redmanjp wrote:For the past couple of weeks when i get out my car (Hyundai Ioniq) if i touch the car door right after getting out the car i get an electrical shock - most times it's a very tiny one but about twice it seemed a little more, as if i got shocked by an electrical outlet.. I'm thinking it might be static electricity judging from what i googled online but then again i had the car serviced 3 weeks ago and it wasn't happening before then.
any thoughts on what could be causing it?
EDIT: on each occasion it's only a 1 time shock- i.e. if i touch the door a few seconds after getting shocked it doesn't shock again.
redmanjp wrote:For the past couple of weeks when i get out my car (Hyundai Ioniq) if i touch the car door right after getting out the car i get an electrical shock - most times it's a very tiny one but about twice it seemed a little more, as if i got shocked by an electrical outlet.. I'm thinking it might be static electricity judging from what i googled online but then again i had the car serviced 3 weeks ago and it wasn't happening before then.
EDIT: on each occasion it's only a 1 time shock- i.e. if i touch the door a few seconds after getting shocked it doesn't shock again.
st7 wrote:redmanjp wrote:For the past couple of weeks when i get out my car (Hyundai Ioniq) if i touch the car door right after getting out the car i get an electrical shock - most times it's a very tiny one but about twice it seemed a little more, as if i got shocked by an electrical outlet.. I'm thinking it might be static electricity judging from what i googled online but then again i had the car serviced 3 weeks ago and it wasn't happening before then.
yeahhh daz static esp from the AC. when you sliding out the front seat, just touch the frame/back door and it'll be fine. i surprise this is first time it happening to you hahah
nervewrecker wrote:Ground your vehicle.
Attach a thin metal chain to the underbody and leave it to drag on the road. Some trucks that have to be in areas where there are explosive and flammable gazes have a set of chains under them dragging on the road to dissipate accumulated static charge.
Wait so that's why men does be hanging these things looking ballz at the back of their van...nervewrecker wrote:Ground your vehicle.
Attach a thin metal chain to the underbody and leave it to drag on the road. Some trucks that have to be in areas where there are explosive and flammable gazes have a set of chains under them dragging on the road to dissipate accumulated static charge.
fokhan_96 wrote:Wait so that's why men does be hanging these things looking ballz at the back of their van...nervewrecker wrote:Ground your vehicle.
pugboy wrote:op better be careful around gas stations
matix wrote:Static in yuh Mc, take shock
death365 wrote:change your shoe and see if it helps, i have a particular shoe/socks combo that does that too.
Nha, they advertising what they likefokhan_96 wrote:Wait so that's why men does be hanging these things looking ballz at the back of their van...nervewrecker wrote:Ground your vehicle.