves and instead of demanding accountability allyuh will give every reason why what they saying makes sense and allyuh should not get access to the money.

Allyuh ridiculous yes.
Ent?

Zoom,

Aren’t you voting PNM?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 10th, 2024, 12:05 pm

hover11 wrote:Who get the midget vex? He trying his best
FB_IMG_1731252022472.jpg

I hope he doh have to eat his words because if we have to face IMF, is bitter pills and carille juice to wash it down.

What are the economists suggesting?

Because the issue is one of demand and supply with one end decreasing and the other increasing.

Postby mero » November 10th, 2024, 12:30 pm

Is trinidad even close to the stage that we need to go to the IMF?

Isn't IMF basically the absolute last resort that a country hadda basically go crawling on dey belly to them? Bretton Woods institutions policies and "reform" never really turned out well at all for third world or developing nations. If allyuh thought shutting dosn Petrotrin was bad and there were job losses , wait till they command us to privatize and sell off of all nationally owned companies.

And i tort we had to go to them, what IMF selling or who pushing that agenda that allowing the Guardian to have exclusive discussions with this IMF "spokesperson" where they getting free IMF advice?

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2024, 12:56 pm

we have some money still in hsf
when that runs out is when we need to start looking for help
just remember when the water tank start to get empty
everybody does want to fill their bucket and make sure they have water home

Postby Dizzy28 » November 10th, 2024, 1:18 pm

paid_influencer wrote:how exactly will the 2B US$ gap between supply and demand be addressed in the future?

Clearly they are influencing the supply side.

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2024, 1:37 pm

if you go to a bank or finance place for a loan and you show them you earn less than you spend
what will they tell you?

Clearly they are influencing the supply side.

Postby hover11 » November 10th, 2024, 1:48 pm

mero wrote:Is trinidad even close to the stage that we need to go to the IMF?

Isn't IMF basically the absolute last resort that a country hadda basically go crawling on dey belly to them? Bretton Woods institutions policies and "reform" never really turned out well at all for third world or developing nations. If allyuh thought shutting dosn Petrotrin was bad and there were job losses , wait till they command us to privatize and sell off of all nationally owned companies.

And i tort we had to go to them, what IMF selling or who pushing that agenda that allowing the Guardian to have exclusive discussions with this IMF "spokesperson" where they getting free IMF advice?
Guess Guardian Isa bunch of UNC supporters, meanwhile all the local economists are preaching the same. I forgot only the finance minister knows how to run an economy. Nobody else is qualified for such. That's why they decided to close petrotrin only to reopen it shortly thereafter .

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2024, 1:51 pm

what ppl need to also worry about is how this state of the economy affects local investments that prop up things like nis pension

Postby hover11 » November 10th, 2024, 2:17 pm

They in for a shock soon as it comes to that...wait for it. That mark not ready to buss yet
pugboy wrote:what ppl need to also worry about is how this state of the economy affects local investments that prop up things like nis pension

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2024, 2:24 pm

once we getting we ketchup and carnival
we good

hover11 wrote:They in for a shock soon as it comes to that...wait for it. That mark not ready to buss yet
pugboy wrote:what ppl need to also worry about is how this state of the economy affects local investments that prop up things like nis pension

Postby zoom rader » November 10th, 2024, 2:25 pm

Allyuh ridiculous yes.
Ent?

Zoom,

Aren’t you voting PNM?
Not in Tobago and not in Trinidad.

Maybe on Carrera Island

Postby The_Honourable » November 10th, 2024, 4:33 pm

Imbert essentially saying have yourself a merry christmas

Postby paid_influencer » November 10th, 2024, 4:58 pm

so he saying we headed for more Barbados type forex controls?

also lol at dropping the "managed float" figleaf and straight up calling it a fixed exchange rate now
Last edited by paid_influencer on November 10th, 2024, 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 10th, 2024, 5:11 pm

He could keep that currency control going till I get all my TT accounts down to nil.

Postby zoom rader » November 10th, 2024, 5:25 pm

Ent all yuh want PNM, take

What a jackarse country

Postby hover11 » November 10th, 2024, 5:29 pm

Best Minister of Finance ever, we pass sheithole status a long time ago and couldn't reach this far without our esteemed Colm imbert at the helm of our economy

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » November 10th, 2024, 6:07 pm

What are the consequences of Floating for the US hoarders and the average man?
Who wins and losses?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 10th, 2024, 6:41 pm

Some comments on social media.
FB_IMG_1731269041462.jpg
Screenshot_20241110-145444_Facebook.jpg
Screenshot_20241110-144017_Facebook.jpg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 10th, 2024, 6:45 pm

A couple more.
Screenshot_20241110-085701_Facebook.jpg
Screenshot_20241110-150203_Facebook.jpg

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2024, 6:56 pm

wha cars them ministers ordering next?

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2024, 6:57 pm

yuh see what i saying about the ketchup

wtf wrote:A couple more.
Screenshot_20241110-085701_Facebook.jpg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 11th, 2024, 10:17 am

Let me take swing at this forex issue.
Who is responsible for the DISTRIBUTION of forex (legally)? It's the banking system..ie FCB, RBC,SCOTIA JMMB etc.
So the issue of forex availability lies at the hands of the banks and the CRITERIA used by said banks to distribute forex.
The central bank can sell as much forex to the commercial banks as they want but it's ultimately up to the said commercial banks to distribute the forex to us either over the counter or electronically via there issued credit cards.
It seems as though the banks have a preffered set of customers they choose to distribute large amounts of forex to and the rest has to share the remaining amount.
Its a distribution issue.
Unc and PNM supporters come at me..am I wrong?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 11th, 2024, 10:33 am

wtf wrote:Let me take swing at this forex issue.
Who is responsible for the DISTRIBUTION of forex (legally)? It's the banking system..ie FCB, RBC,SCOTIA JMMB etc.
So the issue of forex availability lies at the hands of the banks and the CRITERIA used by said banks to distribute forex.
The central bank can sell as much forex to the commercial banks as they want but it's ultimately up to the said commercial banks to distribute the forex to us either over the counter or electronically via there issued credit cards.
It seems as though the banks have a preffered set of customers they choose to distribute large amounts of forex to and the rest has to share the remaining amount.
Its a distribution issue.
Unc and PNM supporters come at me..am I wrong?

Trinidadians use 2b USD more a year than they generate. They is no distribution problem. There is an availability problem.
OFC Massy and Pricesmart gonna get more US$ than Rajesh and Kwamesh selling Jordans on Facebook. However when Pricesmart stocks their shelves and Massy/Ansa/SS their car lots the ultimate user of the forex is the public - its me and you and everybody else. Forex is not just what you personally get on your CC and from the bank. Its the fact that you can purchase any number of imported goods using TT$ at a merchant.

Postby st7 » November 11th, 2024, 11:10 am

it funny how both banks who issue the reduction are both from Canada

Postby hover11 » November 11th, 2024, 12:42 pm

You don't know what a domino effect is do you, all banks will be making their restrictions shortly one after the other. The problem is the mismanagement of the economy not the banks.