Electric shock from car door after getting out of car

Postby redmanjp » November 6th, 2024, 3:45 pm

For the past couple of weeks when i get out my car (Hyundai Ioniq) if i touch the car door right after getting out the car i get an electrical shock - most times it's a very tiny one but about twice it seemed a little more, as if i got shocked by an electrical outlet.. I'm thinking it might be static electricity judging from what i googled online but then again i had the car serviced 3 weeks ago and it wasn't happening before then.

any thoughts on what could be causing it?

EDIT: on each occasion it's only a 1 time shock- i.e. if i touch the door a few seconds after getting shocked it doesn't shock again.

matix

Re: Electric shock from car door after getting out of car

Postby matix » November 6th, 2024, 4:30 pm

redmanjp wrote:For the past couple of weeks when i get out my car (Hyundai Ioniq) if i touch the car door right after getting out the car i get an electrical shock - most times it's a very tiny one but about twice it seemed a little more, as if i got shocked by an electrical outlet.. I'm thinking it might be static electricity judging from what i googled online but then again i had the car serviced 3 weeks ago and it wasn't happening before then.

EDIT: on each occasion it's only a 1 time shock- i.e. if i touch the door a few seconds after getting shocked it doesn't shock again.

Static

Postby pugboy » November 6th, 2024, 4:34 pm

you running ac cold?
also the combo of clothing and seat materials can generate more static
from my exp in cold country with static

Postby paid_influencer » November 6th, 2024, 5:05 pm

current flows in a circuit

circuit is like circle,
circle circuit circle same meaning

one end hadda be connected to the other in a loop
like a circle
for current to flow

in a car, the electrical supply runs off the car battery.
circuit goes from +12V terminal to battery ground terminal
the battery ground terminal connected to the chassis body

unless you touching something connected to the +12V line, i donno how that current getting completed for current to pass through you

as said earlier, probably static

Postby pugboy » November 6th, 2024, 5:32 pm

they could have sprayed armor all or such crap on the interior which will cause static to be generated easier

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 6th, 2024, 5:43 pm

A single zap would be static electricity.
If you stand and repeatedly touch the handle every few seconds and get zapped each time, you have an electrical issue to trace, likely HV as v won’t give you that zap

Postby pugboy » November 6th, 2024, 5:49 pm

hybrid/ev cars run at a couple hundred volts or more
if there was some electrical battery short
he certainly would not be asking about it here :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 6th, 2024, 7:31 pm

It's definitely static buildup from the cold dry air of the ac and/or your clothing. It's far less likely a static zap will be from anything to do with the hybrid battery.

Postby st7 » November 6th, 2024, 7:33 pm

redmanjp wrote:For the past couple of weeks when i get out my car (Hyundai Ioniq) if i touch the car door right after getting out the car i get an electrical shock - most times it's a very tiny one but about twice it seemed a little more, as if i got shocked by an electrical outlet.. I'm thinking it might be static electricity judging from what i googled online but then again i had the car serviced 3 weeks ago and it wasn't happening before then.

yeahhh daz static esp from the AC. when you sliding out the front seat, just touch the frame/back door and it'll be fine. i surprise this is first time it happening to you hahah

Postby redmanjp » November 6th, 2024, 8:06 pm

st7 wrote:

yeahhh daz static esp from the AC. when you sliding out the front seat, just touch the frame/back door and it'll be fine. i surprise this is first time it happening to you hahah

this helps (touching the door before i come out ) but i have to remember to do it otherwise is zap. i still doh know why it only started in the last couple weeks. in that time i serviced the car and got a complementary wash & vacuum a couple days later with massy. so it could be something they applied inside that building up static maybe.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 6th, 2024, 8:06 pm

Static... I've been experiencing that quite a few times as well.

death365

Postby death365 » November 7th, 2024, 7:24 am

change your shoe and see if it helps, i have a particular shoe/socks combo that does that too.

Postby nervewrecker » November 7th, 2024, 8:15 am

Ground your vehicle.
Attach a thin metal chain to the underbody and leave it to drag on the road. Some trucks that have to be in areas where there are explosive and flammable gazes have a set of chains under them dragging on the road to dissipate accumulated static charge.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 7th, 2024, 8:51 am

Is static, could have coincided with a change in the fabric of the shirt/pants you are wearing

Postby alfa » November 7th, 2024, 9:31 am

nervewrecker wrote:Ground your vehicle.
Attach a thin metal chain to the underbody and leave it to drag on the road. Some trucks that have to be in areas where there are explosive and flammable gazes have a set of chains under them dragging on the road to dissipate accumulated static charge.

I used to get shocks from my old car and ended up doing the same with a length of copper wire

Postby *KRONIK* » November 7th, 2024, 9:42 am

Depending on my shirt material and humidity, i may get a lil zap now and then
But i know is just static, i doh take it on

Postby pugboy » November 7th, 2024, 9:53 am

simple solution, dont use aircon

Postby MG Man » November 7th, 2024, 10:21 am

clothes and shoes
Happened to me every single time I exited my Lancer wagon. What I started doing was making a fist and hitting the car every time I exited. It would spread the static discharge over a wider area and give less of a 'zap', vs my habit of closing the car with a fingertip, and getting a nasty jolt that was audible, and visible in the dark

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 7th, 2024, 10:35 am

Wait so that's why men does be hanging these things looking ballz at the back of their van...

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » November 7th, 2024, 11:07 am

Postby j.o.e » November 7th, 2024, 11:08 am

fokhan_96 wrote:
Wait so that's why men does be hanging these things looking ballz at the back of their van...

I doubt because dem balls don’t drag hence no grounding
Had a car years ago that would shock my gf at the time. Though she just had bad vibes and the car was telling me. It’s just static tho nothing else.
Leather upholstery to d world

Postby pugboy » November 7th, 2024, 12:22 pm

op better be careful around gas stations

Postby st7 » November 7th, 2024, 1:46 pm

pugboy wrote:op better be careful around gas stations

i think once you dont exit the car while it fulling and touch the nozzle you should be fine, ent?

matix

Postby matix » November 7th, 2024, 2:36 pm

Static in yuh Mc, take shock

Postby paid_influencer » November 7th, 2024, 6:43 pm

matix wrote:Static in yuh Mc, take shock

Postby redmanjp » November 7th, 2024, 9:06 pm

death365 wrote:change your shoe and see if it helps, i have a particular shoe/socks combo that does that too.

hmm u might be onto something - i bought new shoes last month - might have to try an older pair to see if it makes a difference

Postby Dave » November 7th, 2024, 9:53 pm

Rubber sole shoes insulate you from discharging.

Postby nervewrecker » November 7th, 2024, 10:15 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:
Nha, they advertising what they like

one eye

Postby one eye » November 8th, 2024, 11:54 am

Have you noticed when you apply protectants to your interior, you feel static everywhere you touch?

Normally there is moisture on your dash.

Those protectants dry out the surface creating static.

My advice is to exit the vehicle without touching anything and close the door by gently pushing against the glass.

Personally I don't use protectants, a wet cloth with a little amount of scented disinfect is what I use.

Postby redmanjp » November 8th, 2024, 8:06 pm

wore a different pants today - no zap when i touched the door